Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Germany hotel reviews
  3. Berlin Federal State hotel reviews
  4. Berlin hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Classic

Reviews of Grand Hostel Berlin Classic

Tempelhofer Ufer 14, Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg, 10963 Berlin, Germany

#98 of 596 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1210 hostel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    10
    Fell in love with the atmosphere as soon as we walked in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fell in love with the atmosphere as soon as we walked in. The welcome we had was better than most hotels we’d ever stayed in. We were sat down, given a complimentary coffee and Izzy talked us through the best places to go to on the map. All the staff were so accommodating, funny and all round pleasant. This made us feel extra comfortable. Couldn’t recommend this hostel enough to anyone who is visiting Berlin! Thank you for such an amazing, memorable stay.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    10
    Best place in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was super nice, it has a balcony and you could feel like in a hotel room. The view was amazing and the bathrooms were super clean. The common areas are super nice and chill, you can even go there for drinks and to meet other travelers. The staff was super nice and helpful specially Izzy, she did a great job giving recommendations about restaurants, places to visit and other activities to do in Berlin. Definetely a 10 of 10. Thanks a lot for making special our time there. Happy holidays.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    9.6
    breakfast was very filling for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    if they could put instruction about how to use public trans to get to the hostel, finding it would be easier.

    breakfast was very filling for the price. Showers has blowdriers and everthing was cleaner than I expected from a budget hostel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing! Loved it all

    Amazing hostel. The staff were brilliantly and full of useful information about the area and Berlin. We got a recommendation for dinner in a jazz bar and loved it

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    5.8
    Average place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There should be an elevator for people who have a lot of luggage, or someone with disability who might need assistance.

    The architecture of the building.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    9.2
    Awesome staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Showers worked like those sink faucets that you have to keep pressing after 10 or so seconds to get water, ventilation was a little off but that could just be to how building was set up- sometimes it would smell bad throughout building

    Beds were very comfortable, the library bar was cozy and fun and easy to get to know other travelers- trivia was going on the first night we were there! Anika, Adan, Alex, Joe were so friendly and it made our stay all the more welcoming. They offer happy hour everyday. Location was right next to public transport and it was about a 20-30 minute walk to parliament area.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    10
    I want to visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    hot water did not come out well

    clean, newly remodeled. I really recommend you to stay here! Cheap and very clean!! and very near nice food curry 36 and Mustafa Kebab

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    10
    Best place to meet great people and spend comfortable stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I arrived a but late night. But the staff was still super friendly. I felt like I was not just spending a night here but being really well treated as if you visited your aunties’ place. The staff (Hanoi) treated me very well. We had such a s good time together. Top things that make this hostel the best hostel I’ve been to in Berlin is 1. Warm and welcoming atmosphere to make great friends 2. Super friendly and smart staff - not only they are just nice but also they are smart. They understand customer services 3. The bed. The bed is so comfortable. While the lounge area is very vibrant this house maintains the quiet relaxing atmosphere so you can make have a good relaxing sleep and the fun in the same time. If you r looking a hostel, you travelers 🧳 should check this place out!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    9.6
    Great choice for a group stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a dislike, just for your consideration - hostel does not provide towels/slippers, so don't forget to take yours. Have a nice stay :)

    The staff very quickly contacted us and satisfied our request for a full room (5 beds) booking instead of 5 separate beds in different rooms. Even though hostel looks like an old classic building, personnel is young, very friendly and more then helpful. Location is terrific - 2 minutes to U-bahn Möckernbrücke and 5 to Technikmuseum, which is insane. Also, events every night! (best karaoke night ever)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    8.5
    The location was really close to the train station and it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was not that comfortable.

    The location was really close to the train station and it was a good price and offered free snacks and coffee in the room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    7.5
    Good place to stay, the old style of the building is very Berliner (Berlin-Kreuzberg style)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The showers in my floor where out of service, this would be temporary of course. But the showers in general where not the best I have seen (cold and with low water pressure). The personal was great but one time they told me they couldn't sell me a pizza because they were busy with other things (not sure what things).

    The location in Kreuzberg is good, its not that close to the most interesting part of Kreuzberg but in the middle between the are with bars and checkpoint Charlie. In general terms is a good location.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    9.6
    Nice place) Living room is perfect for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no shower shoes on the reception - I had to go to the store to by one. Additional cost for renting towels.

    Nice place) Living room is perfect for breakfast. Near the metro station. 10 minutes walk for Lidl (cheap supermarket)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    7.9
    The workers are nice and friendly, and if u travel alone...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower room is really clean, and they have enough hair dryer. I really satisfied But the curtain is not fit for each compartment, so I have to be careful not to open when I took shower.

    The workers are nice and friendly, and if u travel alone then, it will be perfect for meeting new people there.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    7.5
    Very friendly service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Though my room was generally clean there was a very noticeable smell in the dorm that was distracting me from sleep.

    Very friendly service. Good location. Amazing breakfast for EURO 7.90.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    9.6
    The reality was better than expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was amazing. Helped during the check-in, asked if we need any help with the trip and what our plans are. During the stay, all the questions were solved immediately. The hostel itself is more than enough for its cost - it was very clean, the neighbours in the mixed room were super nice, only 15 minutes from the city centre (on the train) and has a lovely cosy bar on the first floor. You can even come with your own alcohol! Highly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    8.8
    the facilities and location is so nice , it just less than 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i contented with everything except for extra charge, when i check in , they require extra charge , she told me it's facility fee though it just about 4 Euro, i feel weird, why they include the fee in the online payment.( i paid in advance) i am not sure other customer ( Western people) pay this fee, because i had stayed reception several times and i saw the scene of many people check-in but i never seen people pay extra fee like me. i hope it is not racial thing.

    the facilities and location is so nice , it just less than 5 minute from train station, and sanitation condition was fine.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    10
    Really nice property!
    • Group
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Really nice property! Located in a central area in Berlin and close to many interesting places. The staff is really nice without exception, therefore, they are helping you with any question you may have. The installations suited all my needs without a problem.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one thing and I hated it, hidden fees, they charge me 3.5 EUR more for sheets which is not mentioned anywhere on the booking.com Again, I am not an expert on Hostels, and if they all do this kind of charges, but a heads up would be appreciated

    I am not an expert on hostels and this was my second time in a hostel. But it was absolutely very nice experience and especially the beds are separated and no one is sleeping over you :) For me everything was perfect and defiantly I will come again

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 7-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    it will be nice to add additional light in the spared room to not disturb all guests with the general light.

    Everything was amazing. Rooms are very clean and cozy. The staff is overfriendly and helpful. Guys, I am in love with you! :) Highly recommend to order the breakfast in the hotel, it is serving in the cafe nearby.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed my stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really

    Staff are very friendly and funny lol. There's a bar in the hostel premises and serves quite a variety of drinks. Hostel provided me storage space for my bag until 7pm even though my check out time was 11am. Rooms were clean. Daily room service. Toilets were exceptionally clean. (I was surprised at how clean they were) And the breakfast was so reasonably priced and had a good spread of food. Central location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    8.8
    I had a private room which was big enough and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a private room which was big enough and very comfortable. The hostel is situated in an old building and kept in a very good shape. The shared bathroom was very clean. Staff very nice and helpful. Wi-Fi working but with all the young guests constantly being connected to the Internet, it was sometimes a bit sluggish.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable single bed hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't find supermarket or restaurant near hostel. Little bit far from city centre. Staff asked me something, but his attitude was so rude. I thought that hostel need to teach him about communication skill.

    All beds were single bed, it was very comfortable for me. Very clean and well organize every where. Subway staion was near there, easy to find and get hostel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    10
    Atmosphere of the hostel is amazing: nice old building with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Atmosphere of the hostel is amazing: nice old building with cozy interior, wooden stairs and unforgettable lounge-bar (you may always find a good friendly company at there). The stuff is very friendly, helpful and sociable. The perfect place to stay if you are travelling alone - you will never feel lonely at there:)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only bemol was the showers! We didn’t feel comfortable with the share a curtain and the glass doors, plus the windows were open and it was super cold. But was the only “bad thing” the rest was amazing! We will come back

    It’s like a super fancy hostel, I have a private room, super clean, almost next to the metro and 15 min away by walk from Checkpoint Charlie, staff was super helpful and super cool.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    10
    Common room-bar is in the beginning of XX century style so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Common room-bar is in the beginning of XX century style so was the furniture in my room which makes you feel realy cosy. Staff was great, I even got some tee and cold drinks when cheking in. Everything clean and proper.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    10
    Super
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the time of check-in is late in the night.the receptionist was very nice. the room clean and confortable. la station de train S-bahn est juste derriere l'etablissement.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    4.6
    Its very close to station and convenient to travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfy hostel with BED BUG. Although I think I didn’t get bitten by bed bugs, I saw one so it made my stay really uncomfortable and anxious. The staff offered refund if I go out but the wouldnt change beds. However the beds are comfy and the hostel has cozy feel. If you don’t mind of the chance of seeing or/and getting bit by bed bugs maybe good place. The staff were friendly but not really helpful when you actually see traveler’s worst nightmare(bed bug).

    Its very close to station and convenient to travel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    10
    Great location and lovely big rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing - everything was great.

    Our room was lovely - really big, with a big bathroom, nice bright windows, and comfy beds. Plus the location was great, both for walking to nearby bars, shops and restaurants, and for the metro system.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    10
    Such a great hostel withe really very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Such a great hostel withe really very nice staff.. never been to many hostels before, but I'm 100% sure this should be one of the best in Germany. Heritage building is a +

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    8.8
    Probably the best hostel I stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed there three days, and every night there was a lot of noice at some point, drunk guys screaming and shouting.

    Really, really good hostel! Old building , but very nice, and with atmosphere. Clean good toilets and no bunk beds. The German girl at the reception was so nice, helpful and talkative! Columbian man at the reception seemed stressed, almost to the point of being rude, but I found that he just seemed that way and he was is really nice too. Just a 10-15 minutes walk to Potsdamer Platz and maybe five minutes more to Brandenburger Tor. Loved that you could serve your self free cold lemon water from the bar, so nice when you came back from a long and hot day on town!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    7.5
    Good stay that should have been cheaper
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the price I paid (29€) was not really valuable as e.g. the use of towels was not included. If you pay 29€ for a dorm room you should get a higher standard.

    Nice beds and clean facilities! Located close to several public transportation possibilities so you get to anywhere in Berlin real quick.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    10
    I like everything in the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    I like everything in the property. The room,staff, bar and location. They are friendly and helpful for the things you need to know. Highly recommended

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay- expensive for a private room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just felt very expensive for what it was- quite a simple room, extra charge for breakfast, thin towels and toweling sheets etc...

    Lovely high ceilinged room, nice bar and staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    7.9
    The beds were very comfortable and not bunk beds, which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The individual lights above each bed were brighter than the sun, so if anyone turned one on at night it lit up the whole room. There wasn't much going on in the area immediately around the hostel. At least this meant it was quiet at night though!

    The beds were very comfortable and not bunk beds, which was fab. The library bar had a good relaxed atmosphere. Staff were friendly and helpful. Bathrooms clean and close to dorms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    9.2
    Very good stay in a very good atmosphere. Very close to all atractions of Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Padlocks for lockers should be included in price

    The very forest building itself with a beautifully decorated bar and reception. Rooms and showers clean and very helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    9.6
    If you want to explore Berlin, choose this hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to not like in the hostel per se, but the breakfast deal is okay. I mean it's value for money for €6,80, but I didn't like the options. But I'm a foodie in general! If all you need is a quick bite before you head out, go for it.

    Great location, excellent facilities, very well maintained and clean. I made full use of the daily Berlin transportation pass the hostel provides for €6,50.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no curtain for each bed, though each bed is not bunk thus large thanks to that. The location might be a bit far from the central area of Berlin for some people.

    Clean, quiet, well organized. It's difficult to find remarkable demerits.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    5.4
    Someone stole my bed on two of the nights I stayed at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 7-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Someone stole my bed on two of the nights I stayed at the hostel. This is totally preventable with a simple bed assignment done by the staff. Really annoying!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    8.3
    Nice hostel in a good location (My second stay there)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom and showers would need to be clean better

    Very good location 3 min walk from the S-Bahn, which makes it simple to arrive from the airport and as well to reach every part of the city. A lot of restaurants and bars in the nearby, Kreutzberg is always a nice place to stay. Friendly and helpful staff 24 hours and cool lobby bar to chat and have a drink. I also appreciated the comfy bed and the fact that there are normal single beds instead of bunk beds, as usually in most of the hostels. Great buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    7.5
    The best staff members I’ve met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hostel’s unisex shower needs a bit more privacy.

    The best staff members I’ve met. When I arrived, they sat down with me and explained how the hostel work and showed me Berlin’s attractions on the map.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    9.6
    Very Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy during the nights. There is not elevator, so be prepared to walk up many stairs.

    The staff is so friendly. I arrived very early in the morning and the allowed me to take a shower before the checking. There is a bar in which you can chill out with Karaokes and other activities. They showed me the main spots in Berlin and gave me a map that includes everything!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    10
    Amazing hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    Very friendly staff and really good position (the metro station is 1 minute away from the hostel). The rooms and the bathrooms are always clean, and even if I shared a room with other 7 persons, we all had enough space.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    10
    Friendly, welcoming, clean, great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    there are a lot of stairs up to the top floor which was difficult especially with suitcases, but manageable.

    Staff were extremely kind and welcoming. Made us feel right at home. Everything is very clean, and check-in/check-out was very smooth and easy. Great location right next to public transport can get you nearly anywhere in Berlin very quickly. No complaints about rooms or facilities at all. Loved it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    This hostel is an excellent place to stay. I highly recommend it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was some water shortage in our floor, so we had to go to the first floor in order to take a shower.

    The staff is really really helpful, willing to help on anything you need.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    Best hostel i have been so far
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was quite perfect, there wasn't something i didn't like

    Staff every singe one of them was perfect , fun , helpful , chilled , nice environment, good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    8.8
    Very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower/restroom facilities were limited. I could find two restrooms on my floor, and about 3-4 shower cubicles. I was there for a day, so I did not face any difficultly. But this could be a problem, given the number of guests on the floor.

    Very central. Did not have to take the public transport at all. 15 minute walk to Check point Charlie and the wall memorial. Beds are comfortable and clean. The staff is helpful. They also have a great bar downstairs, and organize all sorts of events. The breakfast is a little bit soulless. I'd avoid that. But would stay again on a subsequent trip to Berlin.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    3.3
    Only the location was ok
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No parking, we were 5 persons and one of us had to sleep in another room!,no privacy in our room because there was people in our room!

    Only the location was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    It's a nice hostel (old house very well preserved) and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a nice hostel (old house very well preserved) and in a very good location. There you can rent a bike and enjoy the neighboring park or pedal on the bike paths of the city. Cheers!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.6
    A great place to stay in Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower water pressure on the top floor was a bit temperamental at times. It would take a few tries of turning the water on and off to get a useful stream of water coming.

    The mixed four bedroom dorm room had a balcony which was nice to have. The beds were made daily for us by the housekeeping staff so it felt like a hotel. The bar/library area is open 24/7 and was a great place to relax and meet other travellers. The staff was wonderful - very friendly and overly helpful. I can't thank them enough for all their help! Laundry service was a nice touch and runs 8am-8pm (I was the last wash around 6:30pm). Several buildings away from the train and less than a 10min walk to other train stations (not all trains interlink in Berlin and transferring stations is necessary). The shared bathrooms and showers were clean and modern.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    8.8
    10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was extremelly friendly! They provided me with all information needed, showed me surroundings, offered me some drinks ( for free ofc) while I was checking in ( tea, water and grape liquor) . They have extra activities ( german lessons) . The bathroom was really clean and the bed was very comfortable. Wi-fi connection worked well. I definitely reccomend this hostel to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.5
    They messed up my booking twice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    They messed up my booking twice. Sent me to two rooms that they were already full, but finally gave me a quite much better conditions room. And well, we are human, and we make mistakes. They solved it quite quickly though. Lack of information with local transport from the receptionist. Kind and clean. Will give another chance ;)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    8.8
    A friendly inclusive place to stay. Only has stairs but not an issue, even though we're "oldies"!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The welcoming friendly staff who initiated us with a map, location of transport, main attractions and popular eating areas. Daily happy hour in the bar/library. A hearty breakfast. Very good value all day train/bus passes available at reception. Well priced washing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.1
    Good but the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was very poor and not fresh. I had extra charge for the bed sheets( almost 5eur) and you must pay extra for a lock

    Good silence and clean hostel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    9.6
    Comfy beds, great staff, very social environment with events...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was only one working shower on my floor, but wasn't a big deal.

    Comfy beds, great staff, very social environment with events and activities put on by the hostel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.2
    The staff was really nice and genuine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was really nice and genuine. I came early in the morning was able to drop off my luggage, complete the check in and come back when the bed was ready. Also thanks for the complimentary cuppa tea plus tips what to see. Not being rushed was lovely for a change wish it would happen more often at other places. Everything was perfect for one night, not too much noise in the rooms. Definitely coming back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    10
    A good hostel nearby the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are very clean, cozy with a lot of space, it’s good they have a bathroom in the room, so it’s really comfortable, staff are very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    7.5
    Nice place, bad sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise from the bar, the room hadn't dark curtains so lights turning on and off were annoying, I couldn't sleep.

    Staff is great and also the coffee area is very cozy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    7.5
    Stay in Grand Hotel, 2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was additional costs, like bed linen and towels. So was a little unhappy about those. Also at night I couldn't sleep, because of the noise in corridor.

    Was good for my short stay, close the place I visited, so I was happy about that

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    7.1
    Good location for access to attractions and airports.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is an additional charge that is not announced at the time of booking. Breakfast is expensive than other hostels, but the quality of the food is poor. The communal bathroom was clean, but not equipped.

    Good location for access to attractions and airports. The rooms are clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 7-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No charging plugs for all beds No assigned beds so my bed I had slept for two nights was mistakenly taken by someone else

    Friendly staff Good location Clean bathrooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    10
    I stayed one night at the hostel and slept in the 4-bed dorm.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed one night at the hostel and slept in the 4-bed dorm. The hostel was pretty cheap and was very nice, the staff were nice and helpful, they have a cool bar with music and drinks and the room was quite big. The beds were individual (not bunk beds), which was great, and each person had a big locker, a personal light and a small table for our stuff. This hostel was definitely value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    9.2
    i will stay again for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is no lift/elevator, so travel light.

    Nina and Ingrid were a great team at the reception area. I would stay there again because of these two nice ladies. They made my stay a lot comfortable and they would assist you like you're staying in a 5-star hotel. The location is close to an U-bahn.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing building and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing building and facilities. The staff where above the expectations when it came to hospitality and helpfullness. Adorable library and lovely locations with easy transportation to anywhere we wanted to go. Will most certainly go back there if I’ll be returning to Berlin

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    7.9
    Very nice stay but a bit loud
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms on the ground and first floor were a little loud from the lobby. Not a real lobby and moreso just a bar

    Planned activities, helpful staff, no bunk beds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Perfect location with like 1 min walk from the metro station, very helpful staff, the facilities are amazing, loved the showers and the bar, comfy beds, house keeping was on point, keycards were very convenient. Definitely repeating my stay at Grand Hostel next time in berlin. Loved it!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    10
    The people were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In the shared rooms, an non homogenous distributions of plugs caused my bed to not have a plug and leave the phone charging overnight away from the bed and near others beds. You feel kind of insecure. Also, some shelfs to put stuff would be nice.

    The people were great. Beds were comfy. It was extremely clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay in Berlin
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast- expensive yet unappetising

    wanna stay here again - great location, close from both from train station and ZOB/ close to sightseeing spots/ comfortable bed/ really friendly staffs/ nice shower.... it was just all great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, available to help with all questions and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit pricey breakfast, that according to dorm mates wasn't worth the price. Less of the hostel environment that I expected since most people keep to themselves, hit I guess that may vary according to the people who are staying at the time. Pricey bar.

    Great staff, available to help with all questions and very friendly, especially Alex the bar maid. Very comfortable beds, warm and spacious rooms. ***Very clean showers and toilets*** U bahn 2 minutes away that connects you to other main lines, direct u bahn to SXF airport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    8.3
    The hostel was really beautiful and clean, really near the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no kitchen for guests (not even a fridge) so the only option was to eat out or to buy food (pizza) and drinks in the hostel’s bar

    The hostel was really beautiful and clean, really near the metro station. The staff were nice and helpful. Breakfast was not included but for €6 you got a really complete breakfast in the bistro next door.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    10
    Best hostel ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 7-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not one thing i did not like.

    Everything! It was amazing and i could not fault the place! I particularly lik how the building looks,very nicely done and the bar is great! Staff are great! Such an amazing atmosphere there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2018

    7.1
    7 sleepless nights in what should have been a comfortable room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    😠Seven sleepless nights!! because of selfish idiots. I wish the Staff were as mindful to remind newly arrived guests to be considerate of shared spaces as they are with the long-winded rundown of the Berlin map. - Overpriced drinks. - I got the impression (male)staff were more responsive to female guests

    The check-in was welcoming and accommodating: if the bed was ready, they let you at it. I appreciate this. I see no reason for making guests wait until the official check-in time when the bed/room is fully ready. The beds & pillows in my 5-bed dorm were wonderfully thick and comfortable. Also, Housekeeping were super quiet, fast and efficient 👌

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    8.8
    A great value option
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The 'all you can eat' breakfast was passable - just unappetising enough for people not to eat too much of it! Fuel, rather than something to really enjoy and linger over. The bedroom could be easily improved by adding somewhere to rest suitcases and bags, like a short bench or case stand, or even a desk or table. There was nothing like that. And some more hooks in the bathroom would be much appreciated.

    We booked a double en-suite room and it was a great choice, because we got (nearly) hotel accommodation for hostel prices. The room was large, with comfortable beds and a nice bright bathroom complete with bath tub. We had asked in advance for a quiet room, because the hostel bar gets noisy, and we were indeed given a quiet room. There was some noise from surrounding buildings but that wasn't this hostel's fault.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    7.9
    Best I can get with a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 5-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift since it's an old building, little privacy in the bathroom, and one of my roommate snoooooooores. The room smells like a boy's locker room so I have to open the window

    Staff are super friendly and nice, a welcome drink when you arrive, near the U-bahn station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 7-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The showers had little privacy and the water is automatic which was quite uncomfortable. Perhaps soap could be provided in the showers as there was no soap not even with the sinks.

    It was really comfortable, free welcome drink thanks to being a frequent traveller on Booking.com and the staff were exceptionally helpful 24/7.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent accommodation in Berlin, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On NYE, I forgot a sweater (velvet purple H&M) on the sofa and someone stole it or taken by mistake but I could not get it back. Wanted to apply for breakfast but it was too expensive for my budget. There's no place to eat or market around besides the station.

    Super friendly and cozy environment, willing staff and large rooms. Single and individual beds are awesome, comfortable, smells good and each bed has your own light. Shower and toilet very clean as well. The window view is awesome. I spent the beginning of NYE at Hostel and they offered free drinks for 2 hours which was absolutely awesome. They played songs that we asked (brazilian group), too. It was super nice moment. They also accepted friends of me from outside the hostel. Offered free luggage room. Nearby two underground stations that easily leads to the main points of the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hostel Berlin Classic Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: