Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Heiligendamm This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Prof.-Dr.-Vogel-Straße 6, 18209 Heiligendamm, Germany

#1 of 3 hotels in Heiligendamm

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 494 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    2.9
    Not worth the cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Park Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is poorly managed, poorly maintained, food wasn’t fresh, service wasn’t available across the resort, overall the hotel shouldn’t be part of the “Leading Hotels of the World”. Value for money is terrible.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    The property is beautiful, situated right on the beach which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking space to far (but they provide valet parking as well). Disgusting old couple changing (bare naked) in front of us and our kids in swimming pool area even thought there is obviously a changing room.

    The property is beautiful, situated right on the beach which gives breathtaking views. The area is still developing therefore you will see some buildings around that are in construction but very quiet overall. It is a child friendly hotel, we even received baby products for our little one. It has a beautiful spa with an inside swimming pool and a very hot jacuzzi which is great for small children. The breakfast was the best i had so far in a hotel and i stayed in a few *****hotels. The personnel was very welcoming, helpful and professional. We had a long waiting time for dinner second night but the food was worth the wait.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    wonderful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite sea side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very good facilities for everything, very good restaurants, play grounds for children, direct access to the beach in front, very helpful staff , very clean rooms and super room service. Quiet and enjoyable place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing family friendly stay. Best food esp best sushi in entire Germany!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite Sea Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to not like except on one of the days the breakfast staff had to be reminded multiple times but in all fairness they did their best.

    Kids friendly .. amazing food and great location..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Park Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is without a doubt a very special hotel. You feel immediately welcome and at home! At around a 2 hour drive from Berlin its my perfect weekend location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.1
    A very nice family friendly hotel. Overall service is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no swimming pool. The pool at the SPA is most of the day occupied by children. Would be good if kids get their own area, so the guests at the spa can relax a bit more.

    The property and beach are very nice. The staff at the reception were helpfull. The Gourmet Restaurant was a very nice surprise. Treatments at the SPA were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Awesome hotel with friendly stuff and great atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Park Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is one minor thing, room service is slightly slow.

    I have stayed in many hotels in Germany. I would say this hotel is on my top list. It is an incredibly comfortable hotel. Everything in the rooms and facilities was just excellent!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.7
    great location and overall great hotel but disappointing care for the guests and not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    basics simply not in place; service at breakfast poor, staff not proactively asking for coffee wishes nor taking away used plates; pool (supposed to be part of the spa) was a loud kids hell and therefore not usable before 6pm (if one wanted to relax), staff was throughout annoyed, overwhelmed or maximum just 'ok' , 50/50 chance of a morning newspaper > probably all first world problems but not for this price of the hotel. maybe we just caught a very wrong time as this hotel has everything to be a top destination.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Professional and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Park Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking off site was a bit annoying and costs an additional 12€ per day.

    Professional and friendly staff. Beautiful surroundings and atmosphere. The Spa facilities are amazing and well worth spending the day. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely with an amazing selection of à la carte items and a large buffet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    highest quality I have experienced in europe !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -the still water was a highly priced -in the spa, i had no warm water in 2 showers, (but that didn't spoil the mood)

    -the breakfast eggs benedicts where fantastic -the childerens club (a whole 3 floored house) was great with all types of toys -they are very child friendly (menu's, drawings items in restaurants etcetc) -the beachclub was super relaxed with good value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.7
    Classical Luxury — but nothing more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite sea side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole spirit is old-school luxury. Classical support by the staff but not very personal. If you’re not the typical rich-kid the staff ignores you even if you can afford it The guests are also rather rich-kids that spend money of their parents

    The location is awesome

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Park Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    parking

    extremely proffessional and kind staff,we stayed for 5 noghts and enjoyed the yoga classes very much. the restaurants were also very good,we liked the japanese restaurant! I fully recommend this hotel,it was great!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    10
    Breakfast, excellent variety and quality
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Park Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not all the facilities at the spa were open

    Breakfast, excellent variety and quality Library, and corners to relax The silence, location of the ensemble

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    9.6
    Heiligendamm Weihnachten 2016
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Park Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we didn't like at all the long que at the restaurant to be placed. We didn't have this last year.

    The location, the building, the facilities and the really friendly and helpfull staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel and breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Park Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This time we got a somewhat small room in the main building. Last time (by accident?) a suite in the Severin building with big balcony.

    We love this hotel! Stayed her for the 5th time. The breakfast is wonderful!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.8
    Superbe first class hotel in a super location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There are a number of separate buildings: one withe the restaurants, one with the pool and exercises, several with the rooms; inconveniently they are not connected. We were lucky to have 7 days of uninterrupted sunshine and no rain ... quite unusual; with rain it could be unpleasant rushing from one building to the other.

    Location, comfort, service, food. Large swimming pool and the facilities in general.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Freezing Baltic Sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Park Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Baltic Sea Water was FREEZING. COULD NOT SWIM

    The Baltic Sea is So Beautiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Very good restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Park Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good restaurants. Spa was awesome and quiet. Sundowner at the beach bar is a must.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect Get-away
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Park Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Excellent - a different world

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Reines Familien/ -Kinderhotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reines Familien/ -Kinderhotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Einfach perfekt
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Park Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Location - Breakfast - Staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.6
    We waited about 40 minutes for our lunch at the bar and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    We waited about 40 minutes for our lunch at the bar and we only ordered a pasta dish and a tomato soup.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    One of the best Hotels i ve ever have been.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Park Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the things were really expansive

    One of the best Hotels i ve ever have been. Perfect location with a Fine german marine Luxus Style

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    8.8
    Customer service did not match quality of the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Park Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service did not match quality of the property

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.6
    Perfect x-mas holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location near the sea and the SPA and wellness possibilities ar perfect just as the diversity of the breakfast is to be mentioned.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Relaxing times
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent environment. Real relaxation

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    Nice view and also helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Sea Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views.

    Nice view and also helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    10
    Fantastic location and staff - a welcome change to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More live music in the bar program would be nice! Also, the gym should stay open until midnight at least.

    Fantastic location and staff - a welcome change to the typical german cold shoulder treatments of many other high end hotels. The staff here were so helpful and friendly, they even supplied our room with a surprise birthday cake for my boyfriend upon arrival. Would come back again and again! Also, breakfast was amazing!! Great value, great choices also for Vegans and Vegetarians.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    8.8
    The grounds are beautiful, the service is good, the food is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms have stains on carpet, for a hotel like this, should not happen. The service can be better. Turn down service to demanding in that they want to get done. Spa should have more staff.

    The grounds are beautiful, the service is good, the food is excellent, excellent Spa.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    5.8
    A truly great suite with a nice view of lawn, in a castle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Pool was overcrowded with children, the wellness area bland, the steam bath temperature sub-optimal, no staff in sight to rectify this and on the way out someone who shrugged when listening to our remarks.

    A truly great suite with a nice view of lawn, in a castle like building. Even with a glimpse of the Baltic Sea :-)

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    Elegant, beautifully designed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing springs to mind

    Elegant, beautifully designed. magnificent location, fantastic pool, early nineteenth century German Neoclassical gem, food excellent, service impeccable.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    9.6
    Great location, Nice view and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    stairs to go to our room but did not have problem , birds droppings on the sitting/lounges in the balcony

    Great location, Nice view and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.2
    fantastic area, breakfast, beach coffee bar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the strict order for the kids to leave the water at 6 pm sharp, although the complete pool was empty,..... This will not motivate parents to come again with their kids!

    fantastic area, breakfast, beach coffee bar!

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    9.2
    Friendly atmosphere, excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spa needs to be improved

    Friendly atmosphere, excellent service

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    10
    Everything was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    9.2
    Ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ambience

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    9.2
    Great with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great with kids

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    10
    Amazing hotel, breakfast excellent, SPA facilities great,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing hotel, breakfast excellent, SPA facilities great, nothing to complaint, excellent hotel, location great, staff super friendly,

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    9.6
    Stayed to attend my brother's wedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    parking expensive

    Stayed to attend my brother's wedding. Lovely setting by the beach, nice spa and great service.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    10
    Fantastic setting, perfect for relaxation and walks along...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Fantastic setting, perfect for relaxation and walks along the beach, great service, fantastic breakfast buffet, classy altogether.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Browse Grand Hotel Heiligendamm traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: