Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Kadettenstraße, 51429 Bergisch Gladbach, Germany

#3 of 24 hotels in Bergisch Gladbach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 345 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    Luxury but be prepared for large distances in enormous magnificent edifice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Lit Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Likes and dislikes set out in complete review ...

    If visiting the area and require luxurious accommodation , this is it . The historic building is well restored and very well maintained . There are all the facilities of a 5 Star hotel if desired and if willing to pay for such . For a person staying alone the small rooms are fine but for 2 it is advisable to select at least the next size up as it easily becomes cramped for 2 .The sheer size of the building , in my own experience , was impressive and exciting to begin with but after the initial "wow" factor , the sheer distance between different areas such as restaurants and leisure areas and the rooms , is lengthy and often labyrinthine too . The very smart decor is simultaneously impersonal and can give a cold impression ( this part is a subjective personal reflection) and thus deprives the place of the warmth and relaxed atmosphere achieved by many hotels at all levels . This is in spite of the sterling efforts of most of the excellent staff who are an asset to the whole enterprise . The breakfast room , the most successful and beautiful public space there is of a high order : all you would want in lovely surroundings . The Italian restaurant when you get there , does have charm and atmosphere including an attractive Terrace for eating outside . If you are willing to pay substantially for parking in the garage then do so but otherwise ensure you park somewhere locally whether for free or not , as the enormous areas around and near the building are denied for overnight parking . This seems strange when many hotels with outside space are generous as to parking or at most charge modest sums , out and even in . With the aforementioned caveats I recommend a stay at this magnificent edifice !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Magical
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Lit Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little expensive when the price for a night would be a little down all would be just perfect

    Just everything when it comes to accomodations, the room, the location and personal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    Castle holiday par exellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Lit Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found the bed too soft. A minor thing however. But for the love of..... please do something about the coffee. Both the one you get for breakfast (in the room) and in the bars. The espresso in the Enoteca was great, but the rest was a sad experience for a coffee lover.

    An absolut gem of a hotel. Fantastic restaurants and very helpful and freindly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful and quirky setting and surroundings. Excellent service and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Superior Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything, but the following would have made it even better for me. A kettle and cup, saucer and spoon in room to make a tea / coffee for myself from time to time. Fruit being replenished in the room on a daily basis. I could not get the 'Dampfbad' to work in the spa area. I was not warm / hot as it should have been. Also, I would have liked a 'rowing machine' and also a 'stepper' and some additional strength machines in the gym. However, the machines that were there were of good and modern quality.

    The room was very large, comfortable and well equipped, except for a kettle which I would have liked. It had a lovely view and the bed was very comfortable, too. I also liked the gym, but would have liked a rowing machine, too. The pool and spa / wellness area was also great. Unfortunately, I did not stay for long enough to try out the excellent restaurant for evening meals but breakfast was delightful. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. The location was also great, set in beautiful surroundings, but not far from shops and with a lovely view down onto Cologne Cathedral.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    5.8
    Overrated, great buildings and surroundings, disappointing service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    After our excitement upon arrival, our enjoyment diminished for the following reasons: 1. My wife phoned for a table for diner that night and at first a table at the Dali bar was available. A bit later the reception phoned us and said the table was no longer available, but instead they could offer us a table at the 'basement' restaurant Trattoria Enoteca. It being our first time at this hotel we figured ok, lets take the alternative, but once we arrived it was clear, we had been SUBSTITUTED for other guests, which is simply not done! 2. The Trattoria Enoteca was disappointing, and clearly the lesser restaurant of the property. This especially became clear when the 'hand made' Ravioli di Zucca clearly came straight from the MICRO-WAVE! Persons who fly business class know this, when a sauce on a plate isn't moving, but seems to be stuck to the plate... Clearly from heating a whole dish up, which is understandable for in a plane, but non acceptable in a restaurant of a hotel with such a name and reputation. 3. We had two rooms in the house above the Vendome restaurant, which, logically, had no seats available on such a short notice. All fine, but in the middle of the night, at 02:00, the staff of the Vendome figured to have a LOUD PARTY for the enjoyment of the guests upstairs. Naturally, this was yet another disappointment of this hotel. 4. Lastly, due to the feeling of being replaced, the microwave dish in the substitute restaurant, and the noisy party in the middle of the night we decided to skip breakfast at this venue and leave promptly. At presenting the bill, I found out that it stated a 60,00 Euro charge for 2 hours of babysitting, while they mentioned it was 15,00 Euro per hour. They changed the bill accordingly. All in all, unfortunately a disappointing experience...

    The property on itself is beautiful, and carefully maintained. We enjoyed this beauty, and the open grass fields in front of the hotel where our kids could play around.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Luxury stay in a friendly and welcoming environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Lit Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit of a pitty that the parking is not included in the room price.

    Great and friendly staff, great breakfast, very nice and well maintained hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.6
    Best ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Lit Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No One meet us on the breakfast - strange for the hotel... Porridge was like plaster...

    Our favorite hotel, stayed 3 times! Mostly we loved beds, view, personnel, pool in spa where you can come with children, magic view around! Very quiet and peaceful. Room service very nice! TV and Internet - ok! Mostly we love decor - very relaxing. Close to the city, and warm garage) concierge can speak Russian and help to change rare brake pads for the car - grate thanks for that!!! Where filling like home!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    8.8
    Great palace in central Germany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room on top floor.small windows. My wife is a bit claustrophobic. Also wait for food at Italian restaurant was too long. we got there at 2000hrs and had not been served desert course (fifth) by 2230.

    Atmosphere and room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Relaxed a lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Superior Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very quiet, beautifully appointed, the Only disappointment was the limited outside seating area. Staff exceptionally helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.2
    for sure not 5 stars!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything... bad service... poor standart of 5 stars... spa is very small and old... very messy... nice from outside- inside terrible!!!

    outside

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    The obligingness of the personal , very pleased with all the...
    • Couple
    • Grand Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent !

    The obligingness of the personal , very pleased with all the services of the hotel !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Superior Double
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Lit Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Delightful. Thank you for a wonderful time. My husband will indeed have birthday to remember. We appreciate the thoughtful surprise too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    Simply Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Superior Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at Althoff Schloss Bensberg were simply wonderful. This hotel is a special place and we look forward to our next vacation here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Exellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luxury, comfort, food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Cost for the garage parking of the car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cost for the garage parking of the car.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    excellent in every way from the staff to the St. Barth coscmetics at the SPA.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Superior Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    This was my 3rd stay @ an Athof Hotel and my 2nd Schloss Bensberg. It was magical my 1st 2 times.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Superior Double
    • Stayed 6 nights

    pricing for foods and drinks were insufficient for the money

    Breakfast was grossly overcharged

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Superior Double
    • Stayed 19 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    The free use of the BMW bikes (cycling) was great fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Superior Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The free use of the BMW bikes (cycling) was great fun.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    Looks the part and acts the part
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proper 5 star luxury. Felt pampered by the staff from the front door onwards as our car door was opened.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel one of the best restaurants ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Lit Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel one of the best restaurants ever.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.1
    restaurant 3 star michelin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Superior Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast not includid

    restaurant 3 star michelin

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    The two restaurants without a Michelin star do not fit the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The two restaurants without a Michelin star do not fit the quality of the Hotel as o whole.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect hotel for your One-Night-Honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather... Had to stay in the Spa all day.

    It was the right place for a special occasion. Honeymoon!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Luxury accomodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Lit Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very excellent luxury hotel & service

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.8
    Food could have been a little better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Lit Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food could have been a little better

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    10
    A fabulous hotel to stay at. Very unique
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Grand Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool and breakfast. Amazing architecture

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    World Class Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi could have been more stable and faster. That's the only thing they can improve.

    Everything was great (except the WiFi)! I'll be back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    10
    A must do experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The lot excellent!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Superior Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything's good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    10
    We loved everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Superior Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved everything. We'll be back!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.6
    Great Time at Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensborg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    None

    Comfortable size room, many free facilities and great customer service. Location of the hotel is great also, variety of shops nearby.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.6
    Very clean, comfortable and elegant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Grand Superior Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very clean, comfortable and elegant. 100% recomended

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    Outstanding hotel, superb majestic building and everything...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Make sure you check that your room has wifi that works though I understand a big wifi upgrade is in progress

    Outstanding hotel, superb majestic building and everything quite perfect. The bistro style restaurant is also excellent. This hotel is a perfect choice for discerning exhibitors who are at shows at Cologne Messe which is a 15 minute drive away. Beautifully quiet and you can sleep with the windows open breathing fresh air.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    9.2
    beautiful location, excellent room, impeccable dining in the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    relatively poor standard of pool and leisure facility compared to everywhere else in hotel, Jacuzzi was broken and when reported to staff at wellness center no attempt made to fix or apologize for the problem. Also staff at pool should prevent parents with small baby with nappy from using both pool and Jacussi for cleanliness for other guests.

    beautiful location, excellent room, impeccable dining in the Michelin star Restaurant, friendly and helpful staff in a truly delightfully restored Schloss Palace in excellent location overlooking Koln and just minutes from the Autobahn

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    10
    Absolute elegance in a real palace location!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Absolute elegance in a real palace location! Staff and amenities were top notch. Great view of Cologne from the entrance courtyard. Room was spacious and well appointed.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    10
    it is an amasing hotel, better to say Castle.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    none

    it is an amasing hotel, better to say Castle. about 20 min from airport and Koeln exhibition center, 30 min from city center. by taxi it is max 50 Euro. All in this hotel is perfectly organized: breakfast, spa-center with pool and sauna. special thanks for the heating in the rooms: you can control it yourself. it was very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to people who like beauty, historical places and comfort!

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    10
    the high class of the hotel: it starts already when I drove...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the high class of the hotel: it starts already when I drove to the front door along the majestic entrance; a servant parks the car for you in the garage; great building & interior; high class staff; superior spa facilities; good restaurant (I went to the Italian resto), superb breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    8.8
    The spa and the Enoteca restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    They had no US adapters The phone system was not user friendly They should include breakfast in the room rate as most German hotels do

    The spa and the Enoteca restaurant

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    8.8
    expensive but very nice experience, nice spa/pool;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hotel didn't inform us of special activities even after specifically asking about Christmas - they had 3-day special activities calendar but failed to inform us ahead of time so we could not plan

    expensive but very nice experience, nice spa/pool; shops just a short 5-min walk down hill, train station 10min walk and 30min to Cologne (€4);

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    10
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Restaurant was quite expensive for a family of 5

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel lobby is very grand. Meal at restaurant was delicious. Rooms were spacious and luxurious, girls felt like princesses. Short walk to town.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    9.6
    bed was lovely.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    bed was lovely. the service was outstanding. the property is beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    9.6
    Proximity to Bensburg and cologne,large well appointed rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Proximity to Bensburg and cologne,large well appointed rooms

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    8.8
    The Italian restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Italian restaurant

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    10
    The best.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    They have 2 stars Michelin restaurant which have closed Moday!!! It was pity.

    The best. Everything is very correct, minibar is free of charge.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    10
    Every things
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Every things

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    10
    Luxurious accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Luxurious accommodation

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    9.6
    The free birthday cake for my daughter at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The extra bed was faulty and uncomfortable. It was replaced after the first night at my request.

    The free birthday cake for my daughter at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    10
    Impressive castle with impeccable service.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Impressive castle with impeccable service.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    10
    simply great
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    simply great

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: