Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grenzmotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Am Oxer 19, 24955 Flensburg, Germany

#70 of 103 hotels in Flensburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 467 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No large towels were provided for showering. Just 2 small handtowels each! No one on reception, so this could not be rectified.

    Very clean. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No interaction with staff: did not see anybody during the entire stay. Only small towels provided. No soap or shampoo in the shower (not sure if this was mentioned in the information on booking, just saying). It is Germany, so do not expect too much from the cable/TV (if you like to see something else than German TV).

    Large room. Easy parking. Good location when travelling back from Norway to Belgium for an overnight stop. Although not meeting any staff everything was correctly arranged and in good order.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Simple, clean, uncomplicated, just exactly what I needed for a really short stop on a long trip. Very close to the road and border but quiet. A good bed at the right place, nothing more, nothing less.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy check in/out, very clean room and great location near the Autobahn. Great parking facilities. If you travel with a dog there is a forrest nearby for walking.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although not an issue for us breakfast, if required, had to be booked and paid for in advance.

    Room was functional and met all our needs. I was both surprised and pleased to see there were a couple of small bottles of wine and snacks in the room that could be purchased, i.e. A mini bar minus a fridge! Whilst there was no food on site suitable facilities were not far away.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location good enough if you have a car with GPS. Rather spartan. I stayed for 3 nights without seeing any staff at all. German Sauberkeit- no problem. There are no tourist facilities nearby , you have to go to Flensburg downtown (by car).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curiously, I saw nobody of the staff on the 2 occasions I was in Grenzmotel (7 and 5 p.m.). The office was closed. However clear instructions are given on how to find the room, in which the receipt of the payment can be found. Considering prices and location of other hotels in Flensburg, Grenzmotel is a very good choice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception closed, owner could not be reached by phone. They charge double price for a single room. DO NOT BOOK AT THIS MOTEL!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Property was more or less as we expected it to be.

    Near the boarder. Quiet area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-Fi reception at the room.

    Good room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the internet is very poor

    the cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No personel. Anonymous.

    Cleen and comfortable. Nice dog

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The telivision didnt work

    Quiet

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Handy location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice if tea +coffee making facilities were in the room.

    Easy to find after a long drive very clean and fresh.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small towels. Cold floors.

    Easy access and parking. Very clean and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude & angry landlord, bad manners!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were not able to get the heat on so we were very cold...! Although we set the heater on max it didn't help! You wrote that you were available in the evening but we could't find anyone in the reception area!

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    There was nobody to ask. We came at noon and left about 9am. Not a single person. I wanted to make some changes on the invoice, which they left in my room - not possible. I knew, breakfast was optional and cost 8 €, but cafeteria was closed all the time, so we had to eat at the gas station.

    We came late, and there was instruction how to find keys to the room. Clean, quiet.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our name was on the door, so we know what room we had, the door was open with the key in it. The room was small with perfect beds and badroom, just what you need for one night.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    With heavy growth the sign for the motel was difficult to see, but the availability of the coordinates made the sat nav find the location easily. Very easy access to supermarket, MacDonalds, cafe etc. Easy access from and to the motorway. Excellent for someone just wanting to stop off en route.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of staff presence - did not see a single member of staff until we were driving out of the car park! Location on an Industrial Estate on the outskirts of Flensburg was definitely not what we were expecting!

    Plain and simple accommodation and a good night's sleep

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No one to have information from.

    The bed and room was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was Cold. No people in The time for in- and outchecking.

    Near shopping.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Couple

    We did not see any staff at all, that was odd and there was no breakfast available.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet and very clean.No extra facilties. A very "cost-effective" hotel.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We like the cleanliness of the room, the hospitality of the owner and the place is very relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    -none

    - good shower - good parking - no personal present,but room was open (key in door)

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Everything was better than expected.

    Very nice service. Fantastic organisation of the Motel. Clean and nice size of room.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Browse Grenzmotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: