Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grothenn's Hotel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Colshornstraße 61, 28307 Bremen, Germany

#3 of 65 hotels in Bremen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 213 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent large apartment with great facilities with easy access to motorway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    We stayed here for 1 night on our way to Scandinavia, we received a lovely warm welcome from the receptionist, who also provided us with breakfast the next morning which was plentiful and a huge choice We went into Bremen in the evening, it was about a 20 min walk to the train station but was well worth it Easy access to the motorway

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Would visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a tiny bit expensive, maybe, but good value for money! Getting to and from the appartement took a bit of navigating through traffic every day.

    Ontbijt was fantastisch, rustige locatie, appartement was enorm groot, check in was super smooth with a key box.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.7
    Clean, but a little dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property was hard to find; there are two properties with similar names. The room/apartment we stayed in was a little dated. Sadly at breakfast, we were just left to it, with no explanation by the waitress. to what was on offer. The coffee had been standing and was cold, when served to us. The waitress left the room after she had served us. My German is limited [school German], but even I understood that the other guests were making sarcastic comments about us, and our lack of language skills, which made us feel uncomfortable over breakfast. I fully understand that this was not the hotel's fault. This was not a cheap hotel, with the cost including tax being £130 for 1 night with breakfast , and we did expect a little more.

    The ability to access the property using the key safe as we were getting there late, as we were travelling down from Sweden. The property was very clean, and the beds were very comfy. We were in a apartment, which was very big , and meant that our grandson did not have to sleep in the same room as ourselves. The manager was very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay in a clean, quiet and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect

    Delightful stay in a suite style room with patio and fully equipped kitchen. Spotlessly clean and very quiet. Very comfortable bed and the rooms were wonderfully cosy. Living room had a great TV and a fully stocked fridge if you fancied a cold drink at a very reasonable price. Beautifully laid out breakfast with small lit candles for that extra ambiance. Great selection of cheeses, cold meats, cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit, breads, rolls and jams. Hot food also available.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Good value in a quiet neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room appeared to be a very large apartment including a living room with a kitchen at the side and a bathroom the size of a normal single room and a spacious comfortable bedroom. There was also a very nice patio. The neighbourhood was very quiet. Their restaurant was within easy walking distance. The food, service and atmosphere were a nice surprise.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.2
    Grotthens is excellent - but get the right one !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The GPS co-ordinates quoted by booking.com were wrong. They took us to a property that was called the Grotthens too. It was very confusing and it was a problem finding a staff member to explain this was a restaurant and we were at the accommodation venue. The Wi-fi seemed to have logged on ok but as soon as I tried to use it again it would not work. It was a Sunday and the information left by owner said there was only help available by phone Monday to Friday. So we had no Wi-fi which was very important to us. We knew that reception would be closed when we arrived, but we felt very left alone to get on with it because a simple thing like putting out some maps and brochures (which were locked in the reception) had not been thought of. If nobody is there this is important. We had a problem finding where to eat and what to do. We did wonder if the owner gave the GPS co-ordinates for his restaurant and left no information expecting that you would just go there !!!!

    Breakfast was good standard with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.8
    Please fix the Internet connection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Horrible Internet connection. Chrome refuesed to communicate citing intrusive nature of the technology used by the hotel, other browsers connected, but the speed, or lack thereof, forced me to close the computer and switch to TV.

    Abundant space, inside and outside of the room, kitchenette and breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.1
    Gut aber Bemerkungen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    * nobody at reception after 17:00 or 19:00. * no WLAN code available if reception is not occupied * restaurant not inside hotel, but at different location, very limited veg. menu.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Quiet soroundings.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet soroundings...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Nice quiet location, Great restaurant 5 mins walk, Very clean room, Fantastic breakfast, 10 mins from motorway network.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room floor had stains from previous use

    Spacious room with a kitchenette, good value for money, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.5
    Quiet and lots of space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea and Coffee making in room, however no tea bags etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Efficient,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very large room. Nice neighborhood,picturesque windmills and flowers

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Excellent facilities and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent facilities and breakfast. Very comfortable bed. There is a wonderful idea with key safe for late check-in.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    5.4
    Large room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Did not have wifi nor Internet service and nobody was there to arrange that. It's not a hotel. It's a guesthouse, but I was expecting somebody there. I arrived at 6pm and nobody was there. I received a mai at 9am with a code and a box number, so I could get a key at any time. It's expecting wifi and Internet service. That was one of the reasons to pick the hotel. In the room there was a document in German with some kind of keys to get access to Internet, but was written in getman. Nothing in English. But in the room there was not any kind of connection for a cable to connect the computer. The wifi was not even connecting to put some kind of passwords... I didn't find neither a phone number to ask for help. The day after, when I noticed to the personnel the problems I had, I just received a "ups!" for answer.

    Large room. Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    9.2
    clean, breakfast, wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing

    clean, breakfast, wifi

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    8.3
    Big rooms, very comfortabe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Big rooms, very comfortabe

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    7.1
    large suite & clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No wifi & poor television choice

    large suite & clean

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    7.9
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Everything

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Browse Grothenn's Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: