Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel an der Gruga This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Eduard-Lucas-Strasse 17, Ruettenscheid, 45131 Essen, Germany

#10 of 68 hotels in Essen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 428 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms on street side are noisy when Windows left open. Ear plugs required.

    Nice and spacy rooms. Good Location for Rüdenscheider road (privat) and exhibition area. (Business) Very good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect!, ideal for business trip, nice and quite and staff extra friendly and very helpful. The room was nice and clean and big. I will definitely stay there again on my next trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to complain about, really )

    We enjoyed our 2 nights stay. Room: extra bed for our son was arranged in advance, wifi good connection, nice and clean, spacious enough Breakfast: nice chocolate treat for the Easter ;) (and in general good options available) Hotel area and parking: lovely little inside garden, parking was of no problem for us (free in front of the hotel). Area was nice and convenient for our purposes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really, maybe the rooms could be slightly bigger, but it was fine.

    The breakfast is fantastic, the staff is very kind and helpful. The closest entrance of Messe Essen is 3 min by walk, so it's perfectly place if you want to attend to a show there. Free parking is limited, but the hotel offers parking places in the courtyard of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accessibility with a stroller / wheelchair is hampered by several stairs to get from the parking / street to the reception from where you can take a very small elevator.

    Very closely situated to the Gruga Park, which is definitely worth a visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lack of a kettle in my room

    THe locality of the hotel to the conference venue and to the main shopping area. It is also in a very clean and green area, with nice jogging paths

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was looking for a hotel by sight, I would have never have chosen this hotel, as the facade is not very impressive. But I stayed in the guesthouse in the back, which was excellent. First looks can be deceiving!

    The hotel is a hidden-away little gem. Very friendly and accommodating staff and very clean. Nicely updated. Great breakfast buffet. Private parking lot that made me feel very secure as a solo female traveler.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The staff are wonderful, can't do enough for the guest. Location is excellent and the rooms clean and comfortable.The breakfast is better then any 5 star hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, clean room, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good hotel, good price, good rooms, good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ambient temperature in the room : too hot

    Good breakfast, spacious and comfortable room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ontbijt was prima! Ligging t.o.v. beursgebouw is perfect!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom in our 'Business De-luxe' is very small.

    Clean and quiet room. Everything available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One lamp near the bed was not working

    Room very confortable, breakfast very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nice fresh coffee. nice breakfast buffet. Eggs & Bacon were really nice. .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A cozy small hotel with a touch of elegance and hospitality in all of its places.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room were spacious. Excellent atmosphere with small garden. Staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No beer on tap

    Place was Great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very hot (no AC). Basic room. Room a bit smelly.

    Good position, nice breakfast, nice -basic-Gym

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say

    Very close to Exhibition center

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect. Super hotel and very nice staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traffic noise

    Located close to the beautiful Gruga Park

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed was a bit hard for my liking and just a single duvet to cover a double bed ; but then that could have just been an error.

    The very pleasant reception staff. I chose a business comfort double room for single occupancy and the rate included a free filled roll and drink or snack. The quiet location and ease of getting from the hotel to the centre of Essen or suburbs.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing, all is perfect.

    Eveything is just perfect! The rooms are big, very clean and beautiful. The bathroom is fantastic. Great breakfast, staff super kind. I wish to have the possibility to book for next year in the week of the exhibition.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I booked a business room so that we would have a coffe maker, however our room did not have one. We are a bit grumpy without our coffee, a must have to wake up and deal with the world.

    The staff was outstanding. The breakfast was lovely and the coffee was excellent (just later than needed). We used the fitness room which had a nice set of free weights. It was a pleasant stay and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. There is a review of this hotel that says the Zodiac Restaurant is across the street, it is not, it is about 3km away. Have the hotel staff make a reservation, it is a popular restaurant with limited seating.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An English speaking channel on the TV would have been nice.

    Unusually for B&B hotels we were provided with a two room + bathroom apartment which was excellent. The annex, set behind the hotel, was very quiet ensuring a good night's sleep.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Single bed with cover unfold (could be a German standard). It wasn't big enough for the size of the bed though.

    Personnel was very friendly and location (had an event at the Grugahalle) was the best. Very close to metro stations too.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no wellness at all. A sauna would have been good.

    Nice room, nice surrounding, nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff were arrogant. No room service.

    Well located near the Essen Messe. Breakfast was good.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: