Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of AKZENT Grunau Hotel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Kemnather Straße 27, 95448 Bayreuth, Germany

#19 of 25 hotels in Bayreuth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 518 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location outside city does mean it takes a little more effort to get to (car, bus, bike, or longish walk).

    Location was very close to the beautiful Eremitage castle park, 15 minute walk. A farther walk to old town Bayreuth (~40 min), but still very doable. Hotel is outside city, extremely quiet area. The complex includes many other facilities: bank, bistro, even a Chinese restaurant. Breakfast is good, rooms are very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was not correct compaired to the place. We paid 126 euro for 2 adults and 2 children <1 year. There is nothing nearby and no restaurant at the hotel. The China restaurant below was good though.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfort and tranquility: Too busy around the facility ( restaurants, banks, convenience store --- thus making it a bit noisy and too much traffic. Entertainment: There were over 100 channels, but only 15 were TV stations and none had English language like CNN or BBC. Euronews was in French. Security - Additionally, the doors had these old style locks whereby you have to continually turn keys. For security reasons, you can easily leave the key on the door. Mattress were not comfortable and there were human on pillows.

    location was very convenient. Easy access from highway. convenience store across street. Chinese restaurant in the same building. Walking distance from downtown Bayreuth. WIFI is pretty good. Spacious rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No central air conditioning - we were there in August and the first half of the trip was fatiguing from the heat. There's also no partnership with the gym in the same building, so we paid 8 Euro/day.

    The hotel had a large variety of options for breakfast, as well as a responsive staff throughout the day and evening. On-site parking was convenient. Wifi was excellent. Incredibly clean hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi went down frequently & at some periods it did not work at all.

    Very good reception who dealt easily with questions in English. Excellent transport to & from the Festspielhaus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is relatively old, breakfast could me mucho better in terms of diversity. Price is fair. No air conditioning. And in hot days this was really bad. The elevator was not working the first day. They have a second one, but once the other was fixed no communication about it.

    The staff was nice and polite. Parking was easy. Breakfast is included.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very polite and friendly staff)) The breakfast was super, no hot dishes, but enought cold and a lot of snacks. Good WiFi internet, very good place in garage, it help us don't clean car from snow at morning and extra cost only 5 EUR. Small and quiet town.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was a bit put off when I got the bill when I was charged 10 euros because they claimed I used a towel to clean my shoes which is odd as I had a brush with me to do this but did not feel like arguing the point - given what I was spending I thought it was a bit churlish of them to charge me for this.

    Very helpful service especially with organising trips to Festival.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very minor thing: We didn't book bicycles in advance, so they were all rented out when we arrived. Maybe the hotel could get a few more ...? Or we should be more organised!

    Friendly staff and straightforward facilities. A shuttle taxi arranged to and from the Festspielhaus was a real bonus - it made the visit to the opera so easy. With a car, getting to the centre of Bayreuth and the surrounding area was very easy, and there is a bus too. Nearby Eremitage gardens were lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is slightly out of the way. It's in a development at the eastern edge of Bayreuth. The opportunities in the immediate vicinity for eating out are severely limited and the hotel has no restaurant. However, there is a good bus service (the 307) which stops outside the hotel and takes you into the centre of town in ten minutes. Taxis are generally easy to get hold of in Bayreuth.The hotel also arranges taxis to take visitors going to the performances in the Festspielhaus and bring them back after the event.

    Excellent service from the friendly and hard-working staff. Good breakfasts.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big room and nice location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for what it offers. The hotel is not very modern.

    Great shuttle services to the festival.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit out of town but with a good bus service - got to see some of Bayreuth

    Very professional staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nit worth of 4 Stars

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were so helpful. Spoke English well. Went the extra mile to help.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great restaurant next door and the location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff and helpful. Rooms are spacious and clean. Quick acces to and from highway!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Right stuff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Can't think of anything!

    The friendly staff looked after us well.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were accused of breaking a glass table. We NEVER touched the table.

    Kristen was an excellent concierge

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pleasant hotel. Clean, comfortable and bright

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fresh fruit for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is definetly not 4 star hotel- more like 2+ stars

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning but rooms were still comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is located within easy access to the highway. It takes only a few minutes to get there from the motorway. The garage is warm and spacious - you don't have to worry about your car. The staff is kind and available, ready to give directions to nearest restaurants or shops. Rooms are meeting the expectations, including a roomy and clean bathroom, comfortable beds and a TV. They are also as warm as you wish - you can adjust the radiator. WiFi works properly, haven't met any problems with the connection. The breakfast is fairly ok. Classically, some cornflakes, bread, ham, cheese. Nothing spectacular, you can eat your fill. Checking in and out is fluent; without any probems you can set up for your journey. Worth recommending. I'd also like to say a word about a Chinese restaurant set nearby. It's located right beside the hotel door and it's really favorable (in not so high prices). Its name may be misleading - you can find there some quite western food, only surrounded by some Asian touches. Perfect, if you're hungry after the journey and you've missed all th restaurants near the highway.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi is free only for 1 device (triple room booked, means 3 people stay there), all next cost you 5 euro - and this is in 21 century in Germany! A bit far from the centre, but close to Ermitage.

    Breakfast is good, only 5 euro per person. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel was superb in every respect. The staff was polite and patient, the facilities were comfortable and clean, the location was also perfect. The staff in particular was gracious and helpful. The food was also excellent, varied, and tasty. We look forward to coming back and would never think of using another hotel after having had such a positive experience.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is 3kms from the centre of town but a local bus outside the hotel whisks you in quickly

    Staff were very warm and welcoming and couldn't be more helpful Breakfast was a delight with plenty of choice Convenient taxi arranged by the hotel to take you to and from the Wagner Festival

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The air conditioning of the room didn't function, we only had one small fan which didn't help much. The room was unbearable hot because it was a hot summer day. We slept really badly

    I liked the size of the room.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Family with young children

    Each person is charged the same rate for breakfast regardless of age - very young children too. The price is low - under 5 EUR so it is not a problem for e.g. 1 child but I think it is rather not reasonable nor family friendly. Imagine a family with 4 young children wanted to stay at the hotel, the money spent on breakfast would be significant and surely a 2-year-old does not consume the same amount as an adult.

    24h check-in, cleanliness, friendly personnel, good location, silence, free easily accessible parking.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Solo traveller

    I would have liked more international channels on the tv to be able to stay up to date with the news. The evening meal options were very limited. Chinese, which was good, or what else?

    Comfortable, clean, friendly and efficient staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No AC, but it cooled off at night. Couple miles from town but grocery store and Chinese restaurant in the same building. Wifi available but slow.

    Very friendly family atmosphere. Nice scenery at a good price. Bikes available for ride to the Marktplatz. Best parking I had while in Germany.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The whole hotel, particularly the room was kept very hot, (even after turning off what heaters I could) and this made it very hard to sleep.

    The breakfast was great, one of the best I have had.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was good and cheap The environment was fried and good staffs.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A bit out-dated dekor but that had its charm also

    Large clean rooms and comfortable beds! Good location from the autobahn and good value for money!

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    surroundings at breakfast, bread was not fresh

    Big room Price was very reasonable for Festspiele season

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Couple

    we thought the breakfast area was too small for the number of people

    staff very friendly. room spacious

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Though the hotel looks outdated - it has everything you may need. Rooms are big and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I only spent one evening until next morning, so I don't know the hotel well.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No air condition!!!

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet access was quite complicated

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very good chinese restaurant downstairs. Parking im the basement.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Near to the hihgway, fine breakfast, clean room, nice staff. Comfortable garage.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They might not have king sized beds.

    Big rooms, warm and a little personal touch.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: