Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Grunewald This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Kronprinzessinnenweg 120, Steglitz-Zehlendorf, 14129 Berlin, Germany

#433 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 549 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's, probably, 10th time I was staying at Grunewald Hotel, and I'm still more than satisfied. Clean air, relatively silent place, wood - and two S-bahn lines to bring you anywhere in Berlin. Excellent price/value ratio!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This time I was not lucky to get the room with look at the forest, so had to observe the insides of the kitchen yard :) And definitely, I'd like more pillows :)

    I really like the place. Close to the forest and lake. And in the same time just 5 min from two main S-bahn lines, streightly to the Main Trains Station or center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The direct environment is at the gasoline station and some noise from the Autobahn.

    The location at the border of the town to reach all by S-Bahn and close to the Slachtensee and Wannsee.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location, near the GAS station. On Sunday evening, there were a lot of people who didn't belong there. It was too loud. Bed, mattresses were uncomfortable.

    breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.It is not Hilton royal hotel,but the price is low,and we like using the money on other things than expencive hotel.

    Outside Berlin centrum. Easy with car,near S-bahn,free parking outside.Friendly staff, small restaurant,big room ok breakfast.We have been here 8 times now and we will come back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Smoke can be smelt even in non-smoker room.

    Good place to come to Hbf or Tegel airport almost any time. Breakfast can be srved _very_ early. For it was prepared at 5 AM.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good location, surrounded with trees, 5mins to train connection to the city (aprox 30min), free parking, tasty breakfast included, near highway, silent at night.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    People who work there are very nice. I guess it is very convenient if you just looking for the place to stay during work trip or just stay over night on the way.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Similar to a Hotel in the freeway. Located between a gas Station/mini Mart and Burger King. The Hotel Restaurant was disappointing.

    (5€/dog/night). Room price. Near to Berlin. In one direction were the woods. OK for Stopover/to visit Berlin.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room didn't have air conditioning but as it looked out on trees and windows had mosquito nets was not too much a problem.

    I loved the fact that my 2nd floor room looked out on to trees and I heard bird song all night long. Spacious. Wonderful for biking hiking bird watching, exploring the area on foot or by bike or car. Nearby a gas station for supplies and a huge restaurant bar which was extremely polar with bikers and visitors. Easy walking distance from train station. Easy to cycle to Potsdam from here.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They can not speak English very well.

    This hotel is near the S-bahn station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was excellent and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient location, old tired hotel. Staff were helpful. Breakfast was better than expected.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was too dark. Light was not enough.

    Breakfast was excelent - fruits, eggs, bread, salads

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    a lot of noise from the street and petrol station

    large clean room, good breakfast from 6:30, about 2 mins walking from S-Bahn station Nikolassee

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    see above

    Everything bu for the noise outside that did not allow to sleep with open windows

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Perfect breakfast, nice staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hot water this time in fact was not hot. Hope this is just a coincedence.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy sometimes, especially starting at 6am, from outside.

    Price was great for location. Breakfast was very good. It was clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old filthy floors. Smelly rooms pointing to a backyard with thrash bin.

    Good connections with car and public transportation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    basic breakfast not friendly staff

    near to highway parking quiet room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet inclusive, and so many foods to choose, much more than my expectation.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When I paid with the card I got already terminal with pre-selected payment in CZK with unfavorable exchange rate. This happened also when I paid for the dinner, but I unfortunately realize it too late. This was really nonprofessional.

    Great place, everything is near, the forest with the lake, public transport to the Berlin center, highway... we didn't miss a thing.

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly and helpful staff Good location for my needs (visiting daughter staying in student accommodation nearby) Close to the station Plenty for breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff. They are very very very rude. Not helpful. Never encountered such a arrogant staff member in my life. I will never recommend this place.

    Break fast & Parking

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some rooms in the Hotel had plumbing problems ,i.e availability of hot or cold water seemed to be random in the old part of the Hotel on the 3rd floor.

    The staff were most helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Noisy surroundings. Parking is a public parking next to a Burger King, unattended. Hotel could use some renovation.

    Well located - close to S-Bahn as well as motorway. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel itself is old, needs a modern update, especially interior, rooms very small, but it is clean! There are no mini fridges in the room, but if you need to keep stuff cool, just get a bucket, put plastic bag in it, go to the gas station or burger king and get ice cubes.

    Staff is friendly and helpful. Location is perfect, in the Forrest area and 15 minute walk to the nice Wannsee beach! There is also a free beach at near the beginning of badeweg. Restaurants just over the street! Breakfast is limited but ok: eggs, bacon, cheeses, meats, rolls, bread, cereal, yogurt, tomatoes, cucumber, water, juices, tea and coffee. For the price, just for sleeping...it's ok!

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel itself is old, needs a modern update, especially interior, rooms very small, but it is clean! There are no mini fridges in the room, but if you need to keep stuff cool, just get a bucket, put plastic bag in it, go to the gas station or burger king and get ice cubes.

    Staff is friendly and helpful. Location is perfect, in the Forrest area and 15 minute walk to the nice Wannsee beach! There is also a free beach at near the beginning of badeweg. Restaurants just over the street! Breakfast is limited but ok: eggs, bacon, cheeses, meats, rolls, bread, cereal, yogurt, tomatoes, cucumber, water, juices, tea and coffee. For the price, just for sleeping...it's ok!

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Evening staff on 2 of three evenings was very rude. Other staff were friendly. Outside smoking area brought smoke into rooms. Panhandlers in parking lot.

    Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Couple

    location,parking,close to freeway,5 minutes walk to s-bahn,right next to Grunewald and Wannsee,good buffet until 11:00,another cheap eating place across the road,quiet,friendly service

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had great difficulty sending emails until the last evening when - suddenly - it all worked. It was also the only hotel I used on the trip not needing a password to log in to the wi-fi.

    Able to leave the car parked while I traveled into Berlin by S-Bahn

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Check when you pay! I was supposed to pay €44 and they charged €59. I thought it was more than I expected, but being tired etc. I didn't check till I was back home. Otherwise a decent place to stay.

    Close to Tegel, good wifi. In Germany it is a lot hit and miss. Here it was ok.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great location eat across the street from the hotel food taste and cost terrific can take the S ban into Berlin instead of driving

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise, next to highway and petrol station. Misleading photos and description while booking

    Close to S-Bahn

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ok rooms,good breafast,the staff +++, outside city near S-bahn.It is our 5th visit in hotel Grunewald and Berlin,and we will come back.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    parking at night was a bit difficult, but worked out nicely

    friendly staff, even when arriving lateat night excellent breakfast with a lot of choices

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Big room Very close to S-Bahn station Nikolassee

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very bad welcome from the staff: it seemed that I was really bothering them when checking in and after at diner. Not nice

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great soups for dinner and very friendly, helpful staff with good English, which was great for us!

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    the halls smell like cigarrettes and smoke.

    in general ok.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is perfect. 800 m to Wansee, clear forest, excellent air.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was lacking some cereals or fruits

    Location, decent food, cost

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location of the hotel, delicious breakfast, cleanliness, free wifi

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: