Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Montana Parkhotel Marl This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Eduard Weitsch Weg 2, 45768 Marl, Germany

#1 of 3 hotels in Marl

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 827 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bar after a certain hour, no frigo in the room.

    Nice breakfast with a lot of choice and a terrasse outside with view on the lake. Easy parking and free. Quite quiet. Nice small lake juste behind the hotel to take some fresh air.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant shuts down at 10PM without warning to enable ordering additional meal choises such as caffes, drinks or dessert. We had delays thus later arrival.

    Breakfast was very good with abundant choices. Neat, clean facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking place is small and difficult to find place on Saturday night. In the room there is no fridge, coffee machine, water boiler...

    Breakfast was nice. Staff's approach was nice and friendly. Quite calm place near the lake. It is worthy what you have paid. Room was clean and well prepared for us and for our children.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only filtered coffee or powder coffee available for breakfast. For such decent hotels as this one, however, serving beans coffee should be possible!

    Wellness facilities, cleanliness, breakfast food selection very good! The hotel has undergone significant improvement since the last change in owner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath instead of shower in the bathroom, the hotel is nice but don't have anything what make you feel you want definitely stay there again.

    Nice, clean hotel, convenient location and parking facilities. Very good restaurant on site with lovely food. Perfect if you need to have a break after long driving. Overall good experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms could more comofrtable and more homely would be appreciated. Updte bathroom. Way too basic for comfort.

    Breakfast was abundant and variety good. Bedroom very basic and lacked comfort. Vent system not working, bathroom super basic , even very dated. One night was plenty. Location good though. 4 star questionable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning was not working, the television and all the literature was only in German. No tea or coffee facilities or iron. Quite basic.

    Overall the room was clean and did the job for an overnight bed to stay in. The staff were very good, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although parking is available on the site of the hotel (outside), it can be limited and parking in the streets around the hotel might be required.

    Good hotel on passing through Germany.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have more hot breakfast choices

    Friendly staff. They normally close their sauna at 2200 but agreed to keep it open until 2330 just because we asked.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture, restaurant not very good, a lot of traffic next to the hotel, staff was helpful but not very friendly.

    Good bed, good WiFi connection and that's about it really...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 30 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are cozy, but if you book for a single room with a double bed they only give you a comforter large enough for a single bed. Likewise for the bathroom. You only get one towel. And the bathroom does not have a ventilation fan, which means smells linger for a while. The rooms also don't have microwaves, refrigerators, or boiler makers or coffee pots. They are setup for short stays of one to three days. Anything after that is a struggle. Business travellers who have to stay longer than a week should look for something else. We stayed 30 days and it was a struggle. I actually bought my own microwave for the room. I wear soft earplugs every night when I sleep. Even so, I could still hear the people in the room above me move chairs as they sat down or got up from their table. The chairs sliding back and forth across the floor was really annoying. The restaurant is ok. I didn't have a meal there that would bring me back, but none of the food I tried was terrible. It was average across the board. The small lake on the backside of the hotel is amazing and has its own eco system with many different types of water fowel using it as a breeding ground. Very scenic. Overall I give the hotel 3 stars. They could easily become a 4 star hotel with some improvement.

    The staff members were very friendly and helpful. They are very professional and are great at their jobs. They were definitely a well trained staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on. The mattress was way too thin & I was able to feel the metal spring. I have a bruise on my rip from it now. The pillow was not better, as it gave no support either. I liked the view of the lake, however because of the wild geese it became quiete noisey. Needless to say I did not get a good night sleep. I also bought a bottle of wine when I got back to the hotel as a night cap, when I opened up the bottle it was spoiled and undrinkable. The next day the desk took off the charge, but I was a little disappointed that I couldn't enjoy a glass of wine after a long day and that they would sell spoiled old wine. Last but not least, since your parking has limited space and if you are fully booked one has to park in a darker section away from the hotel. May I suggest some saved spots for woman travellers a little closer to the entrance? It was pretty unnerving to walk alone late at night to the entrance after only finding parking pretty far away from your hotel. Other guests used up two spots for 1 car, which I guess was the reason for the parking spot shortage.

    The staff was really friendly and helpful. The front desk associate Andre Deckert was really nice and accommodating. The room was really spacious and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The setting is right on the town lake and very picturesque and beautiful. The room was also very nice. The price was also very reasonable. This was one of the best bargains of our month long trip. We ate with friends so didn't try the restaurant except for breakfast, and it was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room besides elevator was noisy (I mean because of the elevator, not the ducks and frogs in park outside). The heating somehow didn't heat up in the room, but an extra blanket was provided.

    Great breakfast, tidy rooms, nice view from window, parking, friendly staff, great breakfast, great breakfast, great breakfast, cute ducks and birds outside

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 27 nights

    No Fridge

    We stayed there for 27 Nights. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The Room was very clean and were cleaned every day. Location is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A TV channel with English or even the option to get English subtitles. Maybe even the option to turn the dubbing off?

    I really liked the welcome note and presents for the dogs. I also liked the chocolate that was for me. It was a really nice touch after a long journey. Great area around the lake for walking the dogs.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of tobacco in my non-smoking room and that there were only German channels on the tv.

    The sauna with extra towels, complementary water and chill out room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is dated and needs modernisation

    Staff were excellent and food was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While breakfast was great, salad in the restaurant was lousy.

    Good sauna with nice quiet room. Surprisingly good breakfast. Lakeview :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff was helpful and always cheery!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower curtain needed to be washed. [NOTE: this is a common problem in hotels all over the world, in my experience.]

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very clean and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No vegan food/options in hotel restaurant.

    Girl at the reception was awesome. Super friendly and kind, yet still very professional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Isolated from bars/restaurants

    Nice position on the lake, nice bar, comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar closes far to early

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have assigned a smoking rooms in the non-smoking floor, which ruined the whole floor, i couldnt sleep from the smoke

    The view

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The mattress on the bed was VERY UNCOMFORTABLE. It felt like it was made out of concrete! The room was very noisy aswell. Also, we were travelling with friends, and we didn't have rooms next to each other. Bummer.

    Very good "Hänchen Mediterran". Nice dish.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing all is very good there

    The Hotel is a very comfortable and great value for your money spend, with really nice staff members. I was there a few times already, and I am enjoying my stays. Very friendly helpful personnel trying to make you feel home!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No English TV channels and the information booklet was only in German.The hotel's restaurant didn't offer an extensive enough menu.

    Everything was of a high standard. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was not the most comfortable I have used.

    Excellant dinner served by very frienly and cheerful staff. Breakfast was good some croisants would have been nice.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Official it's a 3 stars hotel, but it's better than most 4 stars hotels. Nice rooms and 100 meter from a big shopping mall. Nice and polite employees

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small things really. A lamp that doesn't work (because it is not plugged in), an electric outlet that doesn't function.. The hotel look is a bit bland but again, value for money is good

    Good staff, room type as requested, clean and orderly place, parking is easy, very good breakfast, value

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Matras was way too hard and drain from bath needed to be shaved?? It was growing a large beard...

    Friendly staff, spacious room that was clean and hotel was at a good location for our purpose.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nice breakfast, but a little hard to replace bacon to scrambled eggs by meatballs, in the morning :-)

    everything Works, room was big and bathroom the same. bed was excellent and wifi worked well also.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff, clean room, fantastic water pressure :-)

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one drinking glass in a double room !

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Roof leaked

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good breakfast. Plenty of variety.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    too much noise at breakfast….

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very pleasant friendly and helpful.Hotel was clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast below average. Not filled up, coffee only from low quality industrial machine

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast and bar are well organized.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff, the lake

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some difficulties checking in.

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no food for after midnight

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse Montana Parkhotel Marl traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: