Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Chemnitzer Hof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Theaterplatz 4, 09111 Chemnitz, Germany

#8 of 35 hotels in Chemnitz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 458 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Loved it! Clean, comfortable, and luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillow case folded closed, opened up a little bit while sleeping on it, I like to always have bedding that other people have slept on completely covered. Pillow and comforter were soft down, very comfortable though.

    The hotel was spacious, very clean, and well decorated. Wooden floors and no carpet, which I love, so clean! A coffee maker in the room. Underground parking on site for 10 euro. Less than 10 minutes to walk into the heart of the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable but hotel could offer that little bit extra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You were not informed of a laundry room. You were not given a kettle, but a coffee pod machine. They only gave you 4 pods of coffee and this was not refilled. I consider this poor as we stayed 4 days and had nothing to drink. Restaurant staff only offered 1 drink and we waited ages for the bill so left, we had booked through the room so knew the room would be charged. You cannot get drinks during the day in the lounge it doesn't open until 5. The bath is high and difficult to climb in and out of for the shower with not convenient hand holds.

    The bed, decoration, chairs and size of room was lovely. Place was clean and the staff were friendly and spoke good english. Food in the restaurant was very tasty although expensive. Walkable distance to town and train station. Although they will book a taxi for you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.1
    A piece of history
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The table is used by the TV and for the notebook or reading you find the appropriate place with complications . Unfortunately I had some of the non - reconstructed rooms, so the equipment was a bit old - fashioned.

    Hotel is in a quiet place, very clean. Staff is very polite. This place has definitely a genius loci of good 30s. Good accessible is the parking, which entrance is positioned far from the hotel, but you can park befor the hotel till you check - in. The garage is joined with the hotel with a nice light skewer, with historical pics of Chemnitz

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Large comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large comfortable room. We came to Chemnitz for a show at Theaterplatz and didn't realize the hotel was literally next door and we could have had a great view from the bathroom. Hotel is on the main street, downtown.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Renovated rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet could be better with more cooked to order options (like cooked to order eggs & omelets) and better bread

    The rooms have been renovated and modernized. They look really really great. It was a welcome surprise.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    Excelente. Recomendo.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strengths: 1) Cleaning. 2) Reception staff speak good English. 3) Excellent breakfast. 4) The bathroom is very nice. 5) Sheets and pillows are very good. 6) The hotel fulfilled all the information that was on Booking.com 7) The localization is excelent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Nice hotel but be sure to check your room rates right at the beginning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the final check out I was presented with an unexpected business package that was not part of the original booking. There was no getting around it so I ended up paying an additional US$40-US$50

    Classic example of Bauhaus architecture . Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and very comfortable. Because of the weather we ate several meals at the hotel, all of which were excellent. The hotel is adjacent to the opera house where we saw a magnificent production of Turandot.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.8
    great place to stay near the centre of Chemnitz and near the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was given a room at the back of the hotel, which was very quiet but did not have much of a view.

    ideal location for exploring Chemnitz, within walking distance from the train station and the main sights. The hotel has charm, and the restaurant is very nice, looking out over the opera house, delicious food and attentive staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    7.9
    I always stay here on business so by default I guess I am...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a business meeting at 3pm and couldn't use the bar/lounge as it was apparently closed albeit the door was open. Embarrassing, had to have our meeting in the lobby. Not great.

    I always stay here on business so by default I guess I am saying it is great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    8.8
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee provided in rooms .

    Good location near train station and 10 min walk to centre. Nice breakfast provided, plenty of choice and nice dining room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    Wifi does not work at all!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi does not work at all!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    The room was a bit cold, otherwise everything was allright.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit cold, otherwise everything was allright.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    excellent
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has perfect location. All the staff are friendly and helpful and very good at English.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    The free travel card is a welcome bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free travel card is a welcome bonus. Lovely staff!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    This was an older style room therefore a little bigger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is expensive and also the breakfast.

    This was an older style room therefore a little bigger.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were very friendly while others were unpleseant For the price they charge gor breakfast I excpected much more

    Location Facilities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    We chose the hotel because of the close proximity to the station and we were not disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very pleasant helpful staff. We enjoyed the live music on the Friday evening while we enjoyed our dinner. the hotel is close to the station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Modern hotel in a central location with a great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Additional cost for car parking.

    Quiet room, comfortable beds and a central location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    Kind staff and good central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn't have twin beds rooms, as stated on booking.com website

    Kind staff and good central location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Central location, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast,...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Central location, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast, easy parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Chemnitzer Hof
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a bit small.

    Nice big rooms, outstanding location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.2
    Very good location, big room, great breakfast, good parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee on breakfast

    Very good location, big room, great breakfast, good parking

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    8.3
    Housekeeping staff were talking too loud in the hallway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping staff were talking too loud in the hallway.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    9.6
    Perfect location with excellent food and great staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great.

    Very professional staff who were also very helpful. Very good food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.2
    No Air Conditioning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Air Conditioning!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    7.9
    The hotel was beautiful and the breakfast buffet was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was absolutely NOT like a cloud. It was very hard. The staff was friendly on the surface, but when my relative called to ask them in German to inform me in English that he was ill and had to cancel our plans that day, no one told me! And they all spoke English!

    The hotel was beautiful and the breakfast buffet was excellent!

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    8.3
    Large room and bathroom.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Church bells chiming every 15 minutes from 6am till 12am straight outside the room. Hotel decor slightly dated. Small TV. Breakfast could be more varied.

    Large room and bathroom. Very helpful staff. Parking available. Free public transport for hotel guests.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Noisy church bells all night, 100 times never slept, no AC, room like a sauna Staff didn't care or show sympathy small breakfast Avoid if you want to sleep

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    8.3
    The room was beautiful and well furnished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is quite a bit of graffiti and many abandoned buildings.

    The room was beautiful and well furnished. The breakfast was very good, and the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    Everything was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to complain about.

    Everything was excellent. The room was big enough, the bathroom nice, very good breakfast with fresh fruit, fruit salad, fresh vegetable and good selection of other things.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    7.9
    Location perfect!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy rooms!Staff in the recepcion weren't helpfull when I checked out!

    Location perfect!Parking garage close to hotel!Restaurant staff professional, menu excellent!

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    6.3
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ate in restaurant. Poor standard of cooking at vastly over-inflated prices. I would have sent my meal back as my asparagus was only half-cooked and was virtually tasteless. But my wife stopped me. Poor quality pillow.

    Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    7.5
    Easy parking, unload in the pull-in/layby outside,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms are a little dated.

    Easy parking, unload in the pull-in/layby outside, check-in at reception, ask for a parking ticket, then park in the underground car park. Breakfast good, good hotel llocation. Free T-Mobile wifi hot-spot in the area. Tram pass included.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    10
    This is our 5th stay at this hotel and each visit continues...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have no complaints with this hotel and will plan or stay with them on our next trip to Chemnitz.

    This is our 5th stay at this hotel and each visit continues to improve. The hotel staff is very courteous and speak English.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    10
    Pleasant, clean, interesting architecture (1930, early Neue...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    No bad experience

    Pleasant, clean, interesting architecture (1930, early Neue Sachlichkeit)

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.9
    Fruit in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Requested quiet room and additional pillows - neither were provided!!

    Fruit in the room. Nicely decorated and comfortable. Good options for breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    5.8
    Receptionist self sufficiant !
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Receptionist self sufficiant !

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.9
    great,spacy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great,spacy room.Very helpfull staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    9.6
    Restaurant and staff are the winner
    • Business trip
    • Group

    no bad experience

    Restaurant and staff are the winner

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast was outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    9.6
    the dinner and the quiet room
    • Business trip
    • Group

    only good experience !

    the dinner and the quiet room

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse Hotel Chemnitzer Hof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: