Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Centro Hotel Kommerz 3 stars

Johannisstraße 30 - 34, Altstadt-Nord, 50668 Cologne, Germany

#125 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2327 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from trains

    Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was super in a bright fresh room. Location right beside central train station and city centre was ideal for travelling onwards

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was warm and opening the windows during the night is not a good idea due to the noise. Nothing very annoying but AC could help

    The hotel is very clean with spacious rooms. Free (small) water bottles offered every day. It is very close to the train station so opening the windows during the night is not recommended: the area is noise due to the train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steaming hot, small room with a small double bed. NO airconditioning! NO parking facilities in the hotel. Windows can not be open at night: the hotel is located in top of a busstation and next to the central railway station: too noisy. Shower is outdated. Secret deal: 45% off is misleading: just a way to get rid of the smallest rooms for still a good price. We returned immediately back home!

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking situation is horrible. No parking near the hotel. There isn't a place for you to stop and unload your luggage. The room was very hot, no AC, window was directly over the buses and trains - it was very loud the entire night. We checked out a day early, and we were only refunded 10% of our room payment.

    The room was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, and very cramped bed. Not suitable for 2 adults.

    Had stayed here 10 days earlier and had a very good stay, stayed on the last night of our holiday, we were given a standard room which was cramped, you could not get around the bed, as older travellers we had to climb up the bed from the bottom. Very poor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the tall and blonde waitress. I asked if it was possible to gave a fried egg and she just threw it on the table very nervous. The pillows were very soft..

    The personnel from tge receiption was very kind and helpfull

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything, it was perfect for me!!!

    The location was amazing...exactly across the street from the train station! Shopping, restaurants and several museums close by and the gorgeous Cologne cathedral is practically next door!!!! It was super clean and the staff very helpful. I'd definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It didn’t bother us but noisy because the train station is across the street (but the cathedral is across from the train station so this also means the location is very central). Front desk staff not very friendly.

    This hotel is very centrally located by the train centre and the cathedral. Clean and modern rooms, good value for money, and a nice breakfast buffet. Nothing fancy but if you are looking for budget accommodation in a central location, this is a good option.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms need Air Conditioning - was unexplainable hot in the room even in the middle of May. Leaving window open is not an option during night because of the noise.

    The room was decent, clean and comfortable. New and renovated, Close to train station and very handy as i travelled by train. Windows are isolating well from the outside noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to pay a breakfast that is not that good. It was too much money for that. The hotel does not have parking and It cost too much. When you add it was better to stay in another place

    Location is very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Simple, clean, friendly and perfectly located by the station for my 7am train back to London. It was a little noisy outside until midnight but then fell very quiet. I love staying in the city centre with all the hustle and bustle and went to sleep with the balcony door open. It was so lovely to wake up at 3am to silence and the glow of the lights of the cathedral and the station. Quite surreal and magical.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was not spacious but ok. It was noisy with buses, trains, the event hall next door and some drunk people late in the evening. There is no AC, so for hot days it'd be worse.

    View from our room was spectacular with the view of Cologne cathedral, Rhein and trains. Hotel is next to a bus terminal, a metro station and the central train station. In central station, you can find grocery shops open 24 hours and many restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy due to the train station so while it’s a good location for access, the noise is too much. The beds weren’t comfy at all, even with 3 pillows my head sank through to the mattress.

    Location is great if you want to be closer to the centre, right next door to the main train station and a 5 minute walk from the shops and cathedral.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guy at the reception was weirdly annoyed and seemed bothered by questions.

    The room was incredibly clean and modernly decorated. The windows are good enough to shield the room from the hustle and bustle of the train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff. I've read other reviews on the staff and thought they were exaggerating but nope. They fulfil the basic job of giving room key and that's it. No information on WiFi (it's Telekom btw, no password, you are welcome). Staff seems frazzled and act like unwilling hosts, so adjust your expectations to less than 1 star service and you'll be fine.

    Literally visible once out of the station, exit opposite direction of the cathedral. Area is safe as there is a whole row of police vans and policemen right in front of the hotel. There's food in the station, I would recommend avoiding the currywurst stand right outside the station. The ones inside are better. Extremely convenient location for a stopover.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor, noise from the busy streets (but we were in the main city so expected that) and the TV English channels did not work (so more time to spend out in the bars of Cologne). No bar in the hotel doesn’t matter, as there are hundreds within a few minutes walk.

    Perfect location for business, the train station and the Cathedral. Only a few minutes walk from all the bars and restaurants of the main squares. Rooms clean, lots of power points which is unusual in hotels now days. Breakfast buffet had plenty of choice for everyone’s pallette. Reception staff were very friendly and spoke perfect English.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    apart from location, i don't like anything. The room and the bed is small. We got the room on the second floor which can hear all the noise from the street.

    the only good thing is the location which is very near to the train station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very rude staff , especially the middle aged gentleman at reception. I was with my 2 kids (5 & 7 years old). He did not greet us welcome. Later the next day i left the luggage in hotel store in morning but when i came back to collect in the evening he asked for a receipt for luggage, i told him that i was provided none, so he started nodding his head and mumbling rudely in German which i didn't understand but for sure his look was very rude and unpleasant as if it was my fault. Moreover checkout time was 11, but my room was opened by cleaners at 10 without knocking , when i was in towels. Extremely unpleasant experience, my kids hate the hotel.

    Neat and clean room. spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning staff woke me up at 8am in the morning and returned 3 times before check out. This was very frustrating as there was no do not disturb sign in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception personal not so cordial in general,quite rude the night shift receptionist and not flexible and not able to satisfy the customer.

    I had a late check in- reception always open and available. Room clean quite spacious and nice Quite and confortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom had one side of the bed "glued" to the wall, so if you sleep with someone, 1 of you will have to make gymnastics to get out of it. If you don't want to get scared, don't look under the bed...(not clean at all). The hotel is above the Bus station. You read it well. There is a Bus station under the hotel, therefore, you may count with noise. The hotel could invest in some acoustic materials... The bathroom still has curtains on the tub. This is 2018 and they still have those creepy curtains. Maybe some cheap acrylic doors??

    Very central hotel. Location is the best feature. Good breakfast too. Nice breakfast staff and view. Lovely view indeed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My stay is too short to comment!

    This hotel is great for transit pax for cologne train station as it is just opposite it. Reasonable price, room size is acceptable and clean. Location will be the reason for me to stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the bus station, taxis, and trains on the first night was awful - there was a great view of Cathedral but this didn't, make up for the lack of sleep. Had asked for a quiet room this was definitely not it. Did manage to change rooms - took a bit of persuading the reception staff but worth my persistence as second night slept

    Room clean & the room staff good - good location if arriving by train

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast was good but expensive, lift out of action for 3 days..on the 4th floor with luggage not good , sauna only open from 10-10 early morning access would be good,location awesome .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first time I happened to be withdrawing money from a bank card without authorization. That's why I protest strongly. At each reservation, I will give the card information. I've done this through Booking several times, as you can see from the archive of our engagement. I think, however, for the payment of a larger sum, I need my authorization Hello Silvan Uhelj

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No mini bar, no vending machine within the hotel - some facility to buy soft drinks. The station is literally 50m from the front door, but when its late and you don't fancy going out again, the ability to buy a snack or a drink (i.e. not even water is provided) would be welcomed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have been staying in this hotel for over 8years, each time due to the fair trade. This year was the last time I have stayed there. The receptionist was impolite, treating the foreign guests as a necessary evil. The breakfast was poor and the staff working for punishment.

    location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet was brown. 2 staff encountered at front desk were very unhappy working that day, including smashing papers down looking for things, etc...

    Location was great for the purposes of our trip!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went there during New Year's Eve and the price is on the high side for a three stars hotel. The pillow is flat, I had to fold it in two to get a nice head support. The room is warm and there's no airco. But I didn't mind that and my 4 months old was happy because he didn't need much clothes :)

    The location was perfect. It was just across the train station and around 2 min walk to the cologne cathedral. The room was clean. Our room is near the sauna so the hallway smells like mint!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, bathroom doesn’t have windows and extraction fan did not work. Room smelt damp and like smoke. Cleaners come at 8:15 to clean. We only left later in the morning which meant that our room was not cleaned and no change of towels during our visit. Biggest issue was pillows! They didn’t have enough for the whole hotel and it made our sleep very uncomfortable. I will not stay here again.

    Staff were friendly and made effort to find us pillows on the last day. Location was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm (not hot) water for shower.

    Proximity to old city, main train station, main central market (commercial stores, malls), clean and quiet room, polite personnel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the hallway can be heard inside the room. Other than that everything is great

    Clean and great location. Staff has good english and available for early checkout

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi or atleast we didn't see anything obvious about how to turn it on. Pipes to radiator were loud at times.

    Excellent Location, great value, comfy bed, nice and warm!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very close to the railway station, only a minutes walk. Christmas markets were only 5 minutes away as was the cathedral. Buffet breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even after paying on Booking.com, the hotel charged us again. None of the staff seemed to be well trained in their job, or they were just playing stupid because we are Americans. Any time we asked a question, they said that someone else on another shift had the answer. Very disappointed with the quality of the service. They assigned us to a single room then took 20 Minutes to figure out how to get us into the room we requested on Booking.com. The beds were comfortable, but the pillows were down with no loft or volume to them. As a result, we got very little sleep. Will not go to that hotel again.

    The location was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not included in room price. And the breakfast didn't offer too much choice for the price pay

    I really like the location and cleanliness of the hotel. One thing that can make it much better is breakfast and lunch in the charge of the room fee and lot more option in breakfast selection

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price I would have liked breakfast included. The staff were a little off hand.

    It is a great location next to the railway station and the Cathedral with Xmas markets which suited this senior loan traveller!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely difficult to unlock our room door from the outside

    The ability to leave luggage at the hotel before check-in and after check-out was fantastic!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main attraction is the location, right by the railway station (the opposite side to the Cathedral). You do hear some noise from the trains but it isn't too bad. Clean, functional, perfectly adequate for a short stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom smelled of cigarettes! I told the man at reception and he shrugged his shoulders saying people smoke! The bed against the wall was uncomfortable for my husband. Although the bed was comfortable so that was good.

    The location but being on the 1st floor it was noisy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom is clearly for a single person, bed pushed up to the wall on one side. Staff seemed overworked and grumpy. " Basil Fawlty" on reception. Breakfast - ran out of rolls and not quick on replenishing hot items

    Location was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was bad - low water pressure and temperature varying from cold to warm (never getting really hot). The installations are rather old.

    The location is perfect if you are travelling by train and want to stay in the centre. The room is simple but tidy and clean. Breakfast is good and the personel friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steps away from the main train station and the city center, this hotel is clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. It is a great location to either explore Cologne or stay overnight to catch an early train. The wifi also works well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Location was perfect, straight from the train to the hotel, close to shops and Cathedral. Room was clean and comfortable. Good choice of breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's right next to the station, when we arrived in the evening it was very noisy. It was okay during night and the morning though.. Be careful if you are looking for a quiet getaway

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The showerhead was a bit funky and not so good. And the man at the front desk in the evening was very grumpy. (Thank goodness there were younger staff with him who were courteous and helpful.)

    Very good breakfast selection, and the view from the breakfast room is delightful: The upper part of the train station with the Cathedral behind it. Quite nice view, actually. Overall, a very, very convenient and clean hotel if you're traveling by train: It's right next door to the station, yet it isn't so loud that it keeps you up at night (the trains are moving slow by the time they get to that point). Nothing fancy, but well worth the money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs to be refurbished. Rooms are stuffy and too small, and the lift is very old

    If you put premium to location and accessibility to transportation, then this is your hotel. Otherwise, go someplace else as the hotel does not offer anything of value

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable room. Perfectly located next to the train station in the centre of town. You could not hear any noise from the room. Very helpful staff. Would stay here again for sure.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low pressure in the showers. Bit noisy from the trains however not at night.

    Very modern, good standard for a 3-star hotel, great breakfast although not included in the price. Very central.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfectly located for those travelling by train. Only meters away from the main train station and a few minute walk to the Cathedral. Comfortable clean beds and good free wi-fi in rooms. The hotel has its own sauna and a small gym which is a bonus as well. The breakfast was good and fairly standard when it comes to food choices. Luggage storage facilitates were helpful too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    the room size was good as well as the bathroom. The sauna was nice. The location excellent with great restuarants down along the Rhein river in the Altstadt which is a short walk away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything is fine

    excellent location,it is very convenient to everywhere by U-train / S-train / DB,every morning we can go to Koln Church for Mass, good experience, next time will come back again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast wasn't the universal, I mean meat products were not halal or there was no such information. I paid money and could not eat any of these meat products.

    Location, cleanliness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the keys to door very heavy. reception is drab. generally very basic feel. Breakfast no hot water for coffee or tea

    Staff helpful and friendly. Fantastic location for the koln marathon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning wasn't working, which was a bit of a problem because the room was a bit smelly. But luckily we could open the window.

    Nice Staff. We only stayed one night and it was perfect for it. Right next to the train station and there were parking places close to it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor room service, 3 stars is too much for them

    Worse hotel i`ve ever been in, Room services are lazy, poor services and even one of receptionists is lair, i would never recommend anyone to visit that place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is very rude. I felt like I came there to ask for money. Seriously was never treated like that before in any other Country I have visited for work. In addition. I wanted to cancel my stay but couldnt! so I left earlier and they kept my money. While other hotels just charge you for the nights you actually stay and dont punish you if you want to leave the hotel without wanted to stay there any longer. In addition there was only 1 bath towel in the bathroom and no iron in the room. You need to ask and be lucky if the front clerk understand what you mean.

    The location was perfect. Close to everything. Was just 4 minutes walk from my meeting location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We loved the location a lot because we had an upper story room with a view of the cathedral. Can't beat that. If you are not used to big city noises you might have a little trouble sleeping because it is right on the train station and had traffic outside, but the rooms did have pretty good sound proofing windows. We were barely in the room anyway but we loved the location and view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man at the reception at night was really rude. There was no space to park the car. The pillows were too soft. The air conditioner didn't work.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice property and staff were perfectly nice and helpful, however this property was absurdly overpriced. Value for money is not good. For the price I paid you'd think I was at a 5 star hotel, not a noisy 3 star right next to the train station. However, the other options in the city did not seem much better price wise either...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room, very uncomfortable mattress and pillows

    Location just near to central train station which was suitable for early train to airport, overall clean and quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was a nightmare. They were either understaffed or the lady at the front desk was unable to multitask. We checked in at 3pm, right during a shift change and we were made to wait to check in so the front desk clerk could do a shift change checklist or something. Note, she herself was not going off shift- it was all really weird.

    This property is RIGHT beside the train station and is super close to the cathedral and the altstradt. Breakfast was amazing and a good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived early and did not expect to be able to check in right away. Check in time is at 1400. In many cases there are rooms ready prior to the check in time and I have frequently be able to check in to hotels around 11 or 12. Not at this hotel. I was not able to get a room until after 1400. The next morning I left the hotel around 0700 and the housekeeping staff were already cleaning rooms.

    The front desk staff were very nice. Close to the train station and Dom but also very close to a bus station which was a bit sketchy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    evil place infinitely noisy no air conditioning means you need to keep the windows open, horrible noise and exhaust gasses mean you need to keep the window closed next to train station next to bus station next to a busy road they should close the place down, it does not make sense

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent hotel located beside the main train station in Koln and only a 2 - 3 minutes walk from the cathedral which is on the other side of the train station. Many of the main tourist attractions are within walking distance as are many restaurants and bars. The main shopping area of Koln is also within a short walking distance. The room was comfortable and the staff were also excellent. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There really was nothing to like. The room smelt musty and it was incredibly noisy from the street and neighbouring station when the window was opened for fresh air making it impossible to sleep. There was no air conditioning - something you'd take for granted as being available in a room at this price. The shower fluctuated between hot and luke warm. Not all of the electric sockets worked. At 2am in the morning people arrived in the next room and were very noisy. Overall a dreadful experience. I would never go back to this hotel,

    I am disappointed to have to say there was nothing I liked about this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was slightly hotter than the surface of the sun. Inexplicably warm. 18 degrees outside, 10,000 degrees inside. There was a sauna on the same floor, maybe they pumped the excess heat directly into the bedroom? First reception staff and manager were accommodating, pleasant and helpful. Late night reception guy was probably the rudest individual i've come across. Thoroughly unpleasant, spoke to my wife like she was a piece of dirt on his shoe. I appreciate that you're an old man working in a 3 star hotel on the late shift, you probably hate your life and the world, but taking it out on a small female customer because she asked for a mattress for the baby bed isn't a good move.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have asked for a quite room, and they put me right on the side of the station. We are with three of us and the room was small and because of the noise of the station we can not open the window. The booking does not include breakfast and the car parking place was more expensive then indicated.

    Relatively clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems at all!

    An ideal location - near hauptbahnhoff. It will take just 2 min to reach the hotel. And hauptbnhhoff is in the cenyter of the city. So you can very quickly get to the airport and to main sightseeings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-con in the room (in Aug) & I had to open some window to get some cool air; ended up woken up by trains almost the whole night & not being able to sleep. No kettle to make tea or coffee in the room.

    Cheap hotel very close to train station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioner. you can open window, but then it's too loud due to central location. And with closed window it gets warm and sticky quickly

    Ideal location right next to Kölner Dom, very good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The male receptionist was rude and surly. All other staff encountered were excellent. No air conditioning in room was a big let down especially as our visit coincided with particularly humid weather.

    Location was unbeatable. Restaurant gave a lavish selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The train station was right there. We thought it could be loud with the windows open but the number of trains greatly decreased before we went to sleep and we woke up on our own. They ended up not being a factor at all.

    Location, river view, church view, station, museums, cafes, train, site seeing for everything and the hotel was right there when needed. Comfortable room and we had a corner unit so we had a view of the church and river.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillow was sub-standard Noisy (train station, busses and people who love honking), but slept well using earplugs No air-conditioning, don't go during hot periods

    Staff at reception were very friendly Centrally located Comfortable Better than average bathroom Breakfast was good, enough choice Clean All in all, I would return

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very noisy, but very convenient for the railway. There is no air-con so you must choose between stuffy and quite or noisy but cool.

    Very clean and functional. Not luxurious but ok for a couple of nights.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Centro Hotel Kommerz traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: