Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Land Gut Höhne This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Düsseldorfer Straße 253, 40822 Mettmann, Germany

#3 of 8 hotels in Mettmann

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 621 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful, unique place--almost perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi in the room was marginal, only good near the entry door. Cleaning staff comes a little too early for visitors coming from abroad and are jet lagged. Breakfast staff removed coffee before closing time.

    Beautiful place, decorated with lots of attention to detail. Truly wonderful. Outstanding breakfast--best ever. Food in restaurant is also excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent German hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had no slippers for the spa in the room.

    The hotel is very nice, a castle in the middle of green, very close to the highway as well. The rooms are big and clean, the staff is polite and professional. The inner restaurant is very good, the food is fresh, tasty and the menu is daily changed. The breakfast is perfect. I absolutely would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    6.3
    Old, yet small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    V v small rooms.. didn't really reflect the pictures.. pictures are taken from angles to show that the rooms are big..

    Authentic and originally old

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    8.3
    I look forward to my return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything had a healthy/ organic bend to it from the handmade soaps they sold in the lobby to the fresh fruits and vegetables which were available at every turn. Excellent food and a peaceful, charming property with individual character.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    8.8
    The overall atmosphere was great, the building is stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ate in the reastaurant "Tenne" and they only had one vegetarian dish on offer. It was pasta with pesto and tasted nice, but more options for a restaurant in that price range would be appreciated.

    The overall atmosphere was great, the building is stunning. The staff is very friendly!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    9.2
    Everything excellent, except Wifi!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi connection in the rooms is poor and unstable. One drawback if you don't have a car: the location is far from the local train stations.

    I come rather often to this hotel. I enjoy much the atmosphere of the hotel, the comfort and the service. The restaurant is excellent!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    8.3
    Very nice hotel in ho-hum location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While my single room was comfortable and warm, it was a bit poky. And the hotel is rather remote. There are no other bars, restaurants, or shops nearby, and the nearest town, Mettmann, is a non-event.

    The service was excellent in every respect. Very good food and wellness area too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2018

    7.5
    Hope to be there soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole atmosphere was very comfortable. The spa and wellness aerea fitted to us, even for a few days timeout. Breakfast and diner offered a great variety of delicious things. Hmmm!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    7.1
    Good breakfast, location good if you have car, rooms big but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one restaurant open, very poor choise, and very expencive, only one dish for vegetarians. Quality good nice wine but also very expencive. Hot tube not warm enough.

    Good breakfast, location good if you have car, rooms big but outdated, beds fine. Quite rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel for relaxing after and getting ready for the next busy day
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet is a hassle...for some reason logging in to the WiFi is so complicated that I just didn't bother...in other hotels this has been implemented way better.

    The Sauna is a very good one when compared to what you get in most hotels. Also the spa area is a perfect way to relax at the end of the day and to wake up to the plentiful breakfast is great for kicking off the next day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    10
    We wish we could have spent more time at this location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A unique property offering luxury with a relaxing atmosphere and excellent amenities. The staff was friendly and efficient and the food at both dinner and breakfast was truly a treat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    9.6
    Staff, facilities, comfort, swimming pool .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Menu in buffet restaurant could definitely be better and not almost the same every evening. However, superb staff covers that completely!

    Staff, facilities, comfort, swimming pool .....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay. Will go back if we have the opportunity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extra bed for our daughter was very hard .For over Euro 90,00 per night for 3 nights , I could have bought a new bed !!

    Good Breakfast Good sized room Excellent service Very good kitchen

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2017

    10
    Beautiful, relaxing, tranquil.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant is insanely overpriced for what is on offer for main meals.

    Breakfast is in short, AMAZING. Gorgeous architecture. Take a walk around the property, beautiful. I like that children's hours are structured so you can have a nice relaxing time in the pool without children splashing.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2016

    7.1
    Nice atmosphere, friendly and competent staff, good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small (single) room, small bed, a la carte restaurant too pricey

    Nice atmosphere, friendly and competent staff, good breakfast, excellent and value-for -money dinner buffet, good wifi

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    There nothing not to like
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There nothing not to like

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    10
    Very comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable room. The staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    10
    Spa ,breakfast,live music with piano ,atmospfre,nature
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Spa ,breakfast,live music with piano ,atmospfre,nature

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful place!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot of corridors

    Pools and gym

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    7.1
    Quietness and naturally historic
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    V small rooms

    Authentic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    8.3
    Nice place with nice breakfast and good service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was all good.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    7.1
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stay in the hotel in march but the water of pool very cold

    Nice location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    9.6
    "Brilliant and highly recommended"
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    Really enjoyed the experience, wished I was on holiday to spend more time relaxing in the facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    9.2
    Such a gem, so very natural for its location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Apartment with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Such a gem, so very natural for its location. Can’t wait to come back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    10
    exellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    internet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    10
    A very nice relaxing long weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel , place and friendly stuff . Relaxing experience with their swimming pool and spa facility Definitely Recommended for everyone .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    10
    Excellent service and quality food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not the hotels fault but the £ was not good and made the stay a bit expensive Would definitely stay again

    Excellent service and quality food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    9.6
    All the different hide-aways.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All the different hide-aways. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel, friendly staff, tasty food!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price of the food buffet was a high

    Excellent hotel, would love to come back for a holiday!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2017

    9.2
    One of the best!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The attention for the details, hygge elements, great atmosphere, a lots o candles, great food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2017

    10
    PERFECT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Internet

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi no so good

    Fantastic place

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2017

    8.3
    The spa is fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa is fantastic

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2017

    9.6
    Very nice and food was organic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed wasn't comfortable for couple sleep.

    Very nice and food was organic. Staff spoke good English and pool was gorgeous.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2016

    10
    This place is wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is weak.

    the hotel is exceptionally beautiful. The staff is so kind, so helpful. The room was so nice, and the food is perfect.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2016

    6.3
    Attractive location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor Wi-Fi in rooms, not as advertised so beware.

    Attractive location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2016

    9.2
    The breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The window there was no view

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2016

    8.8
    short staying
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For me was evrything great, I wish I colud spend a little more time in your hotel. Thank you.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2016

    10
    Quite hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view from the rooms was blocked

    The breakfast was very good and healthy and high quality

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2016

    7.5
    It's very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If it's your first time in Dusseldorf I wouldn't stay there because it 20 min away either by sbahn or taxi. Good location if you are going to Dusseldorf Convention Center but don't want to stay in the city.

    It's very nice. The rooms are really comfortable. Breakfast is great. Great tennis courts.

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2016

    7.5
    The hotel is very good situated, breakfast is good enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The bar at the SPA area the food menu needs to be upgrade a bit, as the selection of the food is not good enough.

    The hotel is very good situated, breakfast is good enough selection, SPA area is clean and nice.

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2016

    9.6
    As always a pleasent stay except for the comment in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Please ask your cleaners not to call guests at 9.20 am. to ask them to leave their rooms if you wanted your room cleaned that day. Very unprofessional and the worst I've experienced at Gut Höhne.

    As always a pleasent stay except for the comment in "what didn't you like"

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2015

    7.1
    Very pet friendly for a small dog.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was downgraded from our booked superior room to comfort because of our pet. We were not told and had to ask for the difference back at the end of our stay. We missed the buffet walking in 20 minutes before it was finished. It was suggested we go to another restaurant in the hotel. The menu was very limited and what we did order was not impressive to warrant the price. Also overall cost was very pricey by the time you check out. Expect a weekend to run about 600 euros. That would have bought a very nice hotel and very nice meals for half that price.

    Very pet friendly for a small dog. We took him most everywhere including breakfast

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2015

    10
    Close to Dusseldorf airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi only allowed for one device per person. Signal not strong.

    Close to Dusseldorf airport. Courtesy wine tasting. Food at Tana restaurant was absolutely delicious. Architecture. Facilities for all kinds of activities.

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2015

    9.2
    The breakfast is fun with tons to choose from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    They charge €25 for having a pet which is too much. Booking.com offered a single room with a bath but the hotel said they don't have them. Had to take a more expensive room because of having my dog. They were doing noisy renovations when I was there, very noisy.

    The breakfast is fun with tons to choose from. I love the swimming pool, sauna and gym. Huge gardens lovely for little walks or for being in the sun. I liked the bed didn't find it too hard. They have bath robes and lots of towels. It's very luxurious and fun for a short stay.

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2015

    8.3
    The castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We arrived very aerly from along jurny and we decided to have a brake fast in the hotle and it was a bout 9:40 and i know the break fast ends at 10:30 one lady from the staff in the resturant did not great us good ang her face was

    The castle

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2015

    6.3
    Breakfast.
    • Solo traveler

    I didn't like that I had to sleep on wooden shelf!!! That one night at 12 o'clock there was no water at all because of a break in the water pipe. I had to find out myself!!! No warning from the staff. The next evening there was no warm water available from 11 o'clock.

    Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2015

    7.9
    Hotel ambiance, pool and sauna, breakfast, all really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were a bit early for checkin (12.00), we were informed the room was ready, but we needed to pay 75 euro extra if we wanted to get in the room before 15.00. Not a warm welcome!

    Hotel ambiance, pool and sauna, breakfast, all really good.

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2015

    6.3
    Good - clean, nice location and set-up, very good choice in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Terrible wifi connection which they were not able to fix, so watch out if you need to work on internet during your stay. Also, restaurant uses the fact that the hotel is remote and you do not have many options to eat out for dinner - reasonable quality of meals but heavily overpriced....

    Good - clean, nice location and set-up, very good choice in breakfast buffet

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2016

    7.9
    Setting was really nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    No wifi in room

    Setting was really nice

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2016

    8.8
    The swimming-pool, confort of the room, excellent restaurant...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    equipment at the gym is a bit old

    The swimming-pool, confort of the room, excellent restaurant, very good wifi

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2016

    5.0
    In very nice and quiet location
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Bath rooms and rooms not clean Very bad smile in the restaurendt at breakfast

    In very nice and quiet location

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2016

    5.4
    The room was very noisy in the evening, 10-11.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The room was very noisy in the evening, 10-11.30pm. Lots of outside noise, items being moved around for example.

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2016

    8.8
    I always enjoy the fitness and relax facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    I always enjoy the fitness and relax facilities.

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2015

    7.1
    Very good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Single room was small and outdated, which makes it difficult to clean and hygiene feeling is reduced as a result.

    Very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2015

    9.2
    great atmosphere and amazing wellness and fitness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    buffet menu was not in line with the rest of the hotel

    great atmosphere and amazing wellness and fitness

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2015

    9.6
    Food, Gym, Pool, Enviroment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Rooms are a little small

    Food, Gym, Pool, Enviroment

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2015

    8.8
    I enjoyed the wellness and the breakfast very much.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    WIFI is very slow.

    I enjoyed the wellness and the breakfast very much.

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2015

    9.6
    Good gym, good swimming pool, relaxed atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Good gym, good swimming pool, relaxed atmosphere

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2015

    8.8
    Good welcome, beautiful hotel, nice swimming pool, excellent...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Room decoration and bathroom a little bit old

    Good welcome, beautiful hotel, nice swimming pool, excellent breakfast and confortable room

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2015

    8.8
    Cosy sitting areas and great spa area which is included in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Room was ok.

    Cosy sitting areas and great spa area which is included in the room rate. Staff has been great and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2015

    8.8
    excellent and super friendly service in restaurant,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    excellent and super friendly service in restaurant, reception, facilities

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2015

    9.6
    Original, cosy, confort, excellent breakfast, beautiful...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Original, cosy, confort, excellent breakfast, beautiful swimming pool

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2015

    7.5
    location, good , space, good loocking, kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no EHBO

    location, good , space, good loocking, kind staff

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Browse Hotel Land Gut Höhne Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: