Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel-Restaurant Hackteufel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Steingasse 7, Altstadt, 69117 Heidelberg, Germany

#23 of 66 hotels in Heidelberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 435 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Location, Top floor room with AC and a nice view of castle,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Initial room we had did not have AC. Switched rooms and it was great.

    Location, Top floor room with AC and a nice view of castle, breakfast were all excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Liesl in Heidelberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable bed. The food was tasty and well presented. There were complimentary wine and water in the room, and a tiny packet of sweets.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    Fine for one night - very friendly staff, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too hot, and our fridge didn't work.

    There was a small fan in our room, but it was exceptionally hot weather, so it was incredibly hot in our room, regardless. The bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean, but there was no safe, and most importantly, the fridge in our room wasn't working. The staff were all friendly. Parking was a short walk from the hotel. The location was very busy - great for people watching - we had dinner in the hotel and sat by the window to watch the world go by. Food was very pleasant. Breakfast was fine - good coffee.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.3
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness/hygiene at breakfast was very poor. I've never seen so many flies. Other guests' tables were not cleaned up after use and this just meant that we had even more flies. It was extremely hot but no real effort was made to solve the problem. As a result, a lot of the food that was on offer was unappealing as flies were swarming it.

    Location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Would gladly stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for site seeing in the Altstadt. Good variety at breakfast, typical German breakfast.Small family run hotel and restaurant with friendly, helpful staff. Room was very comfortable and decorated in the ambiance of the historic building. The restaurant food was excellent and competitively priced with others in the area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Old town excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room #8 was incredible and very romantic , they call it their suite and it surly was all that. Huge, and a great view of the castle along with a private terrace. You need more than one night in this suite, glad i did that. Food was very tasty and breakfast was the best on our European travels. Thanks for the great service, a wonderful memory for a life time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Cosy hotel in a perfect Old Town location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little

    Location, decor & atmosphere, friendly staff and pleasingly old-school hospitality touches, like complimentary wine and water in the room, and a fan waiting on a hot day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Stay at the Hackteufel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If your room faces the street below, it can be a bit noisy at night.

    Owner and staff were excellent. On-property restaurant was exceptional. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit smaller than shown in Photos. If your staying over a weekend be prepared to be woken by people returning to the hotel through the night.

    Nice and clean in a perfect location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    a short stay in heidelberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been more varied and there was lack of fruit and vegetables. In the rooms facing the street it was a bit noisy though the windows did quit a good job isolating the noise and we were tired so we did sleep well. It was quit hot at night and no air conditioning so at least a fan could have helped. We had a rough time figuring out with the GPS how we can get closest to drop our luggage since its pedestrianised zone around the hotel so some indication could have saved us much time I passed a wet towel on the table and it was pretty dirty...

    Good value for money, great location in the heart of the old town, nice room though a but outdated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.0
    Good location. Room a little disappointing. Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairs on bathroom floor - both kinds.. Staff not overly friendly or competent. No tea/coffee making facilities. Old pillows which need changing and only one per person supplied. Had to ask for additional pillows. Parking in Heidelberg was hugely difficult with no warning from hotel.

    Complementary small bottle of wine

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com and the hotel check in staff both told me breakfast was included. However, that was not really true, as I was charged 5 euro (a bit over $7) for breakfast. When I questioned this, I was told that breakfast was in fact included, for 5 euros. I don't exactly call that included. The room was adequate, but very plain. It was rather expensive for what it was, but I suppose that is due to the location.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    An excellent traditional hotel, beautiful and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were beautiful and clean, I liked the decor. The welcome bottle of wine was a nice touch! The hotel was quintessentially German, it captured the essence of Heidelberg very well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Chatming Heidelberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not a thing that I did not like.

    Absolutely everything! I wich I could stay everywhere in our travels in an hotel of this quality. Charming hotel excellent host location could not be better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is situated in a narrow street full of restaurants that spill out onto the street. Our room on the second floor faced the street and the restaurant customers below kept us awake until 2am some evenings. There didn't appear to be a set time when the restaurants closed. then at 5am the delivery vans would unload in the hotel and restaurants. Even with all windows shut tight it was a very noisy area. Make sure you request that you have a room at the back of the hotel which may be quieter.

    The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was clean with room to move. Ideal location with just short walk to all things in the Alstadt of Heidelberg. It was a nice quant, little hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Hackteufel and heidelberg😍
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi worked well in public area but not in the room but we didn't spend very much time there anyway

    Amazing town staff were very helpful train up to top of mountain was great castle was very interesting wish we had spent longer there

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    Decent room and good breakfast right in the centre of Heidelberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price was a little high compared to how to room was. But I guess that's quite common in Heidelberg during peak season.

    Great location right in the old city centre. Very nice to open the windows and have a view to one of the main streets.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    Awesome value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For those who like chain hotels, do not expect a super professional reception, locker room, etc. but everything went pretty well. It's all up to your taste.

    Great location, clean room, nice decoration, great value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location for exploring Heidelberg, nice building,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet is very small, even for tiny people. Staff in the restaurant wasn't vey nice.

    Perfect location for exploring Heidelberg, nice building, friendly hotel staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.9
    Good value & service for money spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of air conditioning & very hard beds. We prefer softer more comfortable beds.

    Room was small for family of four with two teen agers. They thought we would be 3 adults and a child under 6 but instead we were a family with two teenage girls. They immediately accommodated us by removing the sofa chair & table and brought in a single bed mattress which worked out well for us. The room is appropriate for a couple & a small child. There is very little room for your luggage so don't bring lots of luggage. We left our luggage in car & brought our overnight bags instead which worked out relatively well with the space we had.. There is a refrigerator in the room which was a huge bonus given the hot weather. No air conditioning & weather was 33-36degrees when we stayed there so this was a bit difficult but luckily it cooled down at night. The owner is very nice and accommodating. She was really lovely. The place is quite charming . The bathroom is modern and good and has a make-up mirror & hair blower as well. Good shower with lots of pressure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    8.8
    Charming hotel right in Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a tiny bathroom and even tinier shower--but we managed!

    It's right in the Altsadt (Old Town) and on a lively street. Quite close to the Altstadt train station--much more convenient than the central station. Our room was at the back of the building and on the small side, but fine for one night. The bed gave us a good night's sleep and the included breakfast buffet was good and varied. A perfect vacation hotel in a delightful city!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    A great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For english speaking people,the tv is not so good,

    The room was very comfertable bath room was beautlful very clean breakfeast was good,our host was very nice i recomend this hotel great for couples great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.3
    Excellent food at the restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pity vehicles are allowed to drive in that beautiful street - it creates a lot of noise especially in the early morning hours

    Excellent food at the restaurant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    6.7
    Location only
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is so so, coffee is terrible.

    Location is excellent, the top floor room in the attic was very nice with the view on the castle but you can hear noise coming from the street. Reception is almost in the kitchen, not too inviting. No locker for baggage at checkout , again, your luggages are left between the kitchen and the dinning room. The owners who are old and sick are trying to sell the Hotel and you can feel it! Missing a little touch as flowers .... Thank you to Monica, an employee who is very nice and welcome you.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.8
    Stay Here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Beautiful old building, great staff, great food-checkout the pork knuckle and great cold beer is enough but it gets better, 50mtrs to Alte Brücke, 5 minute to the Funicular to the Castle, 5 minute walk to the ferry boats, location is spot on. The room covered my needs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    A lovely hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing all good.

    A lovely hotel in a great location. Dinner in the attached restaurant is a must it is exceptional, just be sure to book on arrival as it is very busy in the evenings. Heidelberg is a wonderful city and a visit here is made all the more enjoyable by a stay here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is very LOUD! Do not expect to get any sleep here. The party people kept us up until 3 am, and after that the delivery trucks were driving down the street.

    Great location! The restaurant served great food! Nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    9.6
    Nice place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waiter working there left the impresion he got angry after I didn't understand what he wanted to say. It might have been due to stressful evening at the restaurant, but he's behaviour (eg. not showing in any way he heard my order, but in the end bringing what I ordered) wasn't really professional...

    The staff of the hotel were really nice and pleasent. Room was really spac9eous, clean and nice looking. Breakfast offered many tasty options, but unfortunatly during the stay of 3 days I couldn't try it all. Also, after the checkout, I also received a small parting gift. :) Don't want to spoile it for you... Come and see. :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.5
    Highly recommended for solo traveler.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It will be great to have an electric kettle in the room for making hot drinks.

    Highly recommended for solo traveler. Lovely staff who could speak English. Great breakfast. Love the location. Nice gesture of hotel to place a complimentary (small) bottle of wine in the room!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    10
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location! Wonderful hotel--we'll be returning, for sure! Clean, charming decor, well-appointed room. Delicious breakfast! Had we stayed more than one night, we would have eaten dinner in the restaurant. The menu looked great and smelled fabulous! Gracious hostess made our stay very pleasurable!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    6.7
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodations are on the second floor, above the pub, and can be very noisy.

    Location is excellent, convenient for sightseeing; however parking is about 10 minutes walk and it is not free. Staff is excellent and very accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.6
    The hotel was located close to downtown Heidelberg so you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found our room to be too warm even in mid-October with some rain. Our window was open, the heat was off but with with only a comforter to sleep under, it was too hot and nothing was not enough so we never slept well. We woke numerous times during the night being too hot or too cool. I am used to a softer mattress and this was too hard for me.

    The hotel was located close to downtown Heidelberg so you were able to walk to all the shops and restaurants in the area, if you you weren't eating at the hotel. I'd highly recommend making reservations for their restaurant because they have many reservations and fill up fast. It's no no wonder, the food is delicious!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    Beautiful Hotel with wonderful owner/ manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The Hotel is situated right in the center of the Old Town. It was very comfortable and the Woman that owned the Hotel was very nice and helpful. We were there for our anniversary and when we left she gave us a card wishing us good luck for the future. Was a wonderful vacation.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.6
    Breathtaking room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was in an ideal location, and the staff appeared to want to help us out when we had issues. We ended up staying in the room with the terrace, which we thought was included in the price for the original reservation, but it was slightly more when we confirmed everything upon our arrival. Whatever the case, that room was simply amazing and breathtaking. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.9
    Great location, except for the noise
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had originally booked an even larger room (at least according to the Booking.com description), which had a double bed and at least one other bed in the room. When I received a room with two twin beds, it was a surprise. The landing smelled. Since it was a warm, clear night, the noise from people eating and drinking at the tables on the street below lasted well after midnight. The hotel provides earplugs, but they are not enough to guarantee a good night's rest.

    The room was spacious and the hotel is in an ideal location, right in the center of the old town. There were flower baskets with flowers blooming outside the windows and the decor was cosy and traditionally German while still simple. This is a family-run hotel and restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a lot of spiders in the room

    the staff and location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable beds and location of the hotel to the old town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Junior staff were less than detailed and consistent.

    Comfortable beds and location of the hotel to the old town and parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean but under the beds was a lot of dust

    Staff and location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Loved the traditional German decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the traditional German decor

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    In the middle of the altstadt
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy as we had room above street. No fridge or kettle and only one flat pillow.

    In the middle of the altstadt

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    The location and the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and the restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Staff is extremely friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff is extremely friendly. Location is right in the middle of Heidelberg within walking distance of all the major sights.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.6
    Great weekend getaway. Super value for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked all of it.

    Amazing staff, great bathroom, comfortable bed, and fantastic location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Heart of the old City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Location, Very Friendly Staff. No parking at location, but Parking no.13 is 3 mintues away very easy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.9
    Coziness in oldtown
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It feels a bit outdated

    Nice, comfortable and cozy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming and just so comfy. Loved everything about our stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Perfect cozy hotel in the heart of Heidelberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful, our room was perfect and the food was fabulous!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.3
    Parking is a big problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is very difficult and inconvenient.

    location is good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Very near to the main District of Heidelberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far away from the main station, if you wanted to walk

    Very near to the main District of Heidelberg

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent. Frühstück war super.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful location at the old bridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was hot but comfortable with big window to open.

    Wonderful location at the old bridge. Fan in room was a plus as it was hot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Great little restaurant with nice rooms above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely Restaurant, with excellent breakfast. Fantastic location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    they met all our requests - thank you

    we always stay here - they always look after us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and service. The restaurant for lunch or dinner is superb.Thanks

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great. Staff very friendly. Service and food superb. Would stay again. Close to everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the restaurant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.3
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not variety

    Location is great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Pick of the hotels in Heidelberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noting to report

    The location, the room, the friendly staff and atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.5
    Staff very kind, location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small, especially the toilet

    Staff very kind, location is perfect

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    8.8
    Staff great, bed good, location excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff great, bed good, location excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    8.3
    Heidelberg Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night. Able to hear street noises, people talking/crying

    The eggs at breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location and breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    5.0
    This place is nothing like a proper hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no reception and no access control, you have to go to another building for the key and for the breakfast

    location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    10
    Excellent faultless stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints whatsoever.

    Best location right next to the historic bridge. Extremely quiet bedroom. Friendly welcoming helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    6.3
    Location, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of unfriendly staff but most were nice.

    Location, breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    :D
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location at Steingase:D You can walk to Veters or Old bridge in pyjama :D

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    10
    Worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.9
    Incredible location and beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hated having to walk through the restaurant to get to the hotel room.

    Incredible location and beautiful hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    4.2
    Quaint
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude

    Location and redtaurant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    5.8
    The only pro of this hotel is the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The downside is that you can hear EVERYTHING outside your window. The beds were so uncomfortable, just old twin mattresses. I hardly slept. The staff for the most part was good minus a few individuals that weren't overally social or friendly.

    The only pro of this hotel is the location. It is right in the middle of all the restaurants and right near the castle and market place. Delicious breakfast that is included.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    8.3
    Location was great - right in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had dinner there one night and had booked it in the morning but received a call just before we were supposed to be there, and the waiter claimed we had not booked.

    Location was great - right in the old town. Breakfast was very nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. They spoke good english

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    The people were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The people were wonderful. There are so many little things that other places overlook that make guests feel special and comfortable. Hackteufel excels at taking care of their guests. Bedrooms, food, accommodations were fantastic. It was nice having a spacious room. We spent 3 weeks on our trip to Europe and Hackteufel was by far, one of the best stops. We are all looking forward to returning. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    10
    I enjoyed the breakfast especially the eggs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    I enjoyed the breakfast especially the eggs. The restaurant had a magical feel about it which I loved. The staff were very friendly and accomodating which made my stay extra special.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    7.9
    Good, a bit old-fashioned hotel in the heart of the old town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is practically impossible to get to the hotel by car in the evening (pedestrian area). You can park at parking 12 in the old town and get a discount. Follow signs P12 in Heidelberg. It is still 5-7 min walk from the hotel.

    Good, a bit old-fashioned hotel in the heart of the old town.

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: