Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel St. Annen This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Annenstr. 5, St. Pauli, 20359 Hamburg, Germany

#13 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 476 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Perfect nice little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Located central, but though that in a calm surrounding. The staff was so nice, caretaking and professional. Rooms was very fine, the cleaning perfect. Breakfast so good and with all you wanted plus extra. X-tra plus for the winetadting👌🏻We will be back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    A pleasant stay in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not really a bar at the hotel, only an area where you can get drinks, same area as breakfast is served. But the red vine there is great. It is pretty expensive comparing to the facilities. We could not go into the garden because they were making renovations at the property. This was very dissapointing because that was the main reason we decided to stay at this hotel.

    Very good breakfast and vine at the hotel. It was very clean, fantastic location and staff was super nice. Big and comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC, which we didn't really need in mid May but could be pretty warm in the summer

    Amazing staff. Super friendly and helpful. Good size room and bathroom with nice shower. Fast private WiFi connection. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    The staff were so lovely, we had a wonderful breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunatley, the wi-fi signal was not strong enough to be accessed from our room.

    The staff were so lovely, we had a wonderful breakfast and it was such a delight to hear the birds singing outside our window. And how considerate to offer a lovely cup of coffee & cookie as we waited for our taxi. I wish we had time to sit in the garden and enjoy the South African wines - well, a reason to come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Modern Hotel in Historic St. Pauli
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was tricky as ramp was under hotel and difficult in and out.

    In St. Pauli. Within walking distance of meant sites. Comfortable room. Great shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    Overpriced with poor facilities,but very good breakfast & helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price, lack of basic facilities (tea coffee making in rooms etc), moth holed curtains, single beds pushed together (not zip linked) with two singke separate duvets is NOT what we're used to - especially when booking a 'COMFORT DOUBLE' room very disappointing for us & overpriced for what is actually on offer in our opinion. Plug didn't seal in sink either.

    Breakfast was good, helful staff but it wasn't for us & we checked out early with two nights to stay elsewhere. Staff were very disappointed that it wasn't for us, but it's the way it is I'm afraid.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Excellent. Would recommend without any reservation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Loved it all.

    Spotlessly clean, really helpful staff which included the fantastic service at breakfast. Really quiet location but incredibly convenient for St Pauli andthe city and all attractions. The breakfast was fantastic and the bar was a nice spot to finish off after an evening out. Very modern and well equipped rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Amazing, highly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always on hand to support us. Quite a challenge given the group size, 14 in total so we were all complimentary throughout our stay of three nights. My friend lost his wallet with quite a sum of money in it. Two days later the wallet was found by a member of staff and returned, all money in the wallet. Lovely staff all round!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast is incredible with a selection to accommodate any tastes. Very close to public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like to see tea and coffee facilities (water kettle) in the rooms.

    The staff and owners are incredibly friendly and will do their utmost to accommodate your needs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice, clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was pretty small for a 250 Euro/night “family room” (one bed, one couch for 4 people). Wouldn’t hurt to change towels every day especially since they’re small and thin. Neighbors upstairs we’re loud - not much the hotel can do about that of course. Lots of noise in the evening on the front side of property late into the night so couldn’t keep windows open - again, not the hotel’s fault. Wouldn’t hurt to have a coffee machine accessible somewhere 24x7. Didn’t realize parking wasn’t included but wasn’t terrible (8 Euros / day). Subway wasn’t all that close.

    Very friendly staff (mostly). Really good breakfast. Many eating options nearby. Room felt pretty clean. Great water pressure in the shower. We had a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful staff made us feel personally welcome and valued.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room, classified as a comfort double was smaller than we would have liked. A bit cramped for two people with luggage.

    Wonderful staff made us feel personally welcome and valued. Their stunning breakfast room and breakfast are worth making this a destination in themselves. Very clean rooms and hotel in general. A perfect romantic getaway destination in the middle of the somewhat gritty but fascinating St Pauli culture in Hamburg. Located midway between the infamous Reeperbahn and the waterfront, both are within walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Great place to stay with wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staying at St. Annen was lovely. Staff is extremely friendly and a pleasure to interact with. Room was very comfortable I enjoyed staying there when the weather was bad. Slept very well in the comfortable bed and the shower was particularly great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    A cool neighborhood tucked inside a much larger city ... would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have been on the road for 5 weeks and have stayed in many nice places (location, bed, breakfast, restaurants, walkability, etc). Hotel St Annen, too, was very nice ... but the people made it exceptional! Helpful, friendly, patient, welcoming ... and more .. I felt like hugging them all when we left after only2 nights!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Owner and staff were above excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous service. Good breakfast. Small room. Only complaint is they definitely need to replace the old smelly pillows. Remember a "Single" room is for one person.

    Owner and staff were above excellent!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    5.8
    Overpriced hotel without ability to have quiet sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TLDR - If you looking for marathon day stay then look for another place. This hotel is more like expensive motel and not worth its price, especially if you need quiet place to sleep. Now bad parts: Hotel is situated near children park and across the street from noisy restaurant and bar - it was noisy outside even 3am at night. Why this is important? On each floor there are 9 rooms - only 3 (4?) of them have windows to inside yard and others have windows to the street. Street also has low traffic of cars. There is no ventilation (and AC) in the rooms and they are small - you need to open windows to get fresh air while sleeping/midnight and you would hear everything that happens outside. And inside too, since room door is not soundproof. 1 room is particularly bad - its right next to elevator and stairs facing street. Its room for 1 person and its very tiny - living area is something like 3x2m. There is no mini bar in the room. Cleaning is not very good - on top of the bed there were piles of dust that are clearly visible. Breakfast was average - minimum was provided, but there was no fruits/vegetables.

    Very mixed feelings - from one side staff was very good and attentive. They tried their best to accommodate you. On marathon race day they allowed me to stay in the room till 2pm, so I could take shower and pack my things. Overall hotel looks clean and modern. Few good places to eat within few minutes of walk.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    Cool hotel in arty Hamburg
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather was cold and rainy! Everything else was great. The area is quite trendy in an alternative way and we loved it.

    The rooms were stylish and comfy and overlooked a lush courtyard garden where we saw jays, bullfinch and greenfinch. Lovely! The shower room and toilet are seperate and have nice touches - stylish orange feature glass shelving and organic toiletries. The staff were really friendly and helpful and recommended perfect places for our older teenagers to see. The owner helpfully moved his car to provide space for ours as we hadn't booked it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    8.8
    Rich and tasty breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi signal on my top floor room was very weak. Rooms are rather small.

    Rich and tasty breakfast. Nice decoration. Good location. Very polite and helpful staff. Covered parking garage (8 EUR per day).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location; clean, roomy and comfortable room; nice shower; good breakfast; friendly and professional staff; a bit more than I usually pay, but I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.6
    Very good 3* hotel, clean and beautiful!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were the only things I did not like. They were too soft, I had to put one on top of the other to sleep and they were both still soft.

    Everything was ok. The breakfast was very good - it had every homemade jam and cookies done by the Romanian stuff from the kitchen. The room was clean, the bathroom was more beautiful than the room. The room was very large, 1 free water bottle (sparkling) in the room. I would choose this hotel again in the future!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.2
    Perfect location, clean, comfortable etc
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was a little bit high but it was worth. The breakfast was pretty fine but not the best.

    It was very good. Location is perfect. You can go everywhere in 10min. Also so close to the Messe. Personnel also was so kind and helpful. Rooms are large and comfortable. You can stay there..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    10
    Great find in convenient neighborhood. Wonderful staff and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. It was a cool week weather wise but there is no air conditioning, which we did not need anyway.

    Quiet location, an extra sink and mirror outside of the bathroom, patio in the back, close to harbor and other interesting things, close to subway. Staff was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    Great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt dislike anything.

    Nice quiet rooms, comfy beds and nice area. The private parking garage make the stay super easy if you come with car. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    I would highly recommend this accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was slightly above my budget, but I was very happy with the extra value I got for the extra cost.

    Very friendly and helpful staff ...many thanks

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    It was a bit far from train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit far from train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Very good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good staff. Perfect location in St Pauli, quite room but near to bars and restaurants. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    As father of the bride , the hotel was nice and quiet after a roudy night on Reeperbahn .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame about a poor hot breakfast choice .

    The staff were really polite and helpful .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    I highly recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't find a USB port to charge my phone.

    super clean, great breakfast, friendly and efficient staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Friendly, welcoming, clean, quiet, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy to find. Quiet place in a busy area. Convenient location. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Very quiet, lovely staff and no problems whatsoever.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A softer mattress

    The breakfast staff are excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    The staff are friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    very sweet lady in reception - provided good information and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very sweet lady in reception - provided good information and very kind

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Location great and room like just finished
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location great and room like just finished

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location with plenty of restaurant and bar, pleasant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Perfect location with plenty of restaurant and bar, pleasant staff, fine breakfast ;)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.8
    Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too small room.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    8.8
    Quickie
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all good

    Very friendly staff; room modern and clean. Location perfect for me- ideal for a short trip to HH

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    10
    Amazing Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great hotel with great people working. Perfect location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    9.6
    Nice hotel in a quiet neighborhood but close to activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No complaints.

    Nice hotel in a quiet neighborhood but close to activities. It is an easy 10 minute walk from the St. Pauli station. It was a comfortable and friendly place for us for one night while we were passing through Hamburg. Nice breakfast too. Also a delicious Italian restaurant across the street.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    8.3
    Very nice room and bathroom, new, comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was not terribly well coordinated, with no clean tables when we (and others after us) arrived, many things refilled only after a long time, no glasses for the (just refilled) fruit juice etc. Staff was helpful when asked but didn't seem to be on top of things.

    Very nice room and bathroom, new, comfortable and clean. Sky TV. Convenient location in foot distance to Landungsbrücken and the city center. Very friendly staff at reception.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    As usual, a relaxing stay, in a well-kept, well-run hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have no dislikes.

    As usual, a relaxing stay, in a well-kept, well-run hotel with perennially hospitable and friendly staff. Ideal point from which to access Hamburg. Located in the uniqueness of Sankt Pauli. Forza FCSP!!

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    9.2
    The staff was super friendly, from the women in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no AC, ( we didn't need it but I can imagine in other hot days it might be necessary)

    The staff was super friendly, from the women in the reception to the staff in the breakfast area. The room was not big but had all you need for the stay. They also care about details: tissues, extra mirror with light, bottles of water in the room, toiletries,... also a good taste in decoration. The shower was great too. Bed super comfortable and extremely clean room. Quiet area but good location ( bars, restaurants...)

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    10
    Hotel St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hotel St. Annan is a wonderful small hotel located in the St. Pauli area of Hamburg. The staff was amazing. They were very friendly and helpful. The room had plenty of space and was extremely nice and clean with a nice bathroom. The hotel has a patio where you can relax and read a book after a day of exploring. A very good breakfest with our room. Quiet area but close enough to walk to Reeperbahn.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    9.2
    Hotel situated in residential area about 10min walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One could imagine rooms very hot at the height of summer as no air conditioning.

    Hotel situated in residential area about 10min walk from Reeperbahn S Bahn Station.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    10
    Staff very helpful, excellent breakfast, great hot showers...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    you have to leave your key at reception when you leave, only a minor inconvenience.

    Staff very helpful, excellent breakfast, great hot showers with excellent water pressure!

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.6
    Comfy clean room, a couple of English channels on TV, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Can't fault this place had a great week-end

    Comfy clean room, a couple of English channels on TV, good WI-FI, savage brekkie and when I checked out too early for brekkie was given a coffee & croissant to go....nice touch

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    10
    Hotel is very clean and staff very friendly, the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel is very clean and staff very friendly, the location is near Reeperbahn but far enough to miss the heavy flow of noise, my room looked over gardens to rear, very quiet and nice selection for breakfast including cooked food, the staff even brought my English tea without asking on my 2nd morning.This will be my preferred destination on future visits.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.2
    Great place at a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great place at a good price. Good parking options in locked basement below (we came with 3 motorcycles, and shared one spot)

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    10
    A location near the Fair, easy to reach, comfortable, quiet,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A location near the Fair, easy to reach, comfortable, quiet, a nice area. I will come back.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    8.8
    quiet, good bed, location, wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    quiet, good bed, location, wifi

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    7.5
    Staff were understanding, accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff were understanding, accommodating Rooms were nice

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    10
    All was good and beyond expected
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Entry to the garage is a bit narrow but doable.

    All was good and beyond expected

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    8.3
    Excelent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excelent location. Ample room. Very good brekfast. Very helpful staff. Liked it very much.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    10
    The hotel was comfortable and clean with good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel was comfortable and clean with good service. Generous breakfast. Super location in St Pauli close to Millerntor stadium.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    9.6
    very kind and helpful staff, perfect location , great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    breakfast ends at 10, quite early for those who party till late .

    very kind and helpful staff, perfect location , great facility !

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    9.2
    Staff helpfulness including offer of breakfast at 4.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff helpfulness including offer of breakfast at 4.30 am prior to an early flight. Very clean and good quality rooms.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    5.0
    Clean hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restrictions on internet use Hard bed Limited space and choice at breakfast

    Clean hotel

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: