Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Hanseatischer Hof 4 stars

Wisbystr. 7-9, St Lorenz, 23558 Lübeck, Germany

#27 of 47 hotels in Lübeck

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 641 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it is a European problem. two beds put close together with two separate douvets called a double bed - well it is not. This was the only turn off for us in the whole stay. Please get double beds and double douvets. That would be more conducive to a romantic break.

    We liked the kitchenette in the room and the separate living area. The place was clean and private. Good breakfast and close to town. The SPA facilities were awsome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit further from train station than anticipated so needed a taxi and also away from centre so needed a taxi The junior suite I booked should have been allocated to the couple but instead it was allocated for single occupancy which was questionable - so the couple had a small double room and my mother had a suite - but it was nice to spoil her egg chef was stressed and a little rude

    impressive hotel - grand - nice rooms and good facilities - didn't have chance to use the spa - breakfast was good -

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although internet was advertised it was not possible to connect and we were told they 'often have problems with Apple devices' We found this very frustrating. Staff at breakfast were not helpful.

    The room was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Location close to the railway station. Friendly personnel at the reception, no problem to leave luggage when I arrived too early for check in.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was my first stay at the Hanseatischer Hof. It's less than a 10 minute walk from the train station and the center of Lubeck is about a 20-25 min walk. My room was very spacious and comfortable, I especially liked the fact that they had an indoor pool that was open until 10 pm, and I was also grateful for them letting me check out an hour later. The breakfast buffet was very extensive with lots of good food and the hotel is in a nice part of town close to stores, the station and center, as was already mentioned.I'd be happy to come back for a return visit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had appreciated that you had announced in conjunction with the room reservation that booking at the spa must be done in advance. Now we did not get any time for treatment.

    Walking distans to the old Town.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am disappointed that the spa and wellness area was all booked, the whole weekend i was there. I choosed the hotel because of the possibility og spa and massage, but since it was booked, that wasn't possible. All i Miss, is an information, that the spa area is often fully booked, and it there fore is a good idea to book your appointments, before you travel and in good time.

    i liked the breakfast very much. also it was really nice that our room had a balcony. all in all, I had a very good experience.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel layout is a little confusing until you get used to it.

    Quiet rooms with firm, very comfortable mattresses. Superb pool and sauna facilities. Good air conditioning.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel layout is very confusing - too big and complicated. Also room only had bath (no stand up shower) with sloped ceilings so tall people like us have to crouch!

    Great spa, friendly staff, good breakfast, comfy bed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of the food (dinner) was poor compared to the price level, and the service in the restaurant was not ok. It seemed the waiter did not like the idea of having guests.

    The location was ok

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single Bed Room very comfortable,i.e.Not too small and very quiet. Hotel not too far away from City Center (ca. 15min walk) Great price/Value. Easy Parking.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's a bit to walk (15 min) to the center, other than that, everything was perfect

    Very helpful and friendly staff - great food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is unstable, I would say - never offer it to guests, it's annoying.

    Big rooms, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Surprisingly, most of the hotel staff did not speak English.

    Breakfast was exceptional

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit worn off but clean

    Large rooms, comfortable beds, large garage with good access

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a suite for very good price in the new part. Big hotel. Breakfast very crowded but good buffet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WLAN not stable - relog every few minutes. People work in lobby, not the rooms. Strong ugly smell in bathroom through ventilation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and shower were not of the quality I would expect from a 4 star hotel. Plumbing was very poor, esp shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wierd smell in the bathroom, no option to open the bathroom window.

    Great breakfast, nice clean SPA and Pool, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa closed too early. Breakfast could have been more varied.

    Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were too hard.

    Beautiful hotel, lovely breakfast, nice staff. A nice surprise to have a balcony with the room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is too expensive for what is offered.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. I made an error during the booking and showed up 1 day later. It was solved in a smooth way. The hotel has very nice faclilities such as an indoor pool and saunas. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Arrived with children late in the afternoon during easter, the staff made two mistakes regarding our room, with caused us to open another persons room. Dinner is served in a separate restaurant and is quite small and not dimensioned for much more than low season. So we had to be put up on a waiting list. Complaints that they should dimension their dinner facilities according to the number of guests were dismissed with the excuse that guests should book dinner in advance, no further help. We had our dinner after 8 pm., not the best time for small children. The buffet we were offered at this time was not the best. They do not have a children menu. The minibar is empty, and according to the staff is supposed to be so. You bring the drinks you want yourself from the bar and what not. Never seen this before. The hotel does not have facilites for children, and excludes children from the pool. We got an offer from 9 to 10 am one day, but being breakfast time this was not suitable. My spouse wanted massage and spa treatments, but nothing was available. Will recommend other guests to plan for having dinner in town. The old town is not so far and have some excellent restaurants. If not book in advance, and plan for your activities beforehand. This is a conference and sleeping hotel.

    The junior suite is really huge, also clean and functional, even two bathrooms with shower, one with a tub, two televisions, lot of wardrobes. This could fit half a football team. In addition the WiFi was really fast and free, and accessible all over the hotel. Nice breakfast buffet. We had no problem with parking however it can be a bit limited.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel is really big and it was hard to find our way to our rooms. We had separate beds even we wanted a double bed. Couldn't use the pool because we spent too much time for orientation.

    Really nice staff, we had tea and instant coffee in our rooms.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    10min walk to opposit the town centre but this was not a big problem to me.

    Free use of swimming pool area. Quiet room. Check-in and check-out were very quick.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was not what I requested. The Hotel didnt have a room with doublebed and they acted surprised from my request. So sleeping was not comfortable. For that value of money I could have found better.

    Cleaness

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff at reception is extremely cold, not welcoming. For a 4 star hotel this needs necessarily to be improved. Bed sheets were not clean, we asked to change them.

    Bathroom recently refurbished, very good wellness area

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed is so uncomfortable it is impossible to sleep. There was no service at breakfast, no one showed us a table, the woman just waved her hand into the restaurant, no one brought us coffee until we asked and that took ages because there was no one around. The place is extremely weird - like 2 hotels with most facilities not available - our room in one part and the restaurant in the other - and like the Marie Celeste.

    The hotel was within walking distance of the town - about 20 to 30 minutes.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Roadworks had closed access, entry through underground car park was difficult for a pedestrian, particularly as I don't read the language, didn't know if this was really the way in. Lack of air conditioning and inability to open window due to pungent smell and noise from roadworks immediately outside window meant room was stuffy on a warm day.

    1.Proximity to local bus for sightseeing & shopping 2. Hotel environment and facilities were very good quality 3. Single room was very spacious and well appointed

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -most of the personnel were capable enough, but a certain 4-5 star friendliness was missing.

    -clean -excellent wellness area -convenient parking -pretty close to old town/Christmas markets (15 minute walk) -close to train station - nice "lounge rooms" available for private conversation, etc.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Kids are not allowed to spa area including swimming pool. This could be better explained in hotel description.

    room was clean. Even though kid are not allowed to swimming pool we were allowed to stay at the pool first hour in the morning 9 - 10 a.m.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No air-conditioning in our room. Did not like the room at all.. Too far from town. Overpriced.

    Okay breakfast! Surroundings of the hotel was nice.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking is a difficulty if no more spaces in hotel's car park.

    Good location near city centre, train station and motorway, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hotel atmosphere. Room size and bathroom. Wellness area.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great room and lovely SPA, only 15 min walk to central of Lübeck and Holstentor.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being able to store our luggage before the afternoon check-in time.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    location in a quiet place not far from the historic center. spa area with swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expensive breakfast

    Beautiful hotel Helpful and nice staff

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Had to wait at breakfast while food was topped up.

    Nice style of decor. Friendly staff. Nice pool. Good location. Good nights sleep.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just a little to far from town for a walker,not good in the rain

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were very polite and helpful. The spa area is fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    you couldnt use the SPA on the day of checkout unless you paid. Maybe a minor fee would have felt more logical.

    Lubeck is so beautiful and nice

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pool for childrens only from 9.00 AM til 10.00 AM. Restoran in saturday evening is closed.

    Clean. Beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lots of construction going on in the surrounding area.

    Good for business visit, big room. Strong wifi.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast plentiful but a little bland.

    Well furnished and furbished large double room. Clean. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was a bit small. Long walk to the Spa.

    Spa, breakfast and balcony.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had a single room with small and very firm bed. Try to get a double!

    Facilities, Staff, Pool, Spa, Food, Cleanliness.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Browse Hotel Hanseatischer Hof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: