Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Harz Hostel

Schmatzfelder Str. 50-52, 38855 Wernigerode, Germany

#24 of 25 hotels in Wernigerode

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 254 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast only available upon request. Coffee maker in the lobby, so no biggy. Wi-Fi not the fastest.

    Nice location close to downtown and the steam train station. I was lucky, being the only first in an eight bed dorm, so plenty of room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent place lokated around Bahnhof, center, cafes and supermarkt. Rooms are comfortable and large, bathroom is clean. WiFi worked in the room. Really cheap. Recommended!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was absolutely no ventilation, for summer that can be a problem.

    For hostel it's quite nice. It's located close to Wernigerode central station and 30 mins by foot from city center. You also have bus stops close to the hostel so you can travel around the region. Guy at the reception allowed us to check-in in the morning (which is before check-in hours)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was warmly welcomed by the receptionist. I had a single room that was a good size and the bathroom was great. The loacation is very good, close to the town centre and also to the railway station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived a couple of hours early (1 PM) and hoped to leave my luggage at the hostel before check-in at 3 PM. The hostel was closed, but there was the option to call a number (displayed on door) and check-in early for a fee (I think €5 an hour). I called the number and no one answered. So, if you arrive early by train, either lock up your luggage at the train station, or make sure you arrange to check-in early beforehand. Otherwise, you'll be toting your luggage around until check-in.

    The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The room (private single)was very clean and was exactly what I needed: a clean place to sleep with a clean bathroom. The common area with TV, books was clean and inviting. I ordered the breakfast and felt like it was worth it. It was a nice, typical German breakfast: Brötchen, Hard-boiled egg, cold cuts, cheese, Nutella, jam, butter, coffee, juice. It's about 10-15 minute walk from the Altstadt. It's a great place to stay. If I ever go back to Wernigerode, I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guy at the reception was just really quite odd and not particularly welcoming. It's a shame because the hostel has a lot of potential, but it just felt like the cool facilities they had (hang-out lounge / common area) was not to be used and that the guy just wanted to get rid of people as quickly as possible. The front door is always kept locked and you've to buzz the intercom to come in (if it gets answered). Check-in and check-out times are very restricted, so watch out. Also, don't expect to use a toilet if you need to after you check out. Apparently there are no toilets in the common areas to use. Closest one is the train station, which is yucky and you've to pay 1 Euro for! Expect to pay extra fees (sheets, towels) upon check in, which hikes up the costs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just one thing is the pillows need to change or upgrade for some new ones ;)

    cheap price, good location, although its a bit far from town center, but close to busbahnhof nice staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For checking in before 3 pm (normaly) extra money; I dont saw this before and the guy was cool and culant.. The kur-taxis is a othere unexpected more of money

    It was the best Hostel in Europe I saw ever. All things complete and working, new, good taste in the design, perfect point for the bathroom, nice couthes for the bed.... All acurat and frienly and no difficult

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is on the street outside. It was okay - just not ideal. A lot of the reviews say a lot about how basic it is, but for us it was fine!

    We had a double room with private bathroom. It was clean, comfortable and in a great location, only a 5 minute walk from the old town. Staff were friendly and helpful, answering questions and providing us with useful tips plus maps etc. We booked 2 nights but stayed for 3. We didn't use any shared areas so can't comment on those.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is not friendly at all. They will not help you after 8pm. Also, no late check-ins after 8pm. Seems like they do not like working after 8pm..

    Location is very close to the train station and only about 10mins walk to the city center. Rooms and bathroom are very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast not available as there were not enough guests who wanted to participate...but good cafe at the station instead.

    Basic, but clean and comfortable. Only a few minutes walk from the station.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room layout and cleanliness

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    calm, cheap price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathroom outside of rooms (none in communal area) No handsoap Kitchens closed at 2030

    Communal area lovely Nice rooms Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could have an oven or microwave in the kitchen.

    Very close to the station, staff was really nice, very big rooms and nice shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soap in the bathroom

    The room was clean, own bathroom, quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staircase with dark blue carpet looked a bit old.

    Spacious room for 4 people with a big bathroom. Quiet. Centrally located.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi not working. kitchen is locked.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cool place!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really friendly staff who were able to help me plan my holiday.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was not at the reception all the time. He is helpful but aloof. The mattress was too soft, and pillow was totally a joke, the inner cotton has already aggregated into pieces. The kitchen has weird time policy, "no using before 8:30am". Because he needs to prepare breakfast for other customers. So if you don't buy breakfast from him. You're not allowed to make your own breakfast before 8:30am. For this service and atmosphere, the price is too high.

    The location is ok, close to train station but not to the main tourist area. The place is fairly clean, even the kitchen.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lectured for checking in fifteen minutes after booking - don't accept the booking then. Reception refused advice on where to wash clothes in the area. Breakfast not included, had to make my own bed. This is a hostel, yes. It was also €175 for two nights, but acted like a super budget hostel. I would not recommend staying here based on my own experiences.

    The location was reasonable.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They tried really hard to save as much money as possible, on everything. Pillows and covers were really poor quality. Everything was super basic to the point that there was even no soap in the bathroom. My friends rented towels and they were complaining that it felt like a sand paper. Each of us got 4 euro breakfast, that included 4 pieces of cheap white toasts 1 slice of cheese, 1 thinnest ever slice of salami and some horrible jams that contained mostly sugar. I understood that it's not a hotel and did not expect gourmet food but this was really really cheap and far from tasty. You have to check out before 10, but you can check in only from 15. There is no way of getting into the hostel before 15, so if you arrive before that time with a bulky bag you gotta carry it around, lol.

    It was quiet, there were no big issues with anything. All clean and super close to the train station

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I think it was overpriced. The price doesn't include breakfast and you also have to pay for the towels. You have to make your bed and leave everything in the laundry when you leave. I would be ok with that if I had paid half of what I actually paid. I had a one bed bedroom with private bathroom. The bathroom was ok, but the bedroom was really small and not at all client oriented. There was the bed(that was comfortable :) ) and the nightstand was on the other side of the room! So the lamp was really not useful from there. Right next to the bed there was a huge closet, that can be useful for a long stay, but was really wasting a lot of space in a room that was already small! I was expecting something more "gemütlich". I saw in the city there are a lot of options that seemed to be a lot better for the same price!

    It was clean, and close to the train station

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The kitchen was a little spartan and didn't have any basic ingredients (oil, pepper etc).

    Really friendly guy running the hostel. No fuss with checking in. Ideal for exploring the Harz. Room was basic but comfortable. I think I was the only person staying (mid week in January) but the communal areas were really nice and I can imagine it would have a good atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    WiFi was out for the night of our stay, the hostel was outdated and Kitchen facilities were substandard.

    Price was fine for what we got. We arrived late however the manager came and allowed us to check in.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - the owner english is so so - no public toilet in the lounge so i have to go first to my room - mattress is so so - hallway is very cold

    - free wifi - near station - walking distance to the city center - kitchen - lounge - en suite bathroom - very clean

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A better Pillow would be the only thing.

    The beds were fine for the purpose.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Curtains weren't thick enough and the street light shone through.

    Liked the decorations inside the building. Clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had to pay for towels

    Free wifi

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small rooms with Ensuite (not cleaned),Metall lockers not safe, Deposit for kitchen use, not a nice atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The quality of wifi is reaily poor. Very hard to connect it.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: