Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Haus Duden This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Konrad-Duden-Straße 99, 46485 Wesel, Germany

#5 of 8 hotels in Wesel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 898 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Beside the history of the house, where I like to come back...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beside the history of the house, where I like to come back each time I appreciate also the quiet location and the cook Ulli, who has always something specially nice to offer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Welcoming and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room - great staff - nothing was too much trouble - great access to road network but quiet country location - good food at reasonable price - only 5 min drive into town - Lots to do in area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    I felt very welcome and will come back to Hotel Haus Duden
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some facilities are old and need modernization

    Very nice Location, Very nice Area Nice Hotel Facilities - Bar, Restaurant, Garden Area incl. Sauna. Room had all necessary comfort Quick WLAN

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Excellent, quit place, all comfort for a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi is fast, but it is requires login, every day again. This causes breaking of running connections. No problem for most applications, however professional work becomes difficult.

    Excellent, quit place, all comfort for a reasonable price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Air-conditioning would have made it almost perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was a very hot week weather-wise, and the rooms had no air-con. Opening a window was not an option, as it backed onto dense woods (insects). Very humid and uncomfortable.

    Great Breakfast choice, always fresh and tasty. Lovely country location, peaceful and quiet. Fantastic evening meals, great chef, great prices.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.9
    Easy parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heavily stained bedroom carpet...well past a joke. The windows were difficult to open. Skylight could not be left open. The room was boiling hot and airless and stayed that way for two days.

    Easy parking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    The room was lovely;
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's difficult to reach without a car, and the taxis in the area cost a lot. And what other reviewers said about the restaurant is definitely true; quite expensive for what you get, so if you can get back to town, eat elsewhere.

    The room was lovely; just what I needed after hours on a train. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the bed even had Haribo gummies on top of it in lieu of chocolate, which was a touch I especially loved. Everything was clean, comfortable, and quiet. I didn't use many of their four star amenities, but I had a very lovely stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.5
    Perfect spot for a night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the bed was very clean, there was a layer of dust on the tables and counter tops, as the rest of the room was clean this wasn't a major problem for us. For the rest the room, carpets and bathroom was clean.

    We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel as it was conveniently located close to the Rhine and to a few visit worthy towns. The hotel itself was clean and the staff friendly. The breakfast was worth staying for and there was no rush to leave. The room we had was small but big enough for two people to stay in comfortably.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.8
    Really nice friendly hotel good value
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very nice hotel really friendly people. The area is around 60klm from Dusseldorf so it is really important to have a car. We rented a car and everything was really easy to locate with the Gps . Really nice calm area in Green surroundings , very nice breakfast service and everyone was really helpful. If you are in the area you should also visit Xanten area which was really wonderful with a lot of small shops and really nice scenery. Wifi was also very good. Would go again :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Excellent value and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was in a quiet setting outside of town. Sleeping with the window open was great! I ate dinner there one night and it was one of the best meals of my 2 week trip. I would like to compliment Ruth (manager) and Hoummadi (sp?) bartender for professional service. Plus the new chef whose name I didn't get.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.3
    Tolle Küche, ruhige Zimmer.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration of the modern part of the hotel starts to be outdated.

    A new cook and his staff surprised us with a real tasty inventive dinner. Excellent!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    5.8
    I wouldn't stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's the first time that I give such a low rating to a hotel. I normally don't want to be unfair to any property but this time although nothing big annoyed me, I was a bit unhappy with quite a lot of things. The room I booked (Junior suite) was above the hotel restaurant and the entrance to the staircase was actually through the hotel restaurant. Not too bad you'll think but after around 10pm they lock the door to the restaurant so you have to walk a really long way around the building to get to the front of the hotel and the car parking and the lighting is not great. The room was also quite beat-up. Very old furniture and equipment, squeaky floors and a cough that was covered with a fleece blanket because it had a hole on the upholstery! When I pay 100+ Euro a night for a room in the boonies without breakfast I expect at least decent furniture without holes on them. The bathroom was also on the old side but fully functional. The toilet paper though could be easily used instead of sand-paper. It would also be nice (and oh-so-cheap) to install mosquito nets on the windows to prevent bugs and insects to enter the room. I had a huge spider in the room with me during the first night of my stay and the hotel staff were kind enough to remove it while I was away during the day. The Wi-Fi was so-so. It worked well for my Windows laptop but I had problems connecting my iPhone and iPad as it took for ever to bring up the log-on page. Overall the impression of the hotel is that there has been no investment in it for years. Again, it is all relative but for this price and that location I would expect something much better.

    The hotel looks quite promising on the pictures and the first impression you get arriving at the site is good. Its out in the country and has a nice garden where you can sit and have a drink and enjoy nature. The staff are helpful and even if they are not able to communicate with you in English they will still put an effort to understand what you want and help you.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    4.6
    Once good, but lost it's soul
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen was closed and replaced by a buffet. Dry, half cold food that had been sitting there for hours. Not very expensive but not tasty either. The kitchen used to be fine, but this was not good. Getting a drink was difficult as the waitress was gone most of the time. The breakfast buffet was also a lot less good than we were used to. No fish and the scrambled eggs had been sitting there much too long. We did not dare to try them. The boiled egg was so hard it was almost green. Overall the staff seemed very disinterested. They took the safe road and did not even ask how our stay was on checkout. We have been here often, but will not return.

    The room is ok.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    8.3
    Very nice hotel with excellent value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Facility/furniture partly a bit run-down (the telephone in my room was also not functioning, had to use my mobile to call the reception); however everything was clean; room was cleaned every day. So everything fine, especially taking into account the Price.

    - Really good value for Money (paid 43 EUR per night incl. breakfast) - Rich and nicely presented breakfast - Friendly staff at the reception, in the beakfast room and on the bar - Nice surrounding, very quite in the night; Hotel in the middle of a well-kept garden - Free parking

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    5.4
    The room was clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nobody was at the reception desk when I arrived to the hotel. After 5 minutes waiting, I noticed that there was a button on which a message written on it. "We are on the area; we will be back after you press on the pink button". After pressing on the button I had to wait additional 20 minutes more... Finally a lady came to the desk and started to check in process without any apologise!!! (so much relaxed...) Having car is a must. Because the hotel is located at an unfrequented area without any public transportation possibility. The restaurant is not active.

    The room was clean. There are also sufficient park slots in house. Price/performance ratio is good. Enough for one night sleep.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    5.8
    Breakfast let this property down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room. Breakfast would have been nice if they had replenished the food. Not much left when we got there. Slow cleaning breakfast tables. Dirty dishes everywhere. Clearly they needed more staff. The one lady working there did a great job with a smile.

    Lovely dining room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.2
    Everything was great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff!! Breakfast was very good. Room was spacious enoug for one person (single room) and also clean! There's nothing I didn't like. Even the Wifi worked excellent!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.2
    The best reception we ever had in a hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best reception we ever had in a hotel! Very hospitable and warm reception, rather late at night. With an offer to make us a cup of tea or coffee.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    7.5
    Good value, slightly peculiar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a recommended place if you like to stay up late. Kitchen closes at 9, bar at 10. Restaurant menu small but done well, bar menu very limited though, to the point that it only stocks the sorts of novelty spirits that sit at the back of your grandmother's drinks cabinet

    Good breakfast, comfortable room and bed. Clean with pleasant historical associations. Very good value

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.3
    Good hotel. 4 Stars is pushing it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is advertised as 4 Star but that was probably a few years ago. No curtains in room but we were in was at the end of hotel.

    All in all a good experience. Great location for Haldern Pop Festival. Very comfortable beds. Nice bathrooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food in the restaurant (?) was no more than 'pub grub'. The garden and surroundings were overgrown and scruffy, weeds everywhere. The grass and some hedges were cut on our last day.

    Accommodation was good. Comfortable and clean. Our welcome was offhand considering that we had booked weeks before.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    5.0
    not clean but silent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    last time, I didn't write it but somehow they are not cleaning the rooms. I stayed 4 days and they didn't clean the room even 1 day!!!

    it was silent as always.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nicht

    Comfortable bed - breakfast really good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    E X C E L L E N T ! ! !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very clean and quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    It was like staying at a country house with a peaceful setting
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    small room

    Like a country house with friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Clean, friendly and a very good breakfast. The dinner in the restaurant was also very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a bit soft but that is just my personal preference.

    Very friendly staff and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    large comfortable room, friendly staff, great breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no curtains in the room, just Luxaflex

    large comfortable room, friendly staff, great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    - Excellent breakfast
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Excellent breakfast - queit, clean room - comfortable bed - friendly staff - delicious dinner - good value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room fridge... was barely cold

    Great location and lovely hotel..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay much needed rest after driving for 10 hours
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were lovely and very helpful. Food was very good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.8
    Happy and satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and quite room, excellent breakfast, friendly staff, sauna and kegel alley :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant in the evening was closed, hence I had to take the car and go to city for dinner.

    Very nice hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    9.2
    very good experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very friendly reception, good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    Breakfast was lovely and buffet good value
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was lovely and buffet good value Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    9.6
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast Spacious Friendly staff Rural setting

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    7.5
    Very nice and quiet place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is well situated and very nice. The breakfast is rich. It was a quick stay but I think I'll return.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    8.5
    nice people, good breakfirst, very good special price
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    restaurant and bar closed at 10:00 pm, empty mini bar

    nice people, good breakfirst, very good special price

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    7.9
    no food
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the dining room was not available , staff sick ! there was no bar food and nothing available in the hotel

    good breakfast , wi fi and pets accepted

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.3
    Quiet good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pity restaurant closed on sunday.

    Quiet good hotel. Breakfast perfect.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.6
    Very clean, friendly service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant available due to illness.

    Very clean, friendly service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    Just excellent super value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just excellent super value for money

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    6.7
    Adequate for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was relatively tight. No evening meal service available.

    Room was clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    8.3
    Good one night stay!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is out of town and its restaurant was closed, so we had to take the car into town to have dinner.

    Quiet, easy for the dogs. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    Great night out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner could have been a lot better, I suggest that you go out for dinner.

    Great breakfast with a lot of choice. Nice sauna.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    8.8
    Wonderful location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WIFI was not stable. The connection speed was ok, but the connectivity was dropping from the two devices (mobile phone and laptop) I took with me.

    Wonderful location. Very pleasant staff Great food Room was ok for a 4 star hotel.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.2
    Super friendly staff, especially during the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms are a bit old, but clean. WiFi was not working.

    Super friendly staff, especially during the breakfast. Our son received special treatment. Variety of food was very good and fresh. Rooms were clean and comfortable, a bad was a bit small. Location was very good out side of city, close to Nederlands.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    6.7
    Room was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant is extremely slow!!internet connection is suffering... Beware breakfast!! Nobody is aware whether there is still cheese, egg, etc. or not. They have a really large table for breakfast service. But it is worst than ever!!!

    Room was good. But it would be much better as if there would be a heater for water. Not noisy or crowdy place, so that i could have a well sleep.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    10
    location 8km from motorway so great location for travel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was very comfortable but a little worn. Low ceiling in bedroom was a danger for banging heads. It is almost unavoidable. Ours was extremely low over bed and near TV, ASK FOR A ROOM WITH FULL HEIGHT CEILING

    location 8km from motorway so great location for travel from south to Amsterdam Friendly staff, reasonable evening meal prices

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    5.8
    Rooms and reception OK, Location good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is expensive for what is available. Bar and restaurant service awful, late and minimal options to choose. Room price is expensive for the overall offer.

    Rooms and reception OK, Location good.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    ????

    Comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    5.4
    Surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    much more staff needed

    Surroundings

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    9.6
    The employees
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The employees

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    10
    Very Friendly Staff, Good value for money.
    • Solo traveller

    Very Friendly Staff, Good value for money. Everything is green in the area with very nice bicycle routes.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    10
    Perfect place for rest
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Perfect place for rest

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    5.8
    Not all days they had hot meal.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Not all days they had hot meal.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    7.9
    Nice room, pretty hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the curtains in the livingroom could not close. People could see inside in the evening.

    Nice room, pretty hotel

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: