Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Haus Hainstein This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Am Hainstein 16, 99817 Eisenach, Germany

#2 of 19 hotels in Eisenach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 471 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was not super service-minded and you felt like you were disturbing them when you needed to talk to them.

    Hotel with a very nice and quiet location. If you are lucky to get a room with a view to Wartburg then the view will be amazing (unfortunately we didn't) Breakfast choice was plenty and good. Nice to have free parking close to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Starry Hotel ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very impressed because they prepared the romantic room as I left the message for my honeymoon. They gave the service to remember my name as soon as I arrived smoothly . Hotel was so romantic as I predicted. We could breath fresh airs and listen beautiful songs of birds at the room thanks to located in mountains. As well as I could see beautiful castle at our room and took a walk to that castle. Finally I can't forget breakfast of hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    A relaxing stay in a hotel in one of the nicest locations I have seen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    The location of this hotel is unique. It is on top of a hill and the rooms and the restaurant have a wonderful view on the surrounding (and beautiful) countryside and a spectacular castle. Our room was very spacious, the staff very friendly, we had a great dinner with excellent food, drinks and view, and the breakfast was good (with again a great view). The hotel has also great conference facilities. There is a gym that is somewhat limited but for a three-star hotel with so many great features good enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most of the staff were not friendly and didn't go out of their way to offer any extra information or help with anything (apart from one waiter at the restaurant). The restaurant has a very limited menu and healthy dishes weren't part of the menu at all. The staff did try to modify my meal to make it a little healthier. However everything was still swimming in butter and the salad I asked for instead of potatoes was quite small.

    My room and the restaurant's view of the Wartburg Castle, surrounding forests and mountains was just amazing!!!!! The walks from the hotel were incredible; especially the Drachenschlucht. My room was lovely and clean and the pillows didn't just collapse into flat nothingness! The breakfast buffet had some some lovely healthy options.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    Breathtaking view and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No airconditioning, which meant it got very warm. We had to leave a window open, which meant that we couldn't read at night because the light would attract insects from outside. No fridge in the room, therefore the welcome drink they left in the room was very warm. We were located on the other building, which meant a long walk of a few small stairs, plus an elevator. Difficult when there are kids and lots of bags to carry. We ordered 2 rooms. The 2nd room was located on the top floor (attic) which was very hot, due to poor ventilation and no air conditioning. Waiting staff in the restaurant spoke very poor English which made it difficult to order or ask about the menu. It was not the best restaurant service, but it was sufficient.

    The location and building is stunning! It looks like a small castle on top of a hill, overlooking the Wartburg castle where Martin Luther stayed. The view from the restaurant and breakfast room was breathtaking. We were lucky to get a corner room where we had a great view and could see the castle, especially at night when it was lit up. Room was very large for a double room. Menu was delicious and parking was easy to find. Lovely drive up the hill with picturesque surroundings. Reception staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    9.6
    Good breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No convenient way to get to town and back. A shuttle to let you go shopping. If in a taxi you had to know where you were going. Maybe a shuttle would know places to shop.

    Good breakfast buffet. Staff really tried to help with English. Most spoke no English.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.2
    Great value and friendly hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not so easy to locate late at night , signage could be improved .

    Great location ( but not so easy to find ) , friendly staff , very clean and comfortable room .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.8
    Pleasant stay at outstandingly beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single rooms were very small.

    The view from our rooms to the Wartburg castle was truly enchanting. The chanterelles were cooked just perfect (and not overpowered by a creamy sauce)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.8
    The Wartburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very narrow. We also suggest insect screens be installed. Maybe reconfigure the furniture to increase room above beds.

    Situated on an adjoining ridge, the Wartburg Castle was plainly featured. Just beautiful! Dinner and breakfast were very delicious. Our room was spacious, but head room a bit low over the beds.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.2
    A nice ancient hotel overlooking the Wartburg Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's inconvenient to return from the city on shanks's mare

    We stayed in this hotel for one night on the way to Spain by car. Excellent nice hotel overlooking the Wartburg Castle. There is a large public parking around the hotel and the surrounding area. The city at 10 minutes walk, but will have to go back, climbing up the hill. Pleasant rooms with good views, beautiful scenery, friendly staff. The hotel has a restaurant with good food (but my advice - not order any soups). I think, it's a suitable place to stay for travelers by car.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.8
    Very good option in Eisnach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's very good - and would certainly recommend - the rooms are comfortable though possible the decor a little staid and would benefit from a minibar - but overall very good.

    Superb views and setting - location is a real plus - easy to reach by car, although quite a climb if on foot. Rooms comfortable and spacious and great public areas - and stunning terrace with views up to the Wartburg. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    8.8
    Spacious rooms, individually decorated, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only minor issues really. Some staff were a little slow e.g. it regularly took some time to get charges for meals and drinks put onto the room and although the restaurant apparently closes at 10pm, after 9 pm or so staff clearing up the terrace made us feel slightly unwelcome e.g. when returning from Town for a last drink. The cooking was slightly erratic. Satellite TV limited to German channels plus BBC World. The only really irritating incident was that I really don't appreciate (and I do understand the principle) being told that I cannot take a single bread roll up to my room at breakfast (even though this was for my teenage son who, as teenagers do, remained in his room and missed out on at least 4 breakfasts for which we had paid!).

    Spacious rooms, individually decorated, very clean. My son's room was lovely, and ours was very pleasant indeed. Location was good with splendid view from terrace of World Heritage Site on the Wartburg (but not from our room, although I had requested a castle view, due to trees). You can take a pleasant walk up to this easily from the hotel. Good value for money, for such large rooms. Fairly quiet too although functions were taking place at the hotel. Lovely surroundings with forest and lots of birds apparent. Quite close to town for visiting sites such as Bach's and Luther's houses. Eisenach is interesting - I especially enjoyed the motor museum. Easy also to get to other places of interest such as Gotha, Weimar, Buchenwald. Some members of staff were delightful and they made the effort to understand English. Breakfasts good with plenty of choice and one evening a very good value barbecue was offered. Overall a very nice hotel and would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    7.9
    Glad we discovered this hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-if connection was not good, I've it was intermittent. Also, perhaps a little more information could have been made available about the local area - in English language, eg about hiking trails.

    Views from hotel and friendliness of other guests (local German couple) whom we met at dinner.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    The ambiance of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu without English translation

    The ambiance of the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful view on the Wartburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful view on the Wartburg

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, clean and cosy rooms
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    mattress could be a little bit stiffer

    Excellent location, clean and cosy rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Room with an amazing view, welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spargel at Dinner wasn’t properly cooked and tasted bitter and raw.

    Room with an amazing view, welcoming staff. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Thank you all team Hainstein!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful terrace with castle view, excellent service ...very romantic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    The restaurant was closed despite menu lists on the web site...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was closed despite menu lists on the web site and hotel info

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Everything was spotless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was spotless. Attention to detail was noted throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    6.7
    STaff were very impatient with our poor ability to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    STaff were very impatient with our poor ability to communicate in German.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    7.5
    Staff could have been friendlier
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been friendlier

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    10
    Amazing scenery!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view of the Wartburg Castle right from our room! Very relaxing and great food at the restaurant. Breakfast really good as well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast, beautiful surroundings, large and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A water boiler in the room would have been nice.

    Excellent breakfast, beautiful surroundings, large and comfortable room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.8
    Stay here and visit Wartburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road up was a bit crazy but it was fine :)

    Breakfast was delicious and included. The room had a lovely view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    10
    Could see Wartburg Castle from our bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay and even the possibility to play the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pleasant stay and even the possibility to play the organ in the chapel in the evening. Great view from the terrace towards Wartburg

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    7.5
    not on a hot day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    restaurant selection could be better.no air con.no english tv

    great room with a view of the castle

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.6
    Wartburg views and location excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding room overlooking the Wartburg castle. Good location for town and castle.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    8.3
    Nice stay, lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant quality is reasonable to good. Choice of vegetarian food very poor.

    Service delivered by staff was good. Nice rooms, beautiful location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    7.1
    Bush setting with views of castle, good parking availability...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Requires GPS to find, creaky floor boards, something of a rabbit warren to get luggage to your room

    Bush setting with views of castle, good parking availability, large room, adequate breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    10
    A great treat to stay in this comfortable land welcoming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A great treat to stay in this comfortable land welcoming hotel. Great view of Wartburg castle which is in easy walking distance. Comfortable beds. Delicious food in the restaurant and at breakfast. We loved our stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.3
    The house itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    One of us had diffivulty using the stairs (and the signs pointing to the elevator or indicating it were not there). It might be hard to get to the hotel from Eisenach without a car.

    The house itself. It's just great, proximity to Wartburg, the feel of the house and Eisenach. Good value for money. They also seemed to have read previous revies, now there are signs on the way to help arrive there by car.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    10
    Superb location, high overlooking countryside but a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Superb location, high overlooking countryside but a few minutes walk or drive from Bach Museum. very clean hotel, large rooms, lovely terrace with view of castle.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    8.3
    Excellent facilities, beautiful and would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Communication with staff assumed we were fussy about food, young waiter brought English menu, then we pointed to what we wanted, then he brought something from another page of the menu, then the managerrefused to even understand they could have made a mistake. We didn't order the wrong thing, we didn't get what we ordered. It was the only issue with food in two weeks of traveling.

    Excellent facilities, beautiful and would recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    7.1
    The castle view and the room size was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no fridge in the room, Curtains were plastic which took away the aesthetics of the view and windows. Bathroom was small compared to the bedroom but we were there only for a day so not too bad.

    The castle view and the room size was good. The restaurant also had a great view. The restaurant staff were very polite and nice.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast buffet, they were all delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent breakfast buffet, they were all delicious. Our room were on te top floor and had very nice view, though hotel location was inconvenient to walk around Eienach and far enough to walk to Wartburg.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    Delicious breakfast, fantastic view, beautiful clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Delicious breakfast, fantastic view, beautiful clean rooms. Staying here was a highlight of our drive through Germanh.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.2
    The location is fabulous with views over Eisenach and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location is fabulous with views over Eisenach and the Wartburg Castle. Quality restaurant. Quiet location and rooms.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    7.9
    The staff were kind to us even when we arrived very late,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were kind to us even when we arrived very late, barely in time for dinner and yet they fed us a lovely meal.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    10
    Everything~It was like a dream to be there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Everything~It was like a dream to be there..

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    8.8
    Very good location for visiting the castle and woods
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    terrible position for trying to walk back from town after dinner! Map and signage useless....

    Very good location for visiting the castle and woods

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    7.9
    beautiful surroundings and nice views from the windows of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    musty smell in the hallway

    beautiful surroundings and nice views from the windows of the dining room

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: