Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Haus Kastanienhof This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Dimbeck 27, 45470 Mülheim an der Ruhr, Germany

#16 of 33 hotels in Mülheim an der Ruhr

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 518 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What can I say? Excellent hotel, nice deco, unbelievable green location. A very classy nice room for eating. A warm welcoming, followed by an excellent service, with a lot of attention to details on order to please you !!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soundproof is not good enough, you always hear people walking in the aisle and sometimes even your neighbors talking next door. Breakfast is not timely re-filled during peak hours in the morning.

    Spacious room with a large cozy bed. A nice garden is directly out of the window and a nice park nearby. 5min walk to the sport center and 3 tram stops to the forum where lots of shops and restaurants are located.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this hotel for its restaurant reviews only to find it was closed!!! There was no mention of this on the website. There was no drinks/vending machine/bar to cover this.

    The quiet location next to houses. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable, the breakfast was pleasant. We had a tasty dinner in Margaretas just down the road.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's in a very quiet area

    Room was immaculate with feather duvets! The wifi was fantastic, friendly welcome and huge restaurant with amazing meals. A real hidden gem

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel has been renewed recently, so the rooms are very nice and look new. The area is silent and it is close to the city centre. The breakfast room looks also very new with nice furniture. The variety of food is ok and the hotel staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, really! It is about a 10-15 minute walk from the downtown area - all downhill. The walk back takes longer as it is quite steep.

    Our room at the hotel looked out over a large beautiful garden. It was quiet and sunny. The room itself was large and even had a comfortable couch and a couch table. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had a very good shower (lots of hot water and good water pressure). The breakfast was plentiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff didnt allowed us to enter our room on our exact booking time which was written 2pm, we waited until 3:30pm.

    It was clean, and comfortable. Their breakfast was richer than other German hotels as comparison.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The gentleman who I assume was the owner was extremely rude (he even yelled at my colleague at one point for not having her key). Also, the bed was a bit too soft but that may be a personal preference.

    We stayed here because of a business trip for a trade show in Dusseldorf. We really liked this property, it was superbly clean, the breakfast was delicious, the rooms were very nice and comfortable, and the lady at the breakfast, I guess she is the owner, was so very kind and helpful. I would highly recommend this place for a similar business trip, especially if you have a car, as it is so much more economical to stay here and very easy to get to Messe still. Also, it was a very quiet and nice area. We had a great stay overall.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Attitude. Anglo conversant. Lack tact in dealing with urgent situation. I wheeled my heavy luggage to train station to travel to Essen. Proprietor said getting a taxi is not his core business.

    Promptness

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent breakfast and very helpful and attentive personnel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We payed more (than for booking come) without explanation

    The hotel is not far from restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't really comfortable and the power plugs positions weren't well conceived

    Very clean and silent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    central heating was not working in the rooms in November.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi not working.

    Large room being single one. Quiet neighbourhood.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place in the city of Mühlheim....sure that i visit it again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing like that.

    Large and comfy room.good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have to thank everyone.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The facilities could be better and more renovated, but in general for the price I think they are perfectly fine! :)

    Location is great, great pizza place very nearby. The restaurant next to the hotel is also good! :)

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had room nr 3 and the Internet signal was very weak or sometimes would disappear. So our advice don't take room 3 or 4 Also you can not pin there only cash or credit card. Staff are okayish. Room is very clean but you have to bring your own shampoo and shower gel Good luck

    Breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Although we booked the double room already in March 2015 (!) for September, we were given another room with two single beds. A switch of rooms was not possible. I'm sorry for your rating but this is not acceptable. - the room was also very cold when we arrived and it was 10°C outside, someone forgot to turn the radiator on. - no 24h reception.

    + Everything except our room; + nice neighborhood; + easy parking.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were two singles placed across the room from each other. We moved them together but it allowed little space to get into the bathroom or to the door.

    Staff was very accommodating and location very good for driving to the airport only twenty minutes away. Nice adjoining beer garden with good food. Easy on street parking.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet never worked all the time we were there. Other guests complained as well but the staff seem to say it must have been their phones or ipads. As my partner had microsoft and I have apple found that rather strange.

    Breakfast were good, rooms very spacious

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    They want to screw me up immediately: though on the booking page there was a photo of a single room with carpeted floor (that was the only reason why I booked the room), the lady gave me a completely another room. After I came back to her this negative "experience" she tried to deny if they have such room.... After several minutes of discussion she gave it up, and finally "found" the room I was booked.... Opened me the door, dropped the key on the table and left me behind without saying anything. The first room, she tried to gave me was so poor. This wasn't so nice as well, but at least was, what I booked. So big minus for serving clients. Otherwise another services was OK, for sleeping there no problem except bed, its a shame how used was it...

    good location

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Size of bedsrelaxing

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Internet connection and shampoo in bath room

    Staff is so help full and every thing is clean

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice breakfast. Friendly staff. Quite area.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    cold room

    nice location and rich breakfast

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's better to have shampoo provided.

    Free Wi-Fi and big room.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Perhaps a better pillow is needed

    Pleasant staff relaxing place to stay

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    no

    good location and breakfast

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Browse Haus Kastanienhof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: