Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Haus Union This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schenkendorfstraße 13, 46047 Oberhausen, Germany

#27 of 41 hotels in Oberhausen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 519 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.3
    Surely not a 3-star hotel! :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    STAFF! The man that has welcomed me, sorry, he did not welcome me. He barely spoke a word, I felt like I was an intruder :( . After giving me a key, he even did not say where should I go, where is the room. I had to ask for it myself and answer I got was still unkind. He laughed a little only when I came back to him, when he forgot to give me my ID-card back. I bought breakfast and he did not say when and where it is served - I checked it online. Better staff I encountered in the morning, but the lady (with a big smile, finally!) said nothing in English but 5 euro - she thought that I did not buy breakfast, seems that unkind man from the previous day forgot to write it down. The hostel apparently has 3 stars of comfort, I haven't noticed that. Bed was OK, shower OK, but no shampoo nor shower gel, only small soap. I would expect more from 3-star place. Besides, 1 of 2 towels was stinking of some kind of vinegar.

    Indeed tasty breakfast, perfect scrambled eggs. I regret being in rush and not tasting everything that was served. Nice smile of the lady, when I was checking out. Good location for me, not very far from train station, close to the concert place where I was heading. Also nice thought with Nimm candies.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    A lovely stay in a wonderful family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed a refrigirator in the room.

    Very friendly staff, lovely bier garten: it was quite hot, so being able to sit outside until late at night was great. Excellent breakfast, with a great choice of cheese, meats, fish, fruit etc. Nice, quiet room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    4.6
    It was needs must as Essen was so expensive. Wouldn't stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast, modernity (this place looked like it was built in the 1950s and not improved since), beds, common parts were dull and dark

    Not much. Heating was efficient

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    A complete and relaxed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building looked old, but was recently renovated. The location of the room where we had to eat breakfast changed during the weekend and the hotel guests had the same breakfast as the guests of the restaurant / party room which made the wait a bit long. The quality of the breakfast made up for a lot though. The beds were perfect. Bathroom very recently renovated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Loved staying here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the nights we stayed there was a wedding, so lots of music and noise til they packed it in. Wasn't really a problem though :)

    Lovely, older hotel - very clean and great people working the desk. Did not dine in the hotel but did go to Devil Burger near by and loved it! Hotel was very conveniently located near the concert venue we came to Oberhausen for. Definitely recommend this hotel!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Soft and clean pillow sheets and bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soft and clean pillow sheets and bed. Just good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Remarkable staying for Ozzy's show.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Conditioner is needed.

    Great hospitality: let us have breakfast upon arrival. Nice afterparty at the beer garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No safe in room. No shower gel in bathroom.

    Breakfast was nice. Large on-site car park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    in the room isn't the hairdryer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    in the room isn't the hairdryer

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    We liked it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.8
    A simple and pleasant stay for one day and one night!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was missing bathroom accessories and a kettle.

    There were sufficient parking facility and the hotel is close to Centro!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.5
    Easy parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy parking. Breakfast was very nice with hot and cold food and included in the price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel, near to CentrO, with nice rooms and kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    spacious room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    6.7
    location is very good, in the walking distance to Centro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is no kettle, and no hair dryer in the room.

    location is very good, in the walking distance to Centro also old town.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    7.5
    Location in between town center and CentrO with walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Shampoo and a fan in the room would help a lot. The price is high.

    Location in between town center and CentrO with walking distance to both, good personnel attitude, clean and clean the room every day. Very big and tasty breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    5.8
    The breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location of the hotel(down a dirty side street)in a very scruffy part of the town.the wi fi was none existent.they advertised as having wi fi but no where in the hotel did I get a decent signal😠😠

    The breakfast was excellent

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    7.9
    The beds were grt and the toilet was very clean and well kept
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked everything abt the hotel.staffs were very friendly and could speak both German and English language

    The beds were grt and the toilet was very clean and well kept

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    6.7
    I asked for double bed in reservation and we got two single,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Two single beds instead of double and no shower gel

    I asked for double bed in reservation and we got two single, no shower gel, which made it a bit complicated. But, great breakfast for 5 euro.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast was great, room was very comfortable, tidy and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room smelt like people had smoked in there, which wasn't so nice but I still really liked room overall.

    Breakfast was great, room was very comfortable, tidy and clean. The hotel had character and was in a good location.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    6.7
    Location for the Arena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cigarette smell. It is everywhere and permeates everything. Even the non-snoking room smelt of it. Noisy, drunken wedding reception on the night we stayed.

    Location for the Arena

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    8.8
    We booked a room for after a concert visit and got a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a room for after a concert visit and got a very large suite! The beakfast buffet is magnificent. Priceworthy restaurant with great red wine.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    8.3
    Very, very, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very, very, friendly staff. Nice breakfast. I got a lot of value for a very reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.6
    The room was big and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was big and very clean. The location is amazing, you can just walk from the train station and to the CentrO.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    6.7
    Comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lower price.

    Comfort.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    9.2
    Free Parking-clean room - close to turbinehalle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    bed too soft

    Free Parking-clean room - close to turbinehalle

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    7.9
    Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast. Quiet location.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.2
    Interesting and varied menu for dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Service slow in the restaurant in the evening

    Interesting and varied menu for dinner. Lots of choice for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.9
    Location close tot music venues and the excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing.

    Location close tot music venues and the excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    5.8
    Perfect breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed is uncomfortable

    Perfect breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    9.2
    Good hotel, OK for parking, etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not really speaking english

    Good hotel, OK for parking, etc

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    5.8
    The room was so big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location it was faraway from the hauptbanhof.

    The room was so big. the breakfast was fair enough and was also cheap.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    7.5
    Break fast is just 5 euro and it is excellen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I asked for double bed but I got twin bed instead.

    Break fast is just 5 euro and it is excellen.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    8.3
    Value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed not very comfortable

    Value

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: