Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hayk Altstadthotel & Appartements This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Frankenwerft 9, Altstadt-Nord, 50667 Cologne, Germany

#116 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1227 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Paid WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    A good value picturesque B&B in the old town
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi did not work Narrow staircase to third floor - No lift in an ancient building No Air con but the weather was not too hot

    Great location on side of the Rhein and near to lots of restaurants for evening meals Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel for a short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was good and convient. The beds were comfortable and the room fairly large. it was all very clean and all were very helpful. The breakfast was good and not expensive. To be recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    4.2
    Cologne city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment A
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room was not in hotel, it was somewhere 100 m away in a residential apartment on back Street. Bad locai. Hotel didn't show actual photos of the place we were going to be.

    Cologne city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    Lovely location and clean but not great customer service and noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Penthouse Apartment - Fifth Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff member was a little curt. Coffee machine was provided but no cups. Emailed after stay to ask if daughter's shoes had been found and got no reply. VERY noisy bars below until 3am but this might have been just because of a bank holiday. Had to pay extra above room price for Wi-Fi which didn't work in half the flat.

    Great location in old town, near river and views over main square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    The location was good, closed to the station and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio with King Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a family room with a kitchentte. But it didn't have kitchen towels hence we asked for one. The receptionists argued that we didn't have a kitchenette hence why would we need kitchen towels. We also asked for a little heating as it was raining that day, we were drenched and would like some heat to help dry our clothes and keep warm. He argued that heating is switched off in entire Germany and how he is already wearing short sleeves. Was an unpleasant experience.

    The location was good, closed to the station and the attractions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.2
    Good size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Apartment 4th floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise - very busy bar and pub zone, music into the night past 2am, unclean (thick dust everywhere). Owner came into room without asking. Doesn’t feel safe. He let himself in.

    Good size.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Great apartment for great fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartment is amazing, on a ground floor, just across the hotel. Never before had a opportunity to exit directly from the apartment to the alley and I liked it a lot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    It was okay. Wouldn't stay there for a longer stay but for a short period of time it was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3-Room Apartment B
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kitchen. Fridge, microwave and plates in one of the sleeping rooms. A very tiny, almost claustrophobic bathroom with WC. A strange man took care of us, had a very strong German accent and a strange way of being and looks. Yet he was super nice and helpful.

    Great localization, great localization and great localization. The staff a bit odd but nice and helpful. Rooms very spacious but old-fashioned and not organized well for living (fridge in one of the sleeping rooms).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    2.5
    Strange, no certain in the bed room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Apartment 4th floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange, no certain in the bed room They are using 1 room in the apartment for the laundry for the all hotel ,they come in anytime without question .. no free wi-do.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    All in all: we were highly satisfied with our choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The mattresses are too soft - like jelly. The bathroom could use more hooks. Fresh fruit for breakfast would be a nice addition.

    The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. The location could hardly be better. The evening noise from the promenade was almost completely eliminated by the double-pane windows. The phone in the room was useful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    We were able to check in early and our room faced the water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were able to check in early and our room faced the water - it was such a charming and cozy little hotel. The beds were very comfy and we were given extra blankets as we visited at the beginning of April and it was still a little chilly at night. Bathroom is updated and the room was clean. Wifi was great. It's about a 10 minute walk away from the train station. There are a number of restaurants in the area. Breakfast was good, a bit better than the basic continental. It was a great location. What a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Surprisingly convenient, central and easy to use. And reasonably priced given that cologne itself is
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3-Room Apartment B
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was superb. And the facilities for us as a family of five with three older teenagers worked very well... Including a simple cooker and washing machine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Location was fantastic, beds were comfortable and apartment...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Apartment 4th floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a maintenance /housekeeper man enter our apartment on numerous occasions over our two day stay to use the washing machine which I found very odd when we had rented the apartment out for the weekend. The man was polite and friendly but I found it slightly uncomfortable as we were a group of girls. I wouldn’t have felt comfortable in the apartment on my own knowing this man may enter at any time . Friendly man , but it was completely inappropriate that our apartment was used as a laundry room while we were renting it out.

    Location was fantastic, beds were comfortable and apartment was clean . Had the 4th floor luxury apartment and it was good and spacious . Also hotel had no problem granting a late check out at late notice at no extra charge :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    2.9
    Dreadful
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2-Room Apartment A
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel managers don’t open the front door for check in before 3 pm, as in the front door is locked and no one is there! So if you have an early flight and arrive at the hotel with a few hours to spare that’s bad luck. Apartments are located in a residential building a couple of blocks away and behind the river facade entry so you’re not getting what you think you’re getting. The apartments themselves are noisy and just not welcoming. TV didn’t work despite being assured someone would come and fix it. Apartment doors are fitted with giant security bars but you aren’t given keys to be able to operate them, so it doesn’t feel very safe. Would never stay there again.

    The location is near to a number of nice restaurants and bars along the Rhine foreshore.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room I was in, could benefit from some refurbishment.

    Small hotel with great location at riverside. Close to lots of bars and restaurants in old town. Walking distance from Köln HBF. Room was good size, bed was large and comfortable and bathroom was decent size as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.0
    Location made up for the shortcomings of the apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3-Room Apartment B
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no kitchen in the apartment, only a kettle, a fridge and some glasses...and no where to wash up other than in the tiny bathroom sink.

    Location was fantastic, overlooking the Heumarkt right in the centre. Spacious with room for 6 people to stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, next to the train station and bus stops. Everything you need, you have it in a walking distance. Room was very tidy and we had no problems with heating. It was just perfect. We didn’t order breakfast so can’t say nothing regarding it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location, beautiful view and warm and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Penthouse Apartment - Fifth Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear people leaving the nightclub downstairs and some noisy people staying in the building.

    Fantastic location very close to the Christmas market. Huge apartment.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, clean, big apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio with King Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit noisy due the location but not too bad, we didn’t know where to leave the keys early morning, the reception was closed and we had a train to catch

    Excellent location, clean, big apartment

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    Basic and comfortable accommodation in a fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio with King Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite expensive for the level accommodation. It was pretty basic, although comfortable and spacious. Supplies like tea and coffee would have been appreciated, and we could not find a wifi code. The apartment we stayed in was in a separate building. to the main address. There was a bit of noise form passing foot traffic on the side alleyway of the 4 pax room we had. Not deal breakers, but I think we paid a lot considering these issues and the overall studio style of the room.

    The location was great. Just enough away from the business to be relaxing, but close enough that everything is walking distance and very close by. The room was functional and very clean, and we were easily able to split the accommodation bill between us with no issues.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.7
    A fairly good hotel and apartments, let down by the design and cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartments did not match the pictures advertised at all. In the “3 bedroom” flat, one bedroom is also the communal area and you have to walk through to get to the bedroom at the rear. In other words this is a two bedroom flat with a third bed in the living room. There was no kitchen. The other flat, was a small studio which crammed in beds for 4 people. If you was staying in a hostel and paying hostel prices, you may find this exceptable but this was a hotel and apartments. Terrible value for money.

    Great location, friendly staff. Both apartments were cleaned to a fairly good standard and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio with King Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found it rather expensive. The apartment only had a small table with four chairs to sit. Not a couch. The heater was making quite some noise.

    The location was perfect. Everything was on walking distance. We chose for this apartment, because it has a small kitchen with a refrigerator. Although not very suitable for cooking. Parking place is nearby on Heumarkt.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.5
    Great location, ideal for Christmas markets. Cologne is beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Apartment 4th floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst the location is amazingly convenient, it is also noisy at nights until around 2am when the bars and clubs close. The Apartment block has no lifts, so if you are on the fourth floor and have little people you may get some objections to the climb and you will have to leave your buggy downstairs in the stairwell.

    The Apartment was very spacious and modern with amazing views. It easily fitted 6 of us (2 adults and 4 kids). It has a good and well equipped kitchen (no tea and coffee thrown in though so bring your own). The bathroom was spacious and contained both a good size bath and shower, on a floor above the main living area, there was also a toilet on the same floor as the living area. The apartment is largely open plan - especially if you use all three beds (there are two large king size beds in the lounge area and one sofa style bed in the dining area). It was on the fourth floor of an apartment block around the corner from the main hotel and a stone's throw from the Christmas markets which was ideal. However it was very noisy at nights as it was surrounded by bars and nightclubs which generally stayed open until around 2am. It would be ideal for people who were out late, but not so great if you have kids and buggies (the block doesn't have a lift so you have to leave your buggy in the stairwell at the bottom). Make sure you confirm the time you are arriving with the hotel direct. We just followed the check in time of 3pm on the booking.com app and they weren't ready for us when we arrived at 3.30pm so we had to wait whilst they prepared the apartment. They gave us free wifi for the inconvenience though. The Hotel and Apartments were 10 mins walk from the train station and Cathedral, right in the heart of the beautiful old town. It's easy to catch a train from Cologne airport, straight into the city centre (and quite a bit cheaper than a taxi). It takes around 15 mins on the train and they were very regular and on time. Cologne itself is beautiful and the Christmas markets were fabulous. The one right beside the apartment is best for Ice skating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.3
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3-Room Apartment B
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartment is not in the same block as the hotel. At 5am next day, there were conversations from the neighbours who stay above our flat. Also I have paid extra £2.50 for the wifi access but wifi signal is very weak. I have ended up using my own mobile data instead. This is pretty disappointed considered.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.8
    Cosy hotel in the heart of Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are really thin. You can easily hear your neighbors

    Strongly recommended. The rooms are very cosy and clean; location is awesome, hotel situated in historical centrum of Cologne with a Rhine view. Finally, stuff is very friendly and multilingual

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    5.0
    Great location for Christmas markets
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very basic, without even a real kitchen. No basic toiletries for shower. Staff is not so friendly. Do not expect any service beyond business hours.

    Great location for Christmas markets

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.1
    Thepeople made the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Penthouse Apartment - Fifth Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 flights of stairs & no lift great exercise. No coffee, tea or toiletries provided. Staff said "it's an apartment you get your own stuff. No sink in the kitchenette,fill the kettle in the bathroom.

    View of cathedral was amazing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    6.3
    If you're only bothered about location then would recommend but only if on offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really dated - we were in room 1 just up from reception / dining room and it was very noisy. Could also hear noise from outside. Also when showering you had to hold the shower head because the bracket was missing.

    Location was spot on - right on river, close to cathedral and train station and all Xmas markets

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Had a lovely time in Cologne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in excellent location for all the xmas markets which was why we were there. If I had one minor complaint it would be nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Otherwise lovely, quaint hotel. Just the job.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.7
    Loved Cologne and the Christmas Markets, would choose an apartment on a higher floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio with King Size Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although described as ground floor, the apartment was on a corner with windows on two sides. We couldnt open the currtains whilst in the apartment as we needed the lights on and you could see through the net curtains. We were expecting more self catering facilities, there no plates very little cutlery, only a plug in hotplate and fry pan, no saucepan. Hardly any cutlery no bottle opener.

    The location was excellent to the see the city. Very close to the Christmas Markets, loads of trestaurants and bars around.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    Very nice. Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Apartment 4th floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downfall was in the apartment we were in it had the laundry room for the cleaners. So we had all the cleaners come in. Not even knocking didn’t like this as me as my boyfriends bed was next to the door.

    Loved the apartment. Close to everything. Went for the Christmas market and they where all very close to where we stayed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a leaking on the Bathroom that wet the room carpet. The breakfast was poor and was served only after 8h.

    Excellent location. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.8
    Good location but very basic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No elevator, it is no fun hauling luggage up three floors. Noise in the early morning (TV and people arguing) from adjacent property. Heating not that effective. Rather pricey for level of service offered and considering it is low season.

    Situated within minutes of town center. Room relatively clean and had all basic amenities. Very good internet service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location, hotel simple, reliable and unfussy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We actually stayed in one of the apartments run by the hotel. It was very clean and the beds were comfortable, we sometimes had breakfast in the hotel and sometimes went to cafes. The downside was that there were two nightclubs in the (attached) building next door and on Friday and Saturday nights the music went on till 4am. We had the windows closed so could keep a lot of the noise out but at a warmer time of year when you want the windows open it would be a real problem. It was a shame as, in every other respect, the apartment suited our party very well.

    The location of the hotel is excellent, right near the old city centre and all the most interesting bars and restaurants. It also overlooks the waterfront which is very pretty and a lovely place to walk. The hotel is simple but good, breakfast was also simple but nicely served and the dining room is pleasant. The staff don't bother you when you don't want it, and you have plenty of privacy as the hotel isn't big.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.3
    A great location and a spacious apartment made this a comfortable stay for our family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3-Room Apartment B
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower curtain was too short so the shower always flooded and there was nowhere to hang towels. The breakfast buffet was overpriced, with the breakfast room cramped and the selection rather meager.

    The apartment that we had was terrific. It was large and comfortable for the whole family with a nice outlook onto a cobblestone plaza. The washing machine and drying rack were a real bonus for a travelling family. Only a short walk to the cathedral, Ludwig Museum, Rhein and shops.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.0
    I wouldn’t go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in was at 3pm, when we have been diven our keys and went to the appointment who is in a different building we discovered that the flat is not cleaned yet. This was very frustrating as we had a long journey and we wanted to have a rest. We left our bags and went out for a walk. Came back in an hour and a half and the made was still mopping the floors. We were 5 people and we had only 4 small towels in the whole flat. If we knew we would of bring our own. In general I didn’t have a nice feeling of clean sheets and it was really disappointing. The shower was also blocked and when we were using it it made a small flud going into the toilet and corridor. As the appointments are not into the actual hotel is really difficult to report these issues.

    Size of the rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    10€ charge for late check-in...but the hotel announced it to us after several emails, only after the date of free cancellation had past...not so professional...

    Good location Nice view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    Location, location, location. The price and facilities were reasonable for the great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3-Room Apartment B
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were set up for a football weekend -- all beds and little living furniture. All three rooms were set up with beds but there was no dining area.

    We liked the amount of space in the apartment and the location in Altstadt was ideal, overlooking Heumarkt and close to Rheingarten. We had all the appliances, plates and utensils needed. The person who checked us in was helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    If your looking for a central location, this is a very spacious appartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Apartment 4th floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at hotel reception was a bit busy with other things instead of welcoming guests and booking breakfast (in the morning). No curtains at one side of the appartment, so no privacy next to one of the beds (onlooking side window from neighbour). Showerhead was leaking. Noise from bars/restaurants downstairs untill 02.00 at night, (also on weekdays). No wifi.

    The location of this appartment is perfect, in the city centre. Booking breakfast is possible at the hotel nearby (cash only). Public parking nearby (app. €20/24 hrs). The appartment is very spacious, with all amenities if you want to stay for a longer period, but fine for one night as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    We loved staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment B
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved staying here. It was perfect. Everything was so clean and comfortable and stylish. Checking in and out was simple and communication was easy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Excellent position & staff very. Helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful place the only problem was we had on working jug but was soon given on on reporting fault Maybeb could have coffee,tea & sugar along with some milk in rooms & cups & spoons

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.3
    Clean room suitable for a group of friends-located near lots of bars/restaurants so can be noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio with King Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location on ground floor meant there was a lot of noise from the street in the evening and early morning (walking tours stop outside the windows).

    Very large apartment room with kitchen facilities and big beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.3
    Nice location, great city but poor accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3-Room Apartment B
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The apartment was ill equipped and there was no evidence to suggest that a proper clean had been carried out in a long time. A cloud of dust came out of the net curtains when they were first drawn back and a blood stained duvet was left in the bottom of our wardrobe. When electric rings are present in a kitchen it is not unreasonable to expect a saucepan to be included, it wasn't. The crockery was chipped, there was no cork screw, the shelving was missing from the fridge door diminishing its capacity. The toilet opens out into the kitchen and the shower room had no window or extractor. You could see daylight through the towels, I could go on...

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location, hosts, and city to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3-Room Apartment B
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a bit of trouble finding the check in hotel the first day, but it might just have been our clunky old phone trying to us GPS. After we found our way once it was a joy to walk down various cobbled streets to get to the place we called home for 4 days.

    Having 3 bedrooms for our family was wonderful after all 5 of us sharing the same room in many locations-nice for all of us to have a bit of privacy! It was a bit tough to wash dishes in the tiny sink in the bathroom (only one in apartment) after tea or some cheese and bread. However this was a small problem and worth it to be so close to the train station, the Rhein, and in the heart of the Altstadt. We day tripped to Xanten and Drachenfels and wish we could have stayed longer to see more of Köln itself and the surrounding area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable, fifth time of staying in Cologne, second time at this hotel & loved everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very happy with everything

    Lovely comfortable , clean bed. Accommodated us to lower floor room as we had mobility issues. Staff all really friendly and treated us very well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Definitely would stay again, only without included breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast did not worth the money (8 eur) - no warm meal

    Awesome location, cozy small hotel, my room had a window view directly to Rhine river. A lot of restaurants around, shopping block is 5 minutes away, as well as central station an the famous Basilica. Fast wifi (at least in my room in 2nd floor). Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.3
    Character hotel with a prime location to main sites of Cologne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. Having to pay for Wifi. Just be aware that because of the hotel's proximity to restaurants and the river it can be a bit noisy on Friday and Saturday nights.

    Excellent location very close to the river and old town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Great value for money stay in a really popular location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio with King Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed as a fami,y in a small apartment just along from the hotel, which was situated in the middle of the old city and very close to the bank of the Rhine, carhedral and shops etc. There was an abundance of restaurants, bars and cafes close by. Breakfast is a continental cold buffet style and was very nice. The staff were really friendly and attentive. The apartment was very spacious and had its own kitchen/dining area as well as two day beds which double up a small sofas during the day. A great value for money place to stay if you want to be close to the facilities and attractions in the old city

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Very clean and spacius room / appartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt have information about all the stairs up to this appartment, only for people in good physical condition😃

    Very clean and spacius room / appartment

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heads up to other travelers: no elevator to third floor.

    Friendly staff. Excellent location. Cool old building (with awesome staircase!). Room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    3.8
    Budget accommodation near bars, not good for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartments aren't near the hotel. Apartment was on a street full of bars, fast food places and restaurants. Photos suggest the hotel and apartments are near the Rhine, they're not. Although clean each of the rooms had mouse traps, suggesting a rodent issue. The wifi wasn't free and we couldn't get connected to it. The 3rd bedroom was actually a converted sitting room, the kitchenette was directly off it with no door. Dinning table next to bed. Kitchenette extremely limited in terms of equipment. Door to appartment didn't look very secure.

    Reasonably priced appartment with new and pretty good bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Very nice and huge room.👍👍
    • Group
    • Luxury Apartment 4th floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid wifi, but at the end there is no wifi cause they said they dont know why. I mean, c'mon! Wifi is life nowadays men.

    The room is so big and very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    we were not warned that there would be early morning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Apartment 4th floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we were not warned that there would be early morning building works starting at 7am and the noise was unbearable. Curtains to one side of the apartment would be nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    Very helpful receptionist, Veronica?
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. Carry luggage all the way to 7th floor. Need curtain on one side of the room.

    spectacular view of the church. In the heart of a city. Spacious space. Private.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So hard to reach by car, but once you get to know the place, it's actually not so hard. Balcony door can't be closed. Apartment on the 3rd floor has the kitchen and dining area in bedroom....

    Fantastic location! Close to everything. The top apartment has a amazing view!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.4
    A nightmare with a happy ending
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio with King Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to this apartments location, I would not recommend it for families with kids. It is on the ground floor so most windows don't open for security purposes making it quite stuffy. This room was also on a corner near a number of busy bars. Not sure if it's any quieter during the week, but weekend nights are incredibly noisy until 2-3 in the morning. It was nearly impossible to sleep. Before we even attempted to sleep, my husband and I realized that our bed was broken. We had to place the mattress on the floor to sleep. At least having a broken bed turned a nightmare into a blessing with our second room.

    With a king size bed and a twin for each child, it was perfect. The bathroom was fine too. Small kitchenette. See below - after the issue with our broken bed, we were moved to their 3rd floor 2 bd apartment and it was lovely! Great location with very little street noise. No kitchen, but large fridge. Not sure if this room is available on Booking.com The cleaning lady who helped move us was amazing! I think she really helped convince her boss that we needed to move. I can't say enough about how fantastic she was. The front door manager was happy they made it right in the end.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.7
    The location amaizing nice pepole
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of worm watter and no elevator or someone to help with lugedge.no brakfest included.high price. Tnx

    The location amaizing nice pepole And beautiful view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Location was great at the apartment we stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3-Room Apartment B
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower needs some improvement

    Location was great at the apartment we stayed. Right in the middle of the square with big windows that gave you an excellent view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.5
    Kettle, fridge, crockery & small eating area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Improve with small kitchen cupboard & worktop to incorporate the existing fridge & house kettle, etc

    Kettle, fridge, crockery & small eating area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    The location is fine and the room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3-Room Apartment B
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The common areas felt tired and were cluttered (though clean). You just sign yourself in and pick up a key, and that felt a little unsafe. Finally, our booking said breakfast was included but there was no evidence of breakfast and no one to ask, so don't sssume you'll get breakfast here even if the description says you will.

    The location is fine and the room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.1
    Good place to stay downtown, but difficult to find by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment A
    • Stayed 1 night

    the place is extremely difficult to find by car if you just go by the address of the property. Only when you get the email confirmation, you get better instructions. no soap/shampoo or coffee maker in the room.

    We had a 2 bedroom apartment, which was away from the hotel itself, spacious with fridge and own secured wifi router - be sure you know how to find the security code at the bottom of the router.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    6.7
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3-Room Apartment B
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lot of problems with bathroom. It's small, it was sinking, the water heating was very confusing. There's not properly a kitchen on flat, all kitchen stuff are in one of bedrooms.

    Location is great. The staff is very friendly. It's a good match for family trips.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.5
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Apartment 4th floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is on the top Floor on a street full of bars / disco's. Quite some noise on the streets. The apartment was well isolated but you Will here some music / people etc. We sleept fine but if you are looking for real quietness, maybe the hotel itself is better.

    Great appartment. Like a loft. Very spacious and if you do not mind to sleep in the same space with the family it is great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    6.3
    Value for money but only for able travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was far and difficult to walk from the train station. Rooms did not look like the photos and the facilities were a bit bare. The distance from the station was difficult to manoeuvre due to numerous stairs and the cobble stones

    Though it was on a street with restaurants below, it was fairly quiet. Location was also near to places of interest

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.2
    Clean and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very close to the street (you basically enter the room directly from the street) and we also got "lucky" because that day/night there was a movie shooting which involved car chases on that street.

    The room was perfect, clean, with everything you could need like a tv, fridge, tables, chairs etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2-Room Apartment A
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit disappointed as the given room was in another building that we had to walk to. There were zero amenities in the apparemment.

    Location was very good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.5
    First time in Germany
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside was noisy, woke up to banging each morning. WIFI worked on and off. Kitchen area was a little small. No face clothes.

    Location was great! Easy to walk to places to eat ship and the Cathedral. Apartment was large, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out time was listed on booking.com as between 7:00 and 11:00 a.m., but when we tried to check out at 7:00 to catch a train, the doors were locked at there was no answer when we knocked. Finally someone showed up at around 7:20. Possible miscommunication between booking and the hotel.

    Very spatial and clean! Perfect for our family of 6!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    3.3
    Only liked the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3-Room Apartment B
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures were misleading. Furniture was old, floors falling apart, no coffee, just a hot water kettle, bathroom was really small, hot water in shower didn't work unless the sink was running, and tv didn't work. Won't stay again and won't recommend. Staff charged me in $ vs € at a high exchange rate.

    Only liked the location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish the room had a river view.

    Completely quiet during the night. Spacious room and bathroom. Within 10 minuets from everything I wanted to see. A little shop where I could get a bottle of water etc was just around the corner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.4
    It was a average stay with very basic facilities...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very congested. The rooms are okay but not worth the value paid by me. Breakfast is very basic. No lunch or dinner facility available. Hotel staff was good to deal with.

    The location of the hotel is very good. It is just opposite the river Rhein. However you don't get any view of the river from hotel rooms. But if you want to jog or take a small walk it is a very pleasant view.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.2
    We liked it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment A
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of bedside lamp for reading.

    Very spacious, quiet and clean apartment. Very friendly and helpful staff. The big fridge with ready ice was a pleasant surprice. The location in the heart of the city is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    9.6
    Great space in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Apartment 4th floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator but knew this in advance. Still hard work getting up those steps!

    The beds were big and comfy. The apartment itself was spectacular. So much space. Very clean and modern and a short walk from everything in Cologne

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    8.8
    Nice apartment on the main strip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boiler was a big noisy in one of the bedrooms.

    Ideal location, we liked that the third bedroom was also living and kitchen area, good hangout space. Played music and none of the neighbours could hear. On the main strip of bars, so noisy, but we were out enjoying it so it didn't matter!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    7.9
    View of the Cathedral is worth the stairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Penthouse Apartment - Fifth Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being a penthouse in an old building obviously there is no lift so you have to carry your bags up 5 flights of stairs. The view is worth it though if you are prepared to climb the stairs Limited kitchen facilities if you wanted to prepare your own meal.

    Fantastic views from the penthouse apartment of the Cologne Cathedral. Location was great and in walking distance of the main station. The apartment also had a nice little rooftop deck from which we could enjoy the sights and sounds of the nearby Christmas markets.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hayk Altstadthotel & Appartements traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: