Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin

Johannisstr. 11, Mitte, 10117 Berlin, Germany

#233 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2264 hostel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    It was my first time staying in a hostel at it really turned...
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was my first time staying in a hostel at it really turned out to be above all expectations! The room was great, I had best room mates possible. The staff is extremely friendly! Ricardo, Andy, Dylan, Ante - you have my heart, guys!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Free refill coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very friendly! The hostel is really clean and the terrace and lounge is really a plus! Loved the free coffee refill that goes with the 5 euro all-you-can-eat breakfast :D

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Stayed one night
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were kicked out of the outdoor area at night. I understand there are neighbors though. We were also told to keep it down when a group of us were gathered in a room around 11 or 12 at night. Again I understand there are quiet hours. Nothing else was really wrong with this place!

    Very modern rooms and very clean. Multiple bathrooms spread across the halls. The common areas were nice and the rooms were big enough to gather in as well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    Locaton was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luggage stroage? Hahaha. It is just putting your bags, in front of reception&bar. And number of toilets and bathroom maybe....

    Locaton was nice. Nice room. There are some single beds in the room even though I coudln’t use it. Bar with a big screen playing netflix. Nice bathroom(really big.....)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Cool, comfortable & clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't a fan of the shower that only blasted water for 5 seconds before going off but the pressure was good & hey, it's good for the environment...

    Fantastically located hostel with great staff (especially the techno loving Scot who served me ridiculously cheap beer) & a chilled bar. Nice outdoor area too. Simple, well organised, very clean & great value for money :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    3.3
    Low quality hostel, but a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff was not nice and not very welcoming, beds are very uncomfortable, lack of hygiene. Not too many toilets and showers, you need to wait for your turn.

    Low quality hostel, but a great location. It is very near the metro S-bahn station, in the neighbourhood you can find various restaurants and coffee shops and a small kiosk (no supermarket). The only good things are clean towels and a good breakfast for just 5 €. Good for a couple of nights, not for a long stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Friendly atmosphere, safe area, good hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a lot of light in the room. Charging for playing billiards.

    Atmosphere of the hostel, nice area, plus free coffee and water. New showers and toilets. Happy hour for the beers.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe a few more phans in the dorms is needed.

    Very good location. Very clean. A lot of young people and the staff was handling there daily task very professional!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Clean, spacious, in central location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite bad ventilation: it was not possible to breath with the balcony door closed and it was getting quite cold at night. Some of bed were squeaking like hell.

    Very clean hostel, big rooms. Smooth check-in and check-out, clear rules and central location. If you happen to have nice and quiet room mates, you will definitely enjoy your stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Favorite hostel in Europe yet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hostel is located right in the heart of Berlin, about 3’ walk from Oranienburger station. Super convenient. This is the first hostel in Europe that provide us free towel. Breakfast costs €5 and it’s all you can eat continental breakfast. The staff is very helpful and efficient. We booked a 12 beds dorm and it’s so spacious. The room is very clean and there are 2 bathrooms in the room. One of the bathroom is spacious as well. There is a balcony. There are lockers in the room but you need to provide your own locks. The mattress is comfortable but the bed is very squeaky. So far this is my most favorite hostel in Europe.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    We booked a room for 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    We booked a room for 4. And so had it just to ourselves. Room was nice, clean, comfy and had all you need. Sharing 2 separate showers and toilets was no problem. They were always clean and available when we needed. The reception was available 24/7 which is very convenient. The position of hotel is perfect. Just 2 minutes from the train/metro station. There were nice bars and great restaurants around. Particularly I enjoyed the Strandbar - which is by the river, a light walk from our hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Very social orientated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware whether you book small dorm room or mega dorm. Mega dorm is of course more noisy (38 people) and many people will come in during the night. However I picked a bed far away from door and had no problems at all.

    Great staff. Loved the cheap but good breakfast. And breakfast from 8-12 is perfect. Free coffee, tea and water all day. Free sheets, towel and padlock. Free WiFi, computer usage and printing. A great place for solo travelers. Easy to meet people because of outside yard with lots of seating area both outdoor and indoors. Quite cheap bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Great hostel, will definitely stay again if I visit Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot think of anything that I did not like in this place.

    Best hostel I ever stayed. German cleanliness and efficiency was impeccable . Shower was awesome. There were not many wash rooms but I never had problem when I needed one. Staffs were very helpful. Room was definitely not 450 square meters, may be 30 square meters or less. I hope they will fix it. Berlin is expensive, I paid 2.50 euro for a half litre water bottle in a shop. Breakfast in the hostel is 5 euro only , a bit basic though. I asked the lady in the counter if the bread they served in breakfast was vegetarian safe. She was honest and said she didn't know. I would be very Happy if they serve vegetarian safe bread for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Everything in the hostel was good, the breakfast, the entire...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything in the hostel was good, the breakfast, the entire customer service team, the beds, including the localization is very close to commercial centers and subway stations.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    Apart from the temperature was surprised how quiet the dorm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in mega dorm. Was the super hot week in Berlin so quite uncomfortable with the temperature with that many people in the room and only 2 fans. Also there were no blinds so I was waking up around 7.30am each day.

    Apart from the temperature was surprised how quiet the dorm was at night. Bar and outside area was really good actually, cheap beers in happy hour

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    I felt very comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -

    Enough showers, you don't have to queue to have a shower, enough space inside the room, staff expremely helpful, plus the computers available in the reception area, you can print your plane ticket at the reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent for weekend/week for two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent for weekend/week for two. Possibility to meet people from the whole world (I met guys from 5 continents). You can make new friends. Good access to public transportation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    The people working there is supernice and friendly and there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people working there is supernice and friendly and there is a big plus that there is always someone at the reception so you can ask them for help if there is anything. The rooms and the bathrooms are clean and nice, and that is really important to me. So many hostels are dirty and nasty! The hotel is located in the center of Berlin so it is close to alot of places to go to and things to do. I would really recommend this hotel to everyone, it is awesome!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    In the center of Berlin and awesome place to hang out with other travellers from around the globe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathrooms could have a little more space and the beds could be a little less noisy when someone moves around while sleeping. The windows could have more opaque curtains to prevent sunlight at 6am.

    The environment is really friendly and the breakfast is really good and complete. The bar service at night time is awesome to hang out with other travellers. The dorms are soundproof, which is good!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Fun !
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed is very noisy, so it was very hard to sleep in a room with 12 bunk beds. The lockers are not safe, and a guy had his backpack stole while he was sleeping in the room, so I felt really unsafe about my stuff.

    The location is great, very central and close to the public transportation, there are also a lot of bars and restaurants within a walking distance. It's a really fun place and easy to make friends in the garden/bar area in the hostel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    Good staff, good location, good atmosphere; good overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I e-mailed them ahead of time asking if I could drop off a bag before checking in so I wouldn't have to carry it around for seven or eight hours. They replied after a while saying yes, so I thought all was well. When I showed up after my 10 hour bus ride, the guy at the counter kind of laughed that I wanted to leave only a backpack with them, and said I should just take it. They seemed like they were just going to leave it out in the open against the wall, too, so I did just take it. It was really annoying having to carry it around all day, and I was worried the staff would be what I felt was rude like that for the rest of my stay -- thankfully the rest of my interactions with them were quite pleasant. They had some weird regulations, like you have to put your sheets in a linen wrap, then at the end take them down. I didn't feel they explained this particularly well, but I was admittedly tired from travel after arriving so maybe I just missed it. It made the checkout process a bit annoying as I was in a rush, but staff were nice with me. The walk to the recommended laundry facility is about 15 minutes.

    The staff were mostly friendly and the atmosphere of this hostel is pretty good. The breakfast didn't look worth it to me so I never tried it, but they had free coffee so I didn't mind. The location of this hostel is quite good. I think everything is in walking distance, though I walked 10 miles a day for four days. If you don't like walking the Friedrichstrasse metro station is only a five minute walk or so. Also near the Friedrichstrasse stop is an REWE City supermarket, which I highly recommend for cheap drinks and food. I didn't find anything cheaper in the area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hostel located on a quiet side street in Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not so friendly but I think that is just germans in general. Staff did provide help if needed. Bathrooms were sometimes in short supply.

    Great hostel located on a quiet side street in Berlin. Rooms were large and spacious and not overcrowded. Hot water in the showers. Hotel is located close to transit options. Plenty of space to store bags. Free coffee throughout the day was a nice touch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.4
    The bathroom is great, it is connected with the toilet so it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was awful, they only provide the bed sheet and pillow sheet and we have to make it by ourselves. We also have to return the bed sheet when we check out, which was not mentioned earlier by the receptionist (he's just busy with the bar).

    The bathroom is great, it is connected with the toilet so it makes it more private. Electronic room key. Receptionist when I checked out was so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Where to start.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was the best hostel i stayer at.

    Where to start. This hostel barely feels like a hostel. It has its own bar, outside seating area, the people who work there are really friendly, helpful and nice to hang with. The people who go to the hostel were all very interesting. This will definitely not always be the case but the common area is a great meeting point.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic social hostel, facilities and it encourages you to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    10pm curfew in the courtyard. No laundromats or machines within several blocks.

    Fantastic social hostel, facilities and it encourages you to explore the city at night. Great experience

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    It is combination of hotel and hostel in one. I could recomend to stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First floor contains three large rooms full of beds. If you sleep in the middle room everyone can walk through.

    It is clean and quite safety place (you can borrow the locker)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    The cleanness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The towels are in the share commode.Everyone take them from there. They can be given with the linens. And the towels are small and ragged.

    The cleanness.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    This hostel is in the perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hostel is in the perfect location. Super easy to walk everywhere or use the S and U-Bahn if you prefer. I loved this hostel. I was in a 6 bed dorm, which was light and spacious. The beds were really comfy and I slept really well every night. There are lockers in every room which are plenty big enough for all your stuff. There is a bar down stairs and seating outside. They also have lots of nice touches like free towels and an area where you can leave stuff you no longer want, for other guests. This hostel also attracts a great laid back and friendly crowd. Perfect for solo travellers, you'll make loads of new friends.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Greatest hostel in Berlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilet and shower room is bit limited.

    Quite accessible to anywhere. There are plenty of restaurant choices near this hostel. There is a pizza shop which taste really good. You can just walk to museum island which is located within 5 min only from hostel. There are bar in the hostel. They have craft beer also. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    Staff are friendly, location is nice and the prices are...
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I spent three days in July 2018 in there. The cooling system was very primitive (only two simple fans for a big room of couple of beds) and we had to open the windows for nights, which could be freezing cold sometimes.

    Staff are friendly, location is nice and the prices are affordable compared to many other similar places in the neighborhood.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Not expensive price for the stay, breakfast was good, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not expensive price for the stay, breakfast was good, staff was pretty nice, location is very convenient, very close to museum island where has a market every weekend, you can just walk to every spot. there has a big screen in hotsel you can watch the game during the world cup.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Good location, great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t notice when making the booking that there was no air conditioning in the room. The windows are huge though and can be opened fully, this was okay for our stay as it wasn’t too warm at night, not sure how this would be in summer. Pillows could do with being replaced as there was very little support in them and the filling was all lumpy.

    The hostel is in a good location, close to the train station which is ideal if you’re travelling to/from the airport. There are lockers in the rooms, but you need a big padlock for them to be effective. (Normal size ones are too small and they can still be opened) The staff were really friendly and helpful. Room cleaned daily. Bar is good and there’s a big screen for the football!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    40+ beds in 1 dorm!! good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    40+ bed dorm!! whatttt? I was shocked, they don't say that on bookings. I asked for towels but they didn't have towels anymore and asked me to shower another day. I get upset and they gave me a towel. At my and my friends bed we didn't have an electricity point. It was way to hot in the rooms and it wasn't allowed to open a door. 40 or maybe even more beds in 1 dorm is to much!!

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    A very nice and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very comfortable place to stay at a great location in Berlin. Welcomed by a helpful staff the entire process of check in is perfect and if you are early provision for safe keep of baggage is there. The rooms and wash rooms are tidy and clean and also very spacious. Walk-able distance from metro station and safe for you even returning late from sight seeing. A wonderful place to stay and very much recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Near from city center so you can go walking to anywhere.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First day when i arrive they don’t have any bed for me and after an hour they gave me a bed in other (better) room for 2 days, after that i had move on to other room. They don’t say in the booking offer that the have a “Mega Dorm” like they name it, with 40 beds fourty !! It’s unconfortable because you think that will be with other 5 or 7 people, not with 39. They shoul say that in the offer and you decide if it’s ok four you or not.

    Near from city center so you can go walking to anywhere. Staff was great. It was clean. Breakfast is good by 5€.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Amazing hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    Great place! Really clean, free towels and locks, you can borrow a hair dryer, the staff is super nice. The hostel is in a safe and happening area of Berlin. You are 2 min walk from the U-bahn that brings you to the Brandenburg gate in 2 stops. The S-bahn is a bit further 10 min walk. Berlin has many sharing bikes company. It was a great and cheap way to visit the city. There are plenty of these bikes in from of the hostel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    2.9
    Stay at the ONE80º!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was really small. The reception guy made me wait a lot for check-in. Not very clean. Very few showers/bathrooms for the enormous amount of rooms in the place. Just awful, don't ever stay there if you have a choice!

    The wifi was ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    Check out is pretty late, but they have a place where you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -Noisy. I was put in the MEGA dorm which has 38 bunk beds. Yeah, do the math. Every time someone enters the room, you are woken up. Every time someone turns in their bed, you are woken up. Additionally, you hear all the noise from the garden early in the morning, since the only barrier is a glass wall. -The room is also very bright because of said glass wall. -It was super annoying to have to get buzzed into the mega dorm. Then you tell staff to please let you in and they tell you to hold on as they continue to set up tables for the next 5 minutes while you stand there staring at them. Other times there was simply no one at the desk and you are just waiting for 15 minutes after the club until they return. -You have to do your own bed and if you don't put all the linen on the bed you might get fined 50 euros if you soil it. My thing is, well then just do my bed for me and I will clear it. Thank you. -The beer garden closes at 10pm and they kick you out (not sure about the bar/cafe area). You have the option to go to a small room which is ridiculously hot (no thank you).

    Check out is pretty late, but they have a place where you can lock your bags onto a wall in the common area. Towels, tea, and coffee are free (Awesome). You also get a locker and key card for 15 euro deposit (payable by card and you will get cash back). The hostel is close to public transportation and about a 15 minute walk to major tourist attractions. They offer 5 euro breakfast in the morning. It consists of orange juice, cheese, deli meats slices, bread and spreads. I may or may not have seen corn flakes at some point. The entrance are is nice, it looks like a cafe. They have computers open to guests. They sell alcohol, have a pool table and a garden/patio area. The hostel is very conducive to meeting new people. Also, a friend of mine stayed on a floor that had a balcony with a great view. She paid less than me for her stay, so I honestly do not know how the selection process for this goes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Just a perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was just fine)

    The location is just superb! All you need is in the 5-minutes-long walking distance. I was very satisfied when realized that!) Just in 350 meters is a Monbijou park with very entertaining bar with tango/swing parties when people just dance outside. Moreover, the Spree river is in 200 meters: you can buy a river-tour which I highly recommend. Moreover, the room was simple but comfortable: there is a bed, a mirror, a hairdryer, a shower cabin, a wash-hand stand, several chairs, several tables are in the room. The toilet and additional shower cabins are in the corridor, which is not critical at all. There is a cafe in the lobby, with a snack-machine, billiard, etc. The reception works 24/7 which is also convenient. The stuff is helping and nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    budget place and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    long queue for the bathroom during the peak hour, suggest to install a door for the shower area, so the toilet can be used by the other while someone is having a shower.

    friendly staff, good location close to most public transport (metro/bus station) and walking distance to most spots. clean room and toilet, free towel, good sound insulation room, inside the room u hardly can hear the noise outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i booked megadorm but they told me its full. i asked them how can i make reservation if its full? Other than this staff was OK.

    free coffee&tea&water. they take only deposit, nothing extra. Strong Wifi. New building. Big and crowded hostel. Close to metro

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    This is a hostel as a hostel should be! recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathrooms are outside the room, and - if you forget your roomcard in the room while going to the toilet, you can not get back in, so be careful!

    The location is just excellent, a quiet street not far from U-bahn and all the action. The rooms are nice, the bar is good and lively, the staff makes you feel very welcome. Everything works efficiently.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Wi-fi was fast.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower room can be improved. I had to keep my eye on my phone, wallet and clothes while taking a shower since there's no space to put those. The bed wasn't that bad but made a loud sound when changing sleeping postures.

    Wi-fi was fast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.4
    if you want to rest for the night, this place is NOT for you
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the property seemed like office spaces converted to sleeping quarters. it's noisy particulary the door. the cleaning lady played loud radio program while cleaning very inconsiderate of guests who wanted to catch some sleep.

    1) location (near the metro station, places of interest and easy to find) 2) the probably one of the cheapest quarters in berlin (also a good place to take a bath, freshen up and go but do not expect to sleep), 3) staff at the reception speak conversational english 4) excellent place for partygoers

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.4
    Loud, uncomfortable large rooms with 20+ beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was much larger than advertised and had over 20 beds. It was very loud. You could hear people partying and screaming from the courtyard below. Other people were having a meeting in the nearby lounge. The doors to the lounge did not automatically close and people kept forgetting to close them. The bed was extremely uncomfortable - some of the springs had broke. The bathroom floor was flooded and the bathroom stank strongly. I only got about 2 hours of sleep. Avoid.

    Location was close to S-Bahn.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    Great place to not sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was almost impossible to sleep at night due to the constant noice of people talking and slamming doors, even during the hours when it is prohibited to make loud noice. So if you want to socialize all day long and to not sleep at all this is your place! Otherwise choose a different place to rest at night after a long and beautiful day visiting Berlin The room was ok... Although the bed shits had holes. Our room had a shower that we had to adjust otherwise ir flooded the room

    the breakfast is pretty good for only 5€ (only cash of course)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Best place to stay in BERLİN
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    EVerything was perfect. I stayed on the roof for one night. It was one of best hostel I had ever stayed. You can stay there without any doubts. Clean rooms bed, bathroom, helpful staff, wide balcony and kitchen. Thanks a lot. I found my place in BERLIN...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Over all very nice hostel near the center of Berlin. Best bang for your buck.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only gripe with heart of gold hostel was the music in the lobby. It was this weird indian techno mix I guess. Being an antisocial Finn, I obvously couldn't make any effort to change it. Also because it was very minor thing and I didn't know if someone in there enjoyed it.

    We were supposed to sleep at a mega-dorm with my SO, but we got a free upgrade to four person hostel room instead. The room was clean, we had two room mates who were nice and polite, though this is not always the case since everyone is different. The bathrooms/showers were clean and quite nice, there was threen on our floor (2nd) for both men and women. The guest kitchen on 5th floor was amazing and I definetly recommend using it if you like to save some money and cook meals yourself. Breakfast was 5 euros and quite nice. Free coffee/tea for guests was served at the lobby. There was also a bar next to the reception with alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages. The staff answered all my questions and were polite and hospitable all around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    Cheap stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many people in the room. Noisy people at night. Only one toilet/bathroom per gender

    Easy to find. Internet works. Has common area to use laptop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    Check out with British guy Gregg was hostile .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The British guy Gregg was the checkout receptionist and he was needlessly hostile and unpleasant. Racially motivated hostility.

    The German receptionist was very helpful and friendly at check-in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    2.5
    I didn't get the opportunity to like anything, due to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like being subjected to racial discrimination by the British staff member Gregg! I also didn't like being kicked out after requesting a change of room because the room given to me was 403 the same room given to me by Gregg in 2016 on my very first visit. I noted in the 2016 review that it was noisy with banging doors, which prevented sleep.I also noted being a victim of crime. Gregg made reference to my review and it was apparent that he was executing malicious revenge from a stance of racial discrimination. He therefore, needlessly and maliciously put me in 403 and refused to reallocate me a room and insisted that I leave the hostel and go out into the night with nothing booked. When he put the cash refund on the desk I insisted that it be put back on my card. I asked him to reconsider and said I'll stay in 403 if nothing else was available, as I had an early flight the next morning but he refused. I requested to speak to a manager, it was refused. I requested that the reason for my being kicked out be put in writing, it was also refused. Gregg quickly phoned the police to add insult to injury. I waited for the police and though Gregg attempted to lie and falsely accused me of being problematic, he was a mass of self contradiction and insisted that previously ie.my initial review, I was problematic!!!(A Completely Untrue accusation) The police asked if I could stay in the room allocated but Gregg insisted no!That was racially motivated discrimination.As, I had done Absolutely nothing wrong. The police saw the situation and insisted that my payment was to be returned onto my card and the cash deposit be returned as cash to me, as I had requested.They were told it will be done at 7.30am the following day (on 3rd May).I believe that racial discrimination and malicious revenge influenced by a honest review is unacceptable and the stress and anxiety caused to me is worthy of compensation.

    I didn't get the opportunity to like anything, due to racial discrimination by the staff member Gregg.I was refused a change of room and instead kicked out followed by Gregg calling the police needlessly to further publicly humiliate and harass me.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Above expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish the open hours of the kitchen were extended (it was like from 10 am to 11 pm, I needed it earlier).

    The hostel was in an awesome location. I stayed in a large room on the first floor, and it was very clean and comfortable. I loved the kitchen of the hostel, and the lobby as well. I was allowed to leave my luggage before and after my stay (for several hours). It was a very convenient stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    As soon as far this was my best "city break"
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable looking at value for the money :)

    Extra value for the money. Staff very friendly and really helpful, comunicating well in at least three languages ! It was my first time in the hostel and I have to say its more than you need if you are planning to explore Berlin !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    The cleanliness of the facility and the friendliness of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the facility and the friendliness of the staff was great.The location was perfect.The beds were the best ones i have ever seen in a hostel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    I stayed in the biggest mixed room, with a bathroom and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to declare. Was everything very good.

    I stayed in the biggest mixed room, with a bathroom and kitchen inside. The room is big and confortable, all places r very clean, the staff is amazing also the location. Was one of the best hostel that i stayed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Very friendly staff and the free tea :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very difficult to sleep because of the noise (engine running nearby, light from room in the opposite building coming in, people in the room itself talking loudly and disrespecting others trying to sleep).

    Very friendly staff and the free tea :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not have a fringe for storage on every floor (need to climb up to the fifth floor for pantry)

    Good location. The rooms are large and the facilities are very clean. The ground floor is a bar where you can hang out with friends

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    It was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant is bit expensive in comparison to others and the spread for the breakfast is really boring if you eat there everyday. Otherwise is was a perfect place to be in Berlin

    Location of the hostel is great, very close to TV tower and parliament. 2 metro stations in the vicinity. They have a cool restaurant where some music and movies are played in the evening. Complete hostel is very clean including the bathrooms. There is an economical Indian restaurant next door which made our lives bit more easy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    The best hostel in Berlin.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The best hostel in Berlin. I changed a dozen here trying to find a flat to live. And no doubt this hostel is simply the best. Especially I could notice the staff is brilliant. And the music in the lobby is my music!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    I do recommend this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We rented a room for 2 persons with a shower-bath. It was perfectly clean and has a very high ceiling, so the room was spacious. Had a great stay with delicious breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    well priced, great location and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were a limited number of bathrooms but they were very clean

    There was good facilities for in the evening with a pool table and plenty of tables for eating or playing cards

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Really amazing location, I stayed in a big room, was a lot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really amazing location, I stayed in a big room, was a lot of space and not too noisy, more than enough showers. Nice bar with terrace. Very friendly, helpful stuff. Enjoyed place a lot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location and low price
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1)please give receipt for advance amount because as far as i remember i had given 20 euro has advance but in ur system it was updated as 10 euro

    Good location and low price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no plug next to your bed . Sometimes the card is not working.Yet, staff are always there and willing to help.

    Location is great. Staff are friendly. There is tea, milk and coffee

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    The megadorm was quite noisy during the night as ppl were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The megadorm was quite noisy during the night as ppl were climbing their bed, or just moving as they slept, but this is what you can expect in a hostel, so no problem about that

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.9
    One of the best hostel experiences I've ever had
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was a little curt sometimes, but I noticed this in other Berlin establishments so maybe it was a cultural thing. Other than that, my stay was awesome.

    I was very lucky because the room I was in was AMAZING. I was a little put off at first because it was in a different building thant the actual reception desk, but it turned out to be a blessing. I had my own direct access, lift, HUGE room with floor-to-ceiling windows, an ensuite kitchen and floor warming! They haven't piled up the bunks in order to maximise space like other hostels and it really pays off. There was a little hangout space with a sofa and table which was extra handy for having breakfast in the morning. I actually felt like hanging out in my hostel room. One of the best hostel experiences I've ever had.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Fab hostel in central Berlin
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain

    Great vibe. Helpful and friendly staff. Fantastic value for money breakfast. Beds were 6.5 feet in length which was great fora 6.3 like me !!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much heat at night

    I liked the place and the location. And you have tea and coffee for free so it’s very cool when you arrive feeling cold. Also, you have a pool table and a bar. Some rooms are awesome, some others also good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Better than a hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is really nothing negative I can think of!

    The staff were really helpfull and friendly. The lounge area was great, free tea and cofee provided. The rooms were spacious and bright. Toilets and bath were spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    The location is super good- tram M12 (not M5), 5 mins away...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is super good- tram M12 (not M5), 5 mins away from the hostel. Staffs are nice, kind and have their individual characters~ big hall for hanging out at night but quite in rooms(also very spacious-at least where I was staying). Lovely place to stay~

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Very nice & Cool staffs, and a cozy atmosphere~ well...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice & Cool staffs, and a cozy atmosphere~ well organized. Super spacious room and nice shower room. Good for single traveler or group of friends together. Location is also convenient: less than 5 mins walk to Tram M5, which takes about 15 mins to the Main Station. Walking distance to Museum Island, Friedlich Straße, etc. Would love to come back for sure~

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice central hostel for a short city trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - a bit far from the metro or Sbahn, and there´s hardly any cool bar nearby except maybe the Cinema Cafe at Hackescher Markt - you need to make your own bed - the drunk guy from room 114 waking up everyone in the middle of the night but this is not the hostel´s fault really, they actually have a pretty long list of house rules

    - Free coffee, free towels - Comfortable and warm - The shower in the room is really cool - Good wifi - Central, very good for people who want to visit museums

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice atmosphere, value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed is the cheapest Ikea furniture. The mattress is way too thin and soft, you feel the bed-structure through it. The heating wasn't turned on, which made the first night quite cold. But most disturbing was the noise in the night by slamming doors. The hostel is actively encouraging people to be silent, which is good, but the slamming doors kinda destroy the benefits of this effort.

    I like the theme and the atmosphere of the hostel. The bar is also cosy and prices are very reasonable, much better than usual in hostels. The breakfast is standard but good value for money!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Unique design, clean accomodation, but too busy rooms for calm sleeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bad was very noisi and the dorm was too light through the night so didn't sleep well. We missed the kitchen with fridge and sink for the dishes. When we were there the hostel struggled with the card system so couldn't open the door with our card, and had to return to the reception each time.

    Tasty coffee for free, unique style, traveler friendly atmosphere, clean facilities, free towel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Location, lot of showers, clean, nice bar, good breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not comfortable at all. Matrats was too thin for metal bed.

    Location, lot of showers, clean, nice bar, good breakfast for only 5 euros, helpfull staf, cheep beer in their bar, lot of people to hang out... I strongly recommand this place. Best in Berlin for that money!

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Heart of Gold Hostel Berlin traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: