Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Heikotel - City Nord This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Lauensteinstr. 15, Barmbek Nord, 22307 Hamburg, Germany

#229 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 657 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room doesn’t have A/c which is required during this period/season of the year.

    The location of the hotel is close to the city center, less than 20 minutes by train where the station is nearby 5 minutes walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ambient noise could have been better (noisy guests). Our German was matched by the Reception staff's English so we had some interesting conversations

    Nice and clean, lovely rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were very disappointed because we booked the room for being a studio with kitchenette, but it had no equipment at all to use it for having a meal, no cutlery or plates or kettle for making a tea, only cups and glasses. And there was only a nespresso kind of coffee machine but you had to pay for the use of it.

    The room was very confortable and nice the view to garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to check in before you can enter the parking garage, so I had to park on the sidewalk, walk in, get the card and then drive around the hotel to enter the parking garage. The bathroom was so small, I had to sit on the toilet sideways.

    For Hamburg-standards is was cheap, that's why I booked it. And to be fair, the place is allright.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location not so good, very difficult to find a parking place near by: the hotel offer a covered parking (10 E / night) but late at night it is unaccessible.

    Easy to find by car, room clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a problem as my room telephone was not working, I tried to ask the receptionist for help with the phone, however due to the limited English skills, of the staff in general, she started to feel overwhelmed, and proceeded to tell me she would be unable to assist me.

    I think everything about this hotel is excellent, clean, good value, great location, well furnished and beautiful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean good value hotel. Modern room, good space and free wifi. Pleasant breakfast, breads, eggs, cheeses, meats, fruit etc. Restaurants/shops nearby. 5 mins walk to the S Bahn railway station, 10/15mins travel time to the airport or city centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very bad, not comfortable at all, which is the most important thing together with the shower whenever I travel.

    The staff was the best. very friendly and kind. It is fairly clean with some good details to make the hotel better among competitors in the same level but the bed was very bad, not comfortable at all, which is the most important thing together with the shower whenever I travel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noises and the walls drilling at every 7:30 in the morning instead of after 10am in the morning.

    The Hotel is good but the problem i face with them is that the bulding is under renovation, scaffolding surround the building and every morning throughout my five day staying the building start making noise because of renovation from 7:30am in the morning. The noise always disturbing us. I made a complain to receptionist she said there is nothing they could do,she said the builders have to do their work. I am not happy at all. Infact, with the noise i will not say is value for the money. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very few of the staff members could speak English. The only one I met who could speak English was very rude to me when the hotel's credit card machine wouldn't accept my international credit card. She wouldn't believe me when I said there was money on my card and that I could go get some cash to pay for the room. I think for an international hotel you should have English speaking staff and a credit card machine that accepts international credit cards. However, in the end the German speaking staff was very nice and kind to me unlike the English speaking one. Another thing I didn't like was that the bottle of schampoo in the shower was empty and they didn't refill it during the 4 nights I stayed there even though I spoke to the cleaning staff and asked them to do it. Also the view from my room was very poor facing a roof and a busy road so I couldn't sleep with the window open even though the room was very warm.

    The location was good, close to the metro and the Stadtpark, easy to get from the airport. The room was ok and the bed was comfy, but for 90 euros per night I would have expected a bit better. All in all, I had an ok stay but really NOT good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only "complaint" would be that to get out of the underground garage there is a rope attached to a switch on the ceiling which activates the garage door. There is no sign, just an unassuming red rope. If it was a busy morning of people trying to get in and out of the garage, I can see this creating some major headaches.

    Beautiful property, newly renovated with a new underground parking garage. The room I was in was a little small but, quite cozy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could have some staff with English skills. Pretty hard for me to deal with that. The Wi-Fi is free though you have to know beforehand to ask for the login credentials at the reception. Quite annoying when you have assigned the room in a separate building. Speaking about Wi-Fi I had the chance of some rooms with very good connection while some times I've drawn the short straw... I asked for a room change but was said that it's not possible though it was obvious that the hotel was quite empty. Last annoyance-the reception does not work 24/7 so you have to think about the arrival and departure times. I forgot about it in my early visits and spent a couple of hours wondering around with accompanied by a suitcase. Not very Pleasant.

    Value for the money but that is abut it. The rooms were clean and the soundproofing is good. I had a long stay and the bed sheet were regularly replaced as well as the towels. The breakfast buffet is pretty varied given the size of the restaurant and as I am quite an eater in the morning, it really mattered to have a good start in the day. But you pay 12eur for it so you get their value. The location has 3 values for me: a park nearby where I can run or relax, close to the airport and has the Alte Whor S-bahn station at a 5min walk so you get a 40min ride to the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the shops are not very close to get, but convenient to reach. Discrete buildings, but not far from each other.

    Room facilities are pretty good! What do I need, everything is around to catch! Great place to stay in calm environment!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Studio Single Use
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Currently undergoing major extensions, so a lot of consrtuction noise.

    Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Super easy to get to from the airport with the train.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water took forever get to shower. Poor internet.

    Near train station was easy and fast get to city and back to airport. Clean spacious room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff not professional

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly, breakfast complete

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very unfriendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was most attentive suggesting and providing directions to a vegan/vegetarian restaurant. Thanks you

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet at the entrance and stairs of the second entrance were really bad. The room did smell bad too, very small room.

    Friendly personnel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was very helpful and friendly. Good location, nerby is S-station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very very very small. Never had such a small room and bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The new rooms were spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints from us at sll

    Very clean and comfortable plus very cosy bar erea

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park 800 m away.

    Breakfast ok.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Studio Single Use
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Staff was nice and helpful. There are restaurants nearby. The metro station is very close.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was very small

    Nice staff and clean facilities

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    All facilities were good. Somewhat distant from city centre. Breakfast was over-priced.

    All amenities were more than acceptable; staff friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On arrival the receptionist spoke no English. The décor was shabby. The noise from the workmen was irritating but bearable. The internet did not work.

    Bed was comfortable. S train station in easy walking distance. bathroom was clean.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bathtub in room 114. Horrible parking possibilities.

    Friendliness from staff, nice big soundproof room, very clean, comfortable, nice minibar, nice interior, very nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    1. Staff making noise early in the morning and knocking on the door ??? !!! 2. Receptionist behave inadequate and rude. 3. Stop heating the night at 1 when became the cold. 4. Bothered us on the phone long before 12:00 before we left the room. 5.They gave us a room on the side of the hotel which had repairs construction crew and crane. 6. Receptionists do not know English ... under criticism !!!

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Couple

    the hotel is veryh far from the s-ban the price is not adequate

    we came to visit our brother, that was operated in asklepios hospital and the hotel was near the hospital

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the spa bath didnt work. Paid for a suite which was suppose be 4 star. was a chaep budget room with a spa bath in which didnt even work. bought champagne which was warm and flat. Staff were unhelpful ,not friendly and insulting

    the idea of having a spa bath

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hallways can be a little noisy late at night from disrespectful non-thinking people, however the standard 'take with me' Hotel ear plugs, solve this problem.

    Large rooms with Large Shower Rooms (deluxe double), mini bar well stocked !

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The outside appearance and the reception area could do with a facelift. The hotel takes up the first two floors of a not very luxurious apartment block with which it shares the entrance, stairway and lift. It has a gloomy feel which is in contrast to the room which is quite nice. The furnishings in the bar are a little worn and soiled. Need to be replaced. The 1960's type utilitarian carpet in reception, stairs and rooms gives a drab feel. It was not possible to order a fried egg for breakfast but the scrambled egg was quite good. Also no bacon and sausages. However cold meat, bread, bread, juice, yoghurt, fruit etc. were great.

    The room was nice, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was good. The wi-fi was free and worked well. I asked for and received a quiet room. The hotel staff were friendly and cooperative. The Stadtpark is nearby and great for a good walk and fresh air. Public transport connections are good. Alte Wöhr S-Bahn is 7 minutes. Lots of buses on nearby Fühlsbüttlerstrasse bring you to Barmbek station. I found the nearby Tunici Croation restaurant on Fühslbüttelerstrass good for dinner and it also has a very good and low priced set lunch. Plenty of shops and a bank as well.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The conection to the Internet

    Clean, comfortable and quite room

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No Parking. No gentle. High price for nothing. Noise. Near under construction.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breafest is good

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    All fine, the receptionest very nice and friendly welcome...

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location isn't great, rooms extremely outdated. Construction work starting at 7.00 not really nice.

    Good wifi, decent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Group

    Poor connection, no wifi in the rooms, Revisiting after 5 months charge me 2 euro minibar from previous visit - is it possible :)

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    Quiet

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room price, very expensive for the quality offered

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Parking lot too small

    The reception staff

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Browse Heikotel - City Nord traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: