Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Heimhude

Heimhuder Str. 16, Rothenbaum, 20148 Hamburg, Germany

#4 of 43 B&Bs and Inns in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 878 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    The hotel is close to a train station -- Dammtor and is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is close to a train station -- Dammtor and is situated in a very nice neighborhood. The staff was extremely helpful, the bed was comfy, and the breakfasts were very good. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I noticed that they did not have a safe. Some people need it.

    This is a B&B kind of hotel; small, friendly, very quite and the rooms are most comfortable. There are no luxuries, but whatever you need is there. The staff is so nice and warm. My room was full of light, elegant but not too elegant; pleasant and well kept. The location is great if you need the university or if you want to be near the lake. It's a bit far from the main "attractions" if you are a regular tourist who wants to explore Hamburg. And yet, maybe this is an advantage as you don't want to sleep at St Pauli, which might get so noisy. Every morning I went for a walk by the lake which was refreshing. breakfast afterwards was delicious. I shall certainly come again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    The hotel staff is wonderfully friendly. The place is beautiful and offers a great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen needs pot holders and some instructions on how to use the oven.

    The breakfast had a great variety and the dining room was lovely. The room was gorgeous and it was great to be greeted by a big bottle of water. As well, we loved the little terrace. It was so nice to have coffee out there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    very nice and helpful staff and a lovely building, good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls were a bit thin in my room, so could hear neighbours running taps, walking around etc. Woken a few times in the night and morning by people coming up/down the stairs. Breakfast rather dull in comparison to similar priced hotels. An extra charge of 2,50euro if you want scrambled/boiled eggs is very unusual.

    very nice and helpful staff and a lovely building, good peaceful location. Nice breakfast room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, because everything was so nice.

    I liked the service and the style at Heimhude hotel. Everything was very orderly and well done. They even served cake and coffee on the veranda on a sunny day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money, I definitely recommend this place it is perfect choice to visit Hambourg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no kettle in the room to boil water or make a tea.

    Great location to sightsee everything is walking distance, quiet area, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent and enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed (single room 19) was a little narrow and firm.

    Perfect location, on a very quiet, tree-lined street but within easy walking distance (across a park) of Dammtor station and beyond that the city centre. Bus stops with regular services are 2-3 minutes away. Staff were extremely friendly, helpful and fun. Good range of food at breakfast, including some homemade items. Elegant building and rooms; I saw into some of the larger rooms at the front (with balconies) and they looked very impressive indeed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    It beautiful cozy hotel, nicest stuff, great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It beautiful cozy hotel, nicest stuff, great location. I was in Hamburg for Expo over the weekend, all was perfect: place close to city, close to Expo. Nice, clean room, great breakfast. It was a pleasure to stay in such a hotel. Thank you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.9
    Old but gold
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is old, I heard another guest snorring at night.

    A very old and wonderful house in a beautiful street with classical buildings near to the center. A free bottle of water in the Room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.3
    Fine for a couple of days.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was small and too noisy (at the morning).

    It is a hotel near the Dammtor train station. Therefore, near the city center. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly boutique style hotel in a nice area and only...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was next door to the kitchen and preparations for breakfast started about 5am. I could hear every cupboard or draw being opened and shut. They were too nice to say anything, but unless you are an early riser avoid room 14. It could be an idea if they wear slippers to cover the foot steps on the hard floor and find a way of soundproofing the wall. It was a shame as the room was really nice. I would stay at this hotel again.

    Very friendly boutique style hotel in a nice area and only about a 20 minute stroll to the city centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    Very good choice for Hamburg with lovers or family. But remember you have to protect yourself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While check-in the young lady was speaking in a interesting tone, like a Hoffrau in the films, doesn't have to be like that. I should take a picture of the mini-bar when I checked-in, because on the leave they intended to charge one Apfelschorle without asking me, which I haven't taken. The lady wouldn't like to give me any chance to explain at first, and made me very uncomfortable. When you have payed more than 500 Euros why would you like to hide a bottle of apple juice. Finally it was solved and the lady appologized, but I lost the trust of the hotel and insisted to check the room again together with the staff before I went away, in order to avoid some suprises on my credit card bill. The parking is free, but some times you have to wait for a while, especailly at noon, I had to take payable parking for couple of hours. Noticed the Polizei came and checked, I've noticed that they fined a car next to my car for exceeding time, but there still remained 15 min, what a shame.

    nice location, very safe the quite, you can just walk through the villas to the Aussenalster within 10 min. There is good super market and also bus to the city center. because there are facilities of the University, so there were always students passing by, felt comforble. Breakfast was good, but not excellent, the dinning room is cosy and the staffs are freindly and mannered, coffee is very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.0
    Next time i will choose another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Polite its the way to explain how the guest CAN GET things. The polite way to say how he cannot is obvious. The staff looks busy and tired and they have no idea what the real service should be. Some things in room and around were not convenient too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Hotel Heimhude is located in a wonderful and quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel Heimhude is located in a wonderful and quiet residential area. The staff is very nice and ready to help. The atmosphere is both cozy and elegant. Great place!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Enjoyable stay. I'll be happy to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single room was a little small with regards to somewhere to put my bag but in general no problems.

    I choose the hotel because it's within walking distance off Dammtor railway station which is one stop from the main railway station plus it was in a quiet residential area. It was also within reasonable distance of the city centre .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    elegant and cozy hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Tea kettle in the rooms would be wonderful!

    Hotel is conveniently situated in a quiet neighbourhood near University. There is an amazing sushi restaurant Yummy nearby. Hotel rooms elegantly decorated in regency style. Hotel breakfasts are served in a small cozy parlour. The lady (service manager) who is also supervising breakfast service (forgot her name) tried to help me with my administrative issues. The young, smiling, friendly girl who serves breakfast and two guys who cleaned the rooms were really helpful and make you feel welcome. The hotel is nice and recommended, especially for the price it offers services.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Bed was super comfy, the room is spacious and there is a lot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit off center and not a lots of places to go out just around. Facilities are very basic.

    Bed was super comfy, the room is spacious and there is a lot of natural light. The building is beautiful, the staff amazingly nice, neighbourhood is charming and local and very quiet. We slept very well!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.3
    A very nice building!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not as friendly as it should be. overcharged

    A very nice building! Very german.The breakfast was amazing with high variety. The staff was okay and when needed of assistant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Super!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not necessary to change bath towels daily.

    The location was excellent. Could not have been better. The staff helpful and plseant. The included breakfast ample and good selection.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Very nice looking hotel with historic character.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice looking hotel with historic character. Spatious room that breathed the spirit of good old times, but that really felt good. Set in the nice residential area of the "Rothenbaum Bezirk". I loved staying in this family-run hotel rather than in a hotel chain where you don't even know in which city you are staying.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    Good option for a restful break. Staatsoper Hamburg about 15-20 mins walk or 10 mins in a tax
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no 24 hour reception - it shut at 10:30 pm - and so I had to let myself out of the building at 5:30 in the morning.

    When I explained that I had to leave early, very kindly offered me a snack on arrival in lieu of breakfast which I'd miss. Booked taxis for me and both arrived on time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    great stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Second time stay here. Located in one of the best area in city center. Staff are always welcome you and try to help you. The single room is in high quality with a very big sofa this time. Very clean and enjoy the quiet neighborhood. The best choice for people who pass Hamburg university and only 5 minutes on foot to dammtor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This hotel is located next to Hamburg University. Very convenient to public transportation (5 minutes on foot to Dammtor). Everything went well during checkin and check out process. I booked a single room on the second floor with avenue sight. Quiet at night. The neighborhood is very safe and beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    8.3
    Nice place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness of the bathroom could have been better, but overall fine.

    The breakfast, breakfast room and the breakfast guy were all great. Everything perfect. Also the lady at the reception was extra nice and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heat radiator did not work until Peter my husband borrowed some tools to empty air from the radiator 2 days in a row

    Breakfast was nice in a very cosy dining room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    When a problem happened, most of the employees were...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When a problem happened, most of the employees were attentive responsive and kind. The breakfast is delicious and homemade.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    Super friendly and welcoming place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were super friendly and the breakfast was superb. A warm and welcoming place with a personal touch.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Very good location and prices.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception not h24.

    Very good location, close to the Hamburg downtown. Prices are also convenient. The staff has been great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    good location, we were walking to the city center and to the...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    good location, we were walking to the city center and to the botanical garden

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Great location fair price and uncomplicated quite and noble atmosphere with very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no problem to keep my racebike in my room made my stay in Hamburg uncomplicated; general athmopsphere was quite and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy house. Doors banging.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    It was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were so friendly and helpful and the breakfast was so good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Old style aristocratic mansion with friendly warm staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast excellent with homemade marmalade (4 flavours) and quark in old style period porcelain and silver utensils.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money in vey nice area and close to Dammtor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Will repeat for sure!!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were really kind and the propertie was in excelent conditions

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Having breakfast by the window with a lovely view and...
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having breakfast by the window with a lovely view and relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    5.0
    There is no kettle in room for having tea or coffee, which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no kettle in room for having tea or coffee, which is common even in 2star hotels!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    save the above good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have enjoyed kettle & tea making facillities in room

    Breakfast variety & presentation

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    Bathroom small and old
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom small and old

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.9
    Lovely building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely building. Would have loved to walk around had the weather been nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    Central location, excellent breakfast, very friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Central location, excellent breakfast, very friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Staff, service and breakfest was really great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, service and breakfest was really great. Thank you! :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    Delightful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms not as elegant as the building itself

    Delightful experience

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Everything like it should be.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was very tidy and like a good hotel should be. Extra points for extremely friendly staff, and strong good coffee at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    There was a strong smell of cigarette although it was a non...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a strong smell of cigarette although it was a non smoking room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.1
    good location. simple room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple room

    Free parking in street

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Worth going!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff extremely helful and anticipating any needs we could have. We had a lovely balcony Very comfy beds & nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Very convenient arrangement, near the subway, on foot it is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient arrangement, near the subway, on foot it is possible to walk to the center. The place is very silent, near the park. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice food, nice people.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Classy hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit difficult to find - but my fault mostly

    Very classy hotel in a beautiful and well-located neighborhood

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful, cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly Beautiful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    amazing hotel villa in the heart of Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Construction noise in am from neigbours

    Close to city, walk to train, Alster, University and shopping, restaurants in the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    Quiet neighborhood, good location
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet neighborhood, good location

    Stayed in April 2017

There are also 45 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Browse Hotel Heimhude traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: