Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Helgoland This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Kielerstr. 173-177, Stellingen, 22525 Hamburg, Germany

#232 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 305 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfartable, clean and secure but far from the city center
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wish the location was more close to the center and the price could be more fair.

    Everything was more then fine apart from the location and the price. If you are looking for a quite place with amazing staff you are on the right place. It provides you peace and secure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    A modest but acceptable place to stay but ONLY if you do not need WiFi in your room!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City Class Double
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The WiFi in the room almost never worked. I could never connect my laptop and only occasionally connected with my cell phone. I made a point of telling the front desk, but it was useless on Day 1 as well as Day 4. Because I need connectivity for the work I do, I would not book here again, nor would I suggest anyone who expects to work or make phone calls via WiFi to do so. On the other hand, if you just need a reasonable place to stay, it is modest but okay. I should mention that the WiFi did work in the lobby. So, I trooped down there with laptop and phone and worked late.

    The breakfast was splendid, as good as a major hotel. Service was fast and very courteous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    Decent and clean hotel for a business trip, but the decor could do with being modernized.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Class Single
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some parts of this hotel are like a time warp to the seventies. It does have modern conveniences, such as a flat screen TV, but the décor could do with an update.

    The staff were friendly and helpful and the room seemed quite well taken care of. I had a decent meal at the hotel restaurant on night and the breakfast was quite good too. For Hamburg standards, it's also not particularly expensive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    5.4
    Its ok but not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City Class Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff came to my room multiple times and opened the door without permission and everytime they say sorry... The room was cold and the heater didn't heat enough for 2 days.

    Cleanness, location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.2
    Good and affordable accomodation for a Hamburg visit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Class Single
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are no restaurants in walking distance. The food inside the hotel bistro is limited.

    excellent, rich breakfast buffet and very friendly staff. As a smoker I was happy that smoking rooms were available.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    9.2
    great staff and hotel! will stay again=)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City Class Single
    • Stayed 18 nights

    There were some issues with credit card and booking from our side and Mrs Bettina Garvs from the hotel helped us a lot. She was so patient and helpful. Huge thanks to her=))

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    5.0
    they've uploaded the pictures of their best rooms for...
    • Couple
    • City Class Double
    • Stayed 7 nights

    they've uploaded the pictures of their best rooms for the cheap rooms. so, when we booked the room on booking.com, we were faced with a pretty good room, and when we checked in, we faced with not the same room as it was shown in the pictures and they charged 20 euros extra for giving us the room that we've seen in the booking.com pictures. Also they've said they'll charge 80% of the next day costs if we cancel the booking. However they charged 100% of it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    Clean, good beds, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Class Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive

    Clean, 24h check-in, good beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • City Class Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old furniture and slow elevator,

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    It is a very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City Class Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a very good hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.8
    th hotel is very good location but the manager is very bad...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City Class Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    th hotel is very good location but the manager is very bad only other staff is very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.3
    Thank you that despite the excluded computers accommodation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City Class Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thank you that despite the excluded computers accommodation took place at night

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.1
    Good value hotel for a stop over, let down (for me) by the poor wi-fi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City Class Single
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-Fi not good, could only get a connection in the reception area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    7.5
    Good food and for a really good price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City Class Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good food and for a really good price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.8
    A good and better place to stay while in Germany Hamburg , I will do it again.
    • Solo traveller
    • City Class Single
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    A good reception and Hotel Good location and view from your room a good stay and better freindly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    7.9
    Quite good place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City Class Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite good place. For workers very good area. The personal very friendly and I was really surprised about the good Quality of the Food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.1
    Pleasant, small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City Class Single
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is only 1 small lift, holding 4 adults

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    7.9
    Clean, comfortable, good shower and plenty of choice for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor wifi - only available in reception, noise from busy road (despite secondary glazing)

    Clean, comfortable, good shower and plenty of choice for breakfast. Some good restaurants a short(ish) walk away.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    5.8
    The parking lot is a bit out of the hand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The parking lot is a bit out of the hand. You checkin at the hotel, then you are allowed to go to the parking lot where you need to ring at the door. Parking on the street is out of discussion because is crowded

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    7.9
    Bed were comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Breakfast could be better. Please keep hot grill or toaster for bread.

    Bed were comfortable

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Guests also reviewed these properties: