Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Helmerhof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Frauenbergstr. 9, 87645 Schwangau, Germany

#2 of 8 hotels in Schwangau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 471 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    PERFECTION! Surprisingly convenient and beautiful property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was truly nothing I didn't like. Everything was very very excellent!

    Breakfast buffet was spectacular! LOVED my morning latte macchiato and fresh boiled eggs. The rooms have stunning views of the mountains and castle Neuschwanstein, and it was gloriously peaceful and cozy. Perfect distance from both of the castles as well as the wonderful town of Füssen. We took a delightful afternoon walk there for gelato. Just incredibly wonderful!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful location, we could see the castle from our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 1 night

    A beautiful location, we could see the castle from our balcony, sipping on wine and enjoying sunset. The restaurant at the hotel was wonderful, great breakfast and dinner, reasonably priced, very cozy, Bavarian style - we liked it a lot!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    A Bavarian treasure that we will always return to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have scoured every area of this delightful hotel and there is nothing at all that we didnt like about this establishment. It was with a very heavy heart we had to leave

    Set in the pretty little town of Schwangau and convenient location for the Castles of Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau. The room was well appointed with the latest mode cons and replenished daily with fresh towels and toiletries.The staff were friendly and courteous in all aspects. Food served in the hotels restaurant was a delight. Excellent prepared and good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    We arrived a bit late just before the restaurant kitchen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    We arrived a bit late just before the restaurant kitchen closed, but the stuff were kind enough to wait for us and take our order. Very nice hotel, close to the castles.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    A Bavarian Belter!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only criticism would be that they could make more use of the garden space for people who just wanted a few drinks as the outdoor restaurant tables were always reserved.

    Everything was clean/tidy and rooms were comfortable. Loved the location, the views were outstanding!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    The staff were every friendly and helpful and the shuttle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no shampoo provided in the bathroom and sadly they didn't have extra travel adaptors (I had forgotten to pack mine), but those were minor issues - everything else was perfectly fine.

    The staff were every friendly and helpful and the shuttle service to and from Fuessen banhof was great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean rooms and bathroom. Great mountain view. Parking was easy onsite. The hotel has its restaurant which was very nice. Very child friendly arrangement. Food is tad bit expensive but very nice cooking. We loved the kaiserschmarrn with vanilla ice cream. They also have room service at certain time. Staff was friendly. They provided extra pillow and blanket for child for free. You can see neuschwanstein castle (far view but nice) from the hotel. Very close to main attractions. Breakfast was a lovely large spread.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Our stay was amazing and unforgettable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses were abit too soft for us, but you can’t please everyone in that regard

    The apartment was huge with everything in it and it was extremely clean which is important to us. The staff were friendly and helpful and the position of Heimerhof is close to town and the castles 👍🏼

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    It is more a 4 star hotel rather than 3, rooms are cozy with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    It is more a 4 star hotel rather than 3, rooms are cozy with private terrace facing the Neuschwanstein castle, spa area offers 3 types of saunas and a fantastic relaxing area. All equipment in the spa area look brand new. Breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    excellent!! highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Appartement - Typ B
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    this is excellent!! the room is very big! and a big balcony! the view from the room is awesome. it is the only hotel proivded water boiler i stay during my whole Germany trip. when you stay in the room, you can find every detail is considered. this is a very nice hotel and i strongly recommend it!!!! couldn't love it anymore!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    This place is a must and i don't usually say that,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good in the hotel,but when i wanted to visit castle,at 9am 3 buses of korean tourists turned up, i got out of there,got some good pictures from the castle still.

    This place is a must and i don't usually say that, nevermind the castle (nice though) I booked this place in last minute,while i was few miles away in the car,searching for a place to stay I enjoyed everything,had a nice meal in the restaurant,then a spa was amazing,breakfast-great It was a winter wonderland in the morning,had to dig out my car about 15 minutes,but it was fun.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.8
    Spectacular View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had a spectacular view of Neueshwanstein Castle, with a covered balcony, usable even in the rain. The dining room was enjoyable and there was a nice spa in the basement. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Traditional hotel kept to a very high standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It just needed a swimming pool.

    A fantastic hotel. Views of the castle and mountains from the balcony. Hearty food. Lovely staff. They even lent us umbrellas and told us how to get tickets for the castle on a very rainy day. The guest card got us free bus travel and lots of discounts. We loved the wellness area which was great for relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    Exceeded our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi was very unstable.

    Extremely clean and large rooms. The cleanliness exceeds some 5-star hotels. Staff are very kind and the food served at the restaurant is amazing. Easy parking outside the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    A wonderful stay to be renewed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect. Good food, good breakfast, Nice, wide and clean room. Nice location with wonderful view. A very warm welcome with helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Get a room with a castle view if possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent hotel with an excellent restaurant. Had a room with castle view. Very good service all around. Very good included breakfast. I stayed in Schwangau 3 times before, in different hotels, but this is the best one by far.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar (but this is similar to other hotels in the area).

    Cute country hotel close to Schwangau and Hohenschwangau. Cozy rooms with a nice view of the nearby mountains. Wonderful staff and a hotel restaurant really worth visiting. Tasty food!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    10
    The staff were exceptionally friendly, helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to leave.

    The staff were exceptionally friendly, helpful and informative.The overall appearance of the hotel from the outside drew you into a comfortable spotless interior.The rooms were beautifully decorated in the rustic Bavarian style,and spacious with a balcony.From ours you looked out onto the mountains and a view of Neuschwanstein Castle.The breakfast set you up for the day,and the food served in the restaurant was of a high standard.We had a very enjoyable stay and would certainly stay there again if in the area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    7.1
    You will pay twice for the same service. Mind it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunetly, the hotel debit twice on our card and, even showing them the mistake, with copy of the documents (bank balances), after 10 days, any solution, just excuses. So, if you book this hotel by booking.com or Trivago, dont pay the bill at the check out, because they will debit it on your bank card, anyway.

    Good hotel, good staff and very good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Feeling comfortable
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Guesthouse- Mountain view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is good when you go to the new sea stone castle, just walk around 3 minutes you can take the no. 78 shuttle bus go there. Also can take this shuttle go back Füssen around 5-8 minutes.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    One of the best we've stayed at
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only hot item during breakfast was eggs. It could have been better if there was also hot sausages, which germany is known for, and some vegetables. But still, it was a good breakfast.

    The room was cozy, feels like our own bedroom, not too small and not too big. The place is quiet at night and it is not too close to the center. There is a nice view around the property. Being a small hotel, it is not crowded even during breakfast. It's a shame that we stayed only for a night. We'll stay here again for sure.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.9
    Superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast disappointing. Only hot item is eggs otherwise just a pretty ordinary continental breakfast.

    Superb location. Rooms were good size and bathroom well appointed and excellent space.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was a bit hard at first but when I asked a topper was put on the bed very quickly which helped enormously

    Beautiful chalet hotel with a good restaurant. Balcony view of Neuschwanstein is excellent!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    beautifull hotel nice people great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    beautifull hotel nice people great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    good catering, excellent location, friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the summer the rooms get quite hot.

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location. Castle view from our balcony. Away from the touristy center. Friendly staff and good restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    The rooms and beds were very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    The location, garten, restaurant are very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are not confortable

    The location, garten, restaurant are very good. Staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    location ,with Neuschwanstein view
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location ,with Neuschwanstein view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    The view was the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our welcome was a little gruff -- not the friendliest.

    The view of the Neuschwanstein Castle from our room was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    True to the areas history and culture
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    True to the areas history and culture

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful environment. The room is spacious with nice garden view. The bed is comfy. Everything is tidy and clean. Very close to Neuschwanstein.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Worth it for visiting the Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor for that prize

    The view of the castle was amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Yes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited breakfast. No bacon and eggs.

    Yes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    very quite room, simple but everything was good;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    very quite room, simple but everything was good; nice typical restaurant; walking distance from Füssen;

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Place, staff and wifi were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Appartement - Typ A
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place, staff and wifi were excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    The hotel was convinient and easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restausrant was closed on tuesday because it was their off day.

    The hotel was convinient and easy to find. Breakfast was ok, rooms were large.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    We will be happy to come back, and we will recommend Helmerhof to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The German “ordnung muss sein”, the cleanliness and the Tyroler-stimmung.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Great place, staff, food and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was good, the food was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    One night is not enough in this beautiful hotel , feels like home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Nice family hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi could be better.

    Very good location. Convenient car parking. Helpful staff. Good breakfast. Nice view of Neuschwanstein.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. If I'm ever in the area I'll stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    if you visit the the bang bang castle this is an ideal hotel for the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a wee bit warm in room however it was 25 all night

    nice clean great location nd reasonable prices for accom and onsite restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    family friendly atmosphere. great view from the room. large suite with comfortable bed. handy parking slot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.5
    View of castle from our balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot tub. Parking lot was full when we got there around 6pm

    View of castle from our balcony. Close to castle

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    7.5
    We got a room with a very nice view on the mountains and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got a room with a very nice view on the mountains and castles. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    Surprise view of Neuschwanstein Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Guesthouse - Mountain view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and looked fantastic in the traditional dirndl. We had a view of Neuschwanstein Castle which was a nice surprise.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was ok with this hotel.

    Breakfast is amazing! Everything was so tasty that even I was not that hungry I ate a lot :). Staff is friendly. My room had a terrasse with a view on the castle.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    5.4
    Convenient location to see castles.
    • Family with young children

    If I wanted to be seen naked by the staff every day, I would have gone to a nudist resort. Hotel has no 'do not disturb' signs, and every morning I was there the staff simply opened the door and came in without even knocking. One woman even stood there asking if I wanted towels, etc, while I keep telling her to leave, as I wasn't dressed. I was told hotel is run by 20 family members and 10 staff, and they have serious guest interaction issues. One evening I asked for the sauna to be turned on, as I had been told it was open till 10 that night, and it was just before e9 when I called. The woman on the phone said no it's closed, when I replied that wasn't the schedule I was given she just said it closes early today. She argued with me for 15 minutes and kept putting me on hold, then said, now it's 9:15 you will only get 15 minutes in sauna. I said, that's good enough for me, I don't want to get too hot, and she yelled, "It's not good enough for me!" I thought she would just put me back on hold so I asked if I should come talk to her in person. She said, "OK, you come down!" and hung up the phone on me. Downstairs, she said angrily, "OK, you go sauna," and turned around and slammed the door to the room in my face. She clearly just was either too lazy to go turn it on or too cheap to do so, but the aggressiveness and hostility of her behavior was shocking. When I complained the next day another of the family members said they were aware that she was a problem, but they are clearly unwilling or unable to do anything about her nastiness. The staff situation is so problematic I really can't recommend this hotel. For the rest of the hotel, I usually think people who complain about pillows are just too picky, but I read several pillow complaints for this hotel, and they are actually right.

    Convenient location to see castles.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    9.6
    The hotel is in the country, with a view of castles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Most staff spoke sufficient English for non-German speaking guests, but there was a little confusion due to language issues.

    The hotel is in the country, with a view of castles. The location is within 5 minutes of major castles teeming with tourists but is quiet. The food is authentic Bavarian and delicious. Very restful

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    7.9
    The room is facing new swan castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The receptionsit needs to be more carefully because she got the children's information and the ages were clear.

    The room is facing new swan castle. The scene is so good! When we cheek out, the front desk miscalculate the room charge. Three children with us are 4,6,7, but the extra bed fee is added as they are adluts. Although when we questione about this, they show their kindness and soon give the money back to us.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    9.2
    Great location, nice, clean rooms, excellent breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi was good in the room but it was unaccesable in the restaurant or just in front of hotel

    Great location, nice, clean rooms, excellent breakfast, playground for children, quiet surrounding, i would stay there again and would recommend.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    7.5
    Location: very near the castles and with a lovely view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast room had a cold atmosphere, limited choices. Staff was correct but not extremely friendly.

    Location: very near the castles and with a lovely view of Neuschwanstein. Room: clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    9.6
    Lovely friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The apartment could do with a bit of updating.

    Lovely friendly staff! Wonderful food in the hotel restaurant (especially the schnitzels!!!) Fantastic breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    10
    We were the last guests in their dining place, and they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bit far from town center,by feet but for the one who likes peaceful place and has a car, this is such a perfect place to stay.

    We were the last guests in their dining place, and they didnt complain about our late. I am very appreciated about this. The room I got has a very nice view of the mountain, I can see the castle in the night. Neighborhood is quiet and cute.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    9.6
    Position, excellent breakfast (and restaurant if you want to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If I am to find something to criticise then it would be the bathroom - we could have done with a stool or piece of furniture for putting things on. The step down from the shower onto a slippery floor with wet feet was a wee bit treacherous as the bathmat didn't have a rubber underside.

    Position, excellent breakfast (and restaurant if you want to eat there) We were able to walk ( 15-20mins) in to the centre of Schwangau for alternative restaurants. Nicely placed though for all sorts of more serious walking in the summer and cross country skiing in the winter when snow coverage allows.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    10
    The breakfast, the friendly staff, the location (visitors...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There's another hotel called Helmer which is very similar as this one, when I asked people for direction to the hotel in Fuessen, people all guided me to "Helmer", not Helmerhof, so it took me some time to eventually find this one.

    The breakfast, the friendly staff, the location (visitors can take the bus #78 from the stop "Schwangau Horn" near the hotel to the castle, and it only takes about 5 minutes!), and the view outside the balcony, I could see the Schloss Neuschwanstein from my balcony which was wonderful! Helmerhof also provided visitors "guest card" for bus rides and 2 Euro discount for castle ticket.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    7.9
    We have stayed at this hotel several times on our way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't remember any dislikes

    We have stayed at this hotel several times on our way elsewhere. It suits us personally and we enjoy our stays. I would prefer it if there were a category "very good" as there is a considerable difference between good and excellent. The rating would then have been "very good" on all counts. It would be helpful if all hotels would make sure their TV remote controls have a subtitle facility for the hard of hearing and language impaired!

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, clean rooms, nice breakfast buffet,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff, clean rooms, nice breakfast buffet, conveniently located.

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    10
    Very much enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very much enjoyed our stay. Food was excellent and the view from our second floor unit with a view of Neuscwanstein was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    10
    The food is exceptional and staff are very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food is exceptional and staff are very helpful and pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    8.8
    Location, price, food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, price, food

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.3
    great location, hotel has a very good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great location, hotel has a very good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.6
    Tutto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some staff people kind and some others not...but no problem

    Tutto

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    location is very close to new castel and the area is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing

    location is very close to new castel and the area is beautiful. I can see the both old and new castel in the room.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    10
    the view from the room, location, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the view from the room, location, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    10
    Everything, was an amazing place with a great view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything, was an amazing place with a great view of the Neuschwanstein Castle.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    8.3
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very good hotel

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Guests also reviewed these properties: