Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Helvetia Hotel Munich City Center This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schillerstraße 6, Ludwigsvorstadt, 80336 Munich, Germany

#271 of 349 hotels in Munich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1352 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    4.6
    Location is near to station and beside alibaba kebab.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC was not working/error and no effort from hotel official to repair it or gave us a better room; too noisy from a bar in front of the hotel

    Location is near to station and beside alibaba kebab. It’s very tasty kebab

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Good location/ Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Was prefect for exactly what we needed just a one night quick trip.

    The location is right next to the train station! So easy to get to and from the airport and also Marienplatz. I loved that we were able to check in early! The staff were super friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Munich hotels seem to be very expensive, so in comparison this was reasonable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel was very close to the underground entrance and there always seemed to be a group collected there who could be unruly. Apart from that the hotel was close to the centre.

    The staff were friendly and helpful...especially Ivan. He was always pleasant and went out of his way to be helpful. The room although small and basic has everything you needed...tea making facilities, a safe, hairdryer etc. The breakfast was included which was good but if you like a good cooked breakfast you need to be happy with scrambled eggs and bacon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    The fact that the hotel is so close to the hauptbahnof and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had mixed feelings about the location of the property, certainly it's very convenient the fact that it's so close to the Hauptbahnof, but the street where it's located doesn't feel minimally safe: drunk people sitting on both sides of the street drinking beers from bottles and screaming. The street was very dirty and I even presence a drunk guy annoying a random tourist.

    The fact that the hotel is so close to the hauptbahnof and walking distance to downtown.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    2.9
    AC ONLY !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its the worst hotel ever -I ordered extra pillows and after 3 hours of waiting an old guy came up and without permission put his Hed into my room and ask me how many are in here? I told him 2 only Then it was a pizza plastic bag was in the hole witch i put for them to take out, he pushed the door on me and said: ITS NOT A LUXURY HOTEL (and hitting it too strong with his filthy shoes inside my room till the plastic was open and every thing was on my floor) HE SAID U THROW UR GARBAGE AND SLAMMED MY ROOM DOOR AND LEFT I asked the hotel for an apology they said okay and when i asked him he shout loud I’m not ur slave, i asked to speak to the manager they said the manager doesn’t speak to customers !!!! -Second of all hotel is tooo old pictures are better . -located in the worst street in München u don’t feel safe sleeping in it. - sometimes if u order something they would make u come down to take it -workers are not helpful at all and so mad at everyone!! I feel this hotel workers are mentally ill !!

    AC ONLY !!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Summer Getaway with Family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made Munich as the transportation hub and spent a week in Venice visiting the architecture Biennial. So we needed cloakroom service to store a big baggage and a hand carry. The Boss of the hotel gave us free storage, therefore, we didn’t have to go over the central station and looked for storage (where lockers only store up to 3 days). The breakfast is valued for €9.8 each. The restaurant lady is genteel and considerate, never pushed us to finish sharp by 10 am. Miss her smile too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Convienient for a short stay, where you need a place to sleep, shower and rest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The neighborhood... If I didn't know better, I would have thought that maybe I was in a hotel in the middle east, rather than Germany! As a matter of fact, in 3 days there, I doubt that I heard anyone speaking German.

    The location, maybe 100 meters from the Munich main railroad station, was what I was looking for. It is an old tourist oriented hotel on a street where there are many other similar hotels, but at higher prices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    For a quick trip in Munich, would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Can be loud when doors are closing from other rooms, location can be a bit off putting as doesn't feel as safe as other areas

    Bed was comfortable, breakfast had a nice variety, staff were friendly. Bathroom was quite large for room size which was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Clean hotel. Visit again??? - May be, May be not
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though the hotel is almost next to the Hauptbahnhof, it is not a good area, particularly if you have families. The area was full of dodgy people. But to a single person it might be quite an attractive area. Even though the hotel and the staff were good, I did not think that it was a good value for money. I have stayed in big cities and in similar hotels. In my experience the charge for the rooms were quite high. It is disappointing that the city hotels charge so much for a room. :(

    The hotel is located very near to the Munich Hauptbahnhof, which is useful. The room was comfortable and clean. The TV worked. WIFI was strong and didn't falter. The bathroom was clean and all the necessary amenities were there. The reception staff were really helpful and its open 24/7, which was a big help.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Cheap hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seedy area. Shower had moldy grout and awful smell from the drains.

    Mostly clean. Good price. Large room on second floor with a view of other rooms and fire escape stairs. Quiet until rubbish is put in bins early in the morning and people chat loudly to each other about it. Close to railway station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    Dodgy neighbourhood, Rooms clean but smell weird. Shockingly horrible treatment by one of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist guy on check out day was really rude because we left an hour late after checkout. It was shocking how he treated us and threw the deposit money for the adapter on our face, and said that we will not be getting luggage storage.

    The receptionist lady on the first night was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice and comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no lobby at the hotel and it was not possible to meet your friend at the hotel

    I liked the hotel place due to the place site which is near the central station and there was allot of restaurant (Arab and Turkish restaurants). Old city and big market were found near which make t easy for me to buy things.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    I'd book a room again in case travelling to Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There wasn't a mini fridge in the room. And two small beds were used to make a big one which wasn't great.

    The location of the hotel was so convenient especially if you are planning day trips around Bavaria area. Literally just a few minutes away from the train station. The neighborhood is a bit sketchy but nothing too worry about. Would recommend to book a room with breakfast included. very fulfilling, variety of choices

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.7
    good for business travelers, who do not spend much time in room - just sleeping there.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    noisy and crowded street, small room, airconditioning just pretending to work (which is important, because the noise from outside excludes sleeping with open windows)

    near (~30 m) to the entrance to Metro, walking distance (5-7 min) to the Old Town (Marienplatz etc.). Friendly and helpful personel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A hotel room is pretty wide. It looks more like a 1-bedroom apartment rather than a typical hotel room. The location is very close to the Munich Hbf. The breakfast is ok. There are plenty of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    We would definitely return to this hotel upon a return visit. The good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was well worth the price. Friendly staff, beautifully prepared trays of cheese, meats, fruit and rolls. In addition, there was bacon, eggs, cereal various toppings, yogurts, etc. Bright room with attentive staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    4.6
    I sadly hate to give bad reviews, but I would avoid this property.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that the hotel advertises air conditioning, but it didn't work. According to the clerk, the air conditioning had been broken for a number of days and wouldn't be prepared for three more days. As well, the hotel manager ruined every good feeling that I could have had about the property. She was rude, confrontational and did everything to hold onto the money for the balance of my stay when I checked out. Finally, after over 15 minutes of discussing my conversations with Booking.com,, she decided to refund my remaining two nights already paid for and offered a 10% credit on the night I stayed.

    An excellent front desk clerk who tried repeatedly to solve my problem. An excellent breakfast included with my room price. A central location near the Central Train Station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location, very close to central station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very close to central station. A little noisy outside at night, but once you closed the windows and put on the air conditioning it was fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Very good quality for the price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the wifi is not wonderful.

    Good room, clean, staff very kind and speaking english. I was very happy in the hotel and sure i will come back in this good adress.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Great and affordable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower drain was slow.

    The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was adequate but the shower drain was slow. The hotel was very close to the Munich main train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for us!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 'double bed' was just two beds pushed together. Not a big problem or anything, but also not quite the same as a double bed. We also felt that the breakfast (which we did not take) was peddled a little bit too strongly. The friendly and warm woman at reception told us about it 3 times and there are pictures and details about it in the hall, the lift and even in the room.

    Great! Our room was all by itself, so we didn't have to worry about neighbours. The room itself was great. Lovely size and the bed was v comfortable. Also, for travellers, the location is perfect: literally right next to the station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Street outside of hotel gave me uncomfortable feeling. I can't describe exactly but surely I didn't have a comfortable mind in the street out side of hotel.

    Staff in front desk and restaurant are very nice and friendly. Room is clean and nice service. Very Nearby Munchen Hauptbahnhof (Central Station) and Metro. Window of hotel is good to shield the noise outside. Very calm when I close the window. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Well-thought through rooms, 1 minute from Munich Hbf
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor building work was going on in the courtyard but the builders only started after 9am and it wasn't very noisy.

    The location 1 minute from the main train station is great. My room looked out onto an inner courtyard, so was very quiet. The single room was small, but well thought through with good lighting for work.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    The light switch didn't work in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light switch didn't work in the room..so i had to take the key card out of the block and because of that my cell phones could not be charged through the night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.4
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary toiletries which I was really relying on and the room was very small with 2 single beds put together, not a double like we thought it would be.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel for a city trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a non smoking room, however, in the bathroom it smelled like smoke sometimes. Most likely came through the ventilation. Also, the shower struggled to maintain an even temperature from time to time.

    Great location for a city trip, however, I would not recommend it for families as in the evening it feels a bit dodgy. We could walk almost anywhere and otherwise, public transport was right around the corner. The hotel staff was very helpful and the breakfast was fantastic (fresh and good variety).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hated The blow dryer in bathroom, you had to hold the button down the whole time you’re using it! Seems most blow dryers in Europe are like this 😒

    Our whole experience was a pleasure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay in the Helvetia Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The central location near the central train station with a short walk into the city centre. Hotel was clean and tidy and the room had a good amount of space. Good selection of different items at breakfast. Also the ambience of the breakfast room and the service of the staff was very pleasant. Would definitely stay again at this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Ideal for a Bavarian Break.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was 109. The bathroom door was a frosted glass effect so that when the light was on, you could see a silhouette of the person inside. Not exactly ideal when you're sharing with a friend, hehe!! The bathroom also was too big with a lot of wasted space, would've been better served to make the room bigger. A sports bar is opposite the hotel which is fine during the day but late at night can attract some "interesting" types. Literally just down the road from our hotel took us to a few private bars/clubs so please be aware if this is not your thing.

    Convenient location right next to Hauptbanhof station & close to Marienplatz.Decent sized room, nice Swiss related mural on the wall with adequate storage for 2 people & the beds were comfortable. Victoria on the reception desk was great,very amiable & helpful.She recommended a pizzeria nearby called L'osteria that was great, the pizzas were huge!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Location is great, just a few steps from S-bahn, close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small basin with inconvenient faucet, really small gap between basin and faucet.

    Location is great, just a few steps from S-bahn, close to Hbf. Staff is more than helpful. Good breakfast. It is nice to have a kettle in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfy bed with clean sheets, nice and clean shower area,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Encountered problems when logging on to wifi

    Comfy bed with clean sheets, nice and clean shower area, right opposite hauptbahnhof, 5 mins walk to Marienplatz

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.9
    Adequate
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Schillerstrasse being so close to the station, is also popular with some shady characters - due to the strip and entertainment bars nearby.

    Functional hotel, good for a stay between train journeys for instance as it is just a few minutes on foot from the central railway station (Hauptbahnhof). And a myriad of metro (subway) lines.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    After a train journey which was delayed by two hours it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    After a train journey which was delayed by two hours it was such a relief to be able to find the hotel so quickly. The staff were delightful and spoke excellent English. Breakfast was particularly good with a buffet of excellent hot and cold food. Check out was efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.4
    Receptionist was rude, didn’t explain much about the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was rude, didn’t explain much about the city when asked for it. Didn’t reply to GutenMorgen in the morning. Not interested at all about how we felt at the hotel the night before. It’s a pity to have these people facing the public. However, the bed was huge and really comfortable although we found some longhair on the shower door.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    A fine hotel on a good location near the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, I suppose they will get more participants for a breakfast when they would decrease their price of the breakfast (EUR 9,80 per person). More reasonable would be around Eur 7,50 maximal. I sat there almost 2 hours and only 1 other visitor participated me.

    Quick check inn. Hotel just fine. Internet was good. Quiet room. Television not reasonable size. Many channels of television. Bed was ok, everyting clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Recommend for early trains
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not enjoy the breakfast because it was bit expensive.

    Room was tidy and clean. The staff speak perfect English and friendly. Literally 'close' to the main station and easy to walk through the old town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.1
    good value, shame about freezing outside at 4am
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    when we arrived back at 4 am in the freezing cold reception was unattended. with a note to that fact on the door. no buzzer or phone number to contact.took almost 15 mins to get in & we had to call another friend & wake him.on his way down he bumped into the reception fella. either give a key to outer door or someway of contacting someone to get it. this put our staff score down otherwise it would of been higher

    good location for train station. goodish price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    Expansive But Good to Stay.. Next time I will choose again this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bad was not comfortable no Toiletries no Clock they provide only 1 Towel. it should be minimum 2

    Perfect Locution Friendly Staff Nice room Free Internet with good speed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel and wonderful staff
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not find anything negative to report.

    Receptionist is extremely friendly and helpful. The room is very clean, well furnished with everything you need including tea and coffee, kettle. The bathroom is very clean and well equipped. The hotel is a few minutes away from the central train station. There are plenty of food shops around the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.8
    comfortable an convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is overpriced compared to other places nearby, we chose to go out elsewhere.

    the room was great, clean and enough space. it is very close to the main railway station and to the city centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    5.0
    Go if you are on a budget - good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One pillow in the hotel room when I had clearly booked for two, room was stuffy, I didn't sleep very well and between us we did pay a large sum so overall not impressed, especially when we asked for a pillow and they said sorry can't do anything I didn't get any genius perks with late check out and I got charged for the exchange rate

    Location is good and shower facilities are good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.9
    will come back, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    I have stayed here a couple of times and I come back because I know its in a good location, the staff are friendly, the bed is comfortable and its clean, plus there is tea/coffee making facilities in the room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.3
    Good choice for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and not cozy. Window view to internal jard. ...... ... ... ...

    Location in 5 min from train station and Karlplatz. Clean room Good breakfast. .... .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice, clean hotel. Loved the breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The area is a little interesting with several strip club as neighbours. However, this does not cause problems at all and it is right across from the train station and may explain the really cheap price for the quality. Also the room was a little on the small side.

    The hotel was very nice and clean; and very cheap. It also directly across from the train station. The staff especially at the breakfast where great. The breakfast was also very good and I liked the fact your could pick and choice on the day if you wanted it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    Very good hotel close to the Hauptbahnhof and Altstadt
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast for €12.50 could have been better and a bit more diverse. If you have time, I recommend you venture into the Altstadt to find a better option.

    Considering the hotel is right next to the train station, the hotel is actually very quiet if you choose the rooms facing the courtyard. The rooms are small, but very functional, with all the necessities provided.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Convenient location to access subway, central location for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The beds weren't the most comfortable but it's a place to crash

    Convenient location to access subway, central location for walking around Munich, vending machine with beer on the 2nd floor, very quiet rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    4.2
    Nice and Friendly breakfast staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Day Staff changing all the time... not professional! Specially the night Staff are not there.... not nice people areas... and you can wait all night long before they will be open you or answer if you call.....

    Nice and Friendly breakfast staff!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    Simple but good hotel; very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is central but can be a bit dodgy during the night.

    Great location, very central. Although the area can be a bit dodgy during the night. The hotel is good but simple.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.8
    It is right next to the main train station and you are close...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area where it is located was not nice (a lot of noise, people drinking on the street, not very clean). The hotel in it self was ok.

    It is right next to the main train station and you are close to downtown, easy acces with public transport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    Great location, but at night the street is full of drunks. The room was not very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was nice, but it lacks cleaning (huge spider webs or dust clusters hanging from the ceiling). Very small but it does the trick. At night, the hotel street (as the ones around) is crowded with guys (homeless or jobless?) drinking in small groups. Is not nice and sometimes can be annoying. We witnessed a couple of incidents. So, if you are planning to go out at night and return late to hotel, this may not be a good option for you.

    Location is great. It’s a block away from the Central Train Station (and bus and subway) and all main attractions are at walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.8
    Close to the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelled badly of drains and felt dirty. Shower and toilet poorly cleaned. Sink was far too small. Bed was hard and uncomfortable. A lot of noise from nearby rooms.

    Close to the station. Not expensive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    great location next to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lots of street noise at night (we were there for Octoberfest)

    great location next to the train station. room was clean, beds comfortable, bathroom clean and modern.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Close to transport and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For some reason, there are always lots of single young men hanging around the subway entry at the start of the street - perhaps just waiting for their buddies. While it did not make us feel unsafe, but equally, we'd advise care and caution - like you would in any big city. Other than that, the hotel is actually a great place.

    5 minutes walk only from Central station. Close to quite a few good value for money cafes - handy if you're after a quick meal rather than going to restaurants every day. Staff are also very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    Charming and convenient next to main station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room - Non Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't realise that my room was actually a smoking one:( I can't believe that smoking is allowed in any indoor space.

    The staff were excellent. I dealt with Marco and Angela at Reception and they were very helpful and spoke English perfectly. A warm smile and personal treatment is hard to beat:) I liked my attic room. It was quaint and had lots of charm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit noisy late in the evening due to the busy street activity.

    The staff was awesome they even had free water coffee and tea in the room. It's a rare sight in Europe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The last day, they didn't refresh our bed properly

    Great location, just close to the central train station, close to the metro and the city centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi is ok but is unstable for the room at the end of the corridor. The vending machine is not in use. The hotel is near the bars and clubs and seem a bit dangerous to go back to hotel alone.

    The location is very good as it is very close to the train station. The room is quite clean with water boiler and hairdryer. The staff changes towels everyday. There is a lift for getting luggage upstairs. There is a wardrobe with some hangers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    BEST STAY IN MUENCHEN
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    After my escape from Italy I arrived at the hotel a day early. They were fully booked, but the manager went up and down the street until he found me a room for the night. I moved to the Helvetia the next day and loved it. The room was air conditioned, and it was hot outside. Everything worked flawlessly, including wifi. Good tv selection in English. Outstanding breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    3.8
    Woken up by people having loud sex. Not a great experiencs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely horrible stay. People having shameless sex all night so didn't sleep at all. The internet connection was horrible and I felt unsafe at night. Bad vibes. Paid 90 euros for nothing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    4.6
    All the time problem in the street between people and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the time problem in the street between people and police coming , not clean the floor in room , I book double bed but the pot single 2 bed not comfortable at all

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    Shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some weird noise from the hallway on the 4 th flour. It was going on interval on about 30 seconds. My girlfriend told to ignore it, and go to sleep.

    Very good location near center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    4.2
    Just in case of emergency - people nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast not included given the price. In the morning lot of light in the morning and such a terrible sorroundings

    Close to the station really noisy and not nice people around. I felt scared

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.5
    The room was clean and comfortable, bedding was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioning in our room was NOT working, and the staff couldn't be bothered with our complaint, other than to provide a fan after the first miserable night. It was quite warm and we were miserable with no air conditioning. Also, the water temperature fluctuated in the shower from scalding hot to freezing cold, several times in a minute. Again, staff didn't seem to want to know about our complaint.

    The room was clean and comfortable, bedding was good. Very convenient to the main train station, and plenty of places to eat and shop within a very short distance. I felt safe in the mornings walking, but would not feel safe in the evening/after dark walking on my own, would only feel safe with a companion, preferably male.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    excellent location to the train station, very good &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    looks a bit dodgy outside the hotel but is perfectly safe to be fair

    excellent location to the train station, very good & friendly staff at reception

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.9
    Location was really close to main train station but dodgy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was really close to main train station but dodgy neighbourhood.. The room leaked - they did offer to change room the second time it happened but at 9 pm we really couldn't be bothered. they also offered free breakfast voucher to compensate.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    4.2
    Never again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night the airco started leaking flooding the hotelroom. No other room was available, so I ended up in a a room flooded with water without elctricity to avoid electrocution... in return the hotel offert a free breakfast... did not really cover the crappy crappy night. Other than that bed was ok. Shower was terrible. Water temperature oscillated between burning hot and freezing cold. Not safe for kids or elderly people.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.3
    Near the train station; price to high for its quality.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area around the train station is not very recommendable. Although the management do the required cleanings, the facilities (floors, toilet, bed) are a bit shoddy. The room I was staying was a bit smelly, seemed from the mattress and/or quilts.

    if traveling by train and then by metro the location is very convenient. the management has nice attitude.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.8
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What a great place to stay. Location: Perfect. Hotel: Small, but comfy and nice. A special thanks goes to those soundproofed windows: Excellent!!!! If you want, you can listen to the sounds of the streets but when you close the window, it's totally silent. Me like!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money hotel at a central location in Munich!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The street on which the hotel is located is very noisy, expecially at night. It is also not in the very best neighbourhood, but it was not bad either (just expect some adult entertainment bars around!). The hotel does not have a bar or a lobby where you can sit.

    The room was good value for money and the hotel has a nice central location. Within a couple of minutes walk you are at the Hauptbahnhoff and you can take all kinds of public transportation. The bathroom has a good size and the quality of the towels is as you should expect. The beds are comfortable and there is airconditioning in the room for the warm days. Within a ten minutes walk you are in the city centre

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    This hotel is located within an easy walk (or U-Bahn ride!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower struggled to maintain an even temperature and the elevator/lift was a bit dodgy, but those are probably the result of the building being a bit old.

    This hotel is located within an easy walk (or U-Bahn ride!) to the Old Town at a very reasonable price. It is very close to the U-Bahn station and easy to find. We very much appreciated the complimentary coffee and tea in our room when we arrived in the middle of a hail and rain storm! Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was modern and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.8
    For a room to sleep at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small for a travelling couple with two standard size check-in luggage. It was very hard to maneuver around the room. The shower was tight and if you turn around or try to rub your back you'll hit the knob and the water will either go boiling hot or stone cold.

    The staff are amazing, communicates well in english. Area outside the hotel looks sketchy but police visibility was great. It was a 15min. walk to the famous landmarks. Location was great if your using the Munich Central Station to go in and out of the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel with a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything is OK, but please avoid the are if yo have under ages.

    First of all let me explain more about the location, yes it is central and very close to the train station, many bars , shops ,Rests are around but in the night it is terrible, please avoid this area if you are travelling with young children , also I'll not recommend this hotel and other hotels around for female solo travelers, this is just for clarification but in fact the hotel itself is very good , very close to public transpiration, staff is very supportive, I used room number 501 , it was quiet and comfortable, size of the room was adequate and the bath was adequate as well. Tea kits is inside the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.1
    Great Location, that's all I can say
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are thin, and there was no fridge.

    The location was great and quiet. The room was clean, almost all facilities were there and in good condition.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.3
    Well located for a loner or a young couple, FAMILY STAY AWAY.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located at the enter of the "red light district" of Munich and to be honest, we didn't felt safe (specially at night) Although nothing happened to us, the unpleasant general feeling of the neighborhood (seedy one) affected our trip, specially coming in and out of the hotel. Please don't go to this hotel with children. Regarding the hotel itself: small rooms, no pristine cleanliness, bad sound proof (you can hear all going on in the other rooms)

    It's very close to the train station and to the center by walking. I have to say the staff (specially the young girls during the day) were very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, value for money, and a great place to return to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water from the shower sometimes suddenly turned icy cold, then went back to normal.

    Quiet and peaceful room, a stone's throw from Hauptbahnhof station, beds were comfortable and the reception staff were friendly. Would return to this hotel if I were to come back to Munich.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: