Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Residence am Hauptbahnhof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Steindamm 24, St. Georg, 20099 Hamburg, Germany

#288 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1894 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    6.6

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    If you don't mind drug addicts, prostitutes, sex shops and gambling halls then this is a great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steep stairs and no elevator

    If you don't mind climbing very steep stairs to get to your room and have a strong back to carry your loggage, its ok for the money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location, good breakfast, nice restaurants close by,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area is a bit run down but it didn’t matter. Didn’t feel dangerous.

    Great location, good breakfast, nice restaurants close by, supermarket next door, excellent access to main train station. Great room for a family of 4.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.2
    Rooms were noisy, and far too hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were noisy, and far too hot. The beds uncomfortable, and the hotel light was illuminated all night long which went the room was light up all night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.6
    strange
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    found the Hotel considerably overpriced for it Location and condition. It was old and a bit run down. I was clearly disappointed with the Hotel although I did find the reception had very nice employees.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Hamburg, a city old & new
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People should be aware that to get to the elevator you need to go up 1 long steep set of stairs, dark hallways and plenty more steps.

    Friendly service, close to central station, quiet room, large bathroom, nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Couple..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steps upto the lift were daunting when having to carry luggage and if you have anyone who is mobility impaired they will not be able to get up the stairs.

    The staff at front desk were very helpful and carried luggage up the stairs. They also organised an early wake up call.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Well worth a visit!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly confusing to find the way with lift only from 1st floor, not reception

    Nice clean rooms with excellent facilities. Much better than expected.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.3
    Ok for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only half of the staff was friendly Street was full of garbage Feeling of unease/danger in the neighborhood No lights on the corridors No elevator Some maintenance was due on some parts of the room

    It was really close to the hbf

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    great value, great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the street has a lot of movement, some sex shops, people drinking at the street,a cheap casino not a nice area, however we walk by late at night without a problem.

    Location just a few steps from main rail station, and 10 minutes walk from downtown. For the price I was expecting an old building . it was a pleasant surprise, our room was updated, it look like a chain hotel ( maybe a IBIS) nice modern bathroom, front desk 24 hrs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    disapointed from racist reception rules
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you have a vistior who doesn`t look german, the visitor will have to present his passport at the reception. This doesnt apply to visitors who look or speak german. I had three friends visiting me. Two Germans and one from Taiwan. The first German friend came in asked or my name and the receptionist was even happy to give him my room keys!!! But when i had a friend from taiwanese embassy visting me. I was asked if i booked a doulbe or single room and he had to leave his passport at the recetion during his stay at the hotel. That`s racist. My third friend was german and he had to problems to come it same as the first one.

    the location is very near to the main station / Hauptbahnhof

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    I think i would choose this place again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You don't hear sounds from the street, but you perfectly hear your neighbors. Small room and no teapot. Situated near railway and bus station, so in the evening there are too many unpleasant people, dont walk alone

    Situated in the center, comfortable beds, clean, good bathroom, tasty breakfasts, perfect price, nice people - especially Hadi!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    2.5
    Avoid! Really bad experience
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist and the fact that they advertise breakfast picture and when you go there they are asking you if you want for extra money. No pressure on the water. And before you go to the lifts that are joke and scary you need to carry all your luggages through lots of stairs

    The place was bad, very bad and dangerous area. Don't go!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel near city centre
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't expect the Ritz. This is a very simple, basic hotel. Great for a last minute, inner city stay.

    Surprisingly nice (basic) hotel for the very affordable price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.8
    Oke hotel, bad neighborhood which feels very unsafe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area makes the overall score of the hotel just very low. It doesn't look safe at all. Wouldn't go here with my family.

    Hotel is fine, close to train station and center city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money, just 5min walking distance from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unpleasant street outside, breakfast was ok but don't expect too much, walking to my room felt like going through a maze

    Good value for money, just 5min walking distance from the main station, spacious room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.3
    I would stay here again only if I didn't have other options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The central station area is trashy. You have to cross the Steindamm street and go to another hotel for breakfast. You have to scale a long and steep staircase to get to the elevator.

    It is right next to the central station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    6.3
    The price is fair for a hotel which is so close to the main...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was freshly renovated. Some upgrades to the rest would re-valorize the hotel.

    The price is fair for a hotel which is so close to the main station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Felt like i got scammed when I was asking to print stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Felt like i got scammed when I was asking to print stuff. And was charge money (For about 20 pages). Which was annoying, but everything else was good. Food and my room was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    a very convinient to "sleep and go" strategy :)
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to expect a luxury for a budget price :) No serious complaints.

    A good place for a short stay. Walking distance to the City Centre. Free parking at night. A neighborhood perhaps a bit too "entertaining" but not really dangerous :) Recommended especially for overnight after a journey with next day in great Hamburg.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel in a poor location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in a run down location with sex shops around and prostitutes on the street.

    The breakfast was very nice particularly considering that the buffet was in such a small space.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    I was supprised by wonderful, cozy little room that offered all that room in the expensive hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some people from the street stoped by and asked how much would cost a night to stay and they did not look like good people, but person at the reception desk did good job telling them that all was booked for the night.

    nice clean sheets - white, feather down

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    6.3
    The hotel is very close to the central train station, though...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was poorly insulated so I was woken up several times in the middle of the night by other guests . There is no tea or coffee in the room.

    The hotel is very close to the central train station, though in an animated street. I would not go there with small children.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.7
    It was okey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water was unstable. Istead of one double bed there were 2 single beds together. But they dont stay together. Thats why bed was uncomfy. Sheets were also uncomfy.

    Location was great, was clean. 24 hours reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    Good for a one night stay in Hamburg when in transit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very dated, except for the bathroom which had recently been renovated. There were two very steep flights of stairs to reach my room. Fortunately, one of the staff helped me with my luggage!

    Location: easy to find when arriving from the Main Railway station Staff: Friendly reception staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Good location, functional and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Personally, two flights of relatively steep stairs were challenging for me.

    The hotel was minutes from the central station and easy to find. Staff were friendly, the room was cleaned early each day to a high standard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel. A shame about the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault the hotel but the street the hotel is on is awful. A lot of dodgy characters hang around on the street I felt like I needed to keep a firm grip on my handbag at all times. My boyfriend was also propositioned by a prostitute whilst having a cigarette outside the hotel. Prostitues are dotted all along the street as well as the local alcoholics.

    Pleasant staff. Lovely clean room with comfy beds and pillows. One minute walk from the main train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.1
    Close to the main station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been good to have directions from the hotel as to which exit to come out of at the station and easiest way to find it (with some landmarks) - my google directions seemed to send us around the station! Although I liked the area in the daytime, arriving just before dark with two children it felt a bit 'edgy'.

    The hotel was a short walk from the main train station and we found it once we'd got our bearings. It was a good place to be for a first visit to Hamburg - we walked into the centre on our second day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.8
    quiet room if window shut then street noise not heard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location awful. too many stairs to climb with heavy suitcase, no offer of help to get suitcase upstairs to floor 1, where i could take lift. if i had known i would not have booked as i expected a lift or at least someone to be called to help me get suitcase upstairs. Location awful because again steps up to reception with heavy suitcase, plus neighborhood is full of betting shops and beggars on streets. i think the price was too expensive for it being in this type of street. lot of shops on this street looked run down.

    quiet room if window shut then street noise not heard. Bed comfy. Breakfast average but ok for price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.3
    Not too bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street the hotel was on was dirty, rubbish everywhere and too many men hanging around that I wouldn't trust.

    Once we got away from the hotel the city was so much nicer to walk around

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Good and clean near station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very close to train and bus stations, shops and places to eat. Almost next to a supermarket. Very friendly and polite staff. The room was spotless, good and spacious modern bathroom, free Wi-Fi worked fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    4.2
    By no way a 3 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receiptionist was unfriendly, which gave us a feeling of discomfort from the first moment. We spoke in German, while he insisted to speak in English for an unknown reason !! The value for money is very low, compared to many other hotels we stayed at, the room was very over priced. The room was small, internal i.e. gets no sunlight, has faint illumination, there was no elevator to the first floor which is really high level with many stairs. Actually the pictures of the rooms as well as the stairs are different from the reality, and this was not the only cheating issue, There was a mineralwater glass in the room, which we discovered it was filled from the tape water and closed in a way to seem as if it's sealed !!! We wonder how could this place be a 3 stars hotel, it would be acceptable as a hostel, but in no way a hotel, it doesn't even deserve one star !!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    This was a very comfortable stay near Main Railway Station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What I don't like in most small hotels on Steindamm, is that they don't have an evevator. In this Hotel Residence there is a huge stairway to the first floor from the ground floor, and if you carry a large suitcase it will be a tough thing to climb it up that stairway. And not to fall down when descending with it )) The door to the rooms is locked by a classic key, not by an electronic card. Not very secure in my opinion. And you have to leave the key on reception if you go out.

    This was a very comfortable stay near Main Railway Station, only 40 EUR for the room and 7 EUR breakfast, maybe you can get this price if booking in advance. My room had three (!) separate beds, and a sofa, it was a very big room with high ceilings, like most of the old-looking houses on Steindamm. I recommend this place if you plan to go by train or bus from Hamburg to somewhere else, to Hauptbahnhof(railway station) or ZOB (bus station) you just walk not more than five minutes. Check out from hotel is latest at 11AM

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    5.8
    For that price I have got better even in Paris and even Munich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing special here. The hotel looks good in the picture but not as I expected in reality. Only soap available in the bathroom. The neighbourhood is not that appealing.

    Quite clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    3.8
    Find somewhere else!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    To get to the hotel you experience all the local colour, the drug dealers, rough sleepers,beggars, filthy pavements and not forgetting the rough prostitutes. The hotel was very dogeared and our beds were past their sell by date by a significant margin. We required a twin bedded room and what we got was a shower room with bed in what was no more than a corridor measuring two meters by eighteen meters.

    The exercise climbing 50 steps to our room! I don't think. In all fairness it was clean. The breakfast room reminded me of a transport cafe the I was fond of fifty years ago.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.2
    Good value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the general area might need getting used to for people who are seldom in a larger city as it is right next to the main train station, but nobody ever bothered us and at night it was (surprisingly) quiet

    it's right next to the main train station and therefore easy to access, it has great connection to the public transport, the staff is friendly, the reception is 24h open, the rooms + bathrooms have apparently recently been renovated and are very nice and clean, the breakfast was good, the coffee great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    6.3
    Unkind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attitude of the receptionist.

    I did not even sleep in my bed, but the morning when me and a friend got back to the hotel, my friend needed to use the toilet. I was only packing my stuff because I had to check out. However, the receptionist would not even allow my friend to accompany me to my room to use the toilet. I thought that it was very unkind.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    4.6
    Ok - if emergency
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is functional but very simply - for a very short stay is ok. Hotels environment not very appealing.

    Receptionist was very friendly and helpful, but when I arrived there were no place in their parking lot... so I should have to find own solution - despite my previouse phone call regarding parking. Very dissapointing and frustrating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    2.5
    Kunde inte bo på detta hotell då det saknade hiss och...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kunde inte bo på detta hotell då det saknade hiss och trapporna var alldeles för branta och besvärliga. Var dock och tittade på rummet som var relativt litet men i övrigt såg ok ut. Allmänt verkade hotellet "murrigt" och definitivt inget att rekommendera. Omgivningen var heller inget extra - verkade lite stökigt.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.9
    Two days of culture and sight-seeing in Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The eggs were certainly fluffy and the bed was extremely comfortable. There are 3 hotels in the same street which belong to the same group. We were put in Hotel Terminus because there is a lift which my wife needs. We were immediately struck by the Van Gogh picture of Sunflowers above the bed. Everything about the room was just right. It was quiet and cosy. Breakfast was very good. The cappuccino was warmer than the black coffee.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    5.0
    if you need room,okey
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cold water when you take shower in night 2-3 minuts you have warm water and later cold ! Wifi depend of day , room okey, but without option make a tea, without fridge , and they give you normal key! not plastic cards ,you give they key for you room , every time when you go out ,this is not save option for you things in room, 3* have this hotel but I think 2* is a lot ,price hight for this standard

    very good location, close to metro station

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    7.1
    definitely worth the price I paid.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asking for a room with a double bed and given a room with three single beds with 2 of them pushed together. No double sheets to help keep te two single beds together... so, you end up sleeping on a single bed as the other separates if whenever turn over. FAIL!!!!

    I hate cold rooms, so I was happy the radiator was working instantly when you turn it up and it's really warm... if you like that kind of thing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    Very central and excellent access to public transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access to the room needed some stair climbing. There was a lift though, just a bit rickety.

    The clean white linen, TV, bath tub, quiet in the room at night despite being in a well frequented area during night and day,everything was spot on, including the excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    4.6
    Central station located cheap hotel if you are forced. Avoid, if you wish pleasent stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very bad area, complicated maze of corridors inside the building, they cleaning every second day, personnel helpfulness is limited

    Short distance to the central station, not the highest price

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    7.1
    Cheap and near to station, but at a shady street
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The street it is one is one of Hamburg's shadier streets. The water in the shower oscillated between warm and cold.

    its nearby the station which is good. It was really cheap, when I bought it (last minute): 30 Euro per night. The rooms are fine and clean, like a normal full-prize hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    9.6
    Very clean and comfortable accommodation just like your àhome
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed,the room, the toilet facilities very clean

    Very lovely hotel,everything about the hotel was very impressed but I don't have my breakfast in the morning sorry about that.because am not a breakfast person

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.6
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a water cooker can be added.

    The location was great. The price was also great as it was only 40 €/night. We stayed for one night so we did not have much interaction with the staff. Another good thing was the 24h check-in.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.2
    a good location close to the city but don't expect a high class neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    one of our rooms had no hot water for most of our stay and the immediate area around the hotel is a little down at heel

    convenient location to main railway station and just a short walk to town centre

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    6.3
    Great location and perfect for a sightseeing or shopping weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator. Only from the first floor but not going to the second. Staff was not really friendly but was fine.

    The hotel is great located directly next to the main station (4 'mins walk). I read many comments about the street where the hotel is located in and i can say it's all fine and no need to worry. You'll fine some sex shopes and many kiosks or little casinos - that's it. I would never call it a red district.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    7.1
    Good basic hotel for fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street in which the hotel is located is a big Street, it hosts casino's and sex shops. Not a nice and cosy surrounding.

    Great Central location, close to the main station nice staff Basic hotel for a fair price

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    6.3
    N/A
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Staff is not friendly and not support information much when we have asked 2) no elavator from 1st Floor and difficult to climb ladders with luggage and without support from staff 3) no kettle in the room

    1) Room is big and comfortable 2) very good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    5.0
    One night stand
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is horrible.A very dirty streetm with "House of sex" almost opposite the hotel!Suspicious people walking around, beggers disturbing you. You can't feel safe there. Reception wanted me to pay for breakfast twice. I paid on arrival but they insisted next morning that I had to pay yet. You better let them give you a bill when you have paid anything extra!

    The room was clean, the bathroom big, breakfast ok.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    5.8
    Pay a Few Euros More & Stay Someplace Nicer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disinterested staff. Shower leaked water flooding the bathroom floor. Baggage storage is completely non-secure. Lots of drunks, homeless hanging around hotel entrance and on the street. Very noisy at night - lots of yelling, etc.

    Comfortable bed. good water pressure in the shower, plenty of hot water, very clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    5.4
    Good for a one-night stop in Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its located behind the station and the neighbourhood is a little "hardcore". Staff not always so nice. No room service after 12

    Close to the city center. The room was pretty big and bright. Big windows fully extendable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    7.5
    We didn't have breakfast -- so we cannot comment on the...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't have breakfast -- so we cannot comment on the croissants. The area aroud the Hbf is rather "seedy" but the hotel staff cannot control that -- and, anyway, after 50-1200metres it all changes. The room and bathroom were clean (the essential requirements) and the staff were (mostly) friendly -- though check-out took some time owing to an unattended desk on the morning of our departure.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Best budget hotel in Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks less appealing in the outside than it does on the inside

    Excellent size room with good facilities and super fast wifi

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Location near railwaystation,value for the money
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cofee on the breakfast was misserable

    Location near railwaystation,value for the money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.0
    Very dirty.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dirty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    2.9
    I wouldn’t stay here again.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 45 that I was staying in had BED BUGS. When I realised I got out of there and went to a friends room instead.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast was a good value and plenty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a good value and plenty. Tbe staff helpful. I had a single room single bed but it was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Great price/value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very clean. Breakfast was basic but very tasty and had quality. Staff was super friendly. The room was huge and very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    6.3
    just ok. clean, basic rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    basic, not alot of facilities

    close to central train station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    stinky drainage
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room smelled like rotten eggs because of the stinky drainage. After a long discussion with the staff we finally got another room.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable hotel, good facilities in a downtown area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area was downtrodden and the street full of hustlers and sex shops

    Clean and comfortable room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few negatives, central location, close to transport, shops and amenities. Good breakfast nice friendly staff. Nice stay and will stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.8
    Not a great area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.0
    The area around main station is horrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area around main station is horrible

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Close to trainstation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to trainstation

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    One of the rooms smelled of smoke, we had a light that...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the rooms smelled of smoke, we had a light that didn't work. But overall ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Near to HBF and Central Bus Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No good restaurants nearby.

    Very good room and location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Value for money is great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud neighbors thin walls

    Value for money is great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    4.6
    Wouldn’t allow us to pay for late check out even though they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn’t allow us to pay for late check out even though they had room in the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    All was good
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price that I paid it was very good and clean room. Stuff very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.0
    bey for the cridt card
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bey for the cridt card i like to by with cash and they refiused

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.0
    Good location and very good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nervous staff, thin walls, small room

    Good location and very good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    It's really very good experience
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's really very good experience

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Residence am Hauptbahnhof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: