Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Hotel Hamburg International This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hammer Landstr. 200-202, 20537 Hamburg, Germany

#151 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 945 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was very near to the unterground station and that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very near to the unterground station and that gave us the chance to go in the centre easily.It also had a very large parking and the price was very reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    VERY GOOD LOCATION FOR A WONDERFUL CITY_ EXCELLENT TRANSPORT LINKS
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NO AIR CONDITIONING AND POOR VENTILATION IN VERY SMALL ROOMS AROUND A COURTYARD WITH ONLY ONE WINDOW THAT COULD NOT BE OPENED WIDE AS A PUBLIC WALKWAY RAN OUTSIDE

    Location/cleanliness/staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    5.8
    staff was very friendly, hotel based closed to metro, easy...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    main point - nobody advised me about accommodation not at hotel building but at some kind of American style motel ("on gallery" as per hotel staff words) which was quite noisy during night time. be careful when doing booking with that hotel and clarify in advance about your room location.

    staff was very friendly, hotel based closed to metro, easy go to city center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    A nice hotel with very friendly staff, good for short stops. We will use again when back next year
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only ate in the restaurant once as it was (very nice) buffet food but at a single price per head, it was expensive for the small amount my children eat.

    Very friendly staff. Spacious room for family of 4, cleaned each day. Not much found in the immediate area but only a few stops on a very good train service to the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is comfortable and the staff very friendly. Great breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room a good size.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    We have been staying here for many years and intend to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been staying here for many years and intend to continue doing so for many more years. The staff are extremely friendly and professional and no wish will go unfulfilled. The rooms are bright and modern, and the WiFi is good. The hotel is close to the underground train and only a few stops away from the city centre. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    Good location, close to train station and supermarkets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive breakfast, no fridge in the room

    Good location, close to train station and supermarkets. Nice spacious room, quiet place, nice inner garden

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double room was not a double bed when I said that I had booked a double room expecting a double bed but was met with the response that it is not what I booked and they may be able to accommodate me with one the following day! After two days heavy travelling neither of us had the energy or will to pack again and move room! Due to the nature of our visit we where late rising and vacating our room on a couple of occasions and our room was rush cleaned in fact one day the twin beds where left in their cleaning position and not out back also our coffee and milk was not at all replenished. Also a few English channels on the tv would be nice as my partner speaks no German at all

    The staff where generally polite and helpful overall

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.0
    Find somewhere else
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are paper thin. Place is very noisy so that if your neighbour is violently ill at 0330am, it wakes you up. Plus the cleaning ladies make so much noise it doesn't matter if you have a 'do not disturb' sign out. Room smells of damp. If you ask for a double, two singles isn't the same, at all.

    Good restaurant just round the corner. Close to the Metro station. Rooms are a good size. Indoor parking is pretty cheap.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    It was the best part of our terrible day (we missed the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the best part of our terrible day (we missed the plane). We arrived to the hotel to sleep few hours before going back to airport, we got a perfect service and friendly attitude, rooms have minibars, bathrooms have all necessary sets, even a tooth brush, beds are comfy and aircon is cooling softly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Hotel is very nice, easy access to Public Transport. All staff extremely friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It advertises Sky TV in all rooms, but only German channels. Breakfast is a bit steep at 13 Euros per person. When room made up in morning, tea/coffee not replenished had to ask reception for more supplies, which they were happy to oblige with and apologised.

    Easy access to Public Transport. Even though on a main road it was quiet. Rooms very nice and clean. Reasonable price for level of hotel. Good place to stay only 10 mins from City Centre via U-Bahn. Bar quite nice, Bar Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.4
    Location is close to a subway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two joined "twin" beds despite on a distinctly requested "double" and "1 large double bed" in the room description on booking.com. Staff said, all of their double beds are similar and do not have common mattress.

    Location is close to a subway station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, with well equipped large rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini-bar / refrigerator in the room, unfortunately.

    Great espacious room and U2 - U4 Metro lines just across the street. Comfortable large bed and very clean bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    The room was decent in size and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was decent in size and clean. Very close to a metro station, though not very close to the city center. Close to a supermarket and a bank, in a pretty quiet neighborhood. Good breakfast offer, and a nice enough bar, with a really nice bartender.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    Great Hotel, well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although we didn't have a problem as such, the overall space for car parking was smallish.

    A peaceful hotel on a main road a few mile from the centre of Hamburg with very good public transport in easy reach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    Good impression.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some smal things that nice to have are minibar and safe.

    The property location is good, only 4 metro stops from Rail Central station. The breakfast could be more various, but generally good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    6.7
    Ok for coupleof days only
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed , old room , no safe box working in the room, no mini bar fridge , heating not good isolated , smell of smoking on neighboor room

    Location close to metro and easily access to downtown and airport

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.9
    A large room, good location, easy to travel to centrum of...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff a bit "stiff" could be more relaxed, this was also my previous experience

    A large room, good location, easy to travel to centrum of Hamburg. Free parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    6.7
    Nice for a 3 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection poor. Only 2 devices can be connected. Breakfast not included in price.

    Clean. Outside Hamburg centre so no extra traffic. Parking spaces available with hotel. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.5
    Clean
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there were a bellboy or someone who helped with the luggage. No one even held the door to help me carry 3 heavy bags. Breakfast and dinner expensive

    Clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    7.9
    Rooms were clean, close to the ubahn station
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to carry my three heavy bags up and down myself. Breakfast was expensive. Dinner was very expensive and not varies enough.

    Rooms were clean, close to the ubahn station

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    9.6
    Perfect birthday celebration
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about!

    The staff was very friendly and welcoming towards all of us but especially towards the children and dogs in our group. We were celebrating a birthday and it was no problem to reserve a table for 10 and decorate it in advance. Nothing was too much effort. Brilliant stay!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    7.1
    Accessible stay in quiet area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Older hotel at new hotel prices. When I ask the staff, I was not sure, if breakfast was included they said yes and it was extra on the bill. After arguement it was reversed as I would not have taken it at their price if it was not included in the rate.

    Proximity to Metro station. Quiet area. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    8.8
    Would probably go again but would ask to stay in the main building, not the courtyard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Expensive breakfast.. it costs less to go for breakfast on the lake-front (including metro ticket!) I didn't like the motel-style courtyard rooms, because if you wanted to open the window you risked having people walk past and look in and you got the smoke from cigarettes blowing in too.

    Great staff, great location just opposite the metro and near two supermarkets. One of our party had to leave early on urgent family business, staff were very understanding and helpful. Shower was nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Very comfortable and staff were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning

    Very comfortable and staff were helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.0
    Too noisy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfy bed, free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con, road facing rooms quite noisy with open windows

    Comfy bed, free parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Small bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Bed / pillows super confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed / pillows super confortable great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.7
    parking and location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bedroom was small and cold

    parking and location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    5.8
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small flies noisy outside next to scooters and street level.

    Bathroom clean room clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.3
    Good and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unstable internet connection.

    Nice price/quality ratio.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel on the east outskirts of Hamburg. Easy train access in to centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame hotel bar closed on Sundays

    The automatic shoe cleaning machine

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location with public transportation and supermarkets nearby, friendly staff, parking available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    Good price short tram ride to the Hbf
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1am Plumbing problem, they relocated us

    Near restaurants and market.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Good location. Very close to subway. A clean and convinient room. Hotel bar is also good. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location close to u-Bahn and park
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner, the smell in the room and noise from the street when window opened

    Perfect location close to u-Bahn and park

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough free parking space available. Garage costs 10€ per 24h.

    Comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.8
    Opatija
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small ROOM BIG COMPLEINS

    Moderan hotel, New design

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.5
    Ok. Only sleep
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air condition.!!!!!! Is not present!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Conveniently located in residential suburb close to U-bahn...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Conveniently located in residential suburb close to U-bahn and short ride into the city

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Just a few miles outside the main centre of Hamburg - exactly what we wanted

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.1
    Very friendly staff and clean hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was extremely small, and I had a blood stain on my pillow.

    Very friendly staff and clean hotel. Easy to travel with public transport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.9
    Very good location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.1
    I keep the address !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Impossible to connect to Wifi in the room, I had to work from the bar

    Beds are very comfortable and breakfast is perfect

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.8
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was rather hot during the night time.

    Comfy bad and cleanliness of the room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    7.5
    We choosed this hotel instead of other 4 star hotels because...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We choosed this hotel instead of other 4 star hotels because this hotel has its own parking area. And the wifi is free :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    Perfect place to relax -
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything -

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    7.1
    Room and bathroom were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was on the opposite side of the street but there was some noise in the morning since there are some other businesses around. So in the summer when you sleep with the window open could be a bit annoying. Location is also more or less ok, depending on whether you mind to go to the center by metro or not. But it is not far, so that was ok for us too.

    Room and bathroom were clean.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    7.5
    Good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi in the room is unstable.

    Good breakfast. Very nearby a tube station (about 15 mns to downtown). 2 supermarkets and 2 restaurants in the surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    6.7
    Receptionist made mistake and did not understand my humour...
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Receptionist made mistake and did not understand my humour in solving it ( in German ) but saw me more as a witness to her mistake and a further nuisance.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Despite being clearly mentioned that there will be a bathtub, the room only had a shower. The receptionist argued saying it was bathtub or shower even though I always filter hotels by bathtub and it was clearly mentioned on booking.com. The wi-fi signal was extremely weak. It just about worked in the morning but it didn't work at all in the evening/night. Couldn't even open emails. We changed rooms (closer to the reception) after 1 night and still no bathtub and same weak wi-fi signal. I never had such a weak wi-fi in any of my hotels, even the hostel nearby had stronger signal. :o

    Location

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    8.8
    Staff was friendly and spoke english//very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No a/c which was not a big problem because of the cool weather/ put screens on the windows to stop the bugs from coming into the window

    Staff was friendly and spoke english//very close to two train stations/ clean rooms and the hotel bar hadan excellent older white male bartender//

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.5
    Staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Ac - during hot days/nights it was quite uncomfy without it. Street is quite noisy = hence no open windows

    Staff was very helpful. Bathroom was very nice and overall looked like a Best Western should look like

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    4.2
    The staff were nice and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the hotel does not have air conditioning. So I was boiling. Even the reception area didn't have any cooling system. They could have put a fan at least. ........ For the price they charge , my bed sheets was not charged for the four nights that I was there.

    The staff were nice and helpful

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    7.9
    Spacious room with comfortable beds, coffee maker and kettle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Spacious room with comfortable beds, coffee maker and kettle with tea. Convenient location to Hauptbahnhof. Friendly service.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    7.5
    Overall a good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Overall a good experience. Location is good. Very close to public transport.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.2
    Our room was a good size and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was a good size and quiet. Bathroom a little small but well-equipped.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    6.7
    Easy way to get by car to the center of the town.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    small bathroom.

    Easy way to get by car to the center of the town.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    7.5
    Internet connection
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet connection

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    5.4
    Worst Internet ever
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Worst Internet ever

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.9
    Good location, few steps from metro station and few stations...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms from street side are quite loud.

    Good location, few steps from metro station and few stations from the city center. New and clean bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.5
    The hotel itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi connection is kind of weak becausebi guess there is jo password and its open to anyone.

    The hotel itself.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.3
    Very close to the metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very close to the metro station.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.3
    Lots of space
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Room very hot, with window open to noisy.

    Lots of space

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    6.7
    The personal was very kind to us and our dogs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The personal was very kind to us and our dogs.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    8.8
    A large room, good location, easy to travel to centrum of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast not included

    A large room, good location, easy to travel to centrum of Hamburg. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    7.1
    Position perfect
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Position perfect

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    10
    location and near to metro
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    location and near to metro

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    7.1
    Close to subway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi continuously dropped off The information book was out dated with incorrect information.

    Close to subway Nice staff Clean room

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    9.2
    Confortable and clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Confortable and clean room

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2015

    8.8
    Nice and helpful staff, best wishes to Juri, close to U-bahn
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    there wasn't anything I didn't like

    Nice and helpful staff, best wishes to Juri, close to U-bahn

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    6.7
    A lot of noise from the traffic at night time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A lot of noise from the traffic at night time

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Browse Best Western Hotel Hamburg International traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: