Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Hildesheim This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Bahnhofsallee 38, 31134 Hildesheim, Germany

#14 of 25 hotels in Hildesheim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 698 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    O.K. for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room (2 adults & 2 children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is obviously a "business" hotel, not designed for the holidaymaker. We had a large room but with only one comfortable chair.

    Comfortable bed, large room reasonable shower and toiletries.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Good value for money highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Recommended for family vacation. Indoor facilities for children to have fun

    Excellent location close to city centre good restaurant and bars are within reach. Very clean, nice staff good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults & 2 children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no air conditioning to cool us down and the two fans provided didn't help a lot. Not a great choice of meals in the restaurant and too expensive.

    We arrived on a very hot day after a long journey and the reception staff pointed out that there were cold drinks in the free mini bar. Needless to say that we took full advantage. The executive room was very spacious and the beds comfortable. Breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A nice hotel clearly oriented towards business travelers with a spacious lobby, meeting rooms, large and very comfortable guest rooms, and ample parking on site. Within walking distance of the city center and restaurants. Very attractive grounds. Recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location - I'd have no hesitation staying here again any time I was in Hildesheim.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The grounds of the hotel were beautiful to sit out in and the location was perfect - just 5 mins walk from the central square but far enough away to be quiet & secluded.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    The stuff was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Base on some old left over facility to develop become hotel. I'm not a very superstitious person, but I didn't rest very well for for 3 nights.

    The stuff was great. Good services.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable bed and room. Not so great shower and WiFi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mixing tab at the shower did not mix so it was burning and freezing at the same time. Water did not flow down the drain properly. The free WiFi is the worst that I have experienced

    Dinner offering at the Kennedy’s Bar (convenient booths)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Good location, close to public transportation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sometimes you can hear the noise from the corridor.

    Good location, close to public transportation. Very clean and spacious room. Check-in and check-out was very smooth.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.4
    Ok hotel but service and beds can be a lot better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception on the other hand was uninterested and sometimes plain rude. When I nicely asked for a rubber band- a man threw them at me! When I asked the lady about a different type of payment she said no and shrugged her shoulders like I was a bother. Not a nice check- in. The double room on the 3rd floor had a thin single duvet and I was cold half of the night. The pillow was hard as well with no other one in the closet.

    The restaurant staff was very hospitable! They really made an effort.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    6.7
    Building is having character
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With arrival after midnight, hearing system was already off and room was freezing. Reception desk reacted not pleased to be asked to bring an extra blanket (“cant that wait as is not easy for me?”). For rest, hotel is good and fair value for money. Guest orientation in general was poor. A good manager would not allow that, so i imagine the manager should do some self-reflection on customer vaue and leading by example...?

    Building is having character

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.9
    Served the purpose. Close to downtown and central train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and especially bathroom were dated. The shower door did not close well.

    Check in and out were very quick. The front desk was pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.8
    Elegant hotel to relax in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room floors need renovating. But there is nothing really negative.

    Breakfast is great. Beds are wide & comfortable. The town is lovely. The hotel building is delightful. Lots of public space in the hotel. Easy access from the autobahn, but not too close. Quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    I would stay here everytime I travel to Hildesheim
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stunning interior, clean, beautiful building, nice staff, comfy beds, great bathroom, great Tv, The best for my husband was the Nespresso machine in our room with free coffee and also a kettle with tea and hot chocolate!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxing good quality hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. It was fine.

    Breakfast is superb. Room is large, beds are wide, bed linen is crisp & white. The hotel is in nice grounds and is solidly built. It has standing. Staff are helpful. Many extra little touches - apples, umbrellas...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    5.8
    Nice location and huge parking.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds and pillows!!! Did not sleep that all - crazy. The hotel is not the cheapest one so Im sure they can afford better pillows. I had feeling Im sleeping on the towel, it was so thin. Im not the first one writting about this isssue so really dont understant why they dont change them. Will try another hotel next time.

    Nice location and huge parking. Hotel looks really cool. Big and clean rooms. Irish Pub close to the hotel :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on the xmas days only until 9:30am, room cleaning less detailed Staff did not replace lotion, shower gel etc. I missed the candles in the windows at night (loved those last year)

    Friendly staff,good location,

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    5.0
    the hotel is very close to the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled like urea for the whole stay. Bedsheets and pillows were barely bearable. The bathroom had very limited hanging possibilities.

    the hotel is very close to the center

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    10
    That & More
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    pillows were flat hard to get comfortable

    short walk to center of town and train station rooms were always clean staff were always friendly breakfast was always fresh nice to have bar available for nightcap

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    6.3
    quite a lot of money for an uncomfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very poor, lumpy and soft, pillows were very soft, so did not sleep well.

    The location, lovely town and not too far from hannover. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel in a location close enough to Hannover for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real complaints, although bathroom in my room was getting a little tired.

    Nice hotel in a location close enough to Hannover for exhibitions etc. Restaurant used to be very pricey but has a new menu that suits all tastes a bit better.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    God og billig parkering
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Morgenmaden var alt for dyr Breakfast was much to expensive 19 euro

    God og billig parkering Good and sheap parking 8 euro

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    That it is located in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have air condition or at least a fan

    That it is located in the city center

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Nice bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults & 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noice outside the window

    Nice bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    The room was very comfortable , the view through the window...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very comfortable , the view through the window and the sound of bird singing at morning . The breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff, good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults & 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows... not good to big

    Friendly staff, good food Location was very central Excellent parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.1
    In general a good Hotel for business trips.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi system is a little bit slow if you want to use Netflix.

    In general a good Hotel for business trips.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    Just fantastic and a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults & 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV, missed a very important handball game Denmark - Sweden

    Everything okay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel with a perfect room for a family of four
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults & 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel with a perfect room for a family of four

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice place to stay on your way to southern Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a nice a comfortable hotel in the city of Hildesheim, close to everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too much noise in the room coming from busy road nearby.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.0
    Very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy close to the high street

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.5
    Good ,comfortable hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not many selections for English tv channels

    Rooms were clean Breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for parking, high price for breakfast

    Wonderful large room, friendly reception all in all a great place to stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice Spacious Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could do better on the pillows.

    Spacious, large parking but payable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    8.3
    a great place to stay, close to motorway.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent character hotel, easy access to shops, plenty of parking , free.. quiet at night

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    8.8
    good location and environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    passageway is too cold by comparing to room

    good location and environment

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    6.3
    Helpless reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room (2 adults & 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpless reception staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    6.3
    Well equipped hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception totally helpless. Weak internet.

    Well equipped hotel. Helpful staff serving breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    5.4
    Parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else. Rooms totally spartan

    Parking

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    5.4
    Convenient location but not 4 star. Basic accommodation only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are too hard. There is no hair conditioner. Elevator was not working for 1 day

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    10
    A beautiful peaceful hotel with delicious breakfast and very friendly staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults & 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A beautiful building with clean and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.6
    Very nice location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    6.7
    Nice clean hotel good staff, nice bar, good buffet breakfast...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I like a good bed to sleep in this was not, even my wife found the bed lumpy and uncomfortable. The pillows are useless put your head on it and it is like having nothing there. Did not sleep well which is what I needed. The rooms are not air conditioned which I have grown use too staying in a 4 * hotel. For the price I paid 127 + 38 Euro for breakfast, I expect more and it would not be for me.

    Nice clean hotel good staff, nice bar, good buffet breakfast, great parking, right in the centre.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    10
    Will be coming back another time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Will be coming back another time. Perfectly located - easy to get to from the highway and just a few minutes walk from downtown. Everything was excellent! Helpful staff, comfortable bed, nice view, excellent breakfast, clean room etc.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    7.1
    We slept very well in comfortable beds and the breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The restaurant was unfortunately closed when we were there. One of the reasons why we booked the hotel was that they had a restaurant and a children's menu, but now we got to eat in the bar instead. The food though was OK, just not what we expected.

    We slept very well in comfortable beds and the breakfast was fine.

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast was very good, check in and out fast.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The night man at the reception is not the correct person for novotel standards. I forgot my charger for Iphone 6 and when I asked the man he said without trying to find a solution no we don’t have it that’s it his face even he did not care about it!!! Look a person should say I am sorry all the charger are used by other guest this is the correct answer. On the other hand I staid also in 3 start hotel they have it and novotel does not what a shame for such a good hotel!!!

    Breakfast was very good, check in and out fast. room also nice and warm. Bar was ok I liked it having a drink and watching sky football...

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    8.3
    spacious and clean room
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Too much noise. Room was located near main road. Better windows should be used at such locations.

    spacious and clean room good selection for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.5
    Big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No airco in rooms (only in working space) with 30 degrees outside terrible. To hot to sleep with blankets to cold without didnt sleep well. To expensive 110 euro for a 1 p room with 1p bed. If you are unlucky and neighbours are noicy you got a problem. The rooms are connected in height with air tubes so when they played loud music in the room above me i could hear it in my room enough that you cant sleep. Luckily i sleep never before two. One day i wasnt up before 12 so i had to clean my own room and nothing was refilled

    Big room

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.6
    Relaxing and comfortable, nice open spaces, both inside and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air-conditioning in the rooms

    Relaxing and comfortable, nice open spaces, both inside and outside. Rooms a good size. Wonderful breakfast - extending even to honeycomb, which is a total luxury. Well-located to motorways and close to the centre of Hildesheim, which is a jewel to explore.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    8.3
    Room and bathroom were spotless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room and bathroom were spotless. Room upgraded when they learnt we were staying a night away since it was my husband's birthday. Food excellent and creative.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    9.6
    Central, easy to find, great parking, modern building,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Actually nothing. But since we were there a terrible thundery day (Hurricane Niklas) and outdoor activities in any form was impossible, we missed activities like swimming pool, gym, games room or similar, something we could expect in such a large and modern hotel. Although the bar gave us a nice meal and good service, it was a disappointment that the restaurant was closed that day.

    Central, easy to find, great parking, modern building, impressive large reception and lobby, bar and restaurant. Large, modern rooms with plenty of space for our own luggage. Very large beds, giving excellent sleep quality. Possibility to make coffee or tea. Fridge. Bar with friendly service and satisfying hot meal choice. Good selection and quality at breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    8.3
    Professionalism
    • Couple

    Rather small room, although efficiently equipped

    Professionalism

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    10
    The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Prices in the bar are expensive

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was lovely

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    9.6
    Nice room, the breakfast was quite good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice room, the breakfast was quite good.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    10
    Lovely historic building artfully modernized for traveler ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely historic building artfully modernized for traveler , very quiet. Excellent late night meal

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    7.1
    Behaviour of staff & the location of proerty.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Rooms are very small/congested & donot justify value to money.

    Behaviour of staff & the location of proerty.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.6
    Friendly and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly and helpfull staff.Location brilliant, hotel clean and tidy.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    9.2
    Exterior of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Exterior of hotel. Lots of clever details in interior. Above all the fantastic breakfast buffet. And the ceiling heater in bath.

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: