Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilton Mainz This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Rheinstr. 68, Altstadt, 55116 Mainz, Germany

#18 of 35 hotels in Mainz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2550 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7

  • Paid WiFi

    4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    room was very comfortable with a great view across the Rhine...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Deluxe with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park was closed so had to park down the road and we were not advised before we got to the hotel. Price of breakfast was ridiculous, almost €30, this is way over priced.

    room was very comfortable with a great view across the Rhine, worth paying a little extra for it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Ok for a night, or for flight crews
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are two buildings, my room was like one block away from the reception. Minutes of walking. Then it turns out the garage is closed for reconstruction. So you have to park in an external parking - ironically on the same corner where my room was but had to walk like five minutes to go past reception.... Breakfast for €29,50 - .... $35.00 is overkill

    Perfect location, clean and nice room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    Better-than-average corporate hotel with efficient staff and a great view of the Rhine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Deluxe with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel's underground car park was closed due to building work. (Note to Booking.com: It would have been good to have known this advance.) There's a public carpark nearby but it's a bit of a faff getting the car there from the hotel turning circle. Security guy was very helpful with directions and let us to check in/drop the bags first. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the centre with some busy roads to cross but once you get your bearings it's not too bad.

    Our comfortable room offered a great view of the Rhine. Downstairs, the bar is well-run which makes a change in a hotel where you often have to hang about for ages waiting for service. There's also a pleasant outdoor riverside area for drinking and eating (and smoking!). Front desk staff were helpful. All in all I'd use the Hilton Mainz again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Location was good and breakfast was amazing but very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was closed which was annoying as this was a key reason we booked the hotel. It said it on there website but not on booking.com

    Location was good and breakfast was amazing but very expensive!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.3
    Not up to scratch. Better value elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its not for travellers. Business only. No car park available. Someone working next to the window into our room at 7am, no notice from the staff. Not particulary happy for the noise or opening the blinds to see someone there looking back. Internet an additional €15. I thought we were past those additional charges a decade ago, cafes, budget hotels and even McDonalds provided free wifi.

    Clean and on the river.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Delighted with my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing major, if I haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad to be picky, breakfast doesn't change

    Staff was helpful and friendly, excellent Breakfast, spacious room for European standard

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    Very hot. Staff were great though and did what they could to make our stay pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Deluxe with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A/C was virtually non-existent despite being set the coldest setting. Granted Germany was in a heat wave but still the A/C should have been better. Free wifi on their website, is actually free in reception and restaurant but 15 EUR per day in your room. Not as advertised and illegal in Australia.

    Staff were excellent, friendly and very professional.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    You took from my credit card more money from me
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You took from my credit card more money from me I lost my sunglasses and also held more money in my credit card and still holding this money and please Booking.com return my money I stayed there from 6/8 till 10/8 and they should take from me 800 for 2 nights and 901 for other 2 nights plus 96 for the parking so the total is 1797 euro only But they took more from my credit card 1136.75+996+325.25 so the total is 2458 So please return it back even I talked to them and they said sorry by mistakes we held a lot of money from your credit, they still took more Also you took more than this too On August 1 the amount of 225.25 and 225.25 so twice and also you took on August 10 225.25 So you took from me more than 3000 euros why you should take only 1797

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    The room was comfortable big clean staff was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not for the value the internet was chargeable 15 euro standard. And for that money we paid we could get same star hotel including the wifi

    The room was comfortable big clean staff was ok

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice location. Insist on river view room. A little out of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Deluxe with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a delux room overlooking the river but on check in we were told it was not available. We were put in another part of the hotel across the road (reached by a covered road bridge). That room was large but had poor air con & no view. We hardly slept. Offered a free breakfast to compensate. There was an unfriendly atmosphere generally at this hotel, but one receptionist was helpful.

    The breakfast was excellent but expensive. The room we eventually got moved to for our second night was nice overlooking the river. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean. Good soundproofing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Decent stay, but not comparable to other Hiltons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very friendly staff, poor bar (the barmaid didn't know what a Negroni is and at the suggestion "Perhaps I can tell you how to make it?" she replied "Ah, and perhaps you can also tell me the price?"). Can a Hilton be like that? The room was in the attached building, on an expressway.

    Big room, good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.4
    We survived
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival it was a game of you find the room through a maze of levels and corridors. The plug in the bath was stuck, the tap in the basin was impossible to turn on, the hair dryer didn't work, it overlooked a busy, noisy road. The breakfast was challenging.

    A delightful young reception clerk was so helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is quite expensive and they don't force to inform the guest about it.

    Bed is very very comfortable. Dark curtains make the room completly dark. Windows are sound-proof. Perfect sleep.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Great view and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very professional and courteous and the hotel generally well kept. Most of all the location was excellent, with wonderful views of the river. The hotel is a little old and so elements of the room a bit tired (particularly the bathroom). But it was very well priced so this was fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    They upgraded us to a river side apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They upgraded us to a river side apartment. Views out over the bridge and of the Rhine. It was just sensational. The room was large and very functional. Close to old Mainz. Can't recommend it highly enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    We usually stay in B&Bs, but I will consider Hilton from now on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was perfect for our quick visit to Mainz and the price comparable or better than other stays in the Alt Stadt. The staff was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.4
    Will never go back and not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrival porters, none, check in, charged extra for something already booked. Restaurant like university dining area, no class - elegance. The old restaurant years ago was fantastic. The beds are horribly uncomfortable. Can’t sleep al night. Worst in any hotel I stayed last 20 years.. The best beds are in WESTIN “heavenly beds”.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Convenient to the old City center and right along the river...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant prices are high so didn't get the breakfast or eat dinner at the hotel.

    Convenient to the old City center and right along the river walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely room, great bed, overpriced restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Deluxe with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food was very over-priced. Buffet was 44 euros and not worth it. This discouraged us from eating a 29 euro breakfast with no lighter choices.

    Bed was great. We appreciated air conditioning after such humid days in Mainz.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.4
    They at least moved us to a suite closer to the lobby, after...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We expected a wheelchair accessible room, with a roll in shower for my daughter, but there wasnt one available. The accessible room was SO far from everything.

    They at least moved us to a suite closer to the lobby, after olacing us in a room tgat took almost 10 minures to get to, over a glass bridge and maze...far, far from the restaurant & lobby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.6
    im not happy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff attitude specially at reception , asking 70% extra for check in at 12 PM in a place of 3PM ( their check in time!!! ) two different bulding with two different type of quality , very expensive and not logical wifi rate in rooms

    hotel has two building , one is OK , another one is not as same level even other side of street , we couldnt call it same

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Look for special offers, which are worthwhile to follow. But note that price is given without a VAT.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hilton classics, whatever it means. Very comfortable and excellent location just next to the Rhine and few minutes from the Cathedral (with fantastic Friday market) and other places very much to see in Mainz.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.8
    Acceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In fact the value of money was not their. Facilities is not as expected and not only the rate was so high in comparison for what you are getting At the top of that the the parking charges was an additional of euro 24 per day and also the internet charges euro 14 per day. So all in all the rate per day was 340 euro per night for three person for a studio. I believe that is extremely high for such rating..

    The studio was specious and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    My stay for business trips is always superb; not so much when my family is with me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was the third time the hotel didn't have the room prepared when traveling with my family, though I booked in advance.

    The riverview is spectacular!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.8
    Hidden costs make more then 50% of the room bill. This is not acceptable!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Deluxe with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price for the dog was outrageous (50 euros without any service for it, and was not anticipated during the booking. Car parking was not free for hotel guests (too expensive)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Central location in the city center, walking distance from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Hospitality could be improved Reception was missing a personal touch, e.g. no directions were given to what could be done in the city, what facilities does the hotel offer, etc. - Breakfast is overpriced (c.a. 20€) in comparison to the many alternatives available in the city within walking distance. - WiFi is surprisingly not free and unbelievably expensive for the 21st century.

    Central location in the city center, walking distance from main train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    my stay was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the price was a little steep

    The bed was amazing! super comfertable. My room window was in front of the hotel on the second floor and my view was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.4
    To much money for what you get!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in! Had to fill out the form with my identitity nr , after six Horus driving, while the receptionist was holdindg my pass and could fill out her self ....

    Ontbijt

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    All 3 of us had flu thus asked for a late checkout to go...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not allowing us a late checkout - in-spite being ill (all 3 of us).

    All 3 of us had flu thus asked for a late checkout to go directly to our flight back. They allowed only limited extension. Re, breakfast - we just heard that they have wonderful breakfast - we were in bed instead.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.6
    Dissepointing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Charged 50€ extra per night for my small dog for a 80€/night room!!!! >5 times higher than other hotel on my trip. (compared to Holliday In, Radisson & Marriott) And even if I requested that they needed to come back to me if there were any extra charges for the dog in the Hotel message to them they did not do so. the extra charge was only brought to my attention while checking in and came as complete surprise

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    The bed mattress was really comfortable, not as soft as what...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel rooms were spread into 2 buildings across the street, and if you happen to be on the other side and receive one of the last rooms along the alley, you might need to walk more than 5 min to get to the reception. Beware that the wifi is not always free of charge. You'll have to get a Hilton membership.

    The bed mattress was really comfortable, not as soft as what western people might like but harder and more favorable for Asians. Good breakfast, but with a menu identical to all the other Hiltons in the world. Lacks of creativity.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Good Hotel with good restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free wifi; it's an additional 14.95Euro.

    Breakfast was amazing! A vast variety of food from croissants, fruits, juices, meats, coffee and tea. Had some American breakfast food products which were good. Good hotel for conferences!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable stay close to River Mainz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Deluxe with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room wasn't serviced

    Location - right next to Mainz River, so had a beautiful stroll Close to airport They included everything we needed in the room Clean Big room Comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast was amazing along with the brilliant customer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lobby looks lovely and modern but it takes a sharp turn once you go up to the rooms, they are very standard and outdated. Clean but a sharp contrast to the inital look of the lobby.

    The breakfast was amazing along with the brilliant customer service!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    5.8
    The breakfast and the dinners were good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1) You are supposed to register with in a system to have the free Wi-Fi (however even if you do it doesn't work). 2) The thermostat in the room was not useful. The room was cold and there were not extra blankets. 3) In the morning there are many taxis (6, 7 ore more) in the hotel entrance way. They don't accept credit or debit cards. They don't accept short rides. Why there is nobody from the hotel such as a concierge to force the taxi drivers to accept rides (they are parked on the property of the hotel)? 4) The hotel is dividend in two. You need 5 min or more to reach the breakfast area.

    The breakfast and the dinners were good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.1
    Very good location on River Rhein.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Deluxe with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Building and facilities are dated, including the "Brutalist" concrete and glass structure of the hotel. Small windows look our at view

    Very good location on River Rhein. Welcoming staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    Couple no kid's. Excellent staff and breakfast. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Deluxe with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisey room 1750: but we were moved without issue.

    Staff were very helpful, especially Lena - Sophie who was great in facilitating a room change (due to noise). The maintenance man who had to fix the safe twice and replace the alarm clock very professional and friendly turned a problem into a bit of fun. Excellent breakfast. Good location on the river , we had the river view. Cubo Negro restaurant nearby is superb.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.0
    nothing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they don't get back my deposit ca. 90Euro sic.! bloody mess, dust, heavily worn furniture, old LG TV, It's better to sleep at a Bavarian farmer's, they always have order and very good breakfast.

    nothing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    A short trip to Mainz
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was in the second building and there was e very long way to walk to the main building where breakfast is served. Still no free Wifi :(((

    Great Breakfast and Buffet Dinner. The location is excellent, the Hotel is very close to the Center and the Rhein Promenade.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was for disabled people and made us feel ‘old’ before our time. There was a ‘wet room’ but obviously no bath for reason outlined.

    The bed was extra large and the shower was very easy to use.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.3
    location great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    read above

    location great. we were not advised at checkin that all we had to do was join Hilton HOnors to get wifi. we would have had to pay 15euro/day . another guest advised us what to do. we wouldnt have used public wifi as we were in 2nd building. so a good 5min walk to public lobby. checkout we wanted to pay 1/2 cash , 1/2 credit card. Advised not possible. I had to put total on Credit card, companion paid me euros. next morning i questionned staff, they said they could credit my full transaction from night before and re charge- 1/2 cash , 1/2 credit card. so far my credit card has been charged twice, no credit yet. mini bar was missing one item and one wine bottle was completely empty. they did not charge us for that. we ordered taxi for am departure. no taxis . Approximately 15 people outside waiting and panicking. numerous calls made by customers as we waited 30 mins past our order time for transportation. As i said, location great, but this hotel could use some work in service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.1
    The location is superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sheets are not soft, quite rough actually on my dry winter skin. Since I prepaid through booking.com, the hotel charged a 50 Euro charge to my credit card for incidentals. I travel a lot and I know that hotels usually just hold the credit card for incidentals. Now there will be a difference in the debit credit exchange which I will have to pay for.

    The location is superb!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.3
    Been there several times and hapoy with the location.....rooms hilton standard but all other facilit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking definitive too expensive. Discount should be to overnight guests. Breakfast too high in price. Need a quick business breakfast. Bar & Restaurant facilities too croweded & no places available at sll as hotel was full! Wifi never really worked!!!

    Room nice Location great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Great place, very reasonable price.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a couple of guys in our group would have liked to use the internet but though the 15 euro was pretty expensive

    breakfast was awesome, but a little expensive

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Very happy would recommend to friends and family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was booked for a surprise honeymoon for my son. The hotel greeted them in the room with champagne and fruit and towel bride and groom Swans!! ❤️

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel but not worth for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It costs over 20 EURO for customer overnight parking and it is not in Frankfurt. Internet and breakfast are at extra cost, too.

    Located in Mainz by the Main Riverside. An idea place for a quiet, relatively remoted vocation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Best Riverside Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Deluxe with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location at riverside, can easily find rivercruise. In the backyard they have big sitting area next to the river where you can eat, drink and watch people jogging, cycling or see the rivership passing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.3
    Let's say that Hilton went down the ladder a couple of steps....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Deluxe with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately really only looking to pull every Euro out of our pockets. Paying for WiFi in todays Hilton world?? We rented a conference room for 4 hours at €250, and they came up and checked how many cups of coffee we had consumed and billed us. The rroms were like €235 and no WiFi and breakfast.

    The hotel is well situated near the center and along the beatiful river.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    2.5
    Very unpleasant experience in this hotel,everything was...
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unpleasant experience in this hotel,everything was charged additionally:parking,wifi,breakfast...the provided room full of heavy smoke smell,then they changed the room to another building which is far away from main entrance and room was not clean,no lift to parking floor,means you have to carry all your luggage up and down from stairs!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.3
    despite the attractive location of the hotel, I will definitely not return
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - excessive supplementary of 50 Euro per night for a dog - very unfriendly reaction from front desk staff when asking if this is not a bit too much - 22 Euro parking fee for 12 hours - remote control in room broken - dirty carpents in our room

    very friendly staff in the restaurant during the evening

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.8
    Not recomended for family
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No entertainent at all No swimming pool. not good for family with kids No thing to do at night with kids. I stuck with this hotel for 90 % deduction in csse if cancellation. Over all very poor hotel.

    The room is very large. Quite good enough. My room was looking to Rine but still not that good view. It is like dead view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    I chosen this hotel, because it includes parking.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I chosen this hotel, because it includes parking. At the end they said it is a public parking and I was charged 22€. Absolutely not serious. Additionaly, anybody may use a lift from this "public" parking directly to inside of the hotel, front of the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.3
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom is outdated. They clearly couldn't handle the amount of people at breakfast. We waited for 15 minutes with plates of food in our hand, without getting a table. We tried to get our money back, but this was not possible. Did not have expect this from Hilton

    Comfortable bed Spacious room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.7
    The location was super on the Rhine and very nice promenade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Deluxe with River View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The location was super on the Rhine and very nice promenade. However this was not up to the standard of Hilton ,housekeeping was poor and the food not tasty at the coffee shop.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    KD Rhine cruise location steps away
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not do breakfast (yikes...business travel prices!) Stay away from the creepy riverside calypso/beach/caribbean bar/snack area just north of the hotel. We saw a fight breakout with about 10 shaddy characters with beer bottles thrown. Enough to keep us close to the hotel!

    Perfect spot for proximity to the KD Rhine cruise; just a short walk. We also explored the beautiful city of Maintz which is just about a 3/4 mile walk so this location is excellent. This was our only "chain" hotel stay on our trip and it was just as expected when you opt for consistency and quality with Hilton properties but truly not a "German experience"; which was expected. The Rhine is literally outside the back door and provides a great evening stroll experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    The hotel is well located right next to a great riverside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Deluxe with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is well located right next to a great riverside promenade where there are many cafes and restaurants. A short walk brings to the city's beautiful center. Breakfast is great and the staff are smiling and always ready to help. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel very much

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.3
    The hotel doublecharged my credit card.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doublecharged my credit card. One week after I had discovered it and contacted the hotel, they had not even replied. Still waiting for a good solution.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    Fantastic Place to Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Deluxe with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is very expensive and if the hotel is booked via booking.com you can not use Hilton Honours Membership for bonus points or free Wifi - Staff at the hotel recommend you always book direct with Hilton (total rubbish), they state 'DO NOT USE Booking.Com' - Car Park says 'Hilton Parking' but then when you enter from car park to hotel staff tell you it is a public car park and its very expensive (its part of their building).

    Location is first class

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    River boat boarding an easy walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got rooms in the "new" building which was not riverfront with views of a flat roof ... that's all.

    Quiet. Convinient to river cruises and to old town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.9
    The hotel has 2 parts .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has 2 parts . One is near the river and the othe is on the other side of the main road. So - you have to cross a bridge, to walk very far, and my room was at the last floor and the very far room. Too much trouble, i did not like it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast was lovely and eating outside along the river was...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was not sufficient for the money we paid and a real disappointment.

    Breakfast was lovely and eating outside along the river was peaceful and a real bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.1
    Didn't like not being in the main building
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think I would have liked the hotel much more if we had been in the main building. They have expanded across the street into what I would guess was a former office building they have renovated. It literally was a 5 minute walk from our rooms to the lobby, the building has a maze like layout. The rooms were huge but they only put twin beds in it, so we had to get two rooms for a family of 4, making it a poor value. They made no effort to put our rooms close to one another, different floors at opposite ends of building. Half the people checking in appear to be pilots and flight attendants. I suspect that going cheap through booking.com might have contributed to getting rooms across the street.

    Picked this hotel because we were doing the KD river cruise on the Rhine and wanted something in easy walking distance to the dock. This was very close, couldn't get any closer. The rooms were spacious. Hotel is modern. Parking is in a garage underneath the building. It's also about a 5 minute walk to a few restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.3
    Clean but nameless hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Anounimously. see above. It rates by the scores better than according to my intention with this review. That's because you want me to rate items that are off no value to me. Maybe you should add: 'Does not apply' to your ratings.

    Very clean and modern but sterile and without any caracter.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel for both family and business trips
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is divided into 2 buildings. I was on the other side, so it was along walk from one side to the other!! beside my room was the last room at the end of the corridor.. The cleaning was very superficial.. For example they didn't replace the shower cap nor Toilet paper in the bathroom which I found to be very inconvenient since I already used the shower cap that they disposed off although I hanged it for further usage. They didn't replace the Nespresso capsules in the room? so I had six capsules for my stay and that is it?

    I got a studio and it was spacious and nice. A Nespresso machine was a great bonus. Although I wish it was advertised so I can bring my capsules with me.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Clean and stylish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfast 29 euros per person per day. Views from the hotel of the Rhine although not in the area of the castles or rolling hills to see this you need to travel up the Rhine a fair way. Boat trips go early at 8.30 and have a reduced service outside of high season. Mainz bustling town but only enough to keep us occupied for two days. Everything shuts on a sunday.

    Clean and stylish. All inclusive buffet meal good value

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable and clean but extras too expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Deluxe with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite a small bathroom for a Hilton hotel. Breakfast way too expensive , approaching 30 Euros, and a ridiculous charge of 15 Euro per day if you wanted to use the WLAN, which makes me think the hotel is aimed at business travellers who don't have to worry about such costs!

    Good room overlooking the River. Comfortable bed, clean room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    6.7
    Not was I expected for the amount of money I paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service was very poor. One of the towels was dirty and when I asked for a replacement, I never got it. I also asked for some coffee amd cream to ise it with the coffee maker in the room and never got it either.

    The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    9.2
    Convenient location but be careful of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Deluxe with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The clerk that checked out my friend and I was rude when explaining that I didn't qualify for members points since I booked through a third party. I didn't know and I felt as if I was being scolded.

    The room had a river view which was very nice. Took many photos out the window. The bed was comfortable and appreciated the space between the twin beds.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    5.0
    Not an international hotel, very inflexible for travellers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Deluxe with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service menu is very limited - e.g., you can't have a club sandwich unless you go to the restaurant eat it there or take it to your room! It's a different system apparently for billing/accounting/ typically German processes more important than people. If you travel across time zones, your body may not want fillet steak and porcine risotto at 10pm - oh and don't forget to order before 11pm - as you will get NOTHING after then in your room or in the bars.

    Location on the Rhine

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    6.3
    I should be Air Crew then can get free wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for wifi when I see all air crews artiving all get free wifi Why is it free for Air Crew not free for customer do they pay more than me

    Breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    4.6
    Even for a Hilton poor value and quality for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Consider the pricing. The (waterside) room was 150 per night, but then add 20 for wifi, 29 for breakfast and 22 for parking and you get to a hidden total price of €220 per night instead of 150. Also, and this is a first in a hotel -ever- for me: on my third and last night I noticed that they used the same sheets (!) making up the bed. The wrinkles in sheets showed. Room was fine, but very very "compact" (nice word for a small). And the first room I got required me to take an elevator and then walk through the building, through an overpass crossing the road taking an elevator to my room (city side). About a ten minute walk from the desk! Seriously? Opening the room for fresh air had the busy road beneath it. Hence the changing rooms mentioned above. All very nice and tidy, but I won't recommend this hotel to anyone I know. And next time in Wiesbaden will go elsewhere for sure.

    Personel was friendly and effective. Wanted to change rooms, was done in minutes.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    6.7
    Too expensive too many additional costs too warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Deluxe with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are over heated, very uncomfortable to sleep with such a temperature. To have to pay to access to WIFI in a 4/5 Hôtel in 2017 in Europe is quite outrageaous especially taking into account the price of the room vs. the location. To add 15 € for Wifi ?? The price of the parking (22 €) and the price of the breakast (above 25€) are also very expensive. We are not in Paris or London in the high season but Mainz in the low season ????

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    7.5
    All in all a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not informed by the gentleman at reception that on arrival we had to book for breakfast in order to get a discount as well as the fact that we had paid months prior to arrival and yet a holding fee was taken off my card without informing me by said person. I did however get the money refunded a week later .

    Proximity to old Christmas Market and River. Clean rooms and so quiet. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    6.3
    The View
    • Family with young children
    • King Deluxe with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled like smoke as soon as we walked in. Being a non smoker it was almost unbearable even for my spouse who does smoke. Carpet/curtains need replaced. Room was way too small and cramped with no extra blankets/pillows. The staff did not mention a $100 hold on my credit card. I purchased 2 rooms so I had extra charges on my card that wasn't explained until I called. My mom/dad was in the 2nd room and we were charged for breakfast twice when it was included in the room rate. The staff should have asked before taking extra money. When we tried to retify we were initially told, no receipt, no money back. Later the front desk manager rectified the situation by giving free parking for 2 nights (parking should be free to hotel guest regardless). The soul purpose of the stay was to enjoy the hotel/dinner and view for NYE and the bars were closed at peak times and hotel guests were not honored for the restaurant ahead of outside guest. We were told the restaurant was booked when we tried to make dinner reservations. Hotel guest should be priority. This experience would have been completely ruined if it weren't for the view. Will not recommend the Hilton to anyone in the future.

    The view for NYE was amazing. Couldn't ask for a better view of the river/fireworks.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.5
    Extra payment for standard services
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the reception desk treated us in a rather arrogant way Wifi was extra 15 euro, but signal was very weak. For a good signal we should have taken strong wifi for 30 euro per day. In a hotel with business-standards like Hilton I expect free wifi. Parking was 26 euro extra per night.

    Luxurious breakfast Spacious room

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hilton Mainz traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: