Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel-Restaurant Hirsch This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Dorfstraße 9, 77791 Berghaupten, Germany

#1 of 1 hotels in Berghaupten

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 324 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Looking for an excuse to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite hot in the upstairs rooms

    Brilliant place to stay on the edge of the Black Forest , garages for hire was a nice bonus as it allowed us to lock away some bikes. Great location option for 20 min walk to numerous cafe , restaurants and bars in the local town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful food and a clean,comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 20, at the top of the building, had weak WiFi. We simply took our devices to the lobby and hooked into the internet from there. The owners did not speak much English, but that added to the charm and their daughter spoke beautiful English!

    This wonderful hotel was just what we needed after 6 weeks of travel. The restaurant served a great dinner and the breakfast was the best of our trip. The eggs were yummy. The quiet town where the hotel is located was perfect for a stroll after a long day in a car. Although we did not have time to enjoy them, there seemed to be some nice hiking/biking trails nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Family values to the fore at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lovely comfortable family owned and operated hotel that combines the best features of traditional German accommodation with the best of modern/contemporary accommodation (with a lift, various creature comforts, free WiFi). The hotel’s restaurant offers well priced, very high quality food, in addition to great staff and a small but well selected range of wines and other beverages. We only stayed one night and wished that we had planned to stay longer. The town itself is very small and low-key, but the neighbouring town of Gengenbach is just a few minutes away by car and offers a good range of visitor amenities. (Our visit there was recommended by staff and lived up to promise.)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely luxurious hotel close to Gengenbach. Treat yourself to dinner here. It's worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi in our room did not work but we had that issue more than 50% of the time we were in Germany. Wifi worked in the lounge area which was private and comfortable.

    The room was very large and comfortable. We stayed one night during a cycling trip through Germany and found the Hotel Hirsch to be a real treat. The dinner was the best we had the entire month long trip.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    A good place to stay if one needs more than average luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although very clean, the room had a faint, peculiar smell, like unwashed linen(?)/sweaty matress(?) issue. Buns at the otherwise excellent breakfast, were not fresh.

    First impression, architecture of the hotel out and in, mountain resort style building and multiple half-levels inside connected with multiple passages. Interior decors. Spaciousness of the building. Overall cleanness. Bathroom with shower. Variety of buffet style breakfast. Good parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    Very clean, breakfast is good, and it is in quite and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner, very hot if your room is in top level.

    Very clean, breakfast is good, and it is in quite and beautiful town, only 5 minutes drive to Gengenbach, value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.9
    Friendly exceptionally clean family run relaxed hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was a continental style breakfast with choice of fried scrambled eggs. very relaxed atmosphere. We only stopped one night as a top over on route to Italy. Overall friendly, clean and ideal for an evening stopover. Restaurant doesnt open on a Sunday and we found another restaurant within the village which was typically German and accomodated our needs for the evening.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    The personal approach
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi works well, but it was not easy to connect, because of a little complicated system.

    The hotel made me feel at home. A family run hotel with a lot of personal attention to the guests. An excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we like everything there. great dinner from their resteraunt. the lovely little girl who is the grand daughter from the owner borrowed us her pampers because the day we stayed was holiday and supermarket were all closed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay near Gengenbach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only drawback of the stay was the patchy wifi connection. I already reported it to the owner and she agreed to the problem. Probably installing wifi boosters will resolve it.

    The room was spacious, clean and the arrangements were perfect. Breakfast was very good, lots of options and everything was very fresh. Also liked the dinner we had, very tasty we loved it. The owner was friendly and provided a comfy experience. Extremely pleased with the stay at this place and will surely book the place again if we are visiting Gengenbach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    Most charming part of a 2 week/4 country journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff charmed me more than any I have previously encountered, ever. They will seriously be my standard. At one point, I almost missed dinner hours and the main hostess provided me and my companions a late meal, all with a smile on her pretty face. The food, the soups, the breakfast- some of the best I ever had. Scrambled eggs are a must here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.3
    Everything fine, location fine 10-15 mins driving to the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi signal was "jumping" all time long, this is what they need to fix

    Everything fine, location fine 10-15 mins driving to the center, clean rooms, good breakfast, restaurant served tasty meals

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.6
    Tonton Burger
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The garden restaurant is very friendly and very good with big portions. The rooms are large with a view on the mountain landscape. The are speaking very good French better than we are speaking German or English. We are recommanding this hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Excellent location and local festival with food and drink in the square brilliant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely accommodation and food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    breakfast, service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    internet

    breakfast, service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel, restaurant, free parking, staff and breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, restaurant, free parking, staff and breakfast were lovely. They gave us a huge room and had a very nice and comfortable stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Good place to stop over
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike though the restaurant is quite expensive for traditional type food.

    Nice quiet location and pleasant room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    X

    Great breakfast, nice atmosphere, very friendly and caring staff. Spacious room, all well organised

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    A gem of a hotel just 20 minutes walk from the main town Gengenbach, perfect for my stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast choice was a little sparse no pastry's or hot food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tv channel in french

    Room and breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    An excellent place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole atmosphere of this hotel. A warm and quick welcome. The room was tasteful furnished and large. The dinner excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Comfort and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort and breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Very nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very nice and clean hotel, not far from Strasbourg

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant stay indeed!
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    May be missing a fitness /pool ?....

    Typical of the area. Nice kind staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Everything is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything is great! Nice, big and clean room. comfortable bed. Good breakfast. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    10
    If I am in the area I will not considder any other hotel. This is top.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot find something that could be better.

    Very good, very friendly and super value for money. Recommendable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    10
    breakfast and dinner very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    breakfast and dinner very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    10
    Excellent place to stay at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all.

    Very friendly staff. Beautiful hotel. Very clean. Loved it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very relaxed and welcome atmosphere, good variety for dinner menu.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel and restaurant. Very friendly, great location. Wish I could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly staff and large comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Buffetstyle breakfast, sufficient but not very varied, with a choice of fried or scrambled eggs. The later a bit too salt for me.

    Very friendly staff and large comfortable room. Relaxed atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    8.8
    Used for overnight stopover while traveling to catch the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Used for overnight stopover while traveling to catch the ferry in Zebrugge, good location, clean spacious rooms, comfortable beds, good breakfast selection and friendly staff. Had an evening meal in the restaurant which was excellent

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    A very good and very clean room with high quality fittings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My bad experience was losing a nano sim card for my phone... If it hadn't been for the extremely well-made chair in our room, I might have been able to get my fingers down between the cushioned-seat and the side frame of the chair to retrieve it!! No blame to the hotel - completely my fault!

    A very good and very clean room with high quality fittings. Excellent meals both at dinner and at breakfast time.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    10
    The location was good for our trip, but had we researched...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike.

    The location was good for our trip, but had we researched the area better we would have stayed for longer. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable and we even had a balcony. We also had an evening meal in the restaurant which was excellent and all the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    Lovely spacious accommodation if quiet village, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing!

    Lovely spacious accommodation if quiet village, friendly staff - and great meal on their Rose Terrace in the evening sunshine. Easy access too from main road system

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    Beautiful hotel,friendly staff, nice room, excellent food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There were no negatives

    Beautiful hotel,friendly staff, nice room, excellent food and were able to help with everything a family of 6 traveling with two older and two smaller children might need. After a day spent at europaprk, coming "home" to the professional and friendly staff and comfortable rooms was just what we needed.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    5.8
    clean
    • Group

    staff is bad

    clean

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    10
    Helpful courteous staff, excellent restaurant, good menu,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful courteous staff, excellent restaurant, good menu, well prepared and presented food.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    10
    Satisfaction totale
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Satisfaction totale

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    The room we had was immaculate and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room we had was immaculate and very comfortable. The service from the staff was excellent and the meals we ate at the restaurant were top notch.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    Excellent people really enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Excellent people really enjoyed our stay

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    8.8
    Quiet, comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    None.

    Quiet, comfortable room. Excellent breakfast and restaurant for evening meals. Very reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    10
    Beautiful room, clean and very comfortablefamily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful room, clean and very comfortablefamily

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    10
    Great staff, food superb, room decor traditional .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Flaky wifi. Lighting in room poor.

    Great staff, food superb, room decor traditional . Great family business . Don't panic, church bells stop

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: