Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Hirsch

Zwieselberg 10, 72250 Freudenstadt, Germany

#32 of 32 hotels in Freudenstadt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 187 hotel reviews

6.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    6

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice property and beautiful location. Pity we checked in late and left quite early in the morning. We were provided with a free bed for our child in the room at no extra cost :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    3.8
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room assigned had a wet bed which I only discovered too late in the night due to a late arrival. There was a water infiltration stain in the ceiling. The room was averagely clean. Kids still shouting about until 12am. The staff spoke no English and questionable German so I was told. I had booked 3 days and checked right out of there the following day!

    Breakfast was good. The staff were friendly and polite enough.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    5.4
    Not so great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many of the lights didn't work. The lady who greeted us at the front desk didn't seem to know what she was doing only made worse by the fact we couldn't communicate at all (if you don't speak German this is NOT the place for you) The bathroom towels are like sandpaper.

    The beer on tap was good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    6.7
    a few downsides...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no wifi inside the room, only on the reception hall. there was some noise due to some renovations going on. and when checking out, no one was at the reception for almost 30 minutes, we had to get someone inside the kitchen in order to get the receptionist (who didn't have his pager and his talkie walkie with him...). so i guess we can say that there is a lack of personnel.

    nice view, the proximity with the center of Freudenstadt, to be surrounded by the forest. the good size of the room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, except for a bit of communication about booking dinner.

    Comfortable and welcoming hotel at the end of a long wet afternoon in the Black Forest on a motorcycle. The owners seemed to expect that we would have booked dinner in advance, even though the hotel is a long way from town and there are no local alternative restaurants. However, they were able to provide us with the limited (but very good) dinner that was available to the better informed guests. (Oh, and it stopped raining the next day, and the landscape is lovely).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Excellent location, very clean room, good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, very clean room, good staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    3.8
    fOOD VERY BAD DONT STAY THERE
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    STAFF FOOD

    paid for 1/2 board dinner NO STARTER MAIN 1 SMALL SAUSAGE CHIPS no DESERT NOT VALVE FOR MONY DONT STAy THERY

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.3
    The restaurant menu was very limited indeed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant menu was very limited indeed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    2.5
    Half pension is één gangsmenu
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half pension is één gangsmenu

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    5.4
    Nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    7.5
    Lovely owners, very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Secluded

    Lovely owners, very helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    10
    this hotel located in the center of the black forest,there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    none

    this hotel located in the center of the black forest,there is a very beautiful lake about 3km to the south,and around hotel there are lots of trails for hiking.room is very clean and comfy,especially a lovely balcony.stuff is very friendly and helpful,I don't know why review is not good,but in my opinion,stuff can speak English,and he really give you some useful advice,why don't I give them a full marks?by the way,this is cheapest price in this area,value for money,why don't you come and stay here if you really want to enjoy black forest relaxed?

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    2.5
    -
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The offer of the three meals and the hotel room is cheating. First of all, the staff asked us to pay first and even photocopied my credit card. For me it was weird. Now I understand why, because they were cheating and afraid the guests will not pay at check out. We have been never told what we were going to have as food before and even after the arrivals. At the end we found out the lunch was just a warm ( not even hot) soup, without dessert and coffee. Same for the dinner, we had never been informed the menu. The staff told that the main was Goulash, and we found out it was just ketchup sauce with shredded pork. In the hotel website it stated that the Goulash was Hirsh and cooked for 5 hours. The hotel treats the guests as idiots. Again we had no dessert or coffee. The wine we ordered was awful. The offer seemed attractive but at the end we just wasted our time and being disappointed. It ruined the trip. Please do not call the offer three regional meals. The hotel is fooling guests.

    -

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    7.5
    The hotel is in a very small village in Black Forest -...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unfortunately the hotel is in an area with very limited mobile network coverage.

    The hotel is in a very small village in Black Forest - therefore it's really quiet and relaxing. The room was better than expected for this price level.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    7.1
    The location was nice and there was a bear & wolf nature...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Free wifi but it only worked in the bar reception area. The staff spoke very little English.

    The location was nice and there was a bear & wolf nature park nearby. The staff were helpful but spoke very little English. Lots of safe forest walks in the area.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    9.2
    Location ideal for a visit to the Black Forest when snowing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to complain about

    Location ideal for a visit to the Black Forest when snowing. Staff very helpfull and friendly. Great menu in restaurant at reasonable pricing. Good food Free on site parking.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    7.5
    One can see maintenance is needed just around the corner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One can see maintenance is needed just around the corner

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    9.6
    Location great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi in room very bad, if you could get a connection it was very very slow.

    Location great.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    9.2
    Dated but clean and functional room in a very good location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dated but clean and functional room in a very good location to access the Schwarzwald.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    9.6
    Place, service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bad internet in the room, No TV. No mobile phone.

    Place, service.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    4.2
    Incorrect booking details, staff very unwelcoming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Incorrect booking details, staff very unwelcoming! Room was small and cramped.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    6.3
    The staff were helpful and efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was outside the town and really needed private transport

    The staff were helpful and efficient

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    4.6
    the restaurant is good but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    no communication network for cell phone and the Wi-Fi is only available at the reception area!!.

    the restaurant is good but expensive

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    6.3
    Motorcycle parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff is not very professional.

    Motorcycle parking

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: