Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Hirsch This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Gerbereistr. 20, 77694 Kehl am Rhein, Germany

#3 of 13 hotels in Kehl am Rhein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 387 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice Hotel close to the French border
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the hotel restaurant is closed on Sunday, the day we arrived. A pity because it is extremely well rated on other websites.

    The hotel is at walking distance from Kehl's town centre. Our room was big enough to easily accommodate a baby crib. The staff was very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    Proper value for money.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room in an annex and had to walk in the rain to get to our breakfast. Restaurant did not serve the famous local Flammenkuchen. Only cash payments under 10 Euro’s.

    Room was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Alsace is surprising at Hotel Hirsch!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wonder what do we expect from an hotel while we are booking? Courtesy? cleanness? a cozy restaurant with delicious food? Well you can find everything here. We arrived to the hotel with some car issue(rear window broken) and they offer me to park in a safe place in the garden of the family that owns the hotel, for us a really appreciate courtesy. When we enter in the room we soon noticed the excellent cleanness and the comfortable spaces and after a good shower we decide to eat something, we tried the restaurant and was everything surprising, really good and tasty, starting with foie gras accompanied by pears, the chestnuts soup arriving to the fish with sauce of cauliflower, amazing! Really a great experience. Thank you!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful, typical Gasthof with lovely interior.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although booked early in the morning, the room was still cold at my arrival around 17:00. heating was on 2 instead of 5.

    Beautiful, typical Gasthof with lovely interior.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Confort stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Maybe only for the small elevator. But it is a small hotel after all.

    Location is great. The town is very small and quiet but enjoyable. I don't see many restaurants in the area but the hotel itself serve great meals. In fact, I heard that it is famous for the restaurants since so long even before the hotel exist. We didn't try it though but it was full at diner time when we were there. I like the croissant and the cappuccino during breakfast. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. The room especially the bathroom looks newly renovated. I like the shower. Parking is outdoor but free and spacious. Communication with hotel is fast reply and easy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Great choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Everything. Location is perfect to explore Strasbourg, France. We went there for the Christmas market. However, the city itself is cute although it's a very small town and quiet. Meal is delicious. Plus we don't pay city tax (I think in all Germany), unlike hotels in France. It can save us quite a good amount since we are a big group. It is however very close to France, only 15 minutes train ride. We highly recommend this hotel. Parking is spacious

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Great location to visit Strasbourg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We booked 5 rooms and went there by cars. Our purpose is to visit Strasbourg Christmas market, this hotel is a great choice. We left our cars in the hotel, which parking is plenty and spacious, and went there by direct train. Took around 15 minutes, return ticket is around 10 euros. The train station is only 1 minute from the hotel. Breakfast is limited but sufficient. The croissant and cappuccino is delicious. Check out is easy and fast. None of our group member has a complaint.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Very charming hotel!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very charming hotel! Very clean. Good coffee. Excellent location for the Christmas market in Strasborg. The train is walking distance from the hotel and takes you directly into Strasborg main station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    Very nice but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a major flaw : there was no warm water in the bathroom. Staff were nice and proposed to take a shower in another room but it's not nice at all to experience this.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.9
    Staff is very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV languages only in german, french, spanish and arabic, not italian channels. The bathroom has no hooks for towels and the shower has no shelf to put soap/shampoo/etc. It's a bit "diffucult" to find the entrance because it seems to be the entrance of the restaurant.

    Staff is very friendly. We ate at the hotel's restaurant: the food was divine and the atmosphere very cozy. Bed is comfortable and the room in very quiet. There's a tablet in the room that can be used to: find some places to visit, restaurant menu, games, app, etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    after hard working day, this is an excellent opportunity to have good rest in quite area ...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - bathroom is somewhat old fashioned ... but clean/efficient - have had to wait the boss's arrival until 8.30 a.m for checking-out ...

    - excellent food - bedding excellent - very calm area , within a village

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful place to have a good rest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a bit of trouble with communication but I expected that. so not a negative at all, just need to ensure you find someone who can speak in English and get out your queries out!

    Loved the fact that we got a nice welcome at 11:30 pm in the night! Got a call an hour earlier to confirm our whereabouts and grateful for that. Nice location, very kind staff and all in all a good place to have a stopover like we did driving through Germany. I would love to have spent a lot more time. Hopefully, expect to do that in the near future.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.0
    I choose this hotel for the internal restaurant, essential...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I choose this hotel for the internal restaurant, essential with a 2 years baby. (my son) The restaurant was closed in the evening, not sure about for the lunch time. if the restaurant of the hotel is closed this hotel shouldn't be in the list of hotel with restaurant in booking.com

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice alternative to lodge when visiting Strassbourg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were asigned rooms located in a annex building the hotel has just across the road. Unfortunately this building has got not lift... when traveling with elderly people, it is really a drawback.

    The staff was really nice and helpful. We forgot some belongings who they sent through post to us. The hotel is really nice and clean. Breakfast was just OK.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.3
    A village location close to major tourist destinations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is virtually closed on Sundays, bizarre really. We arrived there on Sunday and the whole building was locked! They don't offer any food or drinks on Sunday either! Strange one that?

    A village location within easy reach of Strasbourg, Black Forest and the Alsace Wine Route. Ample parking, staff friendly and most multi lingual. Restaurant food amazing, fine dining if a little expensive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice village location near to so many tourist destinations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Odd that the hotel is effectively closed on Sundays! We arrived on Sunday unaware!

    Great location in a village near Strasbourg and the Alsace wine route. Evening meal was simply marvellous virtual fine dining!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    10
    Quit location, just few minutes from highway, good parking...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing negatives

    Quit location, just few minutes from highway, good parking possibilities. Very friendly and helpful personal. Abundant breakfast with buffet menu. Big, clean, comfortable room. Strong WiFi in the whole hotel. Great added value for the price.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.6
    The owner warmly welcomed us two hours prior to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner warmly welcomed us two hours prior to the beginning of the booking-in period. She read perfectly our exhaustion from bicycling, gave us a cold bottle of water and personally walked us to our suite. Wonderful accommodation, friendly and efficient staff always ready to and doing that extra little bit for you, good food. Who could ask for more?

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Sexy staff in the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sexy staff in the restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Excelent hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better weather should be something positive....

    Excelent hotel. I know it for many many years.... Silviu Jura

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, clean room and great breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean and comfortable hotel. Breakfast is great. Mrs Vera is very helpful and smiling.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Satisfied!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, dinner, friendly staff, clean room with new bathroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Everythings was perfect, breakfast excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everythings was perfect, breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Nice people!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice people! Many thanks

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    It was fun like always
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Staff, super friendly and excellent food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.6
    Very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit cold at the room

    Good restaurant, cosy, nicely decorated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    6.7
    Adequate for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small single beds with uncomfortable mattress

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    Great location for visiting Strasbourg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for visiting Strasbourg. Train to the city was a 3 minute walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    super tasty breakfast and dinner, comfy beds, fast WIFI
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    super tasty breakfast and dinner, comfy beds, fast WIFI

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Simple, clean and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to climb a.few.steps with 2 suitcases

    Simple, clean and nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay along the way. Had a good time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next to the railroad tracks, used in daytime.

    Friendly staff and good food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.6
    Clean, spacious , quiet, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, spacious , quiet, nice breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    9.6
    Very nice pet-friendly property - definitely would stay here again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable and accommodating property.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    10
    I would return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived late but the personnel made me dinner:-)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    8.8
    nice and cosy hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small bathrooms

    very clean hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable room, welcoming staff and excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking .com could have informed us that the restraunt was closed on Sundays

    The staff were very welcoming and friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.9
    Nice small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few steps to get to the elevator... Not that convenient with suitcases

    Very calm area, good breakfast. Bathroom totally renovated. Loved the shower.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    7.9
    2 room apartment with 1 double bed and 2 single beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    2 room apartment with 1 double bed and 2 single beds. Bathroom very large, separate toilet. Breakfast Quiet

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    9.6
    Great staff, great breakfast and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great staff, great breakfast and comfortable rooms. Lovely ambiance. We will return. Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    9.6
    It's typical family Hotel-Restaurant with great service,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's typical family Hotel-Restaurant with great service, good food and friendly staff. Great value for money!

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    10
    Breakfast comfort cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast comfort cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    7.9
    wifi was actually for free
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi was actually for free excellent cuisine very good breakfast until 10 a.m.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse Hotel Hirsch traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: