Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Hirschen This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Rathausweg 2, 79286 Glottertal, Germany

#4 of 11 hotels in Glottertal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 218 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattresses of the beds are covered with a protective plastic sheet that rustles when you make any movement in the bed, and in the heat, cause you to sweat. There also didn't appear to be any air conditioning in the room.

    Calm hotel, located in a picturesque valley and village with a small river and views over local vineyards. Pleasant staff. Excellent hotel restaurant, if a little pricey. Excellent range of house wines from the hotel's private cellar, which can be bought from the hotel's wine shop opposite the hotel. The hotel is only 15km or so from the A5 motorway, making it ideal for a stop-off en route from France to central or southern Germany or on one's way down south from northern Germany.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet inside room not optimal. Had to sit in the longe. But the overall was so good that the soso wifi does not cloud the experiance

    Freundlich. Zuvorkommend. Super lage in der natur

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms did not have AC - and this got a bit warm, but we moved to one of the rooms that did have AC and that was great .

    Great facilities, great location and activities close by. Very family friendly and accommodating staff- good quality restaurant on site making it easy for nice family dinner with tires children.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our standard double room was in the old building up a very narrow staircase with no lift, a potential problem for the elderly or infirm. The room was fine except the highest windows had no curtains or blinds so he light came in early in the morning. Although that is air conditioning in some rooms in the main block, our room had none and we had to shut th windows to keep out the noise of the traffic on the main road. Worse than this was that the room was immediately opposite the local church with very enthusiastic and regular bell ringing from 6am onwards which as we were still accustomed to British time meant 5am. No chance to get back to sleep as the bell ringing continued for at least a couple of hours. All in all, a balance of strengths and weaknesses which would be improved by staying in a different room type. However at 140 euros a night bed and breakfast, we would have to say that even with the school excellent breakfast, the standard double is not good value for money.

    Breakfast was superb. Great setting in attractive Black Forest villlage Nice little indoor swimming pool suitably warm with great views over the village and into the forest.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok but the coffe wasn't tasty, but well it is my opinion...I love the Italien one.

    Nice place, very good location, nice privacy, place to escape from daily Stress.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing!

    Spacious bedroom with the beautiful views, free WI-FI, overall cleanliness, breakfast, four course tasty dinners, locally produced wines, centrality of property in Black forest, close to all local attractions like Europa Park and the Basel- Mulhouse- Freiburg airport, friendly and helpful staff, complementary bottle of our choice of wine when we checked out! Marvellous and magnificent experience.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two rooms a double and a single, but they were in different buildings.

    The room had two balconies and lots of space in the room. Small but very nice pool. Good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed during a hot summer period, that day it had been 34 degrees celcius. We stayed 1 night on our way home from our vacation. Unfortunately the room was not air conditioned and hotter than a sauna, and the open windows had let a lot of musquitos in. My husband ended up booking an aditional air conditioned room for 100,- euro's for himself to make sure he would be well rested for the rest of the 8 hour drive home the next day. Because it was late and the kids were already asleep, they and I stayed in the sauna room. That was not a good night...

    Big rooms, very clean, nice breakfast, beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food offering is excellent. Dinner was first class and we liked the wines from their own estate. Lovely, helpful staff with good English! In a charming village environment. Would definitely plan to stay again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has an old world charm in a great location. Meals are fantastic. This my second stay in this hotel. I hope to return again. We were very grateful to the staff for speaking English when we couldn't understand German.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning and that would have been a nice addition.

    Staff, location as well as the grounds and restaurant were amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location and food!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pets not allowed at breakfast.. restaurant not upto expectations, but good.. sure there are better in the area for less!

    Breakfast great..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great restaurant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is wonderful, scenic, pastoral, and "gemutlich".

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitos and no air conditioning

    Lovely indoor swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Annoying and actively rude smokers smoking inside the porch area of the hotel. No staff at the desk to prevent them from doing so. Held my breath as usual. Smoking is always a problem in Germany as it has still not been banned in public places, but this was a particularly bad problem. Give them a smoking area somewhere a long way away. And the elevators / lifts are entering their fourth decade of use!

    Staff were ok to good. Car park was not very full, though effectively the car park for the whole town. Could park near the door. There was a luggage mover. I was given assistance. Internet initially did not work. It was easily fixed.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is a bit of a drive from the highway but still worth it.

    Got a very nice room in the annex on first floor, two balconies on different sides. Sitting corner, desk. Dinner and breakfast fine. Good bed, quiet and dark room at night. A 15 minute drive further up the mountainroad after arrival brought me (in May) to the last snow and a point with stunningly beautiful panoramas overlooking the Rhine valley in the distance. Small but nicely situated small swimmingpool with vistas on an upper floor.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Family with young children

    Actually max 3 stars hotel, dunno why it marked as 4 on booking.com. Very simlpe rooms

    Place,location, Grotteltal itself, nature, climate, surroundings

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor WiFi reception, TV was not working.

    Great location, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Location fantastic, food in restaurant is fab

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Nice staff, good location and fresh air.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Solo traveller

    the towels are used to the cord bathrobes yellowed

    good restaurant friendly service quiet but convenient location

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Browse Hotel Hirschen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: