Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Der Hirschen This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Feldbergstr. 9, 79274 Sankt Märgen, Germany

#5 of 7 hotels in Sankt Märgen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 385 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is rather old but very clean and absolutely no issues there either. No Wifi in the room only in the common areas.

    The staff was very efficient and super nice. No problems at Checkin or Checkout. The breakfast buffet was amazing! The room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is simply terrible. It's available only in a lobby, however it's not so good even there. Breakfast is ok for 3-stars hotel, but no more. Quite shabby bathroom.

    Really good restaurant downstairs. Interesting interior of rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    could have wifi in rooms rather than only in restaurant / lounge/lobby area.

    spacious, comfortable room with nice views over Black Forest landscape. peaceful interior. nice restaurant /breakfast area. Good location for walks.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little worn out in places but beds were comfortable.

    Our receptionist was very friendly and helpful with walking tours. Restaurant staff extremely helpful and provided us with English menu and a staff member to help with wine choice. We stayed two nights and drove through the Black Forest area during the day and came back to a quiet room after walking seven km as well. Would go back again. Breakfast was very fresh, and lots of variety.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good. The only suggestion I would make to the hotel would be to provide a facility for getting a hot drink 'out of hours'. Either a facility in your room (kettle etc.) or a machine in a communal area would be great. To be fair this is very typical of most German hotels (I've never understood why - even Germans like a tea or a coffee early in the morning or late at night!) but I do think it's something that could be changed very easily and would make a big difference.

    Lovely, comfortable hotel in a pretty village high up in the Black Forest. Great facilities, large newly renovated room ( we had a superior with a balcony), very clean and well maintained. The staff were delightful without exception, the restaurant provided beautiful food and service in the evening and also for breakfast and there is a nice garden to sit in and have an afternoon coffee or a drink after dinner. You can walk in the Black Forest direct from the door of the hotel - there are many routes clearly signposted and there is easy access to the sights and locations of the region. Would not hesitate to recommend and I would go back there tomorrow.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English channels at all.. we booked 2 rooms & we were given rooms that were far away frm each other but the same floor. I have a 2 year old who likes look for her grandparents & she kept running up & down, much to the dismay of other guest. Normally where ever we book they'll give us either next to each other or opposite.

    Good sized & we got the renovated room.. breakfast was decent & coffee is freshly made, very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like that our trip was too short we couldn't stay longer.

    I loved staying at the hotel. The staff was very accomodating and very nice. They spoke great english so there wasn't a barrier with language and we will definitely go back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really

    comfortable, friendly reception, relaxed, good walks right from the hotel door. Modern interior yet maintaining a traditional look and feel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI is free and fast BUT not at the rooms. I was at the second floor and there was no signal.

    Good location at the middle of the Black Forest area. Close to Freiburg if you're looking for shopping and restaurants At breakfast don't hesitate to ask for scrambled eggs and bacon from the waiters

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not very friendly at breakfast either morning or at check out. Everyone who was younger was nice but the others were rude.

    Best breakfast. Incredible views. Hiking opportunities abound. Really lovely spa but the hours are a bit limited. Dinner selection was great. The gnocchi is the best ever I have had.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a bad experience: - hot weather... And no air conditioning in the rooms - no WIFI in the rooms, just available in social area - mixer in the shower broken. - poor/not existent service in the bar

    Great environment and surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little jaded and worn in rooms

    Beautiful location with adequate rooms and excellent food - very helpful staff - great access to walking trails and stunning views

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and clean rooms. Comfortable beds and very nice staff, especially in the evening! Great location with beautiful surroundings and nice terrace and garden.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed really comfy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chic 'Blackforest modern' deco. Good restaurant too!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi is not everywhere

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located in the heart of the Black Forrest and a tranquil village. Early morning view of the hills from my window. Fresh, bright rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fanastic. Staff is super nice. We can definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No jacuzzi

    Bed super, we had also gluten free bred. Calmness.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi in the hotel was lacking a bit with coverage in the rooms being minimal or lacking. Also the signup process requests you to give your mail and then tells you the password will be mailed which isn't very handy if you don't have Internet to get to that email.... On asking you are provided with a wifi code at reception though.

    Hotel is being renovated to a high standard. All central areas (bar, restaurant, spa, reception) have clearly been done but some of the rooms still need updating. I had an unrenovated single room which was quite sparse with a tiny tv, an outdated but clean bathroom and a single bed. It wasn't luxureous but adequate and quite good value for the price I paid. The staff is friendly and helpful and I even got free bus tickets for a return trip as I was going hiking in the vicinity. The location itself is stunning and very good. The village of Sankt Margen is small but very pitoresque with a monestery right in the center and lots of opportunities for hikers around

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great hotel; the majority of the rooms have been renovated and modernized recently. Modern vibe in a classic style hotel. Garden is lovely. People are very friendly and hospitable.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I traveled with my newborn and the staff was helpful and nice. Everything is newly renovated and my room had a beautiful garden view with a balcony!! I'll be back. I wish I had more time to spend in a relaxing room

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Very comfortable, large rooms, and good location in the Black Forest. Breakfast was nice

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very good breakfast, free sauna, very spacious room, and beautiful view

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    breakfast was lovely, personnel was very friendly, hotel was lovely with a touch of design everywhere

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a last minute change of plans and needed a room right now. They were very accomodating.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Design of the hotel is AMAZING!!! Staff was super nice and the Schwarzwald surroundings awesome! Highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff were very accommodating. Breakfast was excellent, as was the evening meal we had on both nights. Sauna facilities were very good.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Browse Der Hirschen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: