Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel an der Hörn This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Gablenzstr. 8, 24114 Kiel, Germany

#41 of 66 hotels in Kiel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1161 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    The last minute worker
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incorporate more bnbs ...this will give you an edge in the competitions

    The last minute options is also the best option ...it's not just plain luck.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    we were in transit to take a cruise so the location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift - terrible when you have two heavy luggages, no help offered.

    we were in transit to take a cruise so the location was perfect. not ideal though to explore the town. The staff were very helpful. food was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    We sought functional stop and found a place offering more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beware location next to railway marshalling yard with early and late noise. If that might bother you ask for a room at the back.

    Room was excellent with views over the dock and they have an excellent chef whose offering over the 2 nights we stayed was outstanding. Good varied breakfast offered.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    Family occasion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn't work in the rooms, but it did in the bar area. Parking was difficult but we managed and the staff were helpful.

    Breakfast was very good. Staff were friendly and allowed us to leave our car at the hotel on the morning we were due to leave to allow us time to walk to city centre. Room was spacious. Perfect location for visiting the city and travelling by train. Lovely bar/restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    A simple and quite basic hotel but represented an ideal base for our visiting for the first time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of lift - my 84 year old mother was put in a third floor room (but transferred on day 2 when another room became available. Shower - v high lip made getting in and out difficult

    Generous bedroom, friendly staff, good value breakfast and parking. Response to request for ground floor room for elderly mother - see below.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    A good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing.

    Great location, about 7 minutes walk to the train station, room was spacious and clean,bed comfortable, shower was great, good breakfast.Will be happy to stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.8
    the restaurant is excellent.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a lot of noise of the nearby traines and street. If you like it quite in the night you need to chose another hotel.

    the restaurant is excellent. the room was very big.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Loved kiel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were really helpful, the breakfast was lovely and a nice balcony - not far from the train station and close to the bus station to go to Hamburg - also close to the ferry to Labore which is a lovely daytrip

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Easy and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place to spend a night or two while getting to know Kiel. Parking garage was a big plus and the restaurant-bar was a cool place to grab something to eat and drink

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.9
    On arrival the lady who checked us in was very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking out in the morning we were made to feel by the young man that we were leaving without paying for drinks that were charged to our room in error. We had to protest and left feeling not so good about the place.

    On arrival the lady who checked us in was very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.5
    Note that the hotel isnt as close as you think by the map (the hotel is on a road above the station)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy next to the train station - couldn't sleep for most of the night due to works with trains. Evening meal very poor and over priced. Like frozen food. The lady in the evening was also very rude and we felt hurried (kitchen closed at 9pm despite the information in our room stating that the restaurant was open until 10pm)

    Great sized room. The lady that checked us in was extremely nice and printed out my boarding pass (unlike the staff in the evening).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    9.2
    Friendly and clean city hotel. Bargain.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking garage is only good for narrow vehicles with enough ground clearance. The room door rattled everytime someone closed the door from the hall to the staircase

    Very friendly staff. Good breakfast. Comfy bed. Huge room! Excellent value for money. Family in a room next to us but we hardly heard anything.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    A great room and great time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking place is a bit hard to know about and to find. We forgot to ask in advance, so we had to search for a place somewhere on the streets for the first night.Some more info about that in advance would be helpful. Otherwise, everything was great!

    Very spacious room with an amazing and huge bed! Breakfast was delicious and had everything you needed. We had easy access to our key, since we arrived late. Great location, close to central station, shopping center etc.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.9
    Definitely will stay again next Kiel visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My sons room was exposed to the busy rail line causing a sleepless night. My room on the first floor was quiet.

    The small packet of sweets on the pillows added quality to the room . The size of the room was almost double the size of swedish hotel rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.1
    No elevator or staff to help with luggage
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator or staff to help with luggage

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice good value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The guy at reception was very nice relaxed and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic amenities only ... no high expectations on food or ambience

    location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.0
    The breakfast was ok, the staff is ok, the room is quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was ok, the staff is ok, the room is quite poor, but clean, the internet is ok

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    Hotel OK for price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking conditions was very poor

    Hotel OK for price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Noise from the trains passing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from the trains passing..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.0
    The room was cold, terrible pillows, the sink and toilet not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold, terrible pillows, the sink and toilet not clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    4.6
    Trainstation with every 2 min a train
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trainstation with every 2 min a train

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    The food was very good and the buffet breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot pot for tea.

    The food was very good and the buffet breakfast was excellent...the staff was friendly..it was 7 min walk to the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could be bigger and no AC

    Really central location, good breakfast, helpful staff 👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture not so comfortable

    Nice big room. Bed was comfortable. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Very clean hotel, very good and variate food. We enjoyed the say, we would do it again anytime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much light in the night

    Room, food, stuff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Railway noise
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Railway noise

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    good location friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not buffet breakfast

    good location friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Room was very big and the beds super comfy!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi connection was very shaky, sometimes not available at all.

    Room was very big and the beds super comfy! The balcony was a treat.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.0
    My colleague and I went there for a business trip. We stayed 2 nights at hotel and it was fine.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a tiny bit colder in the room than I expected.

    Breakfast was better than expected.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.0
    OK rooms but avoid the restaurant for dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner at the restaurant was not eatable.

    big room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Close to the city centre and very clean
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the city centre and very clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Pleasant and affordable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy transportation via KIELIUS shuttle from Hamburg AirPort. Affordable Price; clean And large rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.9
    Helpful staff, great breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really like a hotel with a kettle and coffee in the room. I ended up drinking beer instead! A nice warm drink on a late arrival really helps!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Positive and Negative
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator

    Big room and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Good for 1-2 Nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    now elevator, in summer when you like to open windows it can be noisy, Trains and cars

    Very good breakfast,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    We enjoyed the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. Had to carry luggage up 3 floors.

    Friendly girl server. Meals received as ordered in fast time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    A good stopover hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle in the room.

    A good place to stay for one night. Rooms were clean and spacious. A good variety at breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    There was safe parking for our bicycles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was safe parking for our bicycles. The room was spacious and had a balcony. We enjoyed the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.3
    having a balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    having a balcony

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very unstable and slow Internet.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.3
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People that work there, wifi connection bad, reception in the middle of restaurant

    Big room with balcony

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could hear the traffic during night.

    Great location. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was nice as well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    5.4
    I could not warm a food I bought in town, bcos is not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not warm a food I bought in town, bcos is not allowed,but I work in horeca which we do all the time.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    5.0
    Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No WiFi

    Nice breakfests

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    2.5
    Fun In Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location lots to do and plenty of restaurants

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    9.2
    Very nice staff, generous and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy from traffic

    Very nice staff, generous and helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    The place is great,pretty close to everything,the staff is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is great,pretty close to everything,the staff is super nice and the food is just great,i really enjoyed it

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    4.6
    Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No sleep, as hallway was too loud. Full of echo and tiled, so really noisy all through the night. Really awful!!! It felt like people were walking through my room it was so noisy!!!

    Staff very friendly. Breakfast was nice.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    5.4
    Rather noisy place because of the proximity to the railway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rather noisy place because of the proximity to the railway terrain (rail yard) with various trains running at idle most of the night. The room was too large and naked with poor acoustics. A few blankets here and there would do wonders.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    7.9
    Parking for mid-size (and above) cars in the garage will be...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Parking for mid-size (and above) cars in the garage will be a problem. At the end we park outside on temporary permission from staff (but had a few rough moments maneuvering in garage...)

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    7.9
    they were very helpful when one of us was sick.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NA

    they were very helpful when one of us was sick.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    7.1
    Room was very dusty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very dusty. Parking not easy especially when have several bags

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    7.1
    Very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    9.2
    Very good location near the city centre and a large nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good location near the city centre and a large nice room. Excellent breakfast with a wide choice of bread, fruits, cereals etc

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    7.9
    breakfast very good and the bed is good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the shower could be better

    breakfast very good and the bed is good

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    9.2
    Spacious and clean room, and we had a good terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The parking area was very dark.

    Spacious and clean room, and we had a good terrace. Good restaurant. Nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    7.5
    Spacious room on the 3rd floor with excellent view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No lift.

    Spacious room on the 3rd floor with excellent view of the Hoern bridge. Food very good quality both dinner and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.8
    Staff was most friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was most friendly

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.9
    Location, near to city centre;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had an attic room which got very warm under the roof and was difficult to ventilate.

    Location, near to city centre; good value for money

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    6.3
    God service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotellet ligger meget dårligt lige op af togskinner. Dobbeltsengen var alt for lille kun 3/4 seng

    God service

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    9.2
    big room, with terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    big room, with terrace. Good restaurant/bar. Privat parking

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: