Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Höhengasthof Grüner Baum This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Bärhaldeweg 2, 79868 Feldberg, Germany

#6 of 15 hotels in Feldberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 402 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for a couple or family. The hotel is very comfortable, clean, organized and the decoration is very cozy. The owners and employees are awesome people, they are very kind and gave us all support we needed to have a perfect stay. And the food, wow it is special.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ferienwohnung Hochfirst
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room below our apartment was a party room and on Saturday night had disco music playing until 1 AM. I definitely would not have booked this apartment if I thought there would be a disco below. Somewhere during the night on our last day the water heater went out so there was no hot water in the morning. This is quite unfortunate for those who take morning showers. There were apologies for this inconvenience but no other amends were offered.

    The staff were pleasant for most part except for the first night at check-in we had reserved something and the staff at check-in told me it was impossible that we had done so. I’m not sure if it was due to miscommunication as I don’t speak German and he didn’t seem to speak much English. The breakfast is quite nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hostess was very helpful, she helped us with information on the Ski lifts. She provided direction to the parking area and where to buy lift tickets.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice cosy hotel with delicious dinner served. Perfect for skiing in Feldberg. There is a bus stop in 2 minutes walk to take you to Feldberg and train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Familien-Vierbettzimmer
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Management mostly invisible / unavailable, even at arrival (17h) . Lucky for us that the waiter was available (and friendly) to show the room, switch on the sauna and show the parking place. It snowed a lot , unfortunately the path to the door was slippery/not cleared (other priorities ?) . The additional and typical restaurant Mühlenstüble (other side of the street , known for its specialities i.e. fondue AND belonging to the hotel owners ) was 100% rented to a complete bus of tourists during the weekend and thus unavailable for the guests , we haven't been informed either when we booked. Sauna, infrared and wellness are not really promoted (the access and corridor towards the sauna room were really cold) . Very pushy to make us pay the evening prior to the departure, altough I said we were not in a hurry, that we had no intention to leave before 9 AM the next morning , we had to pay immediately the evening. No credit card payments.

    Clean renewed warm rooms & bathrooms, good bed , typical Schwarzwald restaurant, very good typical Schwarzwald food. Every day room cleaning , hygiene was top. Breakfast was fair , much choice when it comes to eggs etc - but too mediocre for a 3***plus Hotel, for exemple no sweeties , no croissants or cake . Most of the waiters were very friendly, but not all .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Komfort Doppelzimmer Landhausstil
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Pet friendly - Charming room - Owners make you feel at home - Tasty food in the restaurant - Excellent location for various day trips in the area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ferienwohnung Belchen
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful chance discovery. Superb accommodation - well exceeded our expectations and great value for money. Has an excellent restaurant too. Even a bar there. Breakfast was also fantastic and staff were really friendly and helpful. Great location for walks etc and a short drive to Schluchsee. We'll definitely be back!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Komfort Doppelzimmer Landhausstil
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike

    It is away from the main tourist crowds, in a lovely, peaceful spot yet close enough to see everthing in the area. Dinner priced are slightly more than average but so worth it. If you are here during mushroom season - try some!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Familien-Vierbettzimmer
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Feldberg is very crowded during the weekend. You need to go for skiing very early to avoid big traffic jam on the way.

    It is impossible to point out all the great things with this hotel and stuff. Simply too many points. They understand very well what the customer want to have. Cannot imagine any better place for family ski trip.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Komfort Doppelzimmer Landhausstil
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked it asked for the ages of my children and showed 1 adult, however I was charged adult taxes. I also stated in my bookings.com comments that there would be 2 children and on adult. I tried to correct it at checkout, but the lady was a little rude and said I confirmed it on bookings.com so she would not change it. Then she said that I had 2 children when I only booked one. I told her I mentioned that on bookings.com she continued to argue with me and said I did not. I pulled out my confirmation paper and showed her the printout and my comments and she just said oh!

    Loved the ambiance, the breakfast was amazing, fresh tulips on the tables with lit candles. Staff dressed in Dirndel's, amazing mountain views. The lady serving breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Familien-Vierbettzimmer
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating to our requests. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and the seating area was well decorated. The staff list your name at each table, which is a nice touch. The rooms were spacious and the location between the lakes plus being about 15 minutes from Feldberg was a definite plus.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Komfort Doppelzimmer Landhausstil
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed mattress not good at all. Hotel needs to clarify its policy concerning dogs (in Booking's website)

    Room very good, as in photos. Clean Excellent breakfast Great dinner options at the restaurant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Familien-Vierbettzimmer
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi not working properly, credit cards not accepted (or with extra price)

    Quiet location, friendly staff, the "discount card" that makes most of nearby attractions free, the playground for kids

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Komfort Doppelzimmer Landhausstil
    • Stayed 1 night

    I just want left an advice, that from the train station to the hotel there is a 36 minutes walking and there are no taxis, so if you go by car you will enjoy it better.

    We love the place, the view, the food, the gests... We had a perfect stay...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Familien-Vierbettzimmer
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic hotel. Very friendly staff, happy to provide advice about the area and plenty of resources available (i.e. hiking maps). Location is great - peaceful and would be so close to ski-fields in winter. Room large and comfortable, breakfast good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staffs and very welcoming atmosphere!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The employees were very kind and you felt very welcome. I have an allergy and they put a lot of effort in the meals so I didn't feel left out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Komfort Doppelzimmer Landhausstil
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and very cozy. Super location. Sure I will return

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff, fantastic food, calm and relaxing location. Thanks a lot Familie Dietz and Staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Familien-Vierbettzimmer
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    From the moment we came, until the end of our staying in the hotel it was excellent. Thanks to the owners, and stuff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Komfort Doppelzimmer Landhausstil
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comfortable,the view from the balcony and shower-room was brilliant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Komfort Doppelzimmer Landhausstil
    • Stayed 1 night

    Picturesque view, Titisee lake, Feldburg ski resorts, hiking routs are very close. Perfect for traveling by car.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Familien-Vierbettzimmer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Everything was perfect. The staff are competent and were providing excellent service overall.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Familien-Vierbettzimmer
    • Stayed 1 night

    The supply of warmer water was not good.

    The stuffs were very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Familien-Vierbettzimmer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, good restaurant for dinner (not cheap though), good breakfast, nice and quite surroundings, definitely worth coming back again

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Komfort Doppelzimmer Landhausstil
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room, good beds, Nice staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Komfort Doppelzimmer Landhausstil
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet in the basement did not work properly.

    Very friiendly and caring staff, clean roooms, comfortable beds and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Convenient location, great value. We stayed in a quad to be with our two children and it was spacious and clean. The staff was so helpful and courteous. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and with large variety; and dinner restaurant was so delicious. Will certainly try to stay here on any return trip.

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly lady of the house. But it seems she had to do everything by herself.When we arrived we had to wait 1/2 hr in the lobby at 6pm since she was serving at the adjoining restaurant.At breakfast she was again working alone, no wonder the coffee was cold.

    Good view, friendly.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very good hospitality and location, in combination with good food. Also used the 3 sauna's they have. Very nice towards dogs (they also have a dog themselves)

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wlan /wifi comes with a small fee, and is not very good.

    Completely ski pass!

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Traditional feel both staff and cuisine were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hospitality of the staff

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was a great place to stay. Everyone was very friendly and it was really clean.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Warm welcome, comfortable room, great food, all set on a location of perfect tranquility. Dog friendly, which I like.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Price

    Location

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    L'accueil chaleureux

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: