Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Kurfürstenstr. 78, Mitte, 10787 Berlin, Germany

#333 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4454 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    Effective for a business stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast was, as everything, adequate, but not exciting. Sofa was not comfortable.

    The room is reasonably basic, but covering the essentials for a business traveller. Staff was friendly. Location is very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.8
    The room was FAR too small for 4 people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was FAR too small for 4 people. In fact, we actually rented another room during our stay to be more comfortable. Also, if you are a US brand and advertise that you have air conditioning, it MUST work and work well. There was basically no air conditioning in our room - very disappointing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    The room was so spacious and lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so spacious and lovely! We were so comfortable and happy with our room. Also the inclusive buffet breakfast saved us so much money and it was yum. The location was good, not wonderful but Berlin is so huge it’s impossible to find the perfect location for a price as good as this - would recommend!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    I loved this hotel and would gladly stay here again and would recommend it to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV reception, in the three rooms we occupied, was not the best; on many/most channels, the picture was constantly jumpy. I suspect a cable-connection issue at some central hotel location???

    The dining facility was excellent. I liked the availability of everything at the lobby level...the dining room, the bar, a lounging area, and a desktop computer available to the public...very nice set-up. I also liked the opportunity to skip room clean-up in return for a free drink at the bar...Great idea.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.6
    Read hotel policies multiple times
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the only hotel where free of charge for a child means nothing... we were forced to upgrade a room and pay 65 eur per night for a 4 years old child

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Holiday in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very well located. Near restaurants and supermarkets. Close to train station and bus 100 up the street. Breakfast had a great variety. The room was confortable and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Convenient, friendly stay in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room air conditioner wasn’t as cold as we are used to but still managed to keep us comfortable

    Close to public transport. Short walk to supermarket, shopping centre and Zoo. Easy access to city Staff friendly and happy to help out. Parking available at a cost. Continental breakfast good value with plenty of variety

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    Good friendly staff, cooperative and one can enjoy good Breakfast. Good experience
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No comments

    Good location, surrounded by cafes & restaurants, easy for metro, hop on/hop off buses, boat rides, shopping, Berlin Zoo & Aquarium & site seeing. Rewards guest (free drink/beer) if room cleaning is unnecessary (saving environment & chemicals)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Everything was brilliant, family room was perfect, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say.

    Everything was brilliant, family room was perfect, staff could not be better, they would go above and beyond in their efforts, loved the breakfast. The best holiday Inn we have stayed in. Great location, 5mins walk to Wittenberg platz station. Say no more. Was a perfect experience for us!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.8
    ok so the room was small as expected in a big city but the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    sleeper sofa was terrible.. time for new sofa beds..

    ok so the room was small as expected in a big city but the sleeper sofa was terrible was sinking in and the boys had a very hard time sleeping.its time to upgrade for new sleeping sofas I asked to move us to a different room but they said they didn't have any.. staff was friendly so other than very uncomfortable sofa the stay was good..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Great and Convenience Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant provide enough food during peak time of breakfast.

    Location is very convenience. Many restaurants and shopping area nearby. Hotel staffs are very nice and friendly. They are quick arranged additional bed to my room free of charge when one more kid need to stay. We left the hotel to airport in the early morning before 6, check out the room and arranged taxi in 5 mins. Staff are very nice to offer us early breakfast even their coffee shop not yet start their breakfast time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.6
    could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I think it could be better although its a three stars hotel, not all staff are friendly and some of them needs to know basics of being in a customer service position, am saying not all of them as others were appreciated for their good attitude.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Fab place to stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Couldn't fault it while we stayed there to be honest. Maybe leaflets for tourists available in the rooms and English speaking TV channels

    Fabulous location, great service, helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    The room was a decent size for a family of 4 requiring 1...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taking the lift was frustrating, too slow. Have to be early for breakfast (before 9am) if you want to find a seat.

    The room was a decent size for a family of 4 requiring 1 travel cot. Some space for suitcases. Breakfast was decent for Germany. Liked the fact you can get free non alcoholic drinks if you choose not to have your room cleaned on the day. Good location, Berlin zoo 5mins walk, nearby supermarket.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    Accessibility to places and transportation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The telephone in the room not working, we were booked on the 7th floor. The room wasn’t cleaned the following day staff were informed. The receptionist were inform in the morning about requesting extra towel on top of the normal supply, not done so I need to request again on return to the hotel in the evening.

    Accessibility to places and transportation. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast options are very healthy although it would be nice if there are options of hot food like fried sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs and beans.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    3.3
    Bad choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all, very very very small room can’t be categorized as a family room. Hotel takes more money as it is family room and it’s normal double room, Sofa bed is not comfortable at all. “Just a note, my kids are 3 & 5 yrs”. Second, poor breakfast; no varieties. No facilities at the room even a cupboard or a safe box When I asked about the safe, they said that there is a safe room with safe lockers and that is the TRICK... I put amount of money in the safe box there on my first day and I didn’t use them at all The day before i left the hotel at night (10 pm) I wanted to take the money back , but I realized that there are 400$ missing!!! When i told them i lost some of the money they said that it’s my own responsibility not theirs. No camera in the safe room. So anything can be taken from that room and they will tell you we don’t know Front disk didn’t deal with the problem, they wanted to change the story that I am the liar and i am pretending; as there is no proof. If anyone wanted to stay at this hotel take care, don’t trust them and leave ur belongings, better not to reserve bb, if u r family go for 2 rooms or choose another hotel better

    Only the well know name that actually deceives me Location near to the zoo

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    Satisfactory!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast (wished we had more to choose from). For good coffee you’d better visit the local Einstein Kaffee.

    Location, price/quality, economical attitude.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Great value for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TV was very small but it was mounted to the wall and adjustable.

    The breakfast layout and coffee were great. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom & shower were roomy with good water pressure. Location was close to many restaurants, sights and the train & bus stops but you can also walk to many of the same locations if you wanted.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    Lock up your valuables when you go out.
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Security. A set of expensive Wifi headphone left on the room table went missing. The hotel has claimed it did not happen. Very disappointing.

    For the price, there is value to be had at this hotel. Good breakfast and clean rooms. The number 100 bus close by. Berlin is overpriced and overrated - we were there 40+ years ago when it was still being rebuilt.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    2.5
    The worst hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, I stayed three days in this hotel, the worst mistake of my life. He had a big problem with the hotel services and they didn’t provide the expected support to solve this matter for us. As guests, our rights were not preserved. And we don’t recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.3
    Was in a great location and the breakfasts were very good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot. The air conditioning was not working well. They got us a fan but still was difficult to sleep.

    Was in a great location and the breakfasts were very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    I will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was clean and spacious. The breakfast was great! But, what I loved most was that if you chose to forgo getting your room cleaned, you got free drinks!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Thanks Mr Tanos Mako and Holiday inn express. This trip will forever remain in our memory
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast can have more options.

    Mr. Tanos Mako From Holiday Inn Express at kurfurstenstrasse, Berlin made our stay absolutely wonderful and delightful. After a tiring journey from Prague to Berlin, his amazing sense of humour, positive attitude and extra concern to make our stay comfortable made us feel at home. We would like to Thank you for going an extra mile and making our stay at Berlin most memorable. We would definitely recommend stay here to all our friends.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    A decent hotel, comfortable, friendly staff in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We requested a quiet room and we got one, however slightly far from the Wifi point unfortunately. It would be a great improvement for the hotel to update the TV to slightly bigger sizes and better quality ( still standard definition ). Other than that, no complaints :)

    a very decent hotel , very well situated in the heart of Berlin, near the zoological garden. We were spending a week end in Berlin on budget and we found that this hotel met our expectations. The breakfast buffet was decent and offered a fairly wide range of selection. The Staff was absolutely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed, with hotel. City was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaner left our room door open, they had also been through our cases. Manager didn't speak to us about it. The room was covered in bugs, we have been bitten all over I had to go and buy bug spray, but the bugs kept appearing.

    The location was reasonable. Reception staff friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    It was a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine in the room didn't work sometimes.

    We loved staying here. The staff was excellent and the location was perfect. Our room was very clean and the breakfast far exceeded what we expected. What can we say, it was a great experience!!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Good breakfast, comfy bed and pillows for a good night sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room key only to see somebody had not checked out in the room. There were clothes around and the bed was unmade, we quickly ran back to the front desk to ask for a different room.

    Super comfy bed and pillows, perfect for a good night sleep. Daily breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable, friendly atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Improving the breakfast with a wider variety of food, this may be of relevance for those staying more than a few days in the hotel.

    The facility offered the option of relinquishing room cleaning for next day, this is great, many people may not like the room to be made up every day, I feel it is a squandering of resources, on top of that we get a free drink.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    3.3
    Breakfast and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was attached by mosquitos every night resulting in over twenty bites over my body I spent one night killing them inside the room I’ve complained to the manager who was useless and fobbed me off I’ve since complained to the head office five hundred euros sent to be attacked every night with painful bites and s holiday ruined absolute shambles and they have refused to refund me

    Breakfast and location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice location for a basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some kind of fridge or mini bar would be nice.

    Clean and nice room. Fast check-in and check out and good customer service at the reception. Breakfast was good and there was enough tables even at the busiest times. Good location with the bus 100 leaving every 5mins just next to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could include some scrambled eggs and sausages. Bed was a bit too small for 2 people.

    Good location. clean rooms. Easy access to public transport. Many places to dine in the surrounding area. Responsive staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, great location and really friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At least one English news channel on TV would have been nice.

    We loved the voucher for a free drink at the bar when we arrived and a free drink for every day we didn't have our room made up. After all who needs clean sheets and towels everyday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Clean, friendly staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator or microwave in the rooms.

    Continental breakfast was good (only hot items are boiled eggs and hot beverages), serve pastries, deli meat, lettuce, tomatoes, jams and cheeses. Very clean hotel, standard rooms no microwave or refrigerator so read the fine print. Staff is lovely and location is perfect-right up the street from the zoo (perfect for kids). Rooms are small! Perfect for a family of 3 (can put two twin beds together to make a bigger bed) anything more get a second room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location for city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safe in the room and a little noisy in the early morning if your bedroom is at the back of the hotel

    Nice breakfast, helpful staff, convenient location, clean and tidy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    Overrated Hotel !!! No facilites in the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No facilities !!! No service room, No safe nor a telephone inside the room. As a frequent flyer and a member of holiday Inn I was not happy during my 4 nights stay. I think the hotel is overrated on booking and should make a lot of improvements to deserve such a rate.

    The location was perfect !!! few minutes walking distance to the ZOO and Kudam. In addition it is close to the shopping mall KADEWE and other shopping shops. Sizes of the rooms is perfect and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Bread selection and croissants good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only 2 choices of yoghurt - plain + 1 fruit (same flavour for 5 days) No cooked option - just cold meats and cheese If you missed cleaning you didn't get the tea and coffee provided in the room

    Bread selection and croissants good Option to miss room cleaning and receive a free drink at the bar BUT see comment on missing tea/coffee

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.0
    OK stay, I will look for alternative options next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds (on springs) are super uncomfortable and if you're sharing a bed, you will feel every move of the other person. We really didn't have one good night sleep... Carpet stains and dirty windows don't make you feel it's really that clean.

    Location, breakfast included, environmentally friendly (can skip cleaning for a free drink at the bar). The staff is very friendly and nice!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    we have moskitos in both rooms in all 4 nights, 2 off us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we have moskitos in both rooms in all 4 nights, 2 off us have problem with connectors across the body, we told it to the receptionist but first the last day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable room for tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At the Holiday Hotel we spent two nights and were pleased with the comfortable and wide bed, it was perfect for sleeping and quiet in the room! The room is comfortable, has everything you need: a kettle, tea, coffee. cups. Staff friendly, we agreed during the booking that after eviction from the hotel room we leave our things in the storage room, the hotel we provided this service for free. Thanks to this, we managed to visit all the museums on the Museum Island in Berlin (Museumsinsel) on the day of the holiday and were happy :) Near the hotel 2 minutes walk there is a bus stop and on the double-decker bus number 100 you can reach the center to the Berlin TV Tower and Alexander Platz past the Reichstag and the Brandenburg Gate, Berlin Cathedral and exploring all the major attractions of the city!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Sighseeing in Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was good but it could be improved - it has all that is necessary but after 3 days it's always the same. Fruit salad should be done with fresh fruit.

    The wi-fi works quite well and the location is in na área that is well served of public transportation (near the Zoo)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    A breakfast, a placement, a personal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are a couple and booked and paied a room with double bed before 3,5 months of our visit. Unfortunately, we've got a room with two separate beds. I asked the room with one double bed but with no any result.

    A breakfast, a placement, a personal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast was really good, the bed was extra comfy, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffee was not the best, but this is really the biggest issue I can add here..

    The breakfast was really good, the bed was extra comfy, the room was quiet, we could sleep really well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Refreshing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My back didn't enjoy the bed of the bedroom initially assigned to us; but after changing rooms I didn't have any problems.

    Free wifi. Breakfast is good. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.8
    Will not come back because of reasons I wrote above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are smaller than on picture, for 4 persones (2 children) to small- can not walk behinde the bed and sit on chair, there is no closet, no fridge, air condition heating didn't work- was cooling all time. At breakfast there was no warm food- for example scrambled eggs, hot dogs etc. There is also not enough space in restaurant, and tables are 20cm from each other.

    Location and internet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    The staff is very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are absolutely tiny! There is barely any space to even open the bags.

    The staff is very helpful and friendly. Also, loved the concept of a free drink if you don't need your room cleaned - a little reward for you to help save water. The location of the hotel is also nice - 10-15 minute walk to Kudamm, KaDeWe and very close to the Zoological Garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Berlin has come a long way in the last 10 years and the streets are clean which was a change from ca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had the impression it was right in the centre .Its not. We did find a bus stop just across the road number 100. Which takes you right into the centre. Or if you like it takes you on a tour around parts of Berlin. Which was good. The Berlin ZOO is worth going around. The genral transport system was good as was the staff that ran it.

    The staff were good. The room was ready when we got there . Which to be fair we were a little early. The breakfast was good plenty of everthing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Bed is small - I missed scramble eggs/bacon at breakfast

    + friendly staff + clean rooms + good breakfast + nice area with a lot of shops and restauarnts + fast checkin and checkout

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    To sum up we will be back to Berlin, our stay will be with you guys at the HOLIDAY INN
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was v good. Continental with all the required extras, good choice of cold meats, breads & cheeses , The beds were very comfortable, the staff couldn't be nicer, helpful in every way

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.8
    Not too happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air in room very hot, I requested a room on upper floor and rec'd a room on 1st floor above entrance. Not only was it very noisy when people were smoking it came in the room.

    Very easy to locate

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Had an enjoyable stay here and would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a bit hard for us. Tea making facilities were a bit cramped. TV channels were limited for English viewers. Storage was a bit limited for a 4 night stay.

    Well situated. Staff very helpful. Good shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    A fantastic stay a pity about the air conditioning and lack of sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The majority of the staff were great with the exception of one who was not very helpful when we reported a fault with the air conditioning. She spoke to me as if I was stupid. There are controls in the room to alter the temperature of the air conditioning however they are useless as we were informed the air conditioning is operated centrally and blows hot or cold depending on the temperature outside. The weather was lovey for the 4 days and the rooms were too hot and uncomfortable. We never slept a wink doe to the heat and noise of the bust road at front.

    Location very good. Not too far from underground. Handy for public transport. The perfect location for a lively break. A good choice of shops, restuarants and bars on your doorstop. The majority of the staff were excellent. The hotel was very clean. The continental breakfast satisfactory.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.0
    An average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the double bed was too small for 2 person- really uncomfortable. The hotel was a bit far from center. The carpets and the sofa did not seemed very clean.

    Staff was friendly - breakfast was nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    Everything great except for the size of the room and the intense heat in it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was far too hot, air conditioning not working. Could not sleep because of intense heat. It was advertised as a family room but the room was very small for a 6 foot boy and two adults!

    Breakfast was varied and something to suit everyone, room clean and reasonably priced Hop on hop off buses about 15 min walk away. Near the train station that takes you to schoenfeld airport. Cost just over 6 euro in a taxi to train station. Restaurants around the immediate area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.1
    Overall it was pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room faced the busy road of the hotel. So, unfortunately, we didn't sleep well for 2 nights. The road is busy all night long. Even the laundry of the hotel was loaded at 3am making a lot of noise ! It would be nice to have a frigobar in the room. And finally, a shampoo/soap on the wall, for us, it's a no no !

    The breakfast was very good with lovely fresh baked pastries and bread. Also the receptionists were kind and smiley. Location wise was great. We had the underground very close and we could walk to some nice parts of the city too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location- close to all the major sites and the metro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smaller than average hotel room for a family of four but definitely doable.

    Great location- close to all the major sites and the metro to get to some that are a little farther. Room was a tad small for a family of four, but otherwise a great hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    Other things were ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other things were ok. Except 1 employee ruined the whole image of the hotel with her unkindness. She was totally unfriendly. Me and my friends had to wait more than 20 min outside waiting she eventually open the door of parking lot after asking 3 times. Considering the fact there were many guests in the reception tried to check in, we tried to understand, but her reaction when we asked her to open the door of parking lot, i can say the reply was just simply ‘rude’.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Loved my stay. Berlin is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No double bed. TV could have had more than German spoken channels. TV was a bit dated,no usb or smart screen ability.

    Breakfast was good.Staff really helpful on information.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn’t very comfortable, a bit soft.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast with good variety of food and very fresh. Location was great too as there are couple of freat place to eat around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was a bit too small. Moreover, we received a twin room at first that was changed the second day.

    The hotel is very well connected with public transportation, train and bus. A bus stop is 1 minute away and the train to the airport is at 10-15 minutes away - an enjoyable walk close to the Zoo and a shopping area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    3.3
    Bad hotel experience. Unfair price-quality ratio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First we received a twin room instead of a standard one (one double bed), as we booked. We didn't accept it and the receptionist found another available one but when we entered into the room, we realized that it was not cleaned (the bed sheets were not changed!). The heating system was not working, it was very cold. The hotel has climatic system instead of radiators and even if I have set it up at maximum, it blew cold air. I have mentioned this and they changed our room, but it was the same situation. Very uncomfortable when outside there are -10 Celsius degrees. There is no fridge in the room and you cannot wide open the window, but you can fold it (they locked it with a key). So you cannot keep any drink cold. The breakfast was the same every day and they serve very cheap products. When we left, very early in the morning, there was no one to help us with the check out process at the reception. We had to wait for more than 15 minutes to find someone and we left in a hurry. We complaint about the services, and we received as compensation a free drink.... For us, it was an unpleasant experience and I would say that the price quality ratio is not fair!

    -

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, lovely staff and great location breakfast good too. Would come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, possibly room a little small for 4 and we were facing the back so view not great but none of that was a problem as we were only there to sleep at night.

    Brilliant location easy for trains and buses 5 mins walk to zoo and 10 mins walk at most to train station, underground nearer. Clean, very friendly staff. Asked to keep my room a little longer and there was no problem! Or you can leave your bags in a safe place which was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No wardrobe, no safe. The breakfast is very reasonable but kind of limited. If croissant disappear, they are not refilled.

    Good location, excellent staff, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    Hotel staffs are very kind and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and sofa could have been cleaned better. And I found it hard to find a way to dry my washed clothes.

    Hotel staffs are very kind and helpful. We had a small problem with the washroom, and they helped us to switch a new room immediately. Breakfast is nice, too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    Good location - a couple of things to be improved.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The last morning of the stay my wi-fi access was cancelled although I was still officially in the hotel. The employee could not resolve this. In general, wi-fi access requires logging-on after each device restart. The cleaning personell skipped our room after seeing the ‘do not disturb’ sign at 8 am. They did not return later although the sign was removed.

    The bed was indeed like a cloud. The location is excellent and the possibility to exchange the one-night room cleaning for a drink at the bar was welcomed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    A lovely hotel and i can recommend to anyone
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    To avoid getting out when it is cold they should prepare food too as the bar is inside it will add value.

    The hotel is great and great friendly staff. I loved the way they prepare breakfast it is amazing. variety of breakfast full stocked that was awesom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.4
    There are some positives but unfortunately nothing more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One pair of shoes and a bag with our laundry were stolen. We left the room yesterday after the breakfast at 11.30, leaving on the door the sign for the housekeeper to clean our room. We came back to the room at 15.30 in the afternoon, the room was clean new towels and bedshits but the bag with the laundry and one pair of Timberland boots were missing. We went to the reception to complain and they told us that we have to wait. They couldn't tell us anything until next day in the morning when they asked us if we want to call the police. We talk with the police and even then we didn't receive a clear answer of what is going to happen. The only thing the manager told us is that they have to inform the general manager and watch the filming of the cameras in the hall. We are very disappointed with the services of this hotel but the worst is that we paid to have a safe stay in this hotel. What about the security of this hotel? I lost time from our holidays discussing with the reception about it. This is a big shame for such a hotel. If they can't find the shoes we want a refund. We didn't pay to lose our valuable time in Berlin and lose our personal belongins. We also expect from Booking to take up the issue and inform us on how we can proceed.

    There are some positives but unfortunately nothing more valuable than our personal belongings.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    Busy hotel, small but quiet rooms, very comfortable beds,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy hotel, small but quiet rooms, very comfortable beds, breakfast included, location is great (next to Kurfürstendamm shopping street and the Zoo), staff welcoming and helpful. You are also offered a free drink in the bar in exchange for towels change (to save the planet:)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    6.3
    I can say that the room was clean enough but not perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge you the total price when you check-in and the breakfast had very limited choices. Only two types of cheese were on the counter. No feta or any kind of cheese were present. Also there were no tomatoes, no olives. Very basic type of breakfast.

    I can say that the room was clean enough but not perfect. The location is perfect. Very close to public transportation stations and major brand’s shops if you want to shop.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.5
    pleasant enough , good centralish location & choice of restaurants nearby
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was on the first floor but there was no stairway to the ground floor - the stairs went straight outside! Seems ridiculous to have to take the lift for one floor! Just one tea bag per cup in the room .

    Bread rolls in the breakfast room were excellent. Staff were all helpful Room was twin bedded clean with gq quilts & 2 pillows per bed. Couple of English speaking TV channels . Good shower room with decent water pressure

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.5
    The concept of a free drink if you don't get your room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The concept of a free drink if you don't get your room serviced is a good idea, but we lost the vouchers and they wouldn't honor it, even though they could probably check their records.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.5
    Nice room with breakfast included.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nice room with breakfast included. Tea/coffee in the room. If you prefer not to have your room cleaned up, then you receive a free drink in the bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful experience on first visit to the city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the breakfast room, ooo no... I could not find strawberry jam or scrambled egg because I like warm food. Perhaps the management can consider half price (instead of full day price) for extended late check-out (up to 5 or 6pm)

    What I like is definitely the friendly staffs. Not only that they speak good English, but also they are very helpful and very informative Location is good and walking distance to one of the stop of the "hop-on hop-off city tour bus"

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.8
    Clean, spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overpriced drink in hotel bar. No refrigerator in room. Metro stations are not so close.

    Clean, spacious rooms. Good breakfast from 6,30 to 10,30. Excellent location near Zoo and shopping zone. Cheap taxi from hotel to "must see" spots (approx. 8 to 11 EUR). Cheap supermarket nearby. Few good "value for money" restaurants nearby. Taxi transfer from Shonefeld airport to hotel up to 40 EUR

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Great place for a short holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toaster at the breakfast room is unacceptably slow, it takes forever to get a slice of toast in that device, decided to have plain bread after first morning after spending over 10 minutes waiting for just one person.

    Location is great, in between two metro stations, and also a few restaurants around. Room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was amazing with a variety of cereals, fruit, bread, pastries and herbal teas and coffee.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    We would definitely recommend this Holiday Inn; everything was very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only compliant is that bed wasn't very comfortable. You could feel the bed springs in some areas, however is wasn’t the worst hotel bed we’ve slept on and we were able to sleep decently.

    Perfect location, great parking, delicious breakfast, rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Holiday Inn Express Berlin City Centre West traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: