Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Lübecker Str. 109, Hohenfelde, 22087 Hamburg, Germany

#164 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 7032 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room was small,bads was not confortable and was too small,we couldnt move to anywhere in room,childrens sofa bed was small for two children ,there was not refrige in room

    we stayed as a family, breakfast was good,(not perfect),(coffee quality was low),hotel was near metro station (by walking 3-4 minute to wartau station),ice machine on ground floor.we checked in at 11 o clock thanks to turkish personnel(thank you very much)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bfast with limited options and mostly cold bfast. Wifi was bad with breaking connection Mattress too bouncy and not comfortable to sleep

    Location - good with some eating joints nearby like Dominoes, Burger joint.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were clearly corners cut in room cleanliness and the room was by no means a good size for four people.

    The room was not what we understood it to be on booking. I would not consider this a family room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be perfect if Carpet at room and corridor are changed

    Reception staff were friendly helpfull Room furniture was perfect Very good breakfast and staff was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no luggage stand. Only 5 hangers in the closet; inadequate space to unpack a bit (I used the desk to pile clothes on and mainly lived out of my suitcase, which was on the floor). We did a few hand-washes and it was hard to hang them to dry. The wifi was complicated to access.

    Room a/c was good. The beds were firm and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was extensive - but the cold cuts were uninteresting. Located across street from an Aldi (Trader Joe's) store! Room was on main floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy on one night - loud music from the nearby carpark. Police were called and eventually it stopped but it went on for several hours.

    Friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole experience was ruined by a broken window. We realized it late in the night and the kids were already sleeping so no point in complaining at that time to the reception. The window could not be properly closed and a cold draft was coming in all the time making the room very cold, specially the sofa-bed besides the window where the kids were sleeping. We informed the staff in the morning, but their reaction was not really what you would expect and no apologies were offered. Totally disappointing experience, I understand this is not a 5 stars hotel but it is not cheap either.

    Even if there was a problem with the booking and BOOKING.COM was the guilty one, the staff at check-in was great explaining the situation and fixing it. Breakfast is simple but still acceptable, the location is really great, there is an awesome (halal) Persian restaurant just a few meters from the hotel. Parking was good and the price acceptable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Great hotel, friendly staff and delicious breakfast. Train and Bus stations are close by. For the price we paid, the hotel has met our expectations and then some. Especially considering hotels in hamburg tend to be a bit pricey.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    decent breakfast, hotel was clean, although attention should be given to ledge above headboards, they were dusty. and as i worked in the same industry i notice things that need attention. Bed was very comfy, and the day we was leaving our flight didnt leave untill 10pm. i asked if they did a late checkout and because the hotel was not full they extended my checkout to 4pm. There is an aldi across the road and a big supermarket at the back of the hotel with a exit to it just a short walk across parking. We thought this hotel was very good as it's between to U stations with about a 5 minute walk to each giving easy access to hamburg centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we missed was to have a small fridge in the room, it would have been helpful to store small groceries for late night snacks

    The location was superb, directly commected to the airport and to the city centre. The rooms were clean and well equipped, and during the night we did not hear practically any noise. I would definitely stay here again if I go back to Hamburg

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Housekeeping could be trained to make the new bathroom spotless. With a little extra care, showerstall and sink could be without the little dirt ring around the drain and stay like that for a long time.

    New facility, conveniently located and easily accessible with public transportation. Good breakfast, space and friendly staff. We volunteered not to have the room cleaned in exchange for two drinks to protect the environment. I thought this to be a very nice touch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything was faultless. It’s far enough out of town so that it’s nice and quiet but only two minutes on the U/S bahn and the station is 5 minutes walk. Staff were incredible even helping us navigate the quickest way on the underground and showing us the fastest way back to the airport on the last day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant was very crowded at breakfast. Difficult to find a table to sit at. Breakfast was excellent.

    Bed was very comfortable, room very quiet so a good nights sleep was had.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older property. Housekeeping missed cleaning our rooms two of our three days stay. Worn out towels. Faulty heater in our room on -4.0 degrees cold days. Took them one whole day to repair. Couldn’t fix the heater. Didn’t have room to move us into.

    Location. Friendly Staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a weird trend in hotels in Germany. you won't have slippers in the bathroom. I had the same experience in Munich too.

    I enjoyed my stay in this hotel. The ratio between the costs and the services one can receive, was fair.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the only downside for us was our mattress needed renewing and heating controls in the bedroom did not respond to any alteration.

    The hotel was only a short walk to the metro. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast was fine however there was no hot food for breakfast apart from boiled eggs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small towels that could do with an upgrade....but they were fine.

    This is a relatively budget hotel but the facilities and service were perfect for a city break. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was a buffet style with plenty to choose from. It seemed like nothing was a problem. Very close to yellow u line with direct access to city centre. I'd highly recommend 😊

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing...all was ideal.

    seemingly a budget hotel, given the price, but in every way it was ideal. Breakfast was simple but good. Bed and linen, comfortable and quality. The reception team, courteous, efficient, and generous, even accompanying me to the street to indicate the S bahn. A couple of stops from the central station and simple for the Airport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not properly cleaned and for the cost of staying the room was rather small

    The hotel was warm reception staff helpful the underground was not too far away

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, overpriced due to the high demand in December. The pice was to high compared with the standard of the hotel.

    Friendly staff, heating issue solved quickly next day. Easy connection to the center and to the airport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was slightly further out to the city centre then I would have liked but the hotel itself was lovely and clean and the staff were dry efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great for a weekend break. Lovely room, great price. Staff were extremely helpful, even allowed us a late check out due to our flight being later in the evening. Will use holiday inn express more in the future.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was robbed by an hotel staff, although I surprised him while he was in my room he denied trying to steal from my suitcase. I had put a lock on my suitcase that was not there when I got back to the room and caught the technician there. We involved the police and yet he denied

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though the service personal is friendly, the communication seemed to be a problem, German not being the native language of the employees. The cleanness of the room needs some work. It was clean and tidy, but the final touch was missing, as you would expect from a 3-star hotel.

    Good position, easy to reach from the train station. Metro station and supermarket in the immediate near. Breakfast was good, nothing special or fancy. Personal is super friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could have been a little better....we find that the breakfast offerings in the American chain hotels in Europe is not on a par with what the European hotels serve. Other than that, was an excellent and convenient place to stay for our purposes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took a while to check in because the guy could not find the booking even though I had showed him the confirmation. We would have been there all night if his work buddy didn't sort it out. The sink was leaking badly they must have known about this as it was that bad I washed my hands and got wet feet. I could go on !!!

    Shower was nice and the room was ok.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggled the get the temperature of the room to a good level. It was too warm. Not enough tea, coffee, milk and sugar satchets were provided. The coffee was awful.

    The beds were really comfy, the staff were friendly polite and approachable. It was very clean and modern.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Breakfast - 2. cleaning in the bathroom, on the first view you think that every thing is okay, but if you will have a view to the bottom of the shower you will see that they have to clean it more intensive.

    It was able to cancel room service for the next, in this case you receive an voucher for one free drink on the bar. The room small and alltough the bed, but we like it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked family room which consists of one king size bed for 2 people and 2 individual beds for kids, but they have provided one bed and sofa for kids where the condition of it is pathetic and kids had spinal pains...not value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much to not like other than on a noisy main street, but we had a quiet room overlooking residential area.

    The bed was so comfortable, the bathroom spacious and cleanliness excellent. The breakfast room was busy each morning but we always managed to be shown to a table. Breakfast was excellent, rolls warm, everything that one needs. No cooked food other than boiled eggs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    BUT: the duvets were big, heavy and uncomfortable/too warm. The bed itself too bouncy (the person at your side jumped everytime you moved).

    Almost Everything was very fine: staff, breakfast (although no scrambled eggs, only bolied and no bacon/sausages-but my husband survived!), location, parking, supermarket next door, metro close by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non smoking just outside.

    Give the smoking visitors a please to smoke away from the other gæsters Windows , er could NOT open our Windows. Whit out getting smoke indside☹️

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff was not so well trained on how to welcome guest and when I ask for my IHG member facility they didnt know how to check on system about my membership

    Location was very good and close to metro station. Breakfast was quite good considering the room rate with breakfast was reasonable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely rude staff person at the reception in the morning of 9th October. Worst I have ever experienced at any hotel. Bad cleaning of the rooms. Lots of mold/mildew in the shower even though everything looked newly renovated. Dirty chair, dirty curtains.

    Good parking, Good location, easy to get in to central Hamburg.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A typical European breakfast. I had to purchase lactose free food to supplement the hard boiled egg, breads, & juice. 25% of the World's population is lactose intolerant. Please take this into consideration. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Initially I had thought that the hotel was much closer to the Central Station. In fact it was just three U bahn stops away but I did not realise that and so walked a long way with a heavy suitcase. I think it would be good for the info about the Underground to be clearer.

    This hotel had everything that I needed for this trip. It had excellent bathroom facilities; a jug and coffee facilities; very good internet provision; very helpful staff. Nothing was a problem. There were some good eating venues close by. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place ticked all the boxes for a 4 day visit to Hamburg. Staff were friendly, rooms were clean and comfortable. Close to U bahn and S bahn. Will stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is located in a safe area. The room and toilet are very clean. Staff are all very helpful and friendly. They even printed out our boarding passes. Bed was not too comfortable. Love the sofa in the room. They have a vending machine and ice machine near the elevator going up the room. There are many places to go around the property and grocery right at the back of the property. It's about 5minutes walk to the train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, different than the one in the pictures from the website Very little storage space No chairs in the room Very soft mattress- one could literally sink into it. Windows without any soundproofing- you can hear the delivery activities at the supermarket at 5am

    Nice staff Decent breakfast Good location Supermarket very close to hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was only so-so. It was pretty busy, and pretty well picked-over. Standard cereals and fruit with cold-cuts. If you've got to complain about something, the coffee was pretty terrible. No eggs. (LOL)

    Short walk from the S-bahn. Pretty much a typical Holiday Inn, room was comfortable, breakfast was available. Neighborhood seems safe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was quite small and squashed under the window so couldn't get in/out both sides... coffee in the machine was very weak and UHT milk not very nice...

    Friendly and efficient welcome, quiet room, tea/coffee facility nice, great breakfast. Great location for all major underground routes, buses and rail links and not far from the city tourist center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two of the staff was not very nice, and was a bit rude at one occasion. There are many people to deal with however this doesn't mean that they should act impatient. One of them was nice and polite and that is how everyone should be.

    The room was very comfortable, the beds were very comfy, the facilities were modern and the cleanliness gets full points! The room size was good, it was very nice that there were tea, kettle and cups in the room. We had a very comfortable stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed from Monday - Friday, spoke the first day with the Front Office (Assistant) Manager and informed that I can not open my window - he noted the room number and said it will be fixed. Unfortunately nothing happened even though I spoke to him every day. No room change was offered, nobody apologized that they can not fix it. Mold in the bathroom (shower). Stains on the carpet. Mattress a bit too soft. No sparkling water during breakfast.

    The receptionist Alba was very very friendly and welcoming, helped to organize a room which was not facing the street. Daily housekeeping. The asian restaurant close to the hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very average property - felt more like a great hotel to stay at if you were in town purely for business. Breakfast was great - lots of variety. Neighbourhood felt a little uneasy... but we were only there for one night so could be wrong.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Hotel is neat and clean. Close to two train station. Lundewr train station has direct train to Airport and no need for change of train. There is a superstore back of the Hotel which is open till 10 PM.Like the breakfast.staffs of the Hotel are professional. Hotel itself is close to city centre. All in all it's a nice place to stay. Would recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was advertised as free when booking. It actually. It's 10 Euros per day

    Very modern, nice staff and good breakfast. Great little supermarket opposite!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two block walk to the U-bahn station that took you to main train station and harbor area. Nice grocery store with bakery just off the back parking lot. Front desk staff quite helpful. Good breakfast with plenty of options. Nice sized room and huge shower!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would like more choices for serving eggs; also have available almond milk;

    Rooms seem to be to small, Little space for storing ítems and closet space really small

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air condition is not working, we made a complaint and our room was changed after two days but still the air condition in the second room was not working either. So we gave up complaining! The breakfast is very boring, no varieties.

    We like the location, easy access to public transport

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sofa was squishy and uncomfortable. There was no end table or coffee table reachable from the sofa. The comforter had a nasty stain on it.

    The personnel were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was better than I had expected.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not have rooms for 2 adults and 2 kids and they gave me The air-conditioning room does not work and when they were changed they gave me a room that was a little smaller than the sofa I could not close When i check out I could not find luggage trolley and a receptionist told me we have only 2 trolleys in hotel with ( 170 rooms ) which made me drop 6 bags and that was bad

    The rooms are narrow

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    However the beds were slightly uncomfortable. There is no bath in the room, only shower.

    Good location. The free breakfast is a star! The staff were really friend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small for two adults and two children. It was not possible to use the desk&chair because of the extra bed. We were there for 8 nights, and the floor was not vacumed once.

    Breakfast was fine. Staf in the reception was helpfull, but not that smiling.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1- they charged my credit card before my arrival by 2 days. 2- the room size was smaller than the size i booked 3- multiple charges on my card by mistake. 4- they deactivated my room acces card two timed by mistake claiming the payment was nit made which was false claim and their excuse was the system. 5- very small hall for having breakfast, too crowded. 6- very basic breakfast.

    I liked nothing in this hotel. Very bad experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We travelled as a group of 4 adults and 2 children. We were given 2 identical rooms. Whilst a room was adequate for myself and my wife, it was very cramped for my son, his wife and their 2 children.

    Good location. Friendly staff. Great shower. Easy parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the morning shift of the receptionists has not been welcoming upon check-in. As well it seemed as none of them actually liked the job they are doing, some personal talks between staff members have been more important than waiting guests.

    location was great, rooms clean and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning did not work, but they couldn't repair it because it was the weekend; no maintenance personnel on duty. As a result we slept in a hot room for two nights. Even when it was repaired, the A/C was inadequate. Also there are no decent restaurants nearby.

    Good question!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I hadn't realized there was no cooked breakfast just cold food.

    clean rooms, very comfortable beds. Big shower. close to public transport for both airport and downtown.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no real commitment to gluten free diets. Only things available were "biscuits" to replace bread so had to use our own - which we bought from a supermarket.

    Room was very comfortable with enough space for two medium/large sized suitcases. Have stayed there before so knew we could expect a good stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in family room, but there was only space for the bed and the sofa bed. We could just stand. There was no space even for a chair. In addition, the first day the staff was very rude. They were complaining that they didn't know if we really came with kids. However, in booking we specified clearly that we were travelling with kids and also their ages. In addition, parking is 10 euros per day, which came as surprise to us

    The location is good as it is only 4 subway stops to downtown. The majority of the staff is nice. Wifi included. Non-smoking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was fine though totally self service including getting cutlery, napkins etc. However, when any foodstuf got low it was immediately topped up. I would certainly use this hotel aagain.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI access OK but Google blocked internet access intermittently. Staff didnt know how to deal with this problem.

    Easy access to the centre. 2 stops on the metro to the central station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although I booked 4 months ago, they didn't give me twin room and had to it change the 2nd night. As we insysted to get what we have booked, they "kindly" suggested that we re-pack our suitcases in the morning and bring them to the receiption and they will generously change the room!

    Clean room, good breakfast, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If 2 people in room, one additional chair. May be additional luggage tray so desk space won't get used up by luggage. Add Plastic glasses so cups don't get used when only needed for water.

    Excellent timing in refilling trays of food and cleaning of tables. Nice bathroom, like the flushing knobs location. Like the blue nighlight in the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet didn't have much variety and in the breakfast area was hard to find a place to sit.

    Super friendly staff. The hotel was a true spec. of the holiday inn brand name.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not everyone at the reception were very helpful and well informed about the city (where to find attractions, what is to see or do). Two days without changing the towels then we discovered that we had to throw them at the floor? Breakfast without variety but it was tasty.

    The hotel is quiet and clean, Close to the metro station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid in January for this hotel . Our flight was delayed as I rang the hotel from Hamburg airport and advised that we were late. Got the train to the hotel arrived about 00.30am to be told we had not got a room and had to go to another hotel . After travelling all day we were not happy about that . We were sent to another hotel which was very nice. But it spoilt our first morning in Hamburg cos it was wasted. On checking in to the holiday inn next morning we were given a voucher for two drinks which we used in the evening. But wasn't allowed a gin and tonic which is what we drink . The bar had no atmosphere at all. The staff were very nice but I was dissatisfied with the rest

    The ice machine

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing we didn't like was the room was quite small for the price with a bit of a lack of storage space

    Excellent location, good breakfast and friendly staff. It was very family friendly too. I would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - crumbs and dirt on the bed room floor from previous guests - instant coffee instead of the real deal - only getting a twin bed bedroom (with separated beds) instead of the booked double bed bedroom (with one big bed for two)

    - stylish - everything you need for a city trip

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.....an overall fabulous experience....thanks so much !

    Super friendly, helpful staff. Clearly make an effort to assist wherever possible and go out of their way to make a difference.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Overall I just liked everything I expected in a good hotel. I travel a lot and have used many hotels and I found this hotel met my expectations.

    George was very polite and a very good cleaner. Made sure that I was happy with the state of the room. He obviously took pride in his work.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was lackluster to say the least. Wish there had been fresher choices.

    The staff were all friendly and accommodating. Our room was extremely spacious, beds were comfortable, shower was large, and everything was very clean. It wasn't all that close to the city center but it was only a couple minute walk to the nearest metro station and 2 stops away from the train station so it was no big hassle to get anywhere, even with luggage. It was also nice having a grocery store in the same parking lot.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But unforthunatly no have any room service facility & no have hotel gym or spa center.the price related to my time was very expensive 139€ for each night

    The hotel was clean &good accsses to city center,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Neighbourhood - lack of restaurants

    Breakfast was good with lot of choices. Hotel is located in a walking distance of underground direct to city center and main museums.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was great especially the freshly baked croissants and breads.The hotel is located near the train and the metro station, so it's very convenient and easy to go to the airport and the city centre in just a few minutes.Our room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Holiday Inn Express Hamburg City Centre traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: