Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Hamburg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Billwerder Neuer Deich 14, 20539 Hamburg, Germany

#241 of 340 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4713 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    9.6
    Close to the cruise terminal and port
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are looking for a nightlife or more of a lively area, then this is not the area for you. Not too much to do around the hotel, as you must get back on the bus or take a taxi/uber to get to a lively area.

    Picked this property due to it was very close to the port, which we took an MSC cruise out of Hamburg. Getting to the hotel from the airport was easy if you arrive at the central station of Hamburg. Then you can take a bus from there to the hotel, which the hotel is about a 2-3 minute walk from the bus stop. Outside of the hotel, there are many restaurants as well, so you are not limited to just eating at the hotel. Overall, it was a very nice stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.3
    I asked for a quiet room on a high floor when I booked, They...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was soft and not very comfortable.

    I asked for a quiet room on a high floor when I booked, They gave me a room on the eleventh floor, with no rooms on either side, which was really quiet. It was good that they listened to my request. The room was very spacious and bright , with a view all the way to the city centre. The breakfast was excellent and there were lots of tables by the windows which were very pleasant. The hotel is a long way from the city centre but the transportation is really easy. The bus stop is just a few minutes walk from the hotel and the number 3 bus goes to the train station every ten minutes (takes about fifteen minutes). On the way back, the bus leaves from the bus station which is just behind the train station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Misleading location. 40 min walk to central areas or anything to see/do. While the first staff member that checked us in was very nice, the rest of the time they were unhelpful and unmemorable. Next time we go to Hamburg, we will stay in a more centrally located hotel with a better neighborhood.

    Decent sized room. Bus stop five minutes away walking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.8
    Very nice stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit pricey for my liking and realistically you need a taxi to get to the center of Hamburg

    Very nice stay at this hotel. Staff very friendly, rooms were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.0
    Polite staff, spacious reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    False pictures online, nowhere close to a 4 star. Pool facilities - unable to find towels and poor lay out. No air conditioning and decor looks like something from the 80’s. A great 2 star hotel.

    Polite staff, spacious reception.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, great pool and sauna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comparing to other holiday inn's or other 4☆ hotels it's just the furniture which should be changed because they are just old.

    Reception Staff was very friendly especially woman with longer dark hair, she was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    2.9
    Very dirty on wall spiders up on our bed just waste of money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty on wall spiders up on our bed just waste of money. Written by hotel 4star it’s like not a 1star. No parking facility. First time i saw a 4star hotel like this. Discusting. Don’t choose this hotel if u want a luxury stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    2.9
    Not worth the 4* rating. Avoid at all costs.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is blatantly lying to it's customers. You make a booking at Holiday Inn but they will move you to Bridge Inn hotel which is in absolutely desolate state. Carpets are extremely dirty, stains everywhere. Rooms have no AC and are furnished with old furniture, beds are very uncomfortable, dirty bed lining and the smell...all the rooms and hallways smell horribly. Booking should remove this property or downgrade it's rating as this hotel is definitely not 4* venue. Staff is incompetent and rude. Will not visit again and you nor should you.

    Not a single thing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    3.3
    One of the worst hotels I've ever visited if not worst. Would not visit again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is in a very distant location from the city and there's nothing around. Expect to pay 15-20eur for taxi to the city, Whole hotel was extremely dirty, carpets on the hallways and in the rooms had stains all over, awful smell in the rooms. Bed lining was dirty, there was dust on all the furniture and beds were very uncomfortable. Breakfast is nothing special considering the 12eur price, for 7eur you can get much better breakfast if you walk 150m from the hotel to the Alt Deutsche Kuche restaurant. Staff at the reception was totally incompetent. We were traveling as a team to attend a nearby conference and I made the bookings with the company card. Reception was unable to provide us with an invoice for the rooms, everyone had to request their own invoice. They also charged us 25eur/night/room as a security deposit that we weren't advised of in advance.

    There wasn't much to like to be honest. Will not come back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Can Keep the Holiday Inn Standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really anything I don't like. If we could have a better price, It would be perfect.

    The room is spacious, clean & tidy. Location is also good with walking distance to bus station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    2.9
    This hotel i really horiblle.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel i really horiblle. Its not standard for 4 star hotel, and for holiday inn is this big shame in hamburk. Personal on reception is really rute, they will not give you any information how to go to the centre, if you ask for taxi madam will tell you - taxi is front of hotel!!! You have to pay for parking 18,5 euro per day, plus taxi minimal 15 euro to the centrum. I pay almost 300 euro for two nights, and get really angly room for handicap people. And finaly when we comeback home and i check my back Account, i see that hotel block 50 euro from my card, even they inform me. When i call to hotel, they told me that they block Money for case if something will be damage in room, and they will comeback Money in week. Sad its that nobody told us this, and they just také your Money withou ask. I travel a lot, even for business trip, but this is one from worst hotel when i leave. And let say that visit around 150 hotels in last 4 years

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    3.3
    Booking.Hell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply put, this place is a dive that resembles a Holiday Inn from the 70’s. A poor location to launch any sort of site seeing was evident right from the start. At check in we opted for a river view which was actually a graffiti riddled bridge worsened only by the six lanes of screaming traffic. In front of our room was a bleach stain as big as a body which caused a pause in itself. The room was old and tired looking, hot and musty and sparsely furnished. It was so bad I had to negotiate an early departure. Now staying at the Hampton Inn which is fantastic. This Holiday Inn should NEVER be reserved and should be removed from Booking.com

    Being objective, the taxi that rescued us was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.0
    Location is good—
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 3 standard room through booking. Com. We had 14 yrs old child . When I booked I mention that to give me room near by near . But when we arrived they gave us room different different floor. 13, 14 & 15 th. After my request they didn’t manage it. After that when we entered the room— room just a oven. So hot inside the room. When I asked them where is AC . They replied no AC in standard room. They said they mention it in booking.com . But when I challenged they couldn’t show me.I was surprised Bcz I am a frequent flyer. I don’t know how can they mention it’s 4 star hotel. And how is possible that a standard room in 4 star hotel is no air condition.

    Location is good—

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel with friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit hard to find the room, since we had to walk to around and find some elevator in what looked like another building.

    Great hotel with friendly and helpful staff. It was a nice bedroom good bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.0
    There is a pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It sats in the description of the hotel that it has an ac but when we got there our room didn’t have and we had to upgrade our room to another room with an ac for 35€!

    There is a pool. Clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    3.3
    Wouldn’t recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no water (to drink) in the rooms, the reservation was made on the Holiday Inn and we were moved to the Bridge Inn hotel. There’s no Air Conditioning on the rooms and during summer time the heat is awful.

    Free drinks every day (mineral water and soda)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    3.8
    Never again there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In booking phase, I specified my wife is handycapped and moving on wheelchair. At the hotel, the room assigned by the staff was y the last one on the last fllor, without air conditioning, absolutely not adequate to a disabled person. Asking for a right solution, staff stated that all other rooms were booked (16 floors with 18 rooms each).

    Almost nothing, due to a bad treatment and most likely lies on availability of rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    A more costly choice but a worthwhile treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were there during the summer '18 heat wave. One room on 7th floor had air conditioning. The other room was on 1st floor with no air con. Having mini fridges helped though! Pool not as large as photos suggested but we had it to ourselves on one day so can't complain!

    Breakfast was great! Lots of delicious options. Free parking locally. Short walk to cheaper and good eats just along the way.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    It was ok!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    18.30€ for each day in the parking place is just an absurd! More than the price of a parking place in the middle of the Hamburg's center. No discount for the guest of the hotel.

    The view from the Habor is just amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    2.5
    Dont bother there are other hotels better cheaper near by.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con...... Room was 35 degrees not window had been opened before my arrival at 17:00. Old room very noisy with window open Tried to cancel room because it was uninhabitable I was told I had to pay 80% of the 2 night stay to cancel. Hotel staff not helpfully or symperthic to my request to cancel because of the heat of the room in fact the manager was extremely rude.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    You simply can't go wrong with a Holiday Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only slight criticisms in that not enough Tea, Coffee or sugar in room and Drinks in Bar very expensive, food was reasonable. It's quite a distance from nearest S-Bahn station especially if you've got luggage and kids in tow.

    You simply can't go wrong with a Holiday Inn. Room was comfortable, spacious and exactly what you'd expect from a Holiday Inn. Staff were polite and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    3.3
    I booked it online and when we reach the pic of room in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked it online and when we reach the pic of room in the site and the real room was too diffrent and there was no cooling in it too . They looted to ask more mony to change the room from that dirty place to good one and they took extra mony for parking too.. for me it was not recomended and the staf was rude too ... never ever wana c them again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    4.6
    Some of their staff try to be nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, not close to public transport, you have to find your own room when you check in very very big place that has multiple floors different elevators qnd hotels. Over priced

    Some of their staff try to be nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.4
    Nice staff everywhere, but hotel rooms are used and not up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is reserving a money without telling you. They reserved 776 €, our invoice was just 360 €. Nobody told us anything about reserving a money.

    Nice staff everywhere, but hotel rooms are used and not up to date.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    4.6
    they can do better. because of the view of the hotel. but not using their full potential to serve .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the interior looks like hospital. the area are not specified well enough, a guy was looking for toilet and running around.

    the instant refund, while i said i am not satisfied.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Plus Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit far from the citycenter.

    The airco was great, as well as the bath, pool and an awesome sauna. The staff was very friendly. We especially liked when the cleaning staff reacted very professional and mellow to a little accident we had in our room. Also, the bar was a lot of fun (perhaps a bit too fun...) and it had a nice sports bar around the corner. It's likely we might return one day. The value we got for the money we paid was awesome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    The room and bathroom are big and the bed very comfortable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air condition .and it was very hot in the room

    The room and bathroom are big and the bed very comfortable . It was very nice of staff to offer us free drinks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude staff. Please be informed that they state holiday inn however the rooms are in an adjacent hotel called Bridge INN which is a 2 star hotel. The hotel is not transparent to its guests and extremely Ruse staff.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable and pleasant. The bus issue was only minor and soon resolved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The information on bus travel to the central station was confusing and misleading. We were told we could get a bus to the central station when in fact the bus only goes so far you then have to get a local train to the central station. This was not apparent at the time.

    The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the food was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Could relax very much well~
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House cleaning service made the noise from quite early time.

    At first, it looked like very remote place. But actually Central station is super close, while very quite region. Especially I liked a swimming pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    Interesting suburb but too far from tourist stuff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was far from tourist activities but public transport was easy and receptionists gave good directions. No aircon?!interesting suburb

    Free water

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was very clean and located in a quiet suburb of...
    • Couple
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was very clean and located in a quiet suburb of Hamburg. Breakfast was quite good. The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom was very neat. The hotel was easily accessible by bus from Hamburg city centre. The staff at the reception were very helpful, courteous and nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t say we found anything we weren’t happy about, though if we had, we felt we could of broached it with the staff.

    Our stay, my husbands, two teenage sons and myself was made all the better for not being in the centre of Hamburg, we wanted a more real Hamburg experience and got it. We used all the public transport, easily and cheaply. The hotel was welcoming, the staff happy to help with any issues-ours was our two rooms we had booked weren’t close, my husband spoke to the receptionist and it was immediately rectified.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location and view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was great, but the breakfast area was a little crowded with how many guests were there.

    We really loved the location. It wasn't in the city, but we had a great view of the harbor and city from the 8th floor. The rooms were nice and the beds were comfortable. There are a few restaurants within walking distance as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    4.2
    i wouldnt stay in this hotel again - though i am IHG Gold Member.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Wi-Fi is terrible. The room carpet is probably not cleaned for years. the bathroom amenities are none!! no body lotion - nothing! No English Channel in TV not even CNN or BBC channels.

    The breakfast The view from my room, being the corner room towards the lake.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    3.8
    Poor value for money, better value elsewhere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Plus Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the property is not convenient and in an industrial area of the city. The decor and furnishings are dated. The customer service needs improvement on communication, e.g. WiFi access should be part of the check in conversation, it was missed at check-in. Only when I telephoned and to be told WiFi needs no password and not working for an entire day, yet my travel buddy telephoned and was given a password, WiFi worked? How was that? Expensive stay better value elsewhere

    Nothing really

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The phone in our room did not work and there were no actions taken after the hotel staff had been informed about that. The restaurant was closed at 21:30 although in the hotel notes it stated that the room service is possible by 22:00.

    The staff was very friendly, the room was clean,the location was great. Will choose this hotel again definitely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    4.6
    I have seen better 4 stars hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not enough shampoo in the bathroom. The coffee was too light and the mini bar in the room contain very few and cheap items.

    The room was clean and spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfectly adequate for a business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast. The fried breakfast was very greasy (Sausages) and the scrambled egg was extremely salty. I had a dry mouth all day.

    Nice and clean. Efficient and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    3.3
    I am not satisfied at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is very poor. Lack of communication among staff. lack of reliability . we left our rooms and requested our rooms to be cleaned we put the sign and informed the resepsionist ....nothing happened. When we contacted the Management we received two answers, we are upgrading the system and no connection with room sevice. The second answer. ..room service manager is on leave. Sorry I believe these excuses are not accepted.

    In general I'm really frustrated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.3
    Old but clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness room was very basic. Couldn’t do a complete work-out.

    Good staff, good restaurant service. The facilities have seen better days, but are clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice location of the hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    System blackout and no invoice for my stay Extremly busy with breakfast, too small restaurant for all the people staying and eating breakfast!

    Nice location of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Staff were brilliant, clean and comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the booking time it was confirmed the payment will be made at arrival, but the payment was processed way before my travel

    Staff were brilliant, clean and comfortable room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    3.3
    Swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is nit friendly at all ,Rooms is so cold heather is not work at all , parking its so expensive , the hotel is not on 4 stars rate at all , location is so far from the center , they not allowed to the guest to open the window and windows have a lock , i wont go again to this hotel at all , and the cleaners they can’t speak english and they are we was 4 days there nobody change a shampoo for us even we orderder but they don’t know english , manager even don’t support the guest , and they charge me per might 10 euro extra because i need baby bed but in booking.com i mention that we are couple + one infant but they charge me 🙂

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.1
    The pool, bathrooms, bed, comforter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping don’t speek english, and that is a problem When she knocks on the door and wants to make up the room but you are not ready. The roomservice is not worth waiting for, we waited 1 1/2 and When it finally came, the waitor was rude and couldn’t see any problem. Or he was very busy, telling us what we had done wrong. (We had two rooms, but with the same last name and same confirmation number) Then, When we realized that the meat was raw in one of the burgers, we finally Got an apologie and a refund.

    The pool, bathrooms, bed, comforter. The staff at the reception The view It is very easy to take the bus directly to the City center. Easy parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    I'll be back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Underground parking is a long trek to and from the rooms.

    The food was unbelievably good. The room of much higher quality than I paid for or I expected.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sauna had naked men and women in it even during family times which was not acceptable for my 14 year old.

    Breakfast was well stocked with plenty of fresh foods. The reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast with various Kind of Food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View to a main street on the back Side of the building.

    Excellent breakfast with various Kind of Food. Small, but clean & cozy Fitness and spa area. Good restaurant with delicious food and Drinks. Staff was really attentive and our bed was really comfortable. Distance to points of interest are short and Public transportation is in 2 min walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.7
    The hotel was ok for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wellness area is not good at all. Way to little chairs. The "quite room" was noisy and cold. The receptionist told us that they have nothing to do with the massages, so we booked directly via phone. Got cancelled 1.5 hours before the appointment. Very disappointing, as the wellness offer was the reason for choosing this place. Also - why would you only put one coffee sachet in a room for two on a daily basis?

    The hotel was ok for the price. Just right for a place to crash during a girls trip.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.4
    The staff is helpful enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room small beds distant from city center and they didn’t want to cancel as the deal was booking was non refundable.. honestly I stopped booking from booking.com since long as I have been misled so many times .. I blame booking.com in the first place to recommend this hotel and I am back to other booking sites

    The staff is helpful enough

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    2.9
    Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so rude especially the manager .. the room was freezing and when I was moved the other that room leaked after I had a shower ... far better hotel's in Hamburg and this was way over priced

    It looked nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic stay, comfy hotel, nice food, good breakfast and fantastic staff.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is the only place this doesn't get top marks, and that is only if you want to be in the city centre.

    Executive floor room was spacious and a lovely baby bed was provided free of charge. The staff were friendly and extremely efficient, what a huge difference this makes!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.9
    Good business hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this hotel clearly is in need of some capital investment within the next 5 years, otherwise, it is going to be jaded. I would stay again. Airport is approx 30 minutes

    It is an old school, high tower block hotel. I liked the bar downstairs, they managed to make it feel like a pub.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    Perfect pool with warm water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For someone without a car it was a bit far from all the important tourist atractions, but vus stops are very close.

    Perfect pool with warm water Clean room Good food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    Great selection for breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at the breakfast were very unpolite. The surroundings of the hotel were very bad, but nice view to the harbour.

    Great selection for breakfast! :-)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    3.8
    Disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested double bed, got twin bed! Approached reception for help and despite the efforts from the young receptionist the manager sitting on the back office didn’t even bothered to give me suitable explanation!

    Coffee and tea with kettle.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.1
    Couldn’t fault hotel, just slightly wrong location for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Further from central Hamburg than we thought. Not on train line. Taxi quite expensive

    Very clean, room serviced every day. Tea and coffee replenished daily

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.9
    We came late in the evening on our way to Southern Europe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on first floor, window facing the Autobahn.

    We came late in the evening on our way to Southern Europe. Easy to find by car and parking available by entrance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    I was reserved a Single Bed room with expected one king-size...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was reserved a Single Bed room with expected one king-size bed. But the hotel offered two rooms with three beds. Then, these 2 rooms have less spaces.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.3
    Check-in and out takes very long time: in late afternoon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in and out takes very long time: in late afternoon (around 18:00) only one receptionist was present and it took me 20 min till I had everything settled (I was the 2nd in the queue). In the morning at 7:20 the situation was the same (1 person working) and no express check-out box was available. The facilities are pretty worn out, for example there were cracks in our sink.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    4.2
    Breakfast variety was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. In the breakfast area, there was a table right in the middle where all the guests including us were sotting. The staff was emptying dirty plates and leftover on this table. It all remained there until the breakfast time was over. On the same table, the cleans cups and plates were also kept. It was disgusting. 2. There was a weird smell in our bathroom the whole time.

    Breakfast variety was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast was v.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fernatur was old and the coldoor and room with spiders and informed reseption about it and they come and cleaned​ the selling room but still from tome to time seeing spiders in the room.

    Breakfast was v.good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel, poor location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was out of the center of Hamburg. Around a 40 minute walk to the main attractions. Resorted to using taxis to take us into Hamburg and bring us back again.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was excellent and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, a great selection and a very nice setting.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    excellent hotel everybody was very friendly and efficient. Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Miles away from the centre, and the buses were unreliable.

    Excellent room, the best of the three hotels that we stayed in this week. The pool set up was ok. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient. The minibar was free which was a nice surprise.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Although somewhat offside easily accesible and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eating dinner out - although some restaurants are situated in area, it is probably better to have dinner downtown (however we can't comment on restaurant in hotel which we didn't try).

    The pool was perfect (as was the sauna-area)!! The 18th floor suite spacious and excellent! Breakfast all you can wish for. Close to bus stop from which it takes 10 min to downtown Hamburg.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice comfy placr
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few of the staff were a bit partial to who they gave phone charger extension which I found very appalling

    Room was nice and comfy. And the facilities were great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    2.9
    I would not recommend this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived past 1:00 am due to a cancelled flight and were woken a little after 8:00 by staff trying to open our door without announcing who they were; thankfully our door was locked. Another woman in our party was not so lucky, her door was unlocked and a man simply knocked once and immediately walked in as she was getting changed. I can handle the fact that the rooms were old and run down but members of staff letting themselves into rooms is disgusting. I am aware cleaners etc need to let themselves into rooms but in every hotel I've ever stayed at they have knocked multiple times/announced who they were and certainly at a minimum waited for a response before opening the door. An apology would have been appreciated as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.1
    Very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location feels a bit off from city center at first but it is in face very convenient to take public bus around central station or the shopping area in town. Bus no. 3 takes us there within 10 minutes, then a short walk for abt 5 minutes. When return to town there is a shorter path to the next bus stop to catch no.3.

    Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.1
    Reasonably priced for Hamburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amenities in bathroom only basic. It was our own fault, but we thought that as we were taking a cruise from Steinwerder dock we would be closer to our destination, but the hotel was very much out in the sticks - unless we missed something! In hindsight we would have been better off staying in the city centre. Buses were, however, adequate.

    The room was fine, clean and in good order and the staff were pleasant and helpful. There was a bus stop about 150 yards away to travel into the city centre and on the corner a plain sort of Turkish restaurant that did a decent breakfast. We often prefer to breakfast outside when hotel breakfasts don´t seem good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.8
    Not what I am used to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Plus Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was lovely. I had requested an early check in. I said I would arrive about 11.00 am as i was staying in Reinfeld for the previous two days visiting my daughter and her new twin girls. I got there just after 11.00 am and i was told that it would not be possible and to come back at 3.00 pm. They did not even offer me the option to leave my bag there. i asked could it not be ready earlier and they said that they were still in use and to come back. I went into Hamburg again and did some shopping. I returned at 1.30 pm and the room was still not ready. They offered to take my bag at this stage. The reception area was very uncomfortable as the seats were taken up with people lying on them asleep, like me waiting on their room. There was no bar available to go to until 5.00 pm. My room was ready at 5 minutes to three. i will not stay there again, or recommend it to any of my friends.

    The room was lovely and the bar was really nice. The restaurant food was excellent as were the staff. It is a pity about the negatives I have.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    2.5
    Don't go Here!!!! Never Ever Visit this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is situated right next to one of the busiest 'inroads' to Hamburg. Open a window and it feels like you are standing on the highway... Taht would be 'ok' if there was airconditioning....there isn't! And it's called a '4-star hotel'.... Furthermore; If you are a 4 star hotel...WHY dirty showercurtains with brown edges on the underside (in a shower that is too small as well)?...And soap'rack' that hangs loose on the wall? (maybe one of the many english drunks that visit the hotel has been hanging on it..?) And take slippers with you; The carpet (5th floor) is from the 80's.... And last; The hotel is not just two km from the center , it's a lot further! This hotel needs to close it's doors...It's Horrific!

    nothing! not for this price!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.2
    highly recommended for a trip to suprising Hamburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    th entrence doesn't has a nice lobby and feels cold, staff there were impersonal at the check-in

    breakfast was excellent, our beds super, enjoyed the wellness very much

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.5
    Okay hotel with fantastic staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms do not all have air conditioning and can get too warm for some people like me. Luckily Holiday Inn managed to get me a room I could cool.

    The staff were absolutely excellent! The rooms are well-insulated from the noisey street outside.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    5.0
    Holiday Inn....don't do it to your self!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was small and very warm, with no aircon and no way of fully opening the window. After mentioning it I was told I could upgrade for 10€ per night. So I did. Second room with aircon smellt like sewage, but nice a cool. So I went back to reception and after mentioning this, I was given another room. Now this sounds fair, but no mention of any price reductions or free break perks. Breakfast was also not included, so I paid for it and was treated to a nasty supply of ingredients resembling food. The bacon looked boiled, the eggs..well, they resembled eggs, but tasted like soggy paper. At least the coffee from the machine was ok. Anyhow, ones tastes are subjective and my pallet might be a bit picky. The pool had all sorts of floaters, probably hadn't been cleaned since 2012 and no towels. In total I paid 480€ for 3 nights, if you add the 80€ taxi fares coz it is so far away, you'd get a few nights in the city at a 4 star....without sewage smelling room and floaters in the pool. I will never set foot in this hotel again.... rant over! Apart from this, my weekend Hamburg was amazing.

    The coffee from the machine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Great buffet breakfast, reliable, free wifi, helpful staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Plus Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great buffet breakfast, reliable, free wifi, helpful staff, close to bus for getting into town (we prefer to use public transportation) and close to port, very clean, attractive, comfy room. We didn't use the pool/sauna but it looked nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Holiday Inn Hamburg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: