Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of IBB Hotel Passau City Centre This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Bahnhofstrasse 24, 94032 Passau, Germany

#24 of 34 hotels in Passau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2316 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    6.0
    The receptionists very lazy to work.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionists very lazy to work. I booked the room through booking and I was showing them the confirmation what I get by email and they were telling us to wait until they will get also the confirmation and they went out to smoke. So when they came back I went to them again. They took my ID card and this from my partner and they were taking pictures of our IDs and I asked them why they are taking pictures and they told me because the copy machine is not working. And to the guest before us they could copy there's ID. Very unfriendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.7
    Great breakfast for the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a long way from Old Passau, fine when busses were running, but otherwise not. Dining room closed.

    Great breakfast for the cost. Parking was very reasonable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.0
    Good place if you dont need to be in the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, except it is a little far from the center.

    Hotel is 300 yards from Railstation and must be the biggest in Passau. Probably mostly for Business Travelers because the Center of tows is not close by. I think they have a pool but not sure. The room was the largest I ever had in any hotel, like a family room with 2 large beds. The only Hotel which had a bottle of water in the room of the 4 hotels I stayed in this time in Germany and Austria.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    This was my fourth bicycle trip through Passau and I have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sorry, nothing comes to mind.

    This was my fourth bicycle trip through Passau and I have stayed the 3 last times in this hotel. This should be a clear sign that it is worth of trying at least for people traveling with bikes. They have a good garage for the bikes just next door and the breakfast in superb. The old town is a short walk away but after a long day on the saddle it just what you actually need.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby and rooms are a bit dated, yet quite confortable.

    Superior rooms are big, beds are huge and Breakfast was great. They even have gluten and lactose free options on demand. Location is good if you need to be near the train station. Staff is really friendly. Secured bike storage.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Value for money near train and bus stations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room manager on the morning we were there was positively obnoxious. We couldn’t find a cleared table and I drew this to his attention. He just walked away! We eventually found a table for two which was ready, and we settled down to our breakfast. I was mid mouthful, when the young manager rushed over and babbled frantically at us in German. I replied that we didn’t speak German and he said we had to move as the table was reserved. There was no ‘reservation ‘ sign on it. We dutifully moved all our breakfast to another table and continued to enjoy a good meal. The irony of this story is that the young lady and partner, who this table had obviously been reserved for, arrived and didn’t like it at all and insisted they be moved to another table which happened to be next to us. We have not stayed in an IBB hotel before and we were very impressed with the standard of the hotel. It was just perhaps the training of the staff that was lacking.

    The bedroom was a good size with two large single beds, and both the bedroom and the bathroom were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was extremely good with plenty of choices of hot and cold dishes. there was a dedicated garage for bicycles. the reception staff were very helpful and charming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    passau
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldnt find the door to the lift togo to the parking, wouldve been handy if there had been a sign.

    Everything was clean and very comfy, the location was easy to find and had great parking with access to the hotel, great view on the river Donau as well. It was very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    A very lovely and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was a short walking distance from the train station so was very handy. Staff was friendly and helpful and the room very comfortable and clean. Breakfasts were very hearty with a wide selection from which to choose.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Bike friendly Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel facilities are very good and the personal is very kind they offer me a place where to store the bicycles. I recommend to everyone this hotel !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast selection was great, the room was comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel overall seemed like it needed refurbishment, it is a bit tired.

    The breakfast selection was great, the room was comfortable and well furnished but felt a little worn.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.0
    The breakfast was very good indeed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Compared to other places I've stayed at a similar price, the room was not modern and looked a little shabby. There was no safe deposit box in the room. On check-in, the staff were inattentive. It was better on check-out.

    The breakfast was very good indeed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Staff gave us early check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trains a bit noisy in the morning

    Staff gave us early check in. Motorbike parking aloud at front of hotel, off road. Excellent gluten free options for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    good for pitstop and morning stroll through beautifull Passau
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening receptionist must have had off day, no hello and no explanations. The morning staff made up for it 100% though.

    Easy to reach from the A3 highway yet very close to city centre for a morning stroll before travelling further. Public parking at the back, nice breakfast and good size room and comfy bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.7
    Good location, near the city center and the river, large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old dated furnished rooms and bathrooms, lack of diversity at breakfast, no fridge in the room, no toileteries, no slippers. The parking costs 4,5€/ calendaristic day, not per 24h, so one has to pay for the entire day even if parks the car late in the evening.

    Good location, near the city center and the river, large beds, good parking location, under the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    A delightful city break enhanced by a good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to the hotel by car is difficult at the moment due to roadworks immediately in front of the hotel

    A well run hotel which was perfectly located for a short stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    We got the room with a river view, which we requested.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the room executive business type from how it looked in the picture with 2 queen beds. But we got the room completely different from the picture with one double bed. The room looked old with the old style of decoration. We saw big spider web at the ceiling too.

    We got the room with a river view, which we requested. That was very nice. Breakfast was very good with variety of food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing start to a cycling holiday along the Danube path
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed here with friends, as it was very close to Passau railway station, where we were arriving. It also had facilities to store bikes, which we were using to cycle along the Danube path. Quiet, despite being near road and railway; extensive breakfast with everything you could want.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    The location close to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for a family room (2 parents and 2 children) and got a double room with 2 single beds. We had to ask for towels, pillows, blankets and slept in very small beds! The carpet was wet and not very clean. The hotel is old and should be refurbished

    The location close to city centre The night staff very helpful to try to solve the issue we had

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    This is not our first time stay in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not our first time stay in this hotel. It is located just near Train Station and few minutes walk from Danube River (we arrived by boat from Linz). Good breakfast. Fine rooms and everything. Near by is also the modern shopping centre where one can buy necessities for the next leg of the trip (like the bottle of good wine in our case). We definitely are recommending this hotel for travellers. We will stay here again when we are passing Passau along our travel paths.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    (1) The hotel is in a major building site (July 2018) - loud construction noise all day from 07.30hrs. No prior warning was given about the construction when we booked. The development work involved heavy road machinery, drilling, construction traffic etc. Despite discussing the noise with hotel staff, no attempt was made at a solution. At check-out we were offered a 20% discount which was totally inadequate - our stay in beautiful Passau had been ruined. (2) The Hotel Restaurant was not open for dinner on three of our four days - not what we expect from a 4 star hotel.

    Very good Breakfast Buffet. Very good location in Passau. Very convenient car-parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Passau is a great place, I wish we had stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The room was massive. Layout a bit like a motel with linoleum floor. But really nice bathroom and so much space, a big family could have stayed there. Breakfast was fantastic. So much choice. Outside terrace was nice, however, the smoking everywhere spoilt it. Location opposite Rail station was perfect. I expected some noise, but it was really quiet. Passau is a great place, I wish we had stayed longer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location close to the train station and yet quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Maybe because they had room to do so but they gave us an “executive room” which was excellent. The location is very good and so was breakfast. The front desk staff and many of those in thr breakfast room were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Central with fantastic facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was tremendous

    Central with fantastic facilities. The guy at the front desk was the best in the whole trip. Accommodating, helpful with impeccable command of colloquial English

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location with good amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the fact that the baggage room was not locked and anyone could go in and out without any checks

    Great breakfast at a good price. Evening meal was nice too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.4
    Near the train station... nice stuff ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked one of the best rooms in the hotel , but it was quite disappointing. The room was located next to the main road, so it was loud . The room haven’t been renovated for a long time and you could see almost everywhere the damages and dirt .

    The friendly personal who help me with my paperwork.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Disappointed by the lack of internet and indifference of the staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet never worked, when I asked I was advised that I could purchase a premium connection which was neither advertised or worth the charge for an overnight stay.

    The breakfast is superb

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    The extra bed in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon in the room was not working and made my stay at the hotel worse as it became too hot in the room. I did complain at the reception regarding the aircon issue but no one was bothered to look after it.

    The extra bed in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    The room we stayed in was a bit worn out but very big, with...
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was a bit worn out but very big, with a lovely view on the Danube. Perfect stay with pets. There were better kept rooms but smaller. In overall, I was happy to be in a bigger room with an entrance (which leads to another room, to extend it to a suite)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    6.7
    Very central. Good for some days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel and rooms a bit old fashioned. Old air conditioning. Old tube Tv. Some of the Staff are not very attentively and invitingly. Value for money is ok but could be better.

    Very central - next to the train station and closed to the centre. Big and tasty breakfast (until 11am). The room was clean and had enough storage options. Wellness area was ok. Room with view to the danube was nice and with closed windows quite calm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    It`s a very good hotel with perfect location and comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It`s a very good hotel with perfect location and comfortable parking. Everything was great about our staying there. They serve a big amount of unbelievably delicious food for the buffet breakfast! We would like to come back to beautiful Passau again one day because we stayed only for 1 night there which is obviously not enough and we would stay at the same hotel without any doubt.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    Ok for a transit stop
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the rooms were too far from the entrance which made getting the three dogs and elderly mother in and out

    Proximity to center of town. Good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.1
    one quick overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would like to say the front desk staff was not so friendly upon check out. I waited with both the receptionist on the phone and neither of them acknowledged me. I just placed my room key on the counter and left. I think it would be courtesy to at least say she would be with me in a moment. The check in receptionist was nice however.

    I really liked the breakfast. The juice was fresh, the croissants were very good and flaky. The view from my room was very nice with a view of the river. The internet was fast and useful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.5
    christmas eve stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would like to say that changing the television to other languages would have been a plus and also the use of the sauna and steam room would have been nice but the facilities were not open during our stay.

    The breakfast was delicious with many options of juice, pastries and cheese and meats. The coffee was fresh and good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    close to the center, big room with large beds, very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old room equipment, old-fashioned bathroom, shower with not very good waterflow, old TV

    close to the center, big room with large beds, very good breakfast (till 11 am in the weekends, perfect), check-out till 12 am :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    3.0
    Expensive but disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On booking.com say car parking free but is NOT FREE , you must to pay becouse they said the parking is not theirs Because of the room's furniture and carpet the room appears old and sad.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    We had a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none.

    excellent location, right across from the train station. A huge high volume hotel. Room was impressively spacious and clean. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel for the value. Don't forget to ask for a room with backyard view to it, it's quiet there!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The carpet in the room was not clean looking and seemed like it was very old with stains. Internet connection was free but the strength was not good. We had to reconnect every time we came back to room as it didn't connect automatically.

    It's proximity to railway station and the city center. The breakfast had good variety to it and breakfast room was spacious. Room was spacious and the beds were quite big and nice. It was peaceful for us as we had our room towards the backyard. The staff's response to queries was very quick. Like it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    Greeat for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant in hotel was closed. After long driving, would have liked to get dinner in the hotel.

    Room was fine. No noise in the room from railway across the street. Breakfast was ok. Reception was professional and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful art, delicious food, comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff quality was uneven: some knew everything and were cheerful and helpful. Others were less sure, less cheerful.

    Very big and delicious breakfast buffet in a room overlooking the river and the hills. Generous executive room. Silent. Beautiful original art on the walls. Train station and tourist information right out the door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location, very good breakfast, fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel has seen better times but there id nothing special to report.

    Good location in the main shopping street and right across from the station. Wellness and pool looked fine, too. Very good breakfast with variety of food choices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking confusing and staff did not explain it well. We were told the restaurant would be open after a concert, but we return to the hotel and it was not. Had to go back out through the rain to find a restaurant back in the city center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.3
    Practical but not pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I spoke to the receptionists on three occasions and found them each time to be miserable, unfriendly and unwilling to be helpful. On one occasion, having read in the information in my room about hiring a bike, I asked at reception, only to be told very bluntly that they don't have bikes to hire, and "Alles in Ordnung" with a downward intonation: "So that's that settled". She clearly didn't want to advise me on where I could go for a bike, and so I left it there. Perhaps the receptionists should read the information provided to guests?

    Decent hotel for practical purposes. Conveniently near the station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.0
    Not very much exciting
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Business Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Air-conditioner was not working and they did not fix it for 6 days !!!! Every day I called the reception and they have acknowledged, but did not fix it during my whole stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    Close to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very busy reception, you could hardly find a slot to talk to someone there. Very small pool. Horrible pillows.

    Close to train station. Storage room for bicycles. Close to shopping mall and other shops. Nice parking. Built myself an almost acceptable pillow using the regular pillow plus another pillow available in the hotel self-service cabinet on the hallway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    Great big spacey room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free parkingspace would be appreciated, plus sattelite tv was poor, fell down quite a lot.

    Great big spacey room! Good bathroom, great location near citycentre and trainstation!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.9
    Overall would recommend, but take a fan in the summer as gets very hot and air con useless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old CRT TV, unable to connect computer to watch videos and no English channels. Air conditioning didn't work, very hot. Very bizarre, but no stairs to second floor, had to use ifts, which meant long unnecessary waits. Fridge in the room locked closed. Parking hard to find and rather expensive given the room prices.

    Great breakfast, large breakfast room with outdoor seating as well. Excellent location, just over the road from the station and very close to the city centre. Great to have a pool, although it was a little small. We had two large beds, also nice, and very spacious room. Also apart from kids running up and down the corridors, nice and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Functional room, typical of a modern hotel, it means well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Twelve euros for a breakfast finally rather ordinary -common bread, only bananas, fat salads- is undoubtedly too much. Another consideration: the welcome luggage room may be opened by anyone. As the reception desk is fifteen meters away, people less or more always moving in the lobby and clients less or more anonymous, all of this making difficult an efficient watching, it might be easy to be stolen...

    Functional room, typical of a modern hotel, it means well equipped but without any special atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    5.0
    River view proximity of rail station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need renovation. No minibar safe and coffe/tea facilities. Bathroom marbles are dirty and broken.liquid Soap dispenser is installed on the mirror not the wall.bed matrice were not hard enough.the room fee 89 euro is quite expensive for such poor facilities.

    River view proximity of rail station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.5
    reasonable hotel to stay in Passau
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really

    The hotel is in front of main station. You may use public parking of main station, which provide you space for hotel guest. It takes 20 min for you to walk to the church and 10 min more to 3-river spot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    Passau stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You needed to keep the windows closed at night because of traffic noise.

    Good location within easy walking distance of old city. Car parking underground below hotel with lift to reception. Also opposite train station. Spent a pleasant half hour in the swimming pool. One of the best breakfast selections that we had on this holiday plus they have a terrace area so there is also the chance to eat outside if the weather is good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.1
    So very close to the centre, best breakfast you could have,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking,,of course the reception girl didn.t how to explain..witch is the hotel's parking, and we ended up carrying the lugajes trough the street..wich it.s not ok at all.The beds ae very hard.

    So very close to the centre, best breakfast you could have, very much variety.The beds are very big. The airconditioning works ok, it.s clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Easy Passau stopover before cruise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini fridge or coffee facilities in room

    Breakfast was lovely, you could sit outside in a courtyard. Staff were very helpful. Close to train station and easy walk to old town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One flight of stairs after the third floor elevator. Otherwise perfect.

    Room 340 is a suite with a huge sitting room, bedroom with king-size bed, small twin room and huge bathroom with sauna and whirlpool bath. And air conditioning!!!! Wonderful during the heat wave. Very good breakfast and excellent restaurant. Should be 4 star.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    The bed was awful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was awful !! Way to soft ( same on pillow not enough stufing ) The hotel has elevator only in one place, and to walk to the room like a 1/4 mile run ! First morning the breakfast was wanderful planty of everything. Second morning very poor selection. Every leftover put together from the day before !!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.5
    Convenient Budget Style Hotel
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well I didn't mind too much sorting out the parking, but it is a little unnerving to be told that you can park for a few minutes outside to unload luggage and check-in, when the space outside the hotel has a sign clearly indicating that the parking there is only for disabled people! The next challenge is to remember when you get to the garage that has two entrances which one you were told to use. One is for the hotel guests and the other is for the railway station users. But the most disconcerting part of my stay was the Hotel Information manual signed off by the Hotel's Director, Christian Bonk. The manual, with a warm and wonderful welcome from Herr Bonk, contained several errors. It referred to a fee of 5 euros per day for Wifi access. "Nein, Herr Bonk, it's free!" I checked with the desk and with a wise smirk they assured me that there was no charge, despite what was written in the manual. The issue proved to be a rhetorical one anyway as my phone which picked up WiFi elsewhere in the city could not connect to the hotel's system. The hotel staff also tried to connect for me, but with no luck. I notice the hotel is now stating that 'Guests can use the hotel's internet terminals for free.' So they must have now given up on trying to get access from other parts of the building. The manual also states that guests have the option of securing valuables by using the safe in your room or the safe at the reception desk."Nein, Herr Bonk, there is not a safe in every room, including room 273!"

    To be honest, I'd camp in the forest just to be anywhere near Passau. But not everyone is going to be as relaxed with their first impression of the IBB Hotel Passau City Centre - The exterior is exceptionally drab. Also it's not really the City Centre, but the Old Town is a fairly short walk away and so are shops and dining venues. The hotel is across the road from the bus and rail hub for Passau so it's ideal for backpackers or for travellers wanting to unburden themselves of their luggage quickly, without far to walk from their train or bus stop. For people arriving by car, there's underground parking just down and around the corner if you're good at following directions. The room we got (273) was spacious and there is a basic supermarket on the same level as the front desk. The old Grundig TV was a nice relic of old technology, but adequate for our needs.The staff at reception are friendly and helpful - they need to be, considering the confusing information contained in the room Information Guide to the hotel. So the choice is obvious. If you are prepared to pay more for style, comfort and views, go elsewhere. However, if you just want the basics and are happy to stroll a little to see the amazing city that you've arrived in, it could be just fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.1
    IBB PASSAU - For a good sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet connection has flaws and at this time and age, one should not pass through the password and identification process.

    Large room, clean, and pretty comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    A nice hotel at a good place, good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were a bit uncomfortable, small and too soft. Maybe can request bigger pillows, but we did not tried. Old CRT TV :) The drink vending machine did not worked (at least on 3rd floor)

    The location is perfect. Breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    6.3
    Good transit hotel but staff and wifi both need training in customer care
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi if was toatally inadequate and kept failing, this made contacting my work through internet impossible, wifi was the only reason I booked it

    Proximity to city centre

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    We will book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too soft beds. Parking fee is calculated in cycles 2am-2pm so if you stay as hotel guest, you pay 2 cycles oer day - instead of 4EUR > 8 EUR.

    Clean and quiet hotel with great location and excellent breakfasts. Cleaning service every day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    10
    Warmly recommend!!! 10/10
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The price was very very low. I got a double bed room. The beds were big! The room was clean. No credit card needed, the check in and check out was fast! Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    7.5
    Convenient hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    WiFi didn't work for us despite a little help at the desk. Staff need to be trained in giving assistance with WiFi. Had no problems in any other hotel in Europe. Bed bases and carpet stained. Room 250. Old TV. Fridge now non-existent.

    Didn't do breakfast but supermarket next door was handy. Hotel in good position and very handy to station. Great views over the river from our room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    10
    Satisfied
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I travelled with my dog and there were bowls, treats and a mat prepared for her. Also the proximity of the train station as I had to catch the train early in the morning.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.6
    Best hotel to stay comfortable in Passau
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very pleasant time. The staff was very kind and tried always to help. The rooms are very large, the bathroom includes a very comfortable bathtube, and for breakfast I could choose from a wide range of food - both regional and international. Well done! See you again there :-)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.2
    Swiming pool, breakfast, nice staff, location, price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Non-smoking rooms smelled cigarette smoke, curtains and drapes need clean, for non-smokers very uncomfortable.

    Swiming pool, breakfast, nice staff, location, price.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    4.2
    Terrible stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel facilities definitely need modernization. It's like coming to a house of your grand-parents but for the price of the modern hotel. When we asked to change our room, the other one was no better. During the night drunk people were running and screaming in the hotel corridor. At 5 a.m. someone started knocking violently at our door. Poor value for money!

    Location close to the city center

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay which included breakfast and that we could make early morning tea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the left luggage room was not locked.

    Overal, we were generally impressed with the IBB hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.6
    It was nice journey to the place were Danube river is beginning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great Hotel location and transport connection.Train station and Bus station terminal in close distance.Beautiful city.Amazing Danube river cruise.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location and great value for me :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and great value for me :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Noisy street and very noisy neighbors
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy street and very noisy neighbors

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Chain hotel, good for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pet friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice! Great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic breakfast selection, best of our trip! For a standard chain hotel was better than expected.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Location very good - right near Railway Station, only stayed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location very good - right near Railway Station, only stayed for one night - the rooms were huge, bit dated - bed great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Good location close to train station and downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Good location close to train station and downtown

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.7
    Good breakfast and comfort bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast and comfort bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.5
    Was to short the stay
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t have nothing to tell

    The variety of food at breakfast and the hotel is tidy and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: