Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Home Hotel Haan This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Schallbruch 15, 42781 Haan, Germany

#5 of 5 hotels in Haan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 497 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    6.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were surprised to find the hotel locked and unstaffed (at 18:00 on a Sunday evening). However, getting the key (by telephone) was easy, and everything else went well. We were told that this hotel was used mainly during the week, hence the closed doors.

    Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    The breakfast is good, the room is spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked in advance but when I arrived in the evening with the family the receptionist told us that they are no waiting for the new guests and they don't have free rooms. Luсkily after showing her booking confirmation email and waiting some time, she found our room.

    The breakfast is good, the room is spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.9
    I would come hear again!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Communication with the staff on site could be better.

    Hygiene was good, everythingwas clean and tidy, especially the room and sheets on beds). Breakfast excellent (food was diverse and high quality, dining room was nicely decorated and well lit)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.8
    The lady who was trying to cook the breakfasts while mending...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an understaffed catering cash flow run by someone who presumably knows all about business process theory. The hotel feels two-star-ish at best, and the evaluation system that gave it three stars clearly doesn't see the business from the guests' perspective.

    The lady who was trying to cook the breakfasts while mending the coffee machine, locating the bread, clearing the tables, managing the other employee on duty, and trying to look cheerful, deserves several gold medals for effort and dedication. It is a cheap hotel for busy drivers who hope to be on the road early in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.1
    Fine for stop-over..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one present for check in (even though within check in times stated on booking confirmation) and had trouble phoning number stated to get code for key box. No toilet tissue in bathroom and TV didn't work but no one about to ask!

    Good sized, clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    4.6
    Good, if you only need a place to sleep and nothing else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They should check the rooms if everything works.

    Breakfast was okay. Initially no light in the bathroom. Had to exchange the room in order to be able to use the bathroom. Then the tv did not work. I guess the batteries in the remote control were empty. Slept well in the bed though.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    5.0
    Slowest WiFi ever in very simple rooms
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel rooms are very very simple. Not even TV was at my room. Felt like going back to past 35 years, like in 80's. The WiFi was the slowest ever. I rather pay for good WiFi, or have no WiFi, than this kind of slow WiFi. The window did not really close well, so you could feel the air coming through, even when closed.

    I liked the breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    8.3
    Cheap and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seems like they are short on staff as I had to search for someone to check me out of my room. Also seems like there were no refurbishing done in the building for a long time, but as I mentioned - everything works and all is tidy, so it's not something to complain much about. Sound isolation could be a bit better, since I could hear every door open, and people talk from the hall and from adjacent rooms.

    Room was clean and decent. Room furniture and bathroom was a little outdated, but completely functional and properly maintained. Breakfast was very good. There is WiFi available at decent speed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    3.3
    I will not reccomend this Hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Their is nothing you could thing likening it because the WiFi was not working at all and they have change the password constantly i do not know the reason. But also give me hard time as i come from long driving until tour (1;00am) after i landed the front door no one there at the Reception to open the door let alone to welcome you.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.9
    A nice stop for families, visiting to Dusseldorf
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some lights didn't work. It was said to be floor heating, but I didn't really feel the temperature.

    Good location, almost next to the highway. Good value for the money (Dusseldorf is quite expensive). Spacious rooms. Clean. Commercial regions are in 5 minute driving distance.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    5.4
    Good breakfast in a nice breakfast room and with nice...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Grumpy and unfriendly receptionist (improved on day 2, but still...). No towels the first night, neither for my colleague nor me, and got 2 small after asking for them. Very small room, but clean and OK just for sleeping.

    Good breakfast in a nice breakfast room and with nice personell. Great restaurant nearby (Gut Hahn) with extremely friendly and helpful people, plus very good food!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely quiet location. Helpful staff and nice breakfast. Good value
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    5.4
    Acceptable when the only thing you need is a bed between 2am-9am.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mixup with the rooms. The first room for which I received keys was not cleaned. Fortunately, this was easily fixed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.4
    1 night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old decor Toilet seat was brokenand lying on the floor. No one at reception on arrival.

    Hot shower

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Very nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very spacious Very clean Easy late night check in

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.4
    There was no wellness center like described when I booked!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    There was no wellness center like described when I booked!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.7
    All ok for bussines couple nights
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All ok for bussines couple nights

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.1
    Room was dark
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location and sourroundings poor

    carpark on site

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my opinion super hotel. Good service quality for low price. The perfect place to stay on a weekend trip.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    9.6
    VFM clean comfortable; helpful staff and excellent breakfast always.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Bar, but can get beer out the dispenser so fine.

    Stay twice a year VFM updated rooms excellent. Breakfast always excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    6.3
    Good palce for 1 night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi you can connect only one appliance, room was a bit dark and pillow very small.

    Was OK place to stay for 1 night

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    7.1
    good parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too soft bed, reception works only till 10

    good parking

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    6.7
    Excellent choice for a stop in the road
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent choice for a stop in the road

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    5.8
    Close to highway, clean, nice personnel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Missing restaurant or bar in the hotel. Restaurants in walking distance from the hotel did not work. Too high price comparing to services due to term of Fair in Dusseldorf.

    Close to highway, clean, nice personnel.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    2.9
    They had made double reservation for our rooms , and they...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    They had made double reservation for our rooms , and they didnt help us to find another hotel . Receptionist said that my collegue made a mistake and we dont have ant available rooms , I cannot make anything....

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    5.0
    Quiet, fairly clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception staff leave at 9pm. Staff did not provide any instructions on arrival regarding WIFI, facilities, etc. No beverages in the room. The only beverage facilities are in the reception (make a coffee and take it upstairs in the lift, if you can find the ingredients and how to work the machine - most of the cupboards were padlocked).

    Quiet, fairly clean. Convenient location for my business trip. Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    5.8
    Clean,
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Check-in time was written till 00:00, but we came at 22:30 and hotel was already closed and all staff has gone away. We have been calling many times but nobody was answering. Good luck came other guests and showed us other phone number. But story didin't ends here, firstly she didn't find our reservation, then told us other hotel adress, then told us wrong check-in box location. Good luck I've found by my self at other place. Other hotels usually calling by them selfes. Also we couldn't get internet password.

    Clean, Free Parking

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    7.5
    Quiet, clean place, delicious breakfast, Nice to stay during...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    COLD ROOM IN THE NIGHT. CENTRAL HEATING NOT SUFFICIENT. HEATERS WERE just WARMY. after 8 hours of HEATING

    Quiet, clean place, delicious breakfast, Nice to stay during the spring, summer and early autumn.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    6.3
    If You are reaching after 11, not a good choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If You are reaching after 11, not a good choice!

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    3.8
    Brekfast is ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    all other

    Brekfast is ok

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    5.0
    the water in the shower
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    trouble upon arriving....

    the water in the shower

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.2
    Hotel was clean, staff friendly, good breakfast everthing...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The pillow was to small..that's only thing I can say.

    Hotel was clean, staff friendly, good breakfast everthing was good..

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    6.7
    the room was extremely hot even with the window opened.
    • Couple

    the room was extremely hot even with the window opened.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    5.0
    Hotel very tired, very few guests, hardly saw any staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel very tired, very few guests, hardly saw any staff

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    7.9
    Clean and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WiFi reception was poor in my room at the end of the corridor

    Clean and quiet

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    9.6
    The human beings at reception and the one in the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The human beings at reception and the one in the breakfast room. Both funny, enjoying banter and being perfect hosts to a stranger, well done.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: