Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of HOPPER Hotel St. Antonius This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Dagobertstrasse 32, Altstadt-Nord, 50668 Cologne, Germany

#76 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 389 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because the people one floor below us were smoking on their balcony, the smoke drifted up and into our bedroom. Would have rated this hotel excellent if they banned smoking everywhere

    The view from our small balcony onto the courtyard

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was a bit cool. Decor is odd.

    Big space, nice fan during hot spell in city. Parking was easy for city. Beds comfortable and location good for sightseeing. Restaurant next door is amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small for family of four and price, but it was workable. No designated parking for the hotel.

    Bed was comfortable, great mini bar selection, crib was in room and set up as requested upon arrival. Restaurant had great dinner and breakfast. Courtyard is beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toiletries what so ever. It was rather strange that we had a little kitchenette with a sink and hobs but no pans, cutlery, crockery etc. Restaurant and bar lacked atmosphere

    Clean and nice location - quiet yet central.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The bathroom was not handicapped accessible

    - Wheelchair accessible - Very friendly and helpful staff - Great bed - Welcome wine - Very central located

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the website pictures the location was deceiving, it was in a very built up area of the city with derelict grounds opposite. The room lacked any character, ultra modern and stark. The bar and social areas of the hotel were closed due to holidays - this is not disclosed in advance of reservations. The room was set out for a single person even though the reservation was for a double, we were uprgraded to a 'suite', again, set up for a single person. We were updgraded to a 'suite' however, the original double room was bigger. The staff were not particularly interested or helpful to the point where we felt as if we were an intrusion as opposed to guests

    It was clean and clinical, if you like ultra modern then it could be an option. However, I would recommend checking if the facilities are open prior to booking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very barren plain room which on arrival was very cold. The towels were small and thin which is not what you would expect in a 4 star hotel. The young receptionist was not at all friendly on arrival and had an austere manner. However she was much more friendly the next day. £18 seemed a lot extra for the city tax for 2 nights when we had already paid over the odds for the hotel room. Wouldn’t visit again.

    Very good location and extremely quiet considering we were in the Centre of the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A kettle in the room would be lovely (this was provided when asked for), and perhaps some mugs for tea/coffee.

    Absolutely wonderful room, with a huge apartment like feel. Lounge area, dining table and small kitchenette (fridge and sink only). Very beautifully furnished, comfortable and stylish. Daily housekeeping. Friendly staff, good price point. Free tea and coffee in the foyer i the mornings. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathroom toiletries (shampoo, soap, lotion) provided. The bed was also hard and a little uncomfortable.

    The room was huge! The bed was in a separate bedroom, so our daughter could sleep out in the living room area. Everything was also very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Elevator runs only to the 4th floor. For me it isn´t problem, but for somebody it can be. The shower can only be used when sitting in a bathtub (due the roof).

    Room 506 is very big and luxury apartma with Livingroom, kitchen, bathroom and sleeproom. Perfect views from my windows. No noise from street or from other rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was confusion, twice, with our room number. My friend called on us but the staff kept contacting 412 (we were in 312), so much time was lost. Again, when we checked out, the staff insisted we hadn't paid but we insisted we had. Finally, I saw that she was looking at 412 not 312 so it got straightened out, but again, time was lost. On the other hand, the staff was nice about giving us directions.

    Room was much larger than I expected. Location was quiet yet close to everything. We walked everywhere. Room was immaculately clean. There was a pretty courtyard that would be pleasant in warmer weather.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is no water boiler in the room, so in this cold weather you can only get hot drinks from the street but not making a coffee in the room.

    very great location, just like 5 min walk from Koln HBF, lovely! and the atmosphere is very calm and quiet, which i like the most, Kiosk is just 1 min away. the staff is really helpful and friendly. thank you!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poorly equiped: There is a kitchen but there is nothing: No cutlery or pans, no microwave. Bathroom: too small, shower fixed to the wall.

    space, views, light, quietness, design, lift, quality of the wifi, superbe appartement.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One window beside the bed lead to the fire escape. Unfortunately, this fire escape was used by other guests (or staff) as a meeting and smoking point.

    Big room looking into the very beautiful courtyard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby had a mild smell of detergent or cleaner.

    Loved the historic property, the simple fresh design with wooden floors and marble bathrooms, and that the hotel was close to the dom without being completely saturated in tourist-central.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the rooms, bar the bathroom, is not very good. It is modern but really it's style over substance. The rooms are very light and bright during daytime but come nightfall it all gets a bit dim.

    The property is centrally located but off the main tourist drag and quite an easy walk to the main area around the Dom. We also walked to other tourist attractions around the city, though the public transport system in Koln is very good. Our room set up was large with a separate lounge area and it overlooked the lovely courtyard. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom had a really decent shower and it was all cleaned daily. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. All in all, we really liked this hotel and would recommend it as we found it really good value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave me a room in attic. It was too small. For a tall person like me (1.92 m), it is not possible to stand up in the some locations in the room including bath tub. The hangers were even located in a weird corner close to ground. It was not convenient. The room had Bluetooth speaker (which is nice) but its remote controller did not work. There was a fan in the room, which did not work. After calling the reception desk, it was changed with a fancier one, but these checks should be made on time.

    Location was close enough to the main attractions. The breakfast was allrite for its price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly badly insulated - forget about sleeping in the morning: guests leaving with rolling suitcases and the cleaners' kart resonate so much it actually feels like being next to rail tracks. Slamming doors can literally make the building shake. Walking distance from the train station but just that little bit too far as on the wrong side of the tracks, where there is nothing of interest - no restaurant or cafe close by. An effort to go back to. For this price, you'll be much better choosing something in the city centre itself, especially in the other side of the train station.

    Modern, clean, nicely designed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurangen och baren var stängd söndag och måndag. Fanns inget i närheten. Receptionen var ohjälpsam. Frukosten var trist. Inget schampoo, tvål eller balsam i badrummet. Det borde vi ha bett om fick vi veta sista dagen. De hade inte som standard att ge nåt till gästerna. Gymmet i en mörk läskig källare. Lyhört genom rummen. Riktigt dåligt hotell! Kommer aldrig bo där igen. Välj nåt annat!

    Fin innegård som säkert är fin på sommaren.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the top floor and the wifi wasn't that good up there. Our shower was so small it was hard to stand and shampoo my hair.

    Everything was great! Very clean, quiet but convenient location .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Description of the parking lot location. The sofa in our room was not comfortable.

    The location is very close to the centre of Cologne and the Dom. The area is very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather! Some things out of date, Such as hotel information, tv channels and equipment in the room, do that it did not work.

    Size of the suite. The restaurant and breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Staff was a little difficult with reservations

    - Breakfast is worth the money - Rooms are clean and modern - 10min comfortable walk to train station (11 to Dom)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot work out why there is a minikitchen in the room with absolutely no cooking implements

    Spotless rooms, great facilities in room such as Dyson fan. Rooms very spacious and light Super comfy bed Lovely courtyard restaurant

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels were really small. We left our luggages at the reception for a few hours after check out. However they do not lock them somewhere safe, instead just leave them in a place where everyone can see and it is often unattended which was slightly concerning.

    Large bedroom, comfortable bed, large bathroom, wifi worked really well and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a large room with living space and restaurant looks nice with a good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are very light, could use darker curtains.

    Location is great and very helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was not good Service was bad Not enough food

    Very good dinner Nice Staff at Dinner

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, within easy walking distance to city centre and train station. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very welcoming staff, beautiful room, delicious breakfast and great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A mini kettle would have been good with tea, coffee sachets as in other hotels

    We liked the size of the room and the location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing a coffee machine in the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been a little more lightning - we thought it bit dark in the rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Central,clean, friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was a good size, plenty of space and very clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The balcony to our room was lovely, room was big, comfy beds...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    courteous helpful staff and comfortable room and central location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall very good, great breakfast for 13 EUR, close to the city centre and Koln messe

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good food and a lovely courtyard

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent location. just a few minutes walk from the train station and the Cathedral. Waterfront is also a few minutes away

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice rooms, located near an interesting neighborhood (Hansa ring area) and not far from the center. Staff was helpful, and I enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no shampoo in the bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful and incredibly spacious room with modern fittings and a luxurious bed!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The lobby is a bit mediocre but the rest of the hotel facilities are fine. A pool would have been a great asset.

    The location is perfect. Just a very short walk (a few blocks) away from Köln Hbf station and the Cathedral. Close to a metro station, a duck pond and the Zoo.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    lack of friendly hospitality. The staff does what it is supposed to do , but nothing extra. No welcome in the hotel, no information about the city nor the breakfast. You have to ask everything ( which they reply friendly to) No welcome in the morning at breakfast or guidance how to get coffee or table.Not any question on how our stay was,.. The room was spacious but not very warm. We missed some bathroom supplies which you suspect in a 4* hotel. At this price, it is easy to find better accomodation

    spacious room, location, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking fee is just too much. It should be free for the clients. Staffs never smiles at you.

    Breakfast was great. I love the fact that everything that I needed was there. And we didn't pay much for a junior suite.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The personnel was rude and reluctant to share information about the facilities. You pay extra for everything and the price -quality relation is poor. No coffee or shampoos in the room what you would expect from a hotel this standard.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The staff was not friendly, not a nice man, the bed is not comfotble, I don't think this is a really 4 Star hotel.

    The location is about 5 minutes from Coln HBF.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Junior Suite is not very suite-ish. The furniture is quite old and IKEA-like. The whole room was missing some charm. There were no toiletries! If the hotel wants to be rated 4*, it has to have at least some shampoo.

    Breakfast was really nice! Location is also ok, very quiet neighborhood, Rhine is just around the corner. Loved the inside patio and the castle-lite atmosphere there. Nice staff!

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The price is geared more for the corporate or government traveler but still affordable for the solo traveler but more so for couples

    Great restaurant with interesting local food well cooked - good variety of international TV and walking distance to the Hauftbahnhof and Cathedral.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff were very efficient but not what you would describe as warm and friendly. However we were there at Carnival time which tends to put non-revellers on edge a bit.

    Excellent location, nice rooms.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived at 10 30 and asked if we could leave our suitcase and check in later. Our room was ready and we were asked if we would like to check in there and then. Comfortable room, view of Dom and excellent breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The room doesn't correspond to the photos on booking.com

    Apples at the reception.Very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no coffee/tea making in room

    bed comfortable, pillows great, breakfast perfect

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed was so comfortable, reception were very helpful with suggestions on restaurants and how to get there, breakfast is always nice when I stay here

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bar and restaurant operated separately and not open during our stay. No tea or coffee facilities in rooms.

    Convenient location. Nice if sparse rooms

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Stylish and comfortable hotel very close to the city centre.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit ikea-like in places

    Breakfast is great

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Great location, great people.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice staff. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I did not know haw to answer the phone.

    I loved the location and the art picture at all rooms and the dining hole .

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    flat and uncomfortable pillows

    Friendly staff, big room and no problem for an unexpected early check in.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Couple

    Nil.

    Design, breakfast, very attentive staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    they don't have shampoo and conditioner in the room

    breakfast wi fi

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Good location near train station and Dom - 10 minute walk. Only 15 minute walk to Alt Stadt. Great breakfast

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Browse HOPPER Hotel St. Antonius traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: