Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Horstmann Garni This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Windthorststraße 12, 48143 Münster, Germany

#43 of 60 hotels in Münster

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 542 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Russian speaking staff,very friendly,good breakfast,very clean room and bathroom,very good location.The best choice for staying for one night or weekend for discovering the city.Just one thing- more warmness in room would be very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn’t reach my room. Made emailing and even texting impossible.

    The staff was extremely friendly and the breakfast was a nice German breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtains are too small. After closing the there is still of 20 centinmeters. You have to climb two stairs to reach the reception. No elevator from street level. Elevetor from the reception area only goor to level 3. My room was a level four.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small and nice hotel with kind employees. If you're searching for a room just to sleep and travel around like me, I recommend this place. Nice location, easy to reach everywhere even if you're walking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The # is only slightly lower as the breakfast fruit was not fresh (soft apples) and could have more vege. options.

    The tall guy and younger girl at Front of House were really friendly, hospitable likeable people. The location is awesome - about 2 minutes from the train station. The rooms were clean, and favourably decorated, comfortable bed and strong shower .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities in the room. Fire doors wedged open on staircase during cleaning - only exit. Sometimes rowdy outside at night - (city centre, obvs) - but no personal security issues. Double-glazing sound insulation effective, but meant windows had to be kept closed, with no air con in room.

    Great typically German breakfasts - cooked meats, cheeses, eggs, fruit etc. Very helpful staff. Ambience fine. Two mins walk from Hauptbahnhof, six mins walk to town centre - very convenient location indeed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was slightly stook and it took quite a while for me to get warm water.

    The receptionist would wait for me as I was running late and did not complain at all. They also offered me a place to leave my luggage the next day so I could enjoy the city without having to take care of it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet (a local hotspot) was terrible, and possibly insecure. It was frustrating. My company computer would not allow me to log in to the fragile system. This is, in my mind, a major flaw with the hote.

    A very large German breakfast is included with the room -- lots of different kinds of meats, cheeses, breads, spreads, fruits, good coffee and tea, cereals, etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Price is in no comparison to what is offered; this hotel is simply too expensive. Possibly, we got a bad rate because of relatively late booking. We paid 167,- a room. Half of that would seem more in line with what is offered. - Elevator only holds 3 people (or 1 person with baby carriage), takes a long time, and feels a bit unsafe - Said elevator is only available from first floor. Initial entry is a flight of stairs; not convenient with a carriage - Staff was akward. The first question that was asked was: You booked for 4 people, but you are here with 5, that is not allowed. (a local inhabitant accompanied us). Check in was a chaotic and quite rude procedure. However, the next day at breakfast she was more pleasant, and helpful. - Wifi is only available after logging in with a code which is valid for 1 device only, and limited to browsing; applications on the mobile phone could not update, and/or function properly. e.g. Whatsapp didn't work, and suggested I try a different network. Initially only a single code was provided, even though we were 4 people. After asking the other 3 were provided as well. - The room's windows were poorly isolated; there was a draft near them. - At night, there is a lot of noise coming of the street.

    - Breakfast is merely adequate, but the items available are of good quality. - The room was clean - The children bed which was provided was good quality - THe beds, although a bit short (2 meter), were comfortable - The hotel is situated close to the city center and station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was friendly. Breakfast was good. We had a spacious corner room with good quality beds and lighting. Bathroom was rather small, but contained all necessaries. As expected, being close to the Railway station, the area can be a bit noisy at night. But the windows of the room did keep most of that noise out. The Hotel does not have it's own parking area; however, the convenient next-door car parking of the nearby Hotel Conti could be used (9 Euro/night).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The Wi-Fi was awful, it didn't work the majority of time and when it does it worked very bad and slow. It was the worst wi-fi i've found in all my life in a hotel. The price for a single room was too high.

    The room was clean and the people were kind and gentle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room and bathroom and facilities e.g. lift need renovation. A little expensive for what's on offer.

    Friendly staff, decent breakfast, good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator from the ground level, no parking,, very noisy neighborhood, TV set not working.

    Very clean, well furnished, very center of the city, nice breakfast,friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no lift up to the first floor where the reception was. The lift should have started on the ground floor. It can be a bit difficult with heavy luggage especially if there was at times only a lady on duty to help carry my suitcase.

    I did not travel with a pet and therefore do not know about pet friendliness. Very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. It was very conveniently situated near the station with only 5 Minutes walking distance. It was also not far on foot to the center of Münster with all the shops, museums, churches etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -I stayed on the 3-person top floor apartment. The room is spacious (and good for family) but the ventilation is not as good. You cannot open the windows!, so the only way to make the room ventilate is to turn on the fan in the bathroom. -Strangely, the elevator is available only for the lobby (which is on the first floor), the second and the third floor. So, if you have heavy suitcases and live on the forth and fifth floor like us, you need to carry the suitcases from the ground floor to the first floor. Then, take the elevator to the third floor. After that, carry your suitcases via stairs to the forth and fifth floor. But if you have small or medium-sized bags, this condition will not cause you a problem. -Noise at night. Even we stayed on the top floor, we still heard noises at night from the street and inside the building. We stayed there for Friday and Saturday and we heard the noise only on the Saturday from 10pm to 2am. In a way, it's understandable. -The decoration is a bit strange. In one of our two bedrooms, there was a lamp at the side of the bed. But this lamp was too close to the bed (see the pic). It hit my friend a few times when he slept there. To prevent this, the owner or the guest may need to relocate the bed.

    -Location. It's very close to the train station and the bus station. I went to Munster for the Skulptur Projekte 2017, and it's easy for me to travel by bus to many places in the town and out of the town. So, if you come to town for the Skulptur Projekte and want to travel by bus, this hotel will make your trip easier. -The wifi is very good. I can watch youtube without signal interruption. -Since it's close to the train station, there are choices of quick restaurants for you. The supermarket is very close too. -You can also walk to the city's center within 15 minutes. -The room is very clean. -The staff can't speak English (but we still find ways to communicate).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As some other travellers have noted, there is street noise in the evening, a issue for light sleepers. Monday/Tuesday were fine, but Wednesday the noise was bothersome. The staff told me that one can ask for a room on the other side of the hotel. To access the reception, one has to go up a lot of stairs which was ok for me, but people who are less fit need to know this. The sofa was very old and caved in and needs to be replaced!

    Basic comfortable hotel with convenient central location. The staff was welcoming and very helpful. Breakfast was varied and abundant. I had booked a single room, but was given a double wich gave me more space to work. Tiny bathroom with only a shower, but perfectly clean and serviceable. The bed was firm, very comfortable. Wifi worked fine. I stayed for 3 nights and was very pleased with the overall experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to climb two flights of stairs to reception. The lift is only from reception.

    spacious room much nicer than expected. Great breakfast -- hot to order and cold buffet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Facilities look quite old; windows and the door not really soundproof, quite a few annoying noisy people downstairs somewhere on the street at late night

    Nice staff, good location, daily house keeping

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's true: this hotel would be perfect for deaf people. Of course it's not the fault of the hotel, but the yelling, screaming and shouting of the crowd on the street goes on whole night and the windows and blinds are not enough to stop the noise of that. Bring your earplugs! I am very greatful I did. Room was ok and clean, but no facilities at all and a bit olddated. Looking at that I think the hotel is a bit overpriced.

    Close to the trainstation, short walk to the citycenter. The staff was very friendly, the breakfast was great! Room could be blinded perfectly, so in the morning no sunlight shining in when sleeping. Wifi worked real well, although it's quite complicated with a ticket you have to ask at the reception, and for every device you need an extra ticket. Good atmosphere!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Room a bit loud (people streaming on the street till midnight. WiFi connection very bad: low signal, access through a web portal automatically disconnecting you after 5 min inactivity, so impossible to stay connected with a cellphone. Quality/price ratio too high: 115 EUR per night not justified for a single use double room with very basic service, the price de

    Location near the railstation, downtiwn easily reached by walking. Stops of the main bus lines at 50m

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two flights of stairs to reception. Car park quite a distance from the hotel - a shame as there is a car park used by another hotel right next to it. We had difficulty finding a suitable restaurant for our evening meal - ok if you want fast food. Lots of noise from the street all night until around 6.00 a.m. and also from other guests returning to the hotel.

    Staff very welcoming and friendly. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. Comfortable beds and shower very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old fashionedly furnished (straight from the 1950's) although clean. Still for the price paid was probably to be expected.

    Close to Railway Station. Reasonable breakfast - no hot items offered. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Looked a little tired in places (bathroom tiling looked like it was from the 1970s and had a few cracks), but this caused no problems.

    Very convenient location near the train station, but on a relatively quiet street with a nice bakery right across the street. Welcoming hosts. Spacious and light room with characterful old furnitutre. All very clean. Enormous TV in room; felt like I was at the cinema! Very good breakfast with wide choice of things (4 different breads; 4 different cheeses; etc etc) Very good wifi too. Would happily stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi fi was weak and had to log in again several times.

    Staff was nice. The breakfast was good! Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good spacious room, big flatscreen, good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds could have been more comfortable for the price.

    Amazing continental breakfast, very friendly employees, nice clean spaces.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the foyer was on the first floor with no lift to it

    well located, small friendly hotel, breakfast good, staff helpfull

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy esp. at nighttime.

    Large room. Close to central station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad internet. Noisy from street outside.

    Great breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to carry the luggage while go up stair to the reception counter.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wifi is really weak.

    Beds are quite comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too noisy on Saturday night

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking facilities

    Close to the old town, nice room, very good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I choose kingsize bed but get Double bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kind staffs, Close to the station, Comfortable room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was noisy because of outside sounds

    Nice staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was challenging.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was lovely and the staff were friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    due to the location also some noise from passers-by in the street in the evening

    location very handy for business travellers due to its short distance to train and central bus station station, as well as easy walking distance to the city centre; rooms clean and comfortable; staff very friendly; breakfast buffet didn't leave any wishes

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The manager is a robber. He charged me for two rooms instead of one !! Even on the request of Booking, he refused to reimburse me, and in addition he charged me twice for 2 nights each !! Do not book in this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Out of control of the hotel I suppose but there were people shouting outside all night. So if you want a peaceful night then find a different part of the city.

    Comfortable bed, good shower.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    To have hot water on the third flor shower I needed to wait cupple of minutes.

    Good bed and very cleaned. I appreciated the location close to the train station.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Due to location it is unfortunately quite loud late at night and early morning

    Location good for both train station and town. Room a good size for a single. Breakfast very extensive. Lovely staff who were both friendly and helpful (great recommendation for dinner!)

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to the Train station, very convenient! The service is excellent, with clean and comfortable room. I will choose this hotel again in next time!

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel Horstmann is a typical older style German middle price hotel.Very good location, handy to the Hauptbahnhof and a short walk to the old inner city. Very reasonable parking rates in a parking garage one block away. The room and bath were clean and "up to date". The staff were friendly and helpful, even though their English skills were minimal. The breakfast was excellent. We'll stay there again when we next visit Munster.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    No soap holder in shower. Hard trekking upstairs to reception with luggage, as lift only goes from reception

    Comfortable hotel in a good location, close to the Alte Stadt quarter. Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    A bit old-fashioned but it is not a problem

    Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast with a good variety of fine cheese and ham, very pleasantly served in the lovely room with fresh flowers on the tables. Very spacious room with big LCD TV.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The elevator was very small and there were quite a lot of stairways.

    It's next to the train station and quite close to the old city center but it's a basic hotel.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I do not think there was but there were no kettle and refrigerator (just a notice). It does not matter for me.

    Staffs were all kind and kept my bag after check-out until my departure. Dining room was clean and cozy.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are a night club next door and a pedestrian street around the corner. People walking about at night make extreme noise. Since there is no AC I had to keep the window open and could not sleep well.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    bathroom was clean but it looked too old and seemed to need to change a shower curtain.

    breakfast was really nice and it was good to have a lift. I booked a single room but they gave me double room.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Everything is great - the outdoor of the hotel doesn't really do any favour but that's the station area and most hotels there look the same.

    The hotel is perfectly located, and the cleanliness of the place is just amazing. Warm welcome from the staff too.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The elevator is old and slow and the reception in the first floor with stairs to reach. I dont think that it's appropriate for old people with movement or back problems.

    Staff, cleanness and the location were perfect. The breakfast was included in the fee but I didn't have the chance to have it. Generaly everything was good.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel has an excellent location 2 min from the main station on foot, and so it is also near the centre of the city. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy, and the wifi functioning properly. The breakfast was delicious and served in a stylish room.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing special

    Hotel in pedestrian street at railway station in Münster, just a few minutes walk from the city centre. We used as base during the great jazz festival of the city, which also was within easy walking distance. Spacy rooms with comfortable beds, and caring staff that immediately solved the problem when water stayed in the shower... OK breakfast, even though coffee could have been a little stronger ;-)

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no close parking,

    location and staff

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wonderful 1950ies style (especially the furniture in the breakfast room).

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the location and the staff were brilliant

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift from ground floor to reception. Street noise.

    Conveniently located, friendly welcome.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Elevator and wi-fi

    Bread is delicious

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent breakfast

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse Hotel Horstmann Garni traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: