Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostel Nuremberg

Ottostrasse 6, Mitte, 90402 Nürnberg, Germany

#110 of 112 hotels in Nürnberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 249 hostel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    6.4

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    The perfect hostel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No light shielding at windows! You'll wake up at sunrise. My room was adjacent to the WC, so I woke up each time a guest went to the toilet, due to the noise - it was annoying. Bring with you ear plugs!

    I can't see the reason of low score given by others guests. I found this Hostel perfect, with excellent value for money. It's not on red light district: it's near there, but you don't have to walk across it to reach the city centre. Comfortable bed, very clean, good position!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Cheap, clean hostel for not rich travellers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to contact staff because they are not at the reception whole day. At the final night of my stay the wi-fi was out of order but it was at midnight so it could not be fixed because the staff was not there.

    Facilities was cleaner than I had expected. The price was cheap. The location is close to subway abd close to tourist attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Very affordable hostel in the middle of the historic center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception of the television was poor.

    Walking distance (15 minutes) from the central trainstation. Sufficient privacy because the rooms are separate (bathroom shared in the hallway)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    3.8
    The only plus is related to the location which is inside the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only room with private rest-room is on the 4th floor (without elevator). This room is about 1x3 m under roof (from 2m to 0.5m height !) The restroom is about 1.5m x 1.5m under roof as well. Two small beds, no chairs; just a small wooden cube/seat in front of a small table having a TV on top. Small TV with 20 channels, mostly standard German channels. Spent 2 nights without any cleaning service. For 2 nights paid a total of 498EUR !! Never experienced a so huge different between the cost and the quality !! It is true there were important fairs in Nuremberg during the period and there were very few rooms available in the City but this level of price for such a service is a true robbery !

    The only plus is related to the location which is inside the Old City

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    4.6
    its not a motel its motHELL !
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Overall this is an old flat next wall to a strip club and not a motel. The Stuff don’t speak English and very aggressive. the reception is practically a "Hall in the wall" and is not occupied regularly so dont expacxt any help or nice welcome greetings. The rooms were clean on daily basis however small random things such as cigarettes, chargers etc. were taken from the room. i wish i was only joking but on our last day we found hubcap(!!) left by the "cleaning stuff" between the clothing that was not in the suitcase. The rooms were under-maintenance with cracks in the tiles and walls,holls in the walls, rusty scraws sticking out and moldy covered with paint randomly regardless the spiderwebs above the bed and vomit leftovers outside the room door in the morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.0
    Merely functional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Accommodations were way too modest for the price Check-out was cold and impersonal. The guy seemed to want to avoid human contact. I think he should consider changing business or profession

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    We were generaly quite satisfied. Our
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi was only accessible for a total of about 10 minutes altogether in the 3 days we were there, and very slow when we did manage to connect.

    Location in the old city, walking distance to railway station, easy access to public transportation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is close to some bars and nightclubs so the room had a bit of noise.

    The rooms were big enough for our 2 large suitcases. The beds were comfortable and long (As we are tall). Very clean! Our beds were made everyday.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.5
    Booked last minute. Better than I expected; grateful for help with bag! Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Had to climb 4 floors, fortunately, had help with large bag by nice staff woman. No smoking allowed; but, strong smell of cigarettes in stairwell and floors. No breakfast option. No staff to consult with after check in at 3 pm . Cash only.

    Good price for Xmas holiday. Tiny, single room with shared bath and shower. All very clean. Free WiFi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    4.2
    Pathetic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All

    Unbelievable, if you arrive after 10. pm you sleep outside!!! No conveniences, shower shared with other rooms, shower gel is not even provided... The welcome was cold and without interrest, you can collect your key at the reception desk against 20 euros. No breakfast provided...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    4.2
    The blankets were nice and fluffy and the location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wasn't allowed to leave my bag to the hostel until check-in time, which was one hour later than I arrived, so I had to walk around with all my things. Also when I got bites of some kind at night the person from staff was quick to deny bed bugs ever existing in the hotel, and in my opinion it's not something you can say without checking first, because it doesn't matter how clean the place is, they are some widely traveled bugs which can follow humans anywhere. Showers changed from hot to cold in seconds, so showering wasn't very nice. The bathroom next door to our room bothered my partner at night because it was loud when other people used it. Also I couldn't figure out how to get in at first, because there were three doorbells, it would be nice to add a label there.

    The blankets were nice and fluffy and the location is great. The place was quite perfect for our purpose of having a place to sleep. We got a key so it was easy to go in and out after the initial check-in. It was super easy to get to the place from the airport, just a subway ride of 15-20 min and a short walk.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Quite comfortable and clean place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no information about it. The actuall rooms situated not in the same building with reception. Maybe for someone is not a problem, but... The entrance door of the building, where rooms are, is just near the entrance to some night club...near also there are a few night clubs or kind of. I wouldn`t not recommend to stay there families or just groups of the girls...

    The stuff is very friendly and nice. They were very kind when let us to keep our lagguage in the day of check-out. Hostel is situated in 3 minutes from the Underground station, what is really convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    I would really not suggest staying here. Poor staff. Terrible wifi. No lounging area. Loud rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm usually very nice on reviews and seldom leave a negative comment. But I would really not suggest staying here. The staff was not acceptable. Upon arrival they were not welcoming and cold. The hostel is right next to the red light district so it is so loud at night. The wifi works 1/4 of the time. No lounging area.

    The location is convenient, but in a really loud area. The facilities were clean and pretty nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    3.8
    Expensive for what is was, would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful staff Not allowed to leave my case at the hostel for a few hrs on day of departure No blind on window so daylight woke me up 3rd floor no lift Had to ask for help to carry my suitcase up 3 flights Shared bathroom had no bathmat Overpriced in my view.

    It was clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    Central, basic, cheap accommodation.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was in a seedy part of town. Wifi did not work well. Staff were OK, not super welcoming but not as bad as painted in some of the other reviews I read.

    Right in the city, best for active solo travelers who really only need a place to sleep. I would not bring family here. Fresh towels provided daily. Right beside U-bahn. Separate toilet/shower shared between 2 rooms. So each floor seemed to have 2 rooms with toilet shower shared between them

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Definitely recommend if visiting Nuremberg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are a light sleeper, there is a bit of noise at night due to close by clubs and bars.

    The staff were so helpful, letting us check in earlier than normally allowed. The room was clean with super comfy beds. The toilet/bathroom were kept really clean and we never had to wait to use them during our stay. The hostel was close to the city centre, only about a ten minute walk or you could get the subway. Close to the main train station via eadt to use public transport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Central, affordable and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a bit uncomfortable. We had some practical questions to ask about the place and the neighborhood but the receptionists didn't give us time to do that.

    Central, affordable and quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    2.5
    Recommendation: Go somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place should be removed from booking.com. First of all, staff was more then unprofessional. They were so rude like we came to sleep there for free. They charged us 20 euros because we were late 13 minutes with check out (11:13). You cant sleep there because hostel is in red district street, but you cant find it enywhere on their description. Whole night you can hear screeming. Never come back again...

    Nothing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    6.3
    Good hotel for youth or cheap travellers, not for business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Took advantage of fair in city with all hotels fully booked, so price too high. No private bathroom. Isolation less. Near red light district, but not feeling unsafe.

    Cleanness, and friendly staff, centrally located

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    3.8
    only room that was available
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    as you reserve the room, make sure of the time you're checking into the property. We missed the fact that you cannot check in after 9 pm.

    Appreciated the water kettle. The locks on all of the exterior doors were a nice feature for safety in the area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.1
    The pub around the corner, The Kings Arms, is a friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was construction work going on outside the hostel which was not their fault but still woke me up early, just after 7 am.

    The pub around the corner, The Kings Arms, is a friendly place to have a beer!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    7.9
    It's good for the price, if you don't have many...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No option to check-in after 22:00pm. Shared bathroom, small room.

    It's good for the price, if you don't have many expectations. Clean, quite silent. I'ts perfect if you just need place to sleep and have more interesting activities than being indoors. Oldtown, metro station are only few steps away.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    6.7
    Cheap but less than perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a good neighbourhood - surrounded by Adult nightclubs The room is not very well sound-proofed so you are disturbed by other people in the hostel moving around - not good if you are a light sleeper

    Clean comfortable room Staff were helpful and efficient

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    2.9
    The personnel was quite unfriendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The personnel was quite unfriendly. Also it was a huge letdown that I had to pay 40 euro more because of arriving after 21:00 o'clock. Also the shower behaved erratically.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    2.9
    Hostel Nurnberg, give it a wide berth!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    treated like a lunatic on arrival as they were not expecting us despite having a booking and arriving at 21.00hrs. asked if I was drunk as they close at 20.00hrs and where had we been, obviously I control the airline timetable and had been in the city for hours and not gone there straight from the airport! Dimly lit and room was cold, as were the shower and toilet rooms as the heating had been turned off until I turned them on, they were turned off again the next morning. room was not serviced, towels not changed etc. and the bed sheet was threadbare and torn. did not see landlord or staff until we checked out. horrible place! Supposed to be a non smoking building but stank of smoke every day, horrible. over priced for what was on offer, would not recommend to anybody.

    ease of access to the city

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.7
    Only to sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell like ash tray

    Easy to access

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    4.6
    should pay around 70-80 dollars a night, instead it was close to 300$. need i say more?
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything else

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    5.0
    Definitely doesn’t deserve all the bad reviews on here, however we travelled in December so the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception is only open 3pm-9pm, our flight arrived at 10am so this was a struggle with luggage

    The room was cozy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.9
    Convenient location, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    basic room nothing fancy.

    Convenient to public transportation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed stay was close to all the places we wanted to see
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom should have proper shower not stand in bath

    Was very comfortable and clean and staff very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.0
    Very substandard . Smelled badly of smoke and had no TV. One towel per person. Had to keep drapes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Submitted via mobile

    Information at desk.

    Hard to find any restaurants near this hostel.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.4
    decent but would not go again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    being in the red-light-district!

    proximity to city centre and undground

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    2.5
    Horrible. I left after 2 nights
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, The location ,staff, service, room

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.9
    much better if pay by credit card
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    much better if pay by credit card

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.8
    Good value for money but should increase the cleaning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad neighborhood

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.3
    A valuable room in the "Altstadt" for a short staying trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ther was no bicycle storage.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in low budget
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Place is quiet and good for stay when you have low budget.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.1
    You like night live ? Stay this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3rd floor room but no lift, defenetely not for old traveler

    2 stop from train station then 2 minutes walk

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    2.5
    The hostel is very bad , bed ,towels no change ,cleaning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing is bad

    This is the baddest hotel I seen in my life you should delete from booking website

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    9.6
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pro: - Location near city center - The owner was waiting me after the check-in time - pretty clean rooms

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    9.6
    Very good for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Friendly staff Location in the city centre Internet is working very well Very good for the price

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    5.0
    Location and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 16 nights

    Too much noise, the walls are made of paper.

    Location and clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.3
    City center location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    City center location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    2.5
    Beware, dont go there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    3.3
    It's close to the main street
    • Couple

    It's in a middle of red light district, you can see whores and pimps every step you take. Hostel is full of those people. They screem all night long, and walls are thin as a paper. At the end of our staying, they charge us 20€ because we were late at check out 20minutes! Rooms are same as a prison cell, 12m2. Four rooms share one bathroom. Don't go to this place!

    It's close to the main street

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    3.8
    Central location.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    You had to call a phone number to check in - so no 24H reception as advertised. The hostel was on the border of the red light district. When checking out, the owner was not even willing to point us to the nearest taxi stand (which was a bit further down the street). The rooms were noisy, we could hear other guests, who were on the other side of the corridor, snore.

    Central location.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    6.7
    Pretty clean place, no major noise from the street, pretty...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    well, a bit of special surroundings

    Pretty clean place, no major noise from the street, pretty close to the Nuremberg Messe Center (roughly 45-50 mins of walk)

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    5.0
    Wi-Fi was working very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shared bathroom was busy most of the time. Price for the room was too high.

    Wi-Fi was working very well. Location in a walking distance to main sights.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Next to red light district, topless bar directly across the street, very unfriendly staff, car tires stored in the reception room

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    5.0
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    100 euro a night for this type of room is far beyond reasonable

    location

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51