Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Goldener Adler This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Lichtenfelser Straße 35, 96103 Hallstadt, Germany

#1 of 2 hotels in Hallstadt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 351 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Nothing was too much trouble for friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small but comfy bed more than made up for it.

    Breakfast was very good, set us up for a long drive. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. Beautiful courtyard to sit outside if you’ve time to spare. Didn’t eat evening meal here but restaurant appeared well patronised with full menu.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Not in Bamburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, again my fault.

    Not in Bamburg. My fault, I thought I was booking in the city. Nice little hotel. They didn't speak English, but it didn't stop them from taking care of us!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    We really wanted to stay in Bamberg, but there were no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really wanted to stay in Bamberg, but there were no available hotels for our dates. We found this property to be very close to Bamberg with easy access to the old town. The breakfast was great and the employees were very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    5.4
    Decent Property, Terrible Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both the restaurant and bar were understaffed and therefore the service was slow. The main bartender was unpleasant and the drinks were not of great quality and over priced. The main complaint though is that we booked a family room with two twin beds and a double bed. When we arrived there was only a double bed and a pullout couch. When we asked the staff to correct the situation, they only insisted we were wrong, and what we had was three beds. The only solution they would offer was a second single room, that we had to pay for. Terrible service. I'd never return here or recommend it to others.

    The hotel restaurant was good. The cellar bar was charming and convenient. There was also a live band playing, which may have sounded good, if you were drunk.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    2.5
    Nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife has a terrible accident in this hotel. She fell down in the German stairs inside the room and broke her leg. It was 10:30 pm and there was nobody to help us in the reception or in the whole hotel. It was the worst experience in my life. The stairs are very dangerous and my wife could have broken more bones or even die. I called the ambulance and she had medical treatment. In the next day, I had to pay the bill and nobody cared about the accident. Neither an email or phone call from them I received. Definitively, this is not a hotel for families and I was wondering if it happened with my 6 years old son.

    My wife has a terrible accident in this hotel. She fell down in the German stairs inside the room and broke her leg. It was 10:30 pm and there was nobody to help us in the reception or in the whole hotel. It was the worst experience in my life.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Modern, clean and bright property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not available until 5PM

    Modern, clean and bright property

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall excellent for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very quiet so a little soulless,

    The reception staff were very pleasant, the room was spacious comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    clean, size, people
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    clean, size, people

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.8
    acceptable, but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    mini bar out of order - and empty , not working dosers for shower in the room

    Breakfast ok, clean,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.9
    Good place close to Bamberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable hotel Close to Bamberg. Nice garden and meal. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    Clean room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    Clean room and bathroom. Good breakfast and nice garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.7
    Bamberg stsy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location,

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent service, breakfast and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was extremely helpful and they were service oriented. The breakfast was very good with a nice assortment of food items.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.8
    I advise
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The garden was so relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.1
    a good stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    smelly farm fields nearby. very expensive for location and room style.

    a good stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    7.5
    Quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of our dinner was rather poor.

    Quiet room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    8.3
    We were looking to stay in Bamberg and with it booked out we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It is not a Bamberg city stay. We did need to ring the taxi, wait 15 mins and then head to town (same for the return). There was a bus ever half hour until 7pm and 7 min walk away (we did not try this).

    We were looking to stay in Bamberg and with it booked out we chose this hotel as it is within a few km of Bamberg (Taxi: EUR16 hotel to Bamberg Dom). It is a lovely hotel and friendly staff and very clean and spacious rooms. We were planning to have dinner at the hotel however it was already booked out. The breakfast had an excellent variety. We were able to get street parking (free). Our friends had their dog with them and she was made to feel welcome in the hotel. There was a wifi access code which my son used effectively.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    10
    Great location 10 minutes from Bamberg by car and easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great location 10 minutes from Bamberg by car and easy access via train. Friendly, accommodating staff. Good restaurant.Comfortable room. Nice courtyard. Underground secure parking or free street parking available.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    8.8
    Very welcoming staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wifi wasn't working when we were staying there but I guess it was just bad luck. Not much to do around.

    Very welcoming staff, Clean facilities, Breakfast included, Nice local pub and pizzeria at walking distance

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    8.8
    Good sized room with v comfy beds plus seating area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location a bit noisy on main road but little to recommend the immediate area. Close to Bamberg.

    Good sized room with v comfy beds plus seating area. Good wifi and charming outside courtyard with seating.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    10
    I can only recommend to everyone.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    I can only recommend to everyone. Very nice hotel.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    8.3
    Staff was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff was very nice. Good bethroom, very clean.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    9.6
    We enjoyed the beautiful garden and the restaurant for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We enjoyed the beautiful garden and the restaurant for dinner.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    7.1
    Very poor WLAN
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very poor WLAN

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: