Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Halm Konstanz This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Bahnhofplatz 6, 78462 Konstanz, Germany

#9 of 39 hotels in Konstanz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1909 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    We had a fantastic holiday with boat rips on the lake and a train ride into Switzerland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We did not eat in the restaurant in the evenings because we like German and Italian food and there were plenty of places in town to suite us.

    We thought Konstanz and your hotel were excellent. The room was very very comfortable and spacious with a fantastic view across the lake. We had not planned to have breakfast at the hotel because we thought it would be rather expensive, but we gave it a try and found that it was a full buffet with everything anyone could desire, and it was not too expensive in the end.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.8
    Konstanz has a lot to offer and this hotel is both very nice and well located close to the harbour!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    When booking the hotel, it would have been good to have been told we should make a table reservation in the restaurant as well and also where the closest parking garage is located, since there is literally no parking in front of the hotel, we did find good parking behind the hotel in a garage though.

    The bed was the best throughout our visit in the Bodensee and Schwarzwald region! Excellent breakfast, even though we had to wait for a while to get seated in the morning. Great Roomservice in the evenig since the restaurant was fully booked, a good tip is to book a table well in advance when staying at the hotel, the restaurant seems to be popular, has a Beautiful ceiling and walls!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.7
    Great location, opposite train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unremarkable in view of cost. Couldn’t get any service in the bar, so went elsewhere. Extras e.g. breakfast, mini bar / water were very overpriced.

    Great location, opposite train station. Clean and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was in a great location for easy walking to most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in a great location for easy walking to most of the sites. The staff where very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and the bead very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The look of the rooms. The carpets were a green colour while there was nothing other that was green so they would need to be renewed to match the rest of the hotel.

    The view is lovely. The rooms are a little dated and would need to be refurbished, but the bathrooms are amazing. Beautiful stair case.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.1
    The location is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was reasonable, but not 4* worthy; it was very hot, materials need replacement and at the back of the hotel - which means service trucks started coming and going from 07:00. We had a small issue with the amount of rooms/beds as we were with 3, the staff present at that time did not handle the situation professionally - only after calling Booking all of a sudden a solution was possible.

    The location is fantastic. The hotel has a great and luxurious feel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    Comfort in Konztanz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two things stood out that really need improving in a hotel of this caliber. The first is the smoking group always standing just outside the main front door, blocking the flow of guests in and out of the hotel and filling the entrance hall with the stink of cigarette smoke. The second is the ridiculous shower implement (looks like an old fashioned telephone on a long bendy pipe). This is almost impossible to hook up so you can stand under it, without it falling and soaking the whole bathroom and it is hard to set the water temperature, as two taps are involved.

    Lovely hotel with a slightly old fashioned elegant feel about it. Comfortable room with air con. The hotel is opposite the train station and close to the lakeside, the station is between it and the water.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Adequate for what we wanted as we were there to work, but a little expensive
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a rather unpleasant smell in the bathroom each time after having a shower, almost a sewage type smell. My colleague said the same about his room after the first time he showered, but it didn't occur after that. I had to leave the extractor running to dissipate it. Also. I had a double bed but it had 2 single mattresses on it instead of a double, which made it a little uncomfortable

    Generally everything was up to what I expected. The room had a great view looking out over the lake, but wasn't as big as I expected. Facilities were okay, the staff very helpful and polite

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    the location of the hotel is soo nice with excellent view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    too crowded area in the middle of the city near station , nice to arrive by train but hard by car ..

    a remarkable hotel with nice atmosphere , internal decorations was amazing ... breakfast from heaven ...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    The location is excellent right in the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs renovations. The hotel room doors are with manual key. The rooms need some renovation to make them more modern.

    The location is excellent right in the center. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The rich breakfast, and the lavish area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    Good clean city centre hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a challenge. However this is probably typical of city center hotel's. Dropped the car off in multi storey car park next door which was expensive at €20 per day.

    Found a fan in the closet........the only reason we managed to sleep due to the 30 degrees centigrade during the day. City centre location was excellent. We wandered around the block sitting at various locations for a bier and some people watching.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful hotel in a great location. Breakfast was exceptional. The dining room and throughout is very grand and has lots of original features. Stayed 2 nights and would recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel wish we stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything hotel right from the old style building to the modern rooms with great bathroom and the Rituals products and beautiful views of lake Konztanz.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    Was expecting a better experience based on other reviews.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Non-air conditioned room was hot and stuffy. The hotel seems very strict about not checking in before 3 PM.

    Location just across street from the Konstanz train station. Hotel preserves details of its 19th century construction and has a very nice lobby. Breakfast was very good (although it is 17 Euros extra).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location and beautiful restaurant, but expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's expensive and the room itself was smaller than I expected - nothing spectacular. Didn't come with breakfast, which most do. We opted to go out for breakfast, but they added it to our bill upon check out anyway. I had to ask them to remove that charge. There is a pub up the street, which was very noisy. Called downstairs and the manager called over to the pub and asked them to quiet down, which they did, surprisingly.

    Great location and it's across from the train station. Our room had air conditioning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Prestigious hotel with style
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was too soft

    When you visit this Hotel you feel like you are going back in time. Hotel is luxuriously designed and you see some details which are forsaken nowadays. Personnel was also great, helpful and polite

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Restaurant meal was enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We don't like duvet covers on the bed - either too hot (or cold when removed) Confusing arrangement for parking in the nearby car park

    Restaurant meal was enjoyable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Very nicely decorated hotels. I even took pictures of the decor on the stairs and in the hallways.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were updated to a suite and it was very comfortable and clean. This is an older hotel but very well kept and decorated inside the room and outside the rooms. The air conditioner worked well as it was quite warm in Germany. The location is excellent. Across the street from the train station and close to many sidewalk cafes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.2
    Very bad value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad value for money. There was no coffee or tea in the room. Breakfast was prohibitively expensive and not included in what was already very high rates. The staff was unhelpful and unfriendly. No parking voucher from the hotel for adjacent public parking. We have been traveling through Germany and all other hotels and guest houses were half the price with more on offer. I will not recommend this hotel to friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.0
    We enjoyed our stay very much. The location is ideal for exploring the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is in a nearby public carpark that is difficult to negotiate.

    Comfortable, old-style hotel. Staff were friendly. Excellent location with the old town and harbour easily accessible on foot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.1
    Hotel is in a great area, opposite the station and two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although a personal choice, would have liked the option of a shower in the bathroom (even shower over the bath). It had a nice size spa bath but the hand held shower was not ideal. As we found in most accommodation we stayed in Europe, our 'king' size bed was two singles pushed together, so it was no conducive to cuddling in the middle of the bed.

    Hotel is in a great area, opposite the station and two minutes from Lago shopping centre. Had a nice walk around the shopping precinct in Altstadt in the afternoon/evening and found a restaurant for dinner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is in amazing condition and you can understand why...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was on first floor and facing the street and there is no light curtain that obstructs people from outside looking into the room. At times required us to close the curtains during daylight. This can be easily remedied by the hotel.

    The hotel is in amazing condition and you can understand why it is the best rated hotel in Konstanz. Breakfast is the best that I have experienced in a hotel. Check-in, check-out was a breeze and the hotel is located perfectly for an in and out stay while enjoying the restaurants, shops around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Old world charm with modern upkeep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con in room. May get rather hot mid summer

    Beautiful hotel updated and well maintained. Beautiful furnishings and close to the station and boats. Very helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced and in need of some care.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall way overpriced. 120 euro per night for such a small room with a small bed is way too much. Bathroom was also tiny. Overall the room and bathroom were in need of some tlc. It all looked tired and old. Not even a watercooler was available in the room. The breakfast too was way overprized! The worst was the Restaurant Marakesch where we had to way 1 hour for an appetizer and almost 1.5 hour for our main course. The restaurant was not even half full. I can see no reason why I had to wait an hour and a half for a little bowl of couscous und some chicken. No vegetables or nothing, only a small piece of bread. 22 euro for a bit of couscous and not even half a chicken is way too much!

    The service was friendly. The room was clean. Breakfast was good. The restaurant looks beautifull.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    The staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful. They had made up a great sleeper couch for one of my kids. The location is excellent - we were there to shop and eat out, but great for touristy things too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shops and restaurants were closed on Sunday.

    Location is really nice where you can easily find something good to eat and to go to shop. We came here in order to take the Rhein river boat that was really a wonderful experience, tranquil atmosphere and crystal clear river water which many unique old town buildings dotted along.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More soap would be useful.

    Handy bike parking. Quiet room with super bathroom. Loved the old-world ambience of the hotel - the stairs make you feel like you are in a Hollywood movie. Restaurant is amazing and the food is good too. Excellent breakfast!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Exceptional value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is slightly dated, but I think this is reflected in the reasonable price

    The breakfast was the best value I've had at any hotel, ever, so much choice, really delicious. The room was huge The location is perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Loved the hotel ambience, location and comfort level. The restaurant was amazing too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have loved a hot water pot for tea or a microwave.

    Breakfast was divine, loved the location, especially because we arrived by train from Zurich in the evening and it’s a walk across street. ( in the states you wouldn’t want to be near a train station, but electric trains are clean and quiet) Our room had a sitting room and fantastic bathroom with great water pressure. Elegant old building in the old part of town. Close to everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    2.5
    Don't get fooled by your room pictures, you will be far from your expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a superior double room based on the pictures they provided for this room type... this is clearly a SCAM! On 2 of the 4 pictures attached with that room was shown a big bathroom with BATHTUB, other pictures were showing a spacious room. The place they gave us was a tiny roof room with a shower. I've been using that website since the last 10 years and I travel extensively. Those pictures are purely S-C-A-M, they may have 1 or 2 rooms that actually match those pictures but you will likely end up disappointed. In most cases I really don't mind the room is small or have no bathtub, just be honest with your customers and set the correct expectations!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    Comfy room, good value and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet was not that clean and the A/C didn't work, we had to leave the window opened, otherwise it would be super warm. The breakfast was ok but didn't worth the value paid.

    Bed super comfy and the area is awesome, full of activities and bars/restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing stay at Hotel Halm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was noise in the corridor outside that woke us up during the night. There was no kettle to make tea or coffee in our room/

    We loved the newly decorated room with rain shower and rituals toiletries. The bed was comfortable and the view from our room over the lake was beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    I stay in this hotel quite often and this guy who does the...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stay in this hotel quite often and this guy who does the night shift is the most rude person I have come across in the hotel. Everytime I see him he is asking if I stay at the hotel and asks me to show my room keys and not in a friendly way but just plain rude! it ruins the whole experience!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel with minor issues
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room at rear directly opposite flats don’t stay in these. 17euros breakfast needlessly expensive especially as I’ve stayed here annually and had breakfast before. It’s not worth that amount.

    Good location, good staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Conveniently located in front of the railway station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Conveniently located in front of the railway station. Great breakfast buffet (well it cost € 17). I was travelling alone but they gave me a spacious double room with a large bath tub. Restaurant is all in Moorish style which is a lovely contrast with the otherwise somewhat Wilhelminisch Grand Hotel atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    It was unforgettable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Halm Hotel team took a great care of me and my special request for some surprises for my husband's birthday. Our room was perfectly clean; with a very comfortable bed. Breakfasts were excellent- a full panolpy of breads, fruits, local specialities - everything was fresh, warm and elegantly served.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant stay & would rate The Halms Hotel the best we have stayed in out of 4 other hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi Fi didn't work so well. Perhaps it was a very weak signal or designed to disconnect when you turned the devise off because when re-booting, you had to sign in each time & not connect automatically. Very annoying.

    The ambiance was fantastic, the food (Moroccan) was outstanding. A must do when staying at the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    An extremely minor point, but having a kettle and tea/coffee making set in the room would have been useful for when you don't have the time for the full breakfast that morning.

    The location is excellent, directly opposite the station and across from the lakefront. Aside from the thermal baths, everything is within walking distance of the hotel and anything that is not is within a 20 minute bus ride (for which the hotel provided free passes). The facilities were good - the sauna is recommended for those travelling in Winter. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room rate was very reasonable given the location and general standard of the hotel, for which I would expect to pay more.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Exactly the way a hotel should be.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about this place made me happy.

    This hotel is old school luxury. If you're a Wes Anderson fan, you'll understand what I mean. Spacious and gracious hotel rooms, with a built in armoire, writing desk and mini bar. Check your key with the bell desk. Our room faced the train station with tall windows and offered fun people watching. The dining room is to die for in terms of it's rich decor. The breakfast buffet was the best we had in Germany. Welcome drink of warm Gluhwein upon check-in (we were here in winter for the Christmas Market), lovely cozy bar and it couldn't be more convenient for train travel. I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Historic hotel, great location and staff. Eat the schweinhaxe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only 2 English language TV channels, a business channel and the Fake News CNN. Since CNN has very few viewers and has lost credibility as a serious news source in the U.S. we suggest you add other reputable English language TV channels.

    Beautiful historic hotel with nice cozy bar. Spacious room. Great location across from main train station. We came by car. Parking next door. Easy walk to Old Town and Christmas markets. Great, helpful staff. Great German restaurant Brauhaus in Old Town. Best schweinhaxe (roast port shank)!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Great place, facing the train station, lake visible from upper floors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    My room was recently renovated. The hotel is very comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful. Make sure you're hungry.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel building
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building of this hotel is really magnificant. It is a very special experience of living in an old but very classy building. The room is also really large, and it gives a really good feeling like living at home.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    A very lovely place to spend my 70th Birthday. It is a trip to remember for all the right reasons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I can't think of anything to dislike about the Hotel

    The Hotel was a perfect location & was close at hand for all of the above. We travelled by train from the UK add it was great that the Hotel was just across from the station. It was a lovely old Hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you can book a room in higher floor it is much better because the street is very busy most of the time.

    I stayed there for two nights the hotel is really nice and the location is near to almost everything in Konstanz.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Superb location and very affordable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was fabulous with beautiful views of Lake Konstanz. Close to ferry to cross over to Meersburg. Room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable bed with great pillows. Hotel is situated in the heart of everything, trains, ferries, restaurants, cafes and shopping centres. Parking was just around the corner and not too expensive. Fantastic hotel and would highly recommend to fellow travellers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay, clean and spacious room with an excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have preferred that the property offers me a deal for the parking instead of paying directly at the parking lot the full price.

    The room was gorgeous: spacious, spotless clean, plenty of things in the bathroom. The breakfast was excellent and the location of the restaurant is gorgeous. Also the taste and quality of the food is very high. The location is very good, just next the the central station and at 5 minutes walking distance from the old town or to the lake.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is excellently positioned on lakefront just...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    However remember this being a heritage old building most of the things have a antique feel including the bathrooms and the aircons.

    The hotel is excellently positioned on lakefront just opposite the Rail and Ferry station in the heart of the old town. Superior rooms are big and well furnished. My bathroom room this time even had a jacuzzi. Wow.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.1
    Good for a one night stop over, as there are many restaurants and cafes less than 5 minutes away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very attentive once you went and found them However after coming back to the hotel after a meal out, just after 9, we sat in the bar for almost 10 minutes. We ended up going to the cafe next door instead to get a drink. Staff totally invisible.

    Room very comfortable, location fanastic as many restaurants and cafes within 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    Not our hotel. Sorry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner was out of order. The temperature outside -32.No comments. it's just opposite the town train station,therefore you can easily meet not very "noble"people, in other words drunkers and beggars.n

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Prime location if you arrive by train
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is literally right across the street from the Konstanz central station. Although the hotel has a rich history, the facilities in the hotel are in very good condition and style. The bathroom is very spacious. It's 2 mins walking to the port for ferry trips and 5 mins walking to the town center and Old Town for shopping and dining. The hotel staff were very accommodating and lend us a kettle as soon as we asked for one.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.7
    Excellemt Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room size are pretty small if travelling with kids. Also the room booked was not allocated. The room size booked was bigger then the one allocated. Would not recommend if travelling with kids.

    The location is excellent so is the staff. Cant comment on breakfast as it was not included. The bathrooms are super lavish.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.1
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception was understaffed one evening. There was only one person working so there was a queue of people waiting for quite a while just to get their room keys. This is a big hotel. They should have had more than one person working the front during such a busy time. We stayed two nights and this happened only once so perhaps it is not a regular occurrence. The shower head is too big to fit entirely in the ring that is supposed to hold it in position. The ring is also loose. So the shower head droops. This seems to be common in many hotels. We did not want to ask for repair and spend our time dealing with that on our short stay. We just used it as a hand held shower so it worked out okay for us. Hopefully this message will help them remedy the issue for future guests.

    Location is right across from the train station and tourist information. It's near the ferry terminal and the Flix bus terminal. It is also right at the old town. There is a supermarket two blocks away. Staff is polite. They responded very quickly to a request for TP. Room is a nice size. Air conditioning worked well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.9
    Central hotel with comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep price considering that room (except bathroom) could need renovation, night staff was on the verge to being rude

    Very comfortable bed, perfect location in city center, newly renovated bathrooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    Very well located to explore Konstanz .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and extremely hot. Also no lift to the first floor ... both of these seemed wrong in this type of hotel. Breakfast ridiculous price at €17 each

    Very well located to explore Konstanz .. reception and dining areas impressive. Room spacious & comfortable if only air con had been there

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    I stayed at the Halm hotel with my partner for a weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The windows had only sun blinds so you could either be completely 'visible' or stay in complete darkness. Price high and can differ depending on the day of the week. We booked Friday and Saturday and paid more for the second night.

    I stayed at the Halm hotel with my partner for a weekend. We really enjoyed the amazing breakfast and the friendly staff. The room was clean and the bed extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Fabulous Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not included in the price and if you want to have it the price was very steep.

    Excellent location, Bang opposite the Railway station. The hotel is very plush yet gives a vintage palatial feel. It was very very clean and lot of restaurants, shopping centres just next door. I will go there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    Short and crisp
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff knowledge of English language is pretty modest.

    The view is great. The Moroccan restaurant was very original. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    8.3
    Superb location. Overall good and good value for money. Only if they could change the beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were uncomfortable - they need to be firmer. The shower head and faucet could be better (the bathroom as a whole was good).

    Superb location. Lovely lobby (and stairs). Nice Moroccan restaurant (where breakfast is also served). Reasonable price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    Great Hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing!

    This hotel is great! Super great for location, just opposite the train station. Stuffs very nice and helpful and speak English very well. The room is very clean, well design, and well prepared for toilet/bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    7.9
    The staff was nice enough to prepare our room, and let us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a 1cm gap at a corner between our door and the door frame because the door was sagging, luckily other guests on the floor were not very noisy, otherwise we might have heard everything happening in the corridor. The hairdryer stopped working after a while.

    The staff was nice enough to prepare our room, and let us checked in at 13.00 instead of 15.00 so we could nap a bit due to early flight in the morning. The breakfast was good, variety and good omelette with friendly chef. The honey from the displayed beehive was a pleasant surprise and tasted great. Location is great!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    8.8
    Convenient location and super attentive helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar and restaurant was lovely... just very quiet and soulless... was scared to have a conversation in it.

    Convenient location and super attentive helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    3.8
    No more than one time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The view is over the train station -The area is not great -In the room many signs of aging -Bad isolation as you could hear all the doors clacking in the morning -breakfast expensive -Not the best to fully enjoy the town

    The bed was ok It was clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel. Best breakfast and great staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were all excellent. Perfect service. Comfortable bed. Reasonably priced mini-bar. Very quiet. One of the best breakfasts ever. Also the location is perfect, right across from the station The hotel is a grand and impressive building. I only wish my stay had been longer

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location opposite station and by the old town, welcoming friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.2
    location is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast is to expensive

    location is excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.8
    Nice staff, good location, clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff, good location, clean room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.9
    Size of room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Malfunctioning fridge / mini-bar

    Size of room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel experience and introduction to Konstanz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a simply lovely hotel with a fantastic restaurant and excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.7
    No air condition
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air condition

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.1
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Nice hotel in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Located right next the lake and in the middle of town. Nice and clean with comfortable beds / and rooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    localtion is convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room no air condition.

    localtion is convenient

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.4
    It has good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room was nonsmoking room but it smelled smoky

    It has good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee machine in the room.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: