Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Königshof The Arthouse This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Richartzstr. 14-16, Altstadt-Nord, 50667 Cologne, Germany

#207 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3542 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.9

  • Comfort

    5.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel and city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a bit of a smell in the hotel, I don't think its there fault though, Cologne has a bit of a sewage smell

    the location is the best, right beside the Cathedral and train station. Many things to check out around the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    Air conditioning was poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning and a bit expensive for quality.

    Air conditioning was poor. It didn’t really work well. The hotel was hard to find on foot. Great for being close to the bahnhof and the Dom. Staff were exceptionally helpful and we greatly appreciated being able to leave luggage at the hotel after we’d checked out. You need to add a category to your list about who we’re travelling with. I was travelling with my adult daughter. So add with family over 18. 😊👍

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Location is excellent - extremely central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As said before, is a budget hotel so wasn't expecting air con but fans could be provided in summer - was extremely warm. Was on the floor above the kitchen/breakfast area and had to sleep with the windows open - the noise drifting up from banging and rattling from cutlery and dishes made sleep after 7am very difficult. Plug sockets in impractical places.

    Location is excellent - extremely central. Room was outdated and worn in terms of decor but it is a budget hotel - was clean however and cleaned daily to a good standard.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.3
    excellent location close to city centre, Rhine river banks,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no a/c, what cn be a problem in summers like this, but that only occurs once in a decade. And even then in most years only for a hndful of days anyway.

    excellent location close to city centre, Rhine river banks, shopping, main station, lots of restaurants, bars and, of course, the famous "Früh Kölsch" rstaurant and beer garden. Ah yes, and the dom, too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    3.8
    Some unhelpful management, oven hot rooms and without the quality of previous management
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some Staff rude, would not telephone for a taxi on departure. Some staff were polite. The room had no towels on arrival, the room had smell from drains at back/side of hotel. Changed to room a new room which was oven hot, no cooling system. The new management is poor compared to the previous management and lowered the standard of this hotel.

    Some staff were polite. Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    4.2
    Staff was nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old, dusty and dirty rooms!!! No air conditioning not even a fan although it was searing hot! Not comfy beds, dirty old bathrooms.....maybe for a night one can bear with it, but I had to stay for 4, so I've got another room in a 4 star hotel right nearby just for the SAME price with air conditioning and impecable cleanliness!!!

    Staff was nice and helpful. The only positive thing about my staying...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Excellent !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent ! I have pleasant stay in this hotel. The staff are very helpful and the room is perfect for one. Not too big not too small. The location are great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.3
    The location of this hotel is amazing perfect for people...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms weren't cleaned stayed for 4 days and only had room service 1 of the days . No a.c. was a problem due to the hot weather.

    The location of this hotel is amazing perfect for people wanting to see the sights of cologne

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.8
    Great position, very close to the historical centre and to...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very very noisy during the night and in the early morning. First room available with horrible view from the window (only industrial discharges or heating mouths), but after a normal claim it was changed. Old floor not so clear and bed uncomfortable with too thick and pretty old pillows. No air-conditioned and in the summer very sultry and sweaty during the night. Claning staff speaking not even a single word of english (and consequently, misunderstandings).

    Great position, very close to the historical centre and to the Cathedral. Check-out with pretty flexible timings. Bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.8
    Bring your own fan and earplugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan, steaming hot room in the summer. Leaving the windows open during the night for cooling down the room does not leave you to sleep because of the noise outside. The mini bar was not present despite the room description. Furniture was in bad shape. Dusty. Despite all this, a very well central place in the city.

    Comfortable beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    3.3
    Horrible, gross, disgusting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like everything.

    Nothing. It was a horrific experience in this hotel. Dirty, mold, bathtub clogged, horrible smell in the bathroom. Booking should not allow this hotel to be even listed. Pictures do not represent real place. Do not stay here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.0
    Poor
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty old carpets on the floor. No air conditioning. Noisy streets, too expensive single room.

    Friendly staff, though the chamber maids speak only Russian!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is at the best location, room is very basic. But I only stayed one night, only thing to complain is the WiFi. The hotspot free Wi-Fi outside is stronger than the hotel's.

    Location location location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    Very basic dated hotel with fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated, well over due a refurb. Very small bathroom . Lacked a fresh welcoming feeling . Very basic facilities.

    Fantastic location for shopping, bars and restaurants as well as very close proximity to the cathedral.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Last year was with family .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room great breakfast and so close to train. shopping and intertainment

    Last year was with family .we all enjoyed but this year hotel is renovated so even better

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    Close to city centre, dom, shopping, rooms are small, but...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room to backyard with excellent look on a/c of the whole building, at least five of them. Not possible to leave window openbecause of noise from a/c. But despite the many a/c s there is none in the room itself.

    Close to city centre, dom, shopping, rooms are small, but sufficient, bathroom with shower, but very small, suitable for me, but not for persons over 190 cm and with weight over 90 kg. Breakfirst ok for the small price, you get what you pay for...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    I got what i payed for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no AC in the rooms. On a hot weather you need to open the window, its a problem because of the noise coming from the street, it a big problem during the early morning because of the garbage tracks in 5:30 or so in the morning

    The location of the hotel is perfect. 5 minutes from the cathedral and the main train station. The stuff is very nice and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice staff but smelly room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelled horrible and we had to keep the door closed at all times. Needed to keep windows open as entire room smelled. The good news is after 10 minutes your nose adjust! Hotel is outdated but clean and ok for short stay.

    Staff very kind good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    The location is very good, about 2 mins walk to the Dom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet doesn't seem very clean.

    The location is very good, about 2 mins walk to the Dom. bed is big and comfortable, shower head is very strong. Its pretty good for the price you can get in Cologne.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    I started in one room that was really poor, but then moved...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi ...

    I started in one room that was really poor, but then moved into the room just next door, and that was good. Wifi in the 6th floor was weak though. Rooms are small, but the shower was good. Location is perfect. All in all I enjoyed it, and would happily stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Reception staff were very friendly & very efficient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Reception staff were very friendly & very efficient Room was small but clean. Was slightly concerned looking at some of the TripAdvisor/Booking.com reviews but need not have been.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    It was so near the Cathedral also shopping area and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so near the Cathedral also shopping area and restaurants. We can just go back anytime we want. The reception is 24 hours, we arrived like 1am in the morning. The staff are nice and welcoming. The room is nice as well. Clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    I just couldn't believe how good the location was for the money we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I didn't like was I didn't stay long enough.

    I've stayed in Cologne several times but this was by far the best location I've stayed in, we were right n the heart of everything, I'll definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.3
    Old, 2-star budget hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really small rooms. Old, out of date hotel; needs upgrades. No amenities in rooms. No air conditioning. No elevator to 6 floor rooms. One very small passenger elevator serving 6 floors. For all this, its not cheap either.

    Staff always friendly and helpful!!! 5 star staff!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Don't jump on "promotional price" think twice.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Verry hot, hot, hot in room and building despite widely Opener window. Extremely small bathroom, bigger people can feel realy uncomfortable, dameged sink, wardrobe practicaly unoperational (doors barely sliding). You must pay aditionaly for breakfest, no guests alowed. Only if You want to JUST sleep (and it's still tiring). Promotional price was still too high compared to standards in other places, and there are a lot od them around.

    Close everywere, safe area. That's preaty much all there is to it unfortunatly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Good budget place to stay that's conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On booking.com it says there is airconditioning available but it was not available in our rooms (we booked 2 single rooms)

    Matress was good for the price we paid. The location is really great and I think it's a good budget hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    A good stay, but not as sharp as it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-Fi access was very patchy. It was a warm weekend so better could have been done to keep the breakfast stuff cooler. Some of the cleaning was not always up to par. Good, but I have seen better.

    The location is as good as it gets. The area is actually quiet, despite being in the centre Staff always on reception

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel with low price with orthopedic mattresses
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I recommend to change old carpet only.

    I found this hotel after my mistake with another hotel. It was at night time. I was not in good mood that my booking hotel was closed with early check in desk and i needed to look for something else. The stuff was very polite, he gave me the best room on 5 floor and through my window i could see the roof of the cathedral with night light and good calm inner yard. The room was big and clean enough. I slept very well because i felt very good mattress on the bed. At morning time the manager of hotel confirmed to me that the hotel has orthopedic mattresses, what is very important for people with back pain. My recommendation : ask them about room on the high floor. And very nice area around, cafes and shops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    It can be much better; its up to the owners to decide.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its not that I "didn't like" anything, but here's some observations. Very basic room. Old. Needs cleaning and painting; very outdated - holes in the walls from where pictures once hung from previous owners. Walls dirty, floors dirty. The hotel owner needs to put some money into updating it; refreshing it, cleaning it up - that's all. Ripped bed sheets, not always changed after each guest checks out. Stained and dirty from previous guests - yuk. One elevator still broken. No phone in the room, No air-conditioning - the room is hot now - imagine in the summer! Amenities? no hand soap - only some 99 cent hand lotion, no selection of standard amenities to toiletries; there is a hair dryer and a kettle with tea and coffee - this is nice to have in the room. The price you pay is not for the quality of the hotel; you pay for the location - that's it. If the owners invested a little money to modernize, clean it up, add some amenities to the value, it'd be good 3-star hotel, but not now; I hope the owners read all the reviews on all the various sites and care enough to act. Fix up the rooms. New linen and bedding. Fix the walls, paint. Improve the amenities. I stayed here for 5 years under previous owners. They cared about the hotel. It was spotless and rooms were in good shape! They had a proper housekeeping department. You can do it too! As for the reception staff, they are the best thing I can say about the hotel. Staff are great! Now the hotel just has spend a little money and fix up the rooms. Read all the reviews. The only good thing they say is the hotels location. and its a shame. You can be a better hotel.

    Location. Staff was always friendly. I was able to arrive early and they accommodated me. Much appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Ideal for the Older, Budget Conscious Traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps the bathroom could have done with a thorough clean (but then again, perhaps I am not being fair), the place was older and it IS harder to keep these rooms looking immaculate. Struggling to find a negative really!

    The location was perfect. Close to the cathedral, cafes, and within easy walking distance to the Rhein River and bridges. Seeing the cathedral and surrounds lit up in the evening was wonderful ... hard to capture in a photograph. We felt safe at all times. What a city! :) We were lucky to find accommodation in this area at such a great price. Excellent for budget travellers like us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    Good budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are not well decorated, but they are clean. But we didn't spend much time in our room so this was not a big deal. If you need a room that is well appointed then look elsewhere. But it is functional.

    This hotel is in an excellent location. A block and a half from the train station you can get to any place easily. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Price was right. This is a budget hotel and it will be easy on your wallet. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    4.0
    This is a low budget note, for high price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First, reception staff was great!, but hotel is way over-ripced, small room, small single bed, old decor and minimal furnishing, no sound proofing; hotel has only one VERY, VERY SMALL elevator working for all floors and all guests. the room is like a single room in a youth hostel. no included breakfast. I stayed many, many nights, for many years, under previous original family ownership. I tried to give them a chance, but new owner has done no improvements except rise the price 400%...why? he has the location...THAT'S IT! and for this reason reason, he has no incentive to update the hotel or improve the value. Some nights this hotel is listing for more than 250 EURO...its a joke...you can stay at Hilton or Marriott for less (if available of course) At best, this hotel is currently 2 Star - no more.

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.6
    Drunk guests trying to brake in through windows, no reaction from hotel staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The most horrible hotel experience. On Saturday night, around midnight I heard a lot of noise from the room next to mine, there was a party going on, so I went to the reception and they told me they would speak to the guests. Nothing changed, but guests from another room (drunk teenagers) started to try to open my window door from the common rooftop to my room. I went to complain again, they didn't say anything at the reception (and more guests were coming to this party), and I had to insist on giving me another room (a bigger one). Next day the hotel called me during the day and asked to come back and bring my stuff to the first room, as they needed the bigger one and I paid only for small. I was very far, so they moved my luggage on their own, leaving some bathroom stuff. I honestly think I have to apply for a refund for this.

    Only location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.8
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small.Very.I only just fitted on bed! Bathroom cramped to say least.

    It was budget accommodation.I knew what I was paying for,I only wanted to sleep there.The staff were helpful. I moved to Berlin and for same price staying at 4star hotel! Swings and

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Was Nice ! Thank you !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be good to change the towels on a daily basis and to replace the water glasses and add new shampoos. It would be good to clean and mini bar, so as not to leave the waste food of previous guests.

    Very polite and friendly staff. Reception service is perfect !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    4.6
    Best for location but not ideal for more than 1 night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtain was not in the room on the 1st day although already informed the reception, doormats in toilet, waste still in basket and kettle was dirty. Carpet is horrofied. Noise at night, inside and outside the hotel. .

    Location is perfect and near to resto.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    3.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t stay here! When I arrived the guy at the reception even ask my name, just told me was too early for check in “come back at 3 pm”. I leave my luggage in a corner really full of baggage at the hall and when I came back to check in I asked to pay in cash, but this same guy told me he already booked in my credit card from the reservation (without my autorization). He just gave me a room key and I got mu luggage and wait for the elevator (in front of him) after a while I asked if the elevator works and he told me: “no, it doesn’t work.” And I had to carry my luggage by the stairs (of course he didm’t offer any help too). The room was really tiny and the shower drain was clogged too. If you really wanna stay in this hotel, at least don’t pay for breakfast. Go to the river where you can find a lot of restaurants that offer breakfast for the same price (you can eat whatever you want) with a great view.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    2.5
    Dishonest staffs. Be careful!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in yesterday, we already paid the bill in cash. But for whatever reason, the receptionist did not give us the receipt. Because we were busy with the luggage and very tired due the long trip, we did not remember to ask. The problem came when we checked out this morning. The other receptionist said that we did not pay the room yet! We tried to explain that it was impossible to get the room without payment and without credit card guarantee because actually that we have paid the room yesterday in cash. The receptionist insisted that they did not get the payment yet. Because of the lack of time (we had to go!), we have paid the room for the 2nd time! A lot of conversation and argue but we could not win. It was really a robbery!!! BE CAREFUL WITH THIS HOTEL!!!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    3.8
    ANTS IN THE BED
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small old room, ants in the bed, very disturbing bad smell. I found it not clean, dust in the bed, bit it was nothing comparing to the lots of ants that were walking in the bed and sheets. Considering the price and the stars, I was expecting more from this place.

    Good position

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.4
    Location is great, just 5 minutes walk Dom Cathedral and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is not clean, especially carpets, no minibar, no air condition, towel is not clean

    Location is great, just 5 minutes walk Dom Cathedral and Central Train Station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    Great budget hotel in a brilliant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't a lot of space in the reception area. In our room the sockets seemed to be hanging out of the wall. There wasn't a very good view from the hotel, but for the price we didn't expect this. A little dated, the carpet was worn in places, but perfectly adequate.

    The location was amazing, very central in an area with many bars and restaurants and just around the corner from the Cathedral. Very easy to find. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were adequate and spacious. Bathroom was clean and well-equipped. There was a lift in the hotel and no stairs, which was great as I was travelling with my mother who has limited mobility.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Would happily stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was somewhat worn but certainly very acceptable.

    For a moderately priced hotel it was great. Short walk from the train station and right in the middle of the shopping district. The magnificent cathedral, stores, coffee shops, and restaurants only minutes away. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Great local average hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was really basic, the hotel could do with a refurb it is looking tired. Wifi was really hit and miss. Beds are solid, but loads of Hot water.

    Location is brilliant, the hotel is really clean. The 6am Koln Dom wake up call (ringing the bells) is really cool. Bin lorry at 5.30 everyday not so much. Price for central Koln was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    An old hotel offering just the basics but in the perfect location. Would not choose it in summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quality of facilities and cleaningness of the hotel just on the average if not below. The carpet should be more cleaned. the toilet was not well cleaned.

    Excellent location in the heart of old city, 2' walk from Cathedral and 10' from the central train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a very old school hotel, which you can see by the overall looks of the hotel, so it wasn't anything special but we knew that before booking. they don't try to be anything grand

    the bed felt like a fluffy cloud and the hotel was less than a minute away from the dom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.0
    The positive thing was that the location of the hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wallpaper design didn't match with the room's interior design. The cleanliness of the facilities was terribly bad. A more spacious hotel lobby would also strengthen the image of the hotel i think.

    The positive thing was that the location of the hotel is very central, almost close to everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    Despite of some negative aspects, i would probably choose this hotel again for a short stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The taxi for the airport (ordered through the hotel) hasn't arrived so we had to rush to find the one on the street which was a stressful experience.

    The position of the hotel was excellent in the very center of the city and close to the central station and museums. The riverbank with restaurants and river cruise was close too. The room/bathroom was spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.3
    Staff were friendly, location was very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were rather scruffy, and on the first day very noisy building work happening all morning which we had not been warned about.

    Staff were friendly, location was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Good choice close when spend a night in Köln
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is outdated and would definitely need some refurbishing.

    Great location, good internet connection, no noise nor from outside nor inside the hotel, coffee and tea making machine in the room (with tea bags and coffee).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.8
    Was there for 3 nights and did not have the bed made up once...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was there for 3 nights and did not have the bed made up once, shower head would not stay on the holder kept falling off, bathroom was not that clean, for the price was expecting even a little bit more

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Central hotel with basic facilities and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was a little dated and tired breakfast was not included and the room was quite small.

    Location was very central and close to attractions, restaurants, bars and shops. Hotel room was small with basic facilities but clean. Staff were helpful and reception was manned 24/7.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Location for accessibility!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff might like to tell English speakers 3 channels, could not get subtitles in others. Mattress was too firm for my taste.

    Location for accessibility! When I walked a short way from train I headed where lots the people were. I booked last minute, with current location filter. Not realizing I was right in front of this hotel! It was great last minute price for a basic clean room. Staff very nice. Great water temp and pressure. Did not try or see breakfast so can not say.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some guests arriving at 03:00 A.M. were talking loudly at the elevator which was next to our room. But this was not under the control of the hotel staff.

    We didn't´t have breakfast. - Staff was very nice. The small recommendations to improve small things would accepted with thanks & they will improve that to satisfy their guests. The location just few steps away from World Heritage Cathedral of Cologne, from the Opera, from the museums & the great shopping area with the eateries is great absolutely. - Next time in Cologne, we will stay the same place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    The location was excellent , the front desk very cooperative...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of three lights in the bathroom only one worked. Although after reporting the fault , it was temporarily repaired , the two lights again went off after sometime .

    The location was excellent , the front desk very cooperative .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    3.3
    Personnel are badly understanding in English Turkish guys.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personnel are badly understanding in English Turkish guys. Hotel is being under repairs. When we came the receptionist gave us firstly a room with waste canalization "flovours" in the bath room. Then they changed the room, but ...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    The location made the stay! Overall it was excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Faced a trouble with water during having a shower last morning - only hot water was in the tap. But, hope, it was a force-majeure. Low light in the room, but was not that important for me.

    The location is simply perfect - just the heart of the city! Quite and comfortable room with a good bathroom. The staff and breakfast were also good. View form the window into a quite street is a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal hotel for a short break with clean comfortable rooms! It’s a five minute walk from central station and a two minute walk from the impressive cathedral. It’s very central for all the attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    6.7
    Top class art, museums, opera, classical and other concerts, thermal spa, brewhouses - brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds too firm for oldies. Some fittings in need of maintenance.

    The central position by cathedral, museums, shops, station and bridge is worth a lot, and the room rate is extremely reasonable. Bakers doing breakfast are five minutes away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.4
    Cheap, dingy, poor customer service, AMAZING location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You get what you pay for. We just needed a cheap place to sleep and it was fine. You could easily fit 2 roll away beds in one of the larger double rooms. 4 people would be comfortable. I was with 4 children and 3 adults and we had 3 rooms. The rooms were dated and not well kept. The shower didn’t work, we called the front desk twice and they said they would fix it. They never did. Upon check out the front desk clerk said he could do nothing and I should email the manager. I have sent 4 emails with no response. We weren’t able to shower for 2 days!!! But for less that $100 a night I didn’t expect much. The location was perfect!

    The location was amazing! Right in the middle of everything. Fruh and the Dom are around the corner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.8
    wil use again probably for next years karneval too :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    view was pretty dire of vents/pipes on a rooftop and occ a beardy guy smoking beside my window staring in.

    Basic simple hotel, you get what you pay for but location next to Dom is perfect

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    The worst hotel I have stayed in Germany
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Whole Hotel was a dated dump and very expensive for what it was . I can liken it to a 1980's B&B in Blackpool. The price was an absolute disgrace. They did not even change the beds on each night????"??

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    4.2
    Bad rooms with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly noisy rooms, nothing was working from the bathroom (a lot of troubles) to TV to WIFI, I’ve booked with pay at property option but they have deducted the amount from credit card before check in!!

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.1
    The location is great as well as the room size and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The was not very comfortable and the room didn't seem very clean, especially the bathroom.

    The location is great as well as the room size and the breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    5.4
    Great location, the hotel can use a lot of renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs cleaning up, carpets are old, dusty and frayed around the edges. The sink filled water and drained in a really long time. The bathroom is really small and shower area is small too.

    The location is perfect, beside the Dom literally and really close to the main train station. Easy access

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    4.2
    I was in Cologne for a trade show so location was ok. I couldn’t wait to leave the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms old fashioned and dirty. Ok if you only paid £40 and we’re looking for a youth hostel A terrible ammonia smell in the bathroom kept me awake all night.

    Location is the only thing that was good. Staff were pleasant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.8
    Good location, 10 minutes walking from the central station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it seemed like it was a bit dirty and staff wasn't so polite.

    Good location, 10 minutes walking from the central station and 5 minutes to the cathedral.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Very nice and cheap hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view or the room

    The hotel is 5 min from Köln hbh station and next to the Dome and shopping area. The hotel employee that checked us in was gentle and very professional. The room 105 was spacious and clean. It has not a nice view but as we stayed only one night we didn't care. The breakfast was good too. Highly recommendable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Location excellent near the Cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast wasnt included in room rate. Bed

    Location excellent near the Cathedral. Clean room. Decent breakfast. Staff helped when required. Value for money good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    The location was fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My daughter wanted a nightstand by the bed.

    The location was fabulous! We were there for the Christmas Market. The Cathedral market is just around the corner. The train station just on the other side of the cathedral. The "Old" Market is a short walk, but the Cathedral Market is everything you'd want or need. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. There was a tub and hot water! A kettle and coffee packets!! Many hotels in Europe lack these things important to me.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.3
    2 star hotel in the centre of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a bad smell.

    Great location right in the centre of Cologne, near all the tourist attractions/ old town. Room was fine for a 2 star hotel and good for the price, but dont except anything fancy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    It was simply amazing. :)
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting was not the best, but honestly the room was huge and we were only there for a night anyway, there is so much to do outside so it did not matter.

    IT is bang in the middle of the city and extremely close to the cathedral! If you are there during December, there are numerous amounts of Christmas markets only just 5 minutes walking distance. The staff were also so so nice and the check in and out were very quick and easy. LOVED IT!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    A very good Christmes Market visit enjoyed by the three generations of our family
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The vastly different room price three days and three very disparate daily rates which we were most unexpected

    Location perfect. breakfast good staff very welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.3
    'Das war einmal'. Used to be 'grand', unfortunately not anymore
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are very hard and uncomfortable, clean for the eye, but on closer inspection it isn't. T.v. Has only German stations. Furniture is quite rundown. This hotel used to be run by a German family who managed to bring life and a festive artmosphere to the place. The place had a certain grandeur. Unfortunately that has gone and the hotel lost it's charme and is therefor to expensive for what they offer.

    The location of the hotel is good and the staff is friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    3.8
    Not recommended, Great location but horrible place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed, cleanliness, room size, elevator not working all the time

    The only good thing about the hotel is the location. For the rest it is not worth the money. The bed is old and super uncomfortable. The water boiler is on the floor and the carpet looks like is from century ago. Pay a little bit more and go somewhere else.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is old and it isn't very comfortable. The wifi signal didn't work very well. They didn't clean the room after the first day. Breakfast has an extra charge but it's very very limited. It is better to have lunch outside, but of course, you don't know this in advance.

    Location. La ubicación.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Königshof The Arthouse traveller photo gallery