Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novum Hotel Ahl Meerkatzen Köln Altstadt This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Mathiasstr. 21, Altstadt-Sued, 50676 Cologne, Germany

#190 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1177 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    I got exactly what I was expacting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Locker was broken. Guys from the next room was a bit too loud. Room is really small (like in Honkong ususally)

    I got exactly what I was expacting. So pretty cheap, close to the center, have a good WiFi.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    good hotel to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    to take shower, it takes few mnts till hot water come.

    location is good. few minutes walking to Dom and shopping and cafes also metro station is near by. wifi was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Ok but lacked a bit of sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sex shop with 'toys' displayed in window and gay night club and porn cinema a few doors down. The noise was all night on Friday and Saturday. It was too hot with window closed. Too noisy with window open!

    Close to centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Very central;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friday and Saturday nights were incredibly noisy- the local nightspots and the street is a fairly major busy one; Sunday was a very quiet contrasting relief.

    Very central; staff friendly; small pleasant room- olde world feel: 1709. Breakfast buffet very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    We liked the hotel - clean, a walking distance to major...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We could not sleep normally for all three nights of our stay because of very noisy visitors of the pub on the opposite side of the street.

    We liked the hotel - clean, a walking distance to major museums and other sightseeing attractions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.0
    The location is excellent and they do 24h reception /...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely hot and the room didn't have air con nor a fan. The staff said they didn't have any fan for us to borrow, so ended up without sleeping. Room is small and carpet is quite old. Towels and toilet paper were dirty when we arrived. Didn't get the breakfast as it was too expensive (€9,90 per person).

    The location is excellent and they do 24h reception / check-in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.4
    The hotel is situated not far from the city center, aprox 15...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are no a/c in the rooms, as the summer is extremely hot it was to hot in the rooms, had to open windows, but that was not enough. Room No 15 with no acces of fresh air at all, room No2 is too close to WC, so if the windows are open you can hear everything.

    The hotel is situated not far from the city center, aprox 15 min of walking. People should be aware that it is gay friendly area and there are couple of sex shops around and a gay bar. i'm fine with it, but people may feel uncomfortable. The room wa small but enough for 2 people and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Overall it was fine for the money we spent. We wanted a bed and shower type of stay so we got that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a room on the front. Room was small. Very noisy as work being done nearby, club on the road open till late some nights and you hear all the noise. I would return but asking for a room at the back of the hotel

    Once we knew the location and where the things to do were it was a brilliant location walking distance to all areas of cologne.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable, safe, pleasant and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn't have air-con, which made it hard to sleep in during 26℃ nights. The fan was provided, however it was small and of little power - not enough for three people in one room. We didn't ask for more, so maybe hat would have been the solution.

    The breakfast was exactly what you would expect - value for money, variety (of hams, cheeses, jams, breads, cereal, drinks, etc.), quality, tidiness and wonderful service. The room was comfortable, airy and clean. The hotel itself is lovely looking inside. And the staff were beyond friendly, helpful and understanding. I recommend asking at the reception for suggestions of what things to do and where in the city :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was dreadful Needed coffee making facility

    No coffee making facilities WiFi was dreadful Location good for near to airport and near to phantasialand

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bottle of water was €4 which I thought was a bit steep. The room was a bit dusty.

    The hotel is good option for budget travellers. The bed was comfy. Towels and toiletries were provided. The location was awesome only 10 min walk from the central station. Very close to the main attractions. The female receptionist who works the night shift is so lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Antique hotel in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The hotel is right next to a Club and a Pizzeria that doubles as drunk people meeting point during the night. If you have a room facing out the front expect it to be noisy till late into the night, even during weekdays. Having a shelf right over your head while lying in bed (small rooms) is also suboptimal, and I hit my head on it seveal times during my stay.

    The staff was nice, and the hotel is in a great walking distance both north to the Kölner Dom, as well as southbound to the Cocolate museum and architecture. It is also far enough away from the party district that it isn't too loud (though there is a club opposite the hotel -> so still loud), and close enough to still go out in the evening by foot. The breakfast is good, but slightly overpriced. The coffe is great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    2.5
    Dirty, noisy, unattentive staff, bad neighborhood
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There were people running around and banging on doors/walls, the walls are paper thin, you can hear the person next to you as if they are in the room with you, and I woke up covered in what could be a rash or bites...I'm still not sure. I was booked for a week but obviously after waking up in such a state, I left and the property AND booking.com refused to refund me for the other 4 nights I was booked. I still cannot get ahold of ANYONE at the property and this has far and away been the worst hotel I've ever stayed in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    3.3
    The reception worker was nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room smelled like smoke, too small, no towels, dirty room. The beds were bad and alot of stuff you would think to bed in a hotel room were missing. I checked out the same evening.

    The reception worker was nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    I would come back if the price stays the same
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit weak and breakfast is not included. The shower curtain too small therefore hard to keep the water in. And when checking out the front desk girl couldn’t seem to get off the phone for a minute.

    Simple! Bed and a shower was all I needed. I slept well. Cheap for a two nighter. It worked. One block away from the cathedral and the chocolate museum. No one bothered me. It’s alright.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel for one night, excellent price in a very good location, it's just really basic and dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I expected a bit more, the room was quite dated and was't spotless although I can't say it was dirty either (jut stuff like dust etc)

    The price and the location are excellent!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.4
    Possibly the worst hotel room we have ever experienced which cost €500.00 for 2 nights
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very poor - we had to go outside to access the room which was surrounded by garbage bins. The breakfasts were good but drinks and snacks only available via a vending machine

    Location was good -very central

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.7
    Ok for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a double room but got a twin room with the beds pushed together. As a result, the electricity plug and light switches were behind my pillow. The shower head and shower head holder were both broken.

    Friendly personnel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.1
    Great for a good night sleep in the middle Cologne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator only goes up to the 3rd floor, we had to carry our suitcases to the upper floor.. Also, the forced perspective pictures make the lobby/rooms seem bigger than they actually are.

    The location was perfect, right in the heart of Cologne. The hotel itself is pretty basic, but nice as a place to sleep.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.5
    Cheap and cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit small and stuffy. The hotel is a bit tired and could do with a bit of a refurb; however for the price, cant complain!

    Staff were great. Location was excellent. Room was clean. Great value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    3.8
    Not very good and expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very old. Our room was on the 4th floor and the internet didn’t reach our room, when we asked the receptionist she said that the wifi only reached the first three floors, what a joke. Likewise, the elevator didn’t reach all the floors... We only stayed one night and the price wasn’t worth it.

    The location wasn’t that bad. Very close the the center, old town and train/metro station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel for a short holiday in Koln.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small TV and only in german, no freezer. The three bed room could be a bit bigger but still it was OK. I would stay again at this hotel.

    I stayed for 4 nights. Walking distance to the center. Nice room. Good breakfast for 10 EUR/pers (child under 3 eats for free and above at half price). Good beds.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Totally recommend for couples/youth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit noisy sometimes, but only because the door is hot soundproof. Me personally didn’t hear any noise, but my mr did sometimes. There is no hot water/teapot, but it’s common for most of the European hotels so far.

    That was so much better then I expected after reading all the reviews. The price was perfect for our stay, so was the location. It was clean, tidy, staff was perfectly nice and spoke proper English. Daily housekeeping, nice atmosphere in the lobby. If you are OK with a gay/hetero sex shop nearby (btw, I’m so curious about last reviewers - why they didn’t like the fact of this sex shop being gay? I mean, would this be any easier for their kinds if it was just a regular sex shop? Such a homophobic!) then I recommend this place of stay. There are also 24hour stores and there is also a 24/hour döner store in walking distance, which was very convenient for us with our late check in. Thank you! I will come back again for sure, If you save this price line :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Friendly stuff who cares about you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really friendly and I didn’t have a European socket and was in desperate need. I asked them and they tried to find one but they couldn’t. I was gutted and thought they don’t have it and went back to my room to get ready to go out. As soon as I was about to go, they found a socket for me, which was fantastic, as it showed me they cared. I also needed hot water which the stuff gave. Very friendly and would come back anytime.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.1
    Christmas markets
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We we’re in room 46 the only room on the top and the WiFi did not reach up there so had to sit on the stairs but was good everywhere else. The breakfast is not worth the money for what you get, we ended up going to Lidl for the next morning. Leaving the luggage in the cleaning cupboard was a bit iffy as no lock or ticket to say it is yours

    The location was good for the Christmas markets. And was acceptable for a short stay. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. The shower had good water pressure and was clean. The staff were okay when we spoke to them.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    5.4
    Would look for somewhere better suited to our requirements next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room (and the hotel in general) was rather small, cramped and a bit gloomy. The room rate seemed to be excessive for during the week, and I suspect we'd have paid less if we had broken the stay into two separate periods. The breakfast was OK, but we ended up going to a bakery (just up the road) for breakfast after the first day.

    It's a historical building with a lot of character just outside the edge of the old centre of the city. We had a short walk to pretty much everywhere including the Christmas markets. It was a lot quieter than I had expected, given the location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    3.3
    I would not recommend this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personnel was not helpful and not friendly, the room was not good with damaged and dirty carpet, old and damager furniture, minibar has been removed. Air conditioning was not working, it is not being fixed. I have to sleep in a very cold room. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

    location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    3.8
    Stay, AWAY!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired, dirty and run down. No images show the gay sex shop next door, which is not easy to explain to a child. Dirty room, dirty sheets, bulbs blown, old wasps nest in the lights, carpets you wouldn't want to step on bare footed. Not worth half of what they charge, very disappointing.

    Leaving

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.3
    For our stay the hotel was in a perfect location as we were out and about most of the day !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although helpful the receptionists were a little frosty.

    The location is very good for pretty much everything & within walking distance of trams, trains, shopping, sights, etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    5.0
    Very central location, all in all a nice old/renovated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The personell, partially quite uncaring and indifferent. Took them a week to get me a lousy extra pillow, as the pillow in the room is really small/thin. Not really helpful staff; even wanted extra money on my check-out, said that it was LATE check-out, it was 11:15 or 11:20 or something. Will not stay there anymore, also very expensive for this service. But, really great location... The room no. #1.. located next to the elevator, super loud, no signs to keep some silence as everyone entering passed our room and staff let people yell and shout in the lobby (basically next to our room) until early hours.

    Very central location, all in all a nice old/renovated house

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    5.0
    I travel a lot and value advice from booking.com but on this occasion you got it very wrong.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv broken Service grumpy No facilities had to iron in the lobby downstairs Could hear everything through bedroom walls Very overpriced Had to pay all upfront so no choice but to stay otherwise I would have moved the next day 👎

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    3.8
    Good place to avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff does not speak English nor German ( and this is in Germany:) ) They said when i called that they offer parking but when i came they told me they do not ( in the morning another staff member told me they do???) So i had to spend 1 hour searching for parking and 1 hour try to speak with person who does not speak german nor English. Worst expiriance ever!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.1
    Very clean and top location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture, bathroom very outdated, old and a bit smelly. The walls are paper thin, so we could hear and understand every word from next door room.

    Very clean and top location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    basic and comfortable, very close to city-center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - the bathroom ceiling didn't look good at all, it was made of some wood boards - the gay neighbourhood did not bother us, but you should know beforehand if you intend to travel with your family, it is by no means discreet - thin walls, I could hear the other guests next room very clearly

    - very comfortable double bed - clean room with basic utilities - room had good Wi-fi Internet, cable TV and a hair drier in the bathroom - excellent location: city center can be reached within a 5-10 minutes walk - staff speaks very good english

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.3
    Central but rather loud hotel location in need of renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs an update. Rooms are ok but the location is rather loud and you can hear clearly noises from other rooms. Beds are not particularly comfortable.

    Central location and connection with public transport. Kind staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    4.5
    Iokay, but would not use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think it would have been nice if the bottle of water would have been complimentary, instead of charging 4 euro's. Also, the booking was for two adults and a child, yes, we were sharing a double bed, but an extra pillow for the 3rd person would have been nice. I did not like the location as there were Sex shops either side

    the beds were comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    Good place to stay if no issue to hear the street on street side.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room over street: bad window isolation. Small room for 80€ 4€ for a bottle of water - please just let free bottle in the room to avoid confusion...

    accueil

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.4
    In the wrong neighbourhood and wrongly reviewed on your website, and well over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above. Not one of the photos shows the sex shop.

    I was very disappointed with the hotel. I choose it because the reviews on Booking.com said it was in a great position. To be fair it was an easy walk to town centre, but the reviews never mentioned that next door was a sex shop, and next to that a knocking shop, and opposite a gay club. Very disappointing considering i paid a lot if money to stay here. Also my mrs had to climb over me to get out of bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location, basic accommodation but just what I needed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting of my room was poor, trying to sit at the desk and work on my laptop was hard as i had to use the only electrical port to charge so i couldnt have a lamp on and the main lighting was around the corner.

    Location fantastic, 5 min walk to the center where hotels cost a whole lot more.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Low key, affordable and functional stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some parts (bathroom) are a bit dated and should be fixed or renewed.

    The staff was amazing, the girl at the front desk explained in detail the instructions on how to get to the garage which is discounted. The garage is situated under the Heumarkt square which is about 5 min walk from hotel. The location is ok, just about 10 min walk to the center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.3
    Okay for a short stay. Convenient sight-seeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were pretty basic and the room was a bit shabby. The shower head had some mould.Also worth knowing, particularly if you have young children and you don't want to have to answer lots of awkward questions, this hotel is next to a couple of sex shops.

    Near to the old town and the river. Friendly staff. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.3
    Slightly dingy, but priceworthy pad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slightly seedy area, with a 24h off-license across the road. Good for partying, worse when you travel with your 7-year-old. Very sketchy wi-fi that seemed to come and go as it pleased. Carpeted room.

    Very central location, easy to get anywhere. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    3.8
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel marked itself as a 3 star hotel and the original price was 119 euro per night?! It's s joke! Very small room, barely enough to fit in a double bed. Poor facilities, not even a mini fridge in the room. Hotel is located in an area with many sex shops and erotic clubs around.

    Parking for 6 euros 10 min walking from the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Cheap and near to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near the gay shop

    Location is near to city center. Walking distance to most of the important things. Free luggage storage and nice staff. They help alot. You can ask hot water from them and they will provide it for you

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    3.8
    Hotel for people who want to live close to Cologne 's Gay hot spots
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely horrible part of Cologne. Hotel is surrounded by sex shops for gays. A single woman feels uncomfortable there. It is even a bit scary.

    Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    4.2
    I would not recommend this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room smelled very bad like a concentration of humid, the carpet look dirty and the bathroom had mold everywhere I could have asked to change the room as soon as I got there but I was so tired and it was so late that I regret I didn't because I slept very bad that night.

    the hotel was conveniently located near the cathedral

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    5.0
    Acceptable but way too expensive for the experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was located above outdoor trash cans and with no air-conditioning I was unable to open the window because of the bugs and flies I requested a new room and was given one which was smaller but clean except for a few ants running around

    Staff was accommodating

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.0
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were very outdated and dark. Breakfast was 13 euro and had the worst selection I had ever seen (I was one of the first people to arrive). It would be nice to see more choice or a cheaper price.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.6
    A perfect, calm place for the budget travellers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only small thing the rooms were missing is a small fridge, but as the place serves breakfast (which for 13 euros was a bit too expensive for our budget on this trip, so we sadly had to decline that), you don't necessarily need to store your own food. We've visited during spring weather, which means cold in the nights and warm in the days, and we couldn't manage to turn down the heating in the night, which made our room a little bit too hot (uncomfortably hot for sleeping properly). I take that as our own failure, not the hotel's, as they did everything they could so we'd feel comfortable, which we did! :)

    The hotel is really close to the city centre on foot, but far enough to be silent in the night. The neighbourhood is safe, the building itself cozy. The rooms were well-equipped for a budget trip (we don't need much with my husband when we travel, but this place had everything and more). The beds are comfortable and firm enough, the sheets and the bathroom clean. We've gotten a little gift on arrival, which was a really nice touch. :) Every room is equipped with a safe to keep your belongings in, but it's not big enough to store bigger electronics. So far we've gathered, we didn't even need to worry about that, the place is safe! There's a 24 hours reception, so choosing this hotel is ideal for people who arrive to Cologne for a nightly programme (like a concert), because you'll surely get back into your room once's you're done. The staff is professional, kind and always helpful. :) I'm not sure if this counts as a positive thing or not - for me, it was a pretty fun experience - but the hotel literally stands between 2 sexshops, which are open even during the day. For families with small and aware children, this might cause some inconvenience with embarassing questions asked, we've found it open-minded and funny.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.5
    Cheap and perfect location, most of the time nice staff, but moderate comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bulb of the tiny lights was working in our room.

    A parking place in a parking house nearby was reserved, unfortunately for cars until 1,9m height, my car is 1,99m but in general a very smart and welcoming gesture, because of the very bad parking situation.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.1
    Good location, great staff but could do better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was an odd shape and very basic - lots of bare walls, old fashioned carpet on the floor. For the money charged we would expect some of it would be put into refurbishing the bedrooms. There was a TV in the room and usually we find at least 1 English station such as BBC World News or CNN news or even a local radio station when we travel in Europe but there was nothing like that. The WiFi was OK most of the time but then I got a security message so did not use it after that.

    The location is excellent very close to lots of restaurants & night life & within walking distance to many of the important sight in the city. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean, & the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    3.3
    Terrible cold, not friendly stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was way too cold inside the room. We tried to turn on the heating, but it didnt work. When we told it the to the administrator,she advised us to wait a little (as it takes time to heat on) but after 20min nothing actually happened. We went to the town and asked administrator to call a worker and repair it. When we came back at nighttime it was the same cold as before and ADMINISTRATOR DIDNT MOVE A FINGER TO HELP US. Moreover (we lived in room No 15) at around 6am some workers started to make terrible noize and slamming doors (it looked like we lived in front of the room where the breakfast was making). IF IT THAT DISCOMFORT WHY DO YOU MAKE PEOPLE LIVE THERE?!?!!!??!?! ESPECIALLY FOR SUCH A HIGH PRICE!

    The hotel is quite close to city centre

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    8.3
    Good for a short city-break but too uncomfortable for a longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was alone but the room was actually for two. Anyway it would have been really small for two people. Even the slightest noise from the next room and upstairs could be very well heard. The toilet was situated so close to the wall that it was very hard to sit on it - why it was not just turned 90 degrees? The WiFi was quick but very often down for 1-2 minutes. The housekeeping guys were very friendly but they opened the door a second after knocking without waiting for the answer. In my last morning already around 8.30! During my breakfast they had alreadly partly cleaned the room - maybe I would have wanted to go back to bed or have a shower? I had to took a towel that was hanging already for the next guest.

    Excellent location in the center and friendly staff, nice old house

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    6.7
    Quite good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on the 4th floor, but the elevator goes only up to the 3rd floor. It was uncomfortable to carry the suitcase over the spiral staircase. The neighborhood looked a bit shady. At the reception it smelled a lot like cigarettes smoke.

    The beds were spotless white and very comfy to sleep in. We could heat the room to our comfort. The WiFi connection was good and easy to establish. 10 minutes walk to the shopping mile, but don't walk to the Central Station if you have a big suitcase like we did :)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.5
    Ok place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom curtain was in a bad condition. It was yellow stained and smelt terrible once wet. Couldn't keep bathroom door open after having a shower as the smell was so strong. One of the power sockets was hanging off the wall so couldn't use it.

    The staff were very helpful and welcoming. The bed was nice and comfortable. The hotel was quiet during the night which was good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    4.2
    Bad location, very noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wanted a quiet room but my room was on the street side, the cars were coming in and stopping all night long, people were coming in and out all the time...terrible! I got no sleep. also, the location of the hotel is in gay area, next to hotel is big porn shop.

    There was nice area where I could sit and talk to customers

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.1
    Historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was not very clean and very hard to control and didn't drain. A bit of a hike to public transportation.

    The room was roomy and the beds comfortable. Very quiet. Cool old hotel with lots of quirks.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    8.8
    Nice when we knew where we were😂
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi! Emailed for directions and got email back but not really helpful. Had to ask policeman and went into a different hotel! Tried to download map too from website and wasn't great😳

    Convenience to everything!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    5.0
    very poor stay for the high price i paid. would not recommend it to any one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the room was very small. the heater was very weak and after i complained they put in a radiator heater. The breakfast was not included but was ok for the price of 10 Euro. My room was not cleaned on 3 occasions till 1600. even when i left the hotel at 0900. when i returned at 1600 the room was not cleaned.

    The only good thing about this hotel was it`s location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location and economical stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We're obviously very English... Didn't enjoy having to ask at the front desk for some hot water to make night caps. Just put kettles in the rooms!

    Big family room in the attic. Lots of stairs once the lift stops but the space is fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    4.6
    A highly unpleasant greeting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Highly Unpleasant. We arrived at 4pm & we were told our room wasn't ready. Despite the fact that check in was at 12. We then had to sit in reception & wait. The staff then tried to give us a rushed room on the busy first floor, right next to the lift entrance and public toilets, which was far from acceptable. After Voicing my concern, the receptionist was extremely rude in return & all of a sudden had another room ready for us on the 2nd floor. So... Why make us wait in the first place when they had another room available? The hotel smelled like cigarette smoke all the time.

    Thankfully it was a short stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    7.9
    For Christmas Markets
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of cigarettes everywhere, even in room.

    Great location. Short walking distance to Christmas markets. Bathroom is good. Also close to airport and train station.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    6.3
    Christmas market
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Breakfast was good. Very dim hotel so dark. People were helpful. Room not very nice. Bathroom had a bad smell but couldn't get rid of it. Location good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    5.4
    Average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cigarette smoke indoors. And the thin walls made night times noisy as you could hear almost everything your neighbours did.

    Staff were nice and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    7.1
    Great location , good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a smell coming from our bathroom all night. Also check out was at 11am. At 11.55 we had a staff member bang on the door and try to gain access to our room.

    Staff were very pleasant especially the one on reception and wifi was excellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two single beds had been pushed together to make a double so I spent a lot of the night in the gap between them! The shower curtain was yellowed and plastic and the shower itself had seen better days, as had most of the 'facilities' in a room that was thoroughly basic and unwelcoming. There were sex shops on both sides of the hotel which wasn't an issue for us but would have been good to see a warning in some reviews.

    The hotel was handy for the places we wanted to visit

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    8.3
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a double bed in stead of a single two-person bed. The beds moved apart when we tried to be close together during the night.

    Excellent value for money. Not super luxurious, but not pricy either. Everything (at least, in our room, hall and stairwell) is in good order and looks well maintained.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    6.3
    The location is very nice, just few minutes to downtown by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no ventilation on bathroom, so it maintains humidity! The sound isolation is not good, if you have noisy neighbors, it might be a disturbing night

    The location is very nice, just few minutes to downtown by walking

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    4.6
    Too expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small for 3 guests. One of the beds was not a real bed. The bathroom had mould on the ceiling. The door to our room did not close well so it slammed when other doors on the floor closed.

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.2
    The Meerkat did us proud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel supplied sparkling water but a tea/coffee making facility would have been nice.

    The staff were very helpful, the hotel has all you need and its near the centre of town. Our single rooms were good value for money. Buffet breakfast, all food fresh and lovely crusty rolls.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    4.6
    When I arrived the chap at reception was difficult to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I arrived the chap at reception was difficult to understand, he kept speaking too fast. Spent what seemed like ages at the desk before being given keys. The place is located on a street with sex shops so not ideal especially while travelling with family. The room was way too hot even with the window that opend slightly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    5.8
    Helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Extremely noisy location Even with ear plugs could not keep out the noise and slept very badly

    Helpful staff Room small but comfy and clean Excellent WiFi

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    7.5
    Basic clean accomodation near food, drink & U-bahn
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First impressions were mixed with adult shop next door and men only club across the road but there was absolutely no problems at all with either so it's not a problem but maybe with young families may not like walking past the shop.

    decent location near a good square with restaurants and pubs. friendly staff. good wifi, clean basic room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.5
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift only went to the 3rd floor

    It was very clean and the staff very helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    2.9
    Price gouging, shabby noisy rooms, poor breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price gouging, shabby noisy rooms, poor breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novum Hotel Ahl Meerkatzen Köln Altstadt traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: